Super Eagles Camp Updates

Re: Super Eagles Camp Updates

No need to field a strong side against Sao Tome

Would lineup

Adeleye
Ebuehi, Toruna, Bassey, Aina
Chukwuze, Ndidi, Aribo, Simon
Boniface, Awoniyi

Osimhen is rested.

Who is the tall black guy in the picture? Is he one of Peseiro's assistant? If so, what position does
he coach?

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:39 am Who is the tall black guy in the picture? Is he one of Peseiro's assistant? If so, what position does
he coach?
He’s the assistant goalkeeper coach assigned to teach Noble and Akpeyi how to be a decent goalie not a basket. Both goalies are expected to concede less than 3 goals per game after training. :thumb:

Adeleye will protest oo. He acts like conceding 2 goals per game is his birthright.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 5:35 am
1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:39 am Who is the tall black guy in the picture? Is he one of Peseiro's assistant? If so, what position does
he coach?
He’s the assistant goalkeeper coach assigned to teach Noble and Akpeyi how to be a decent goalie not a basket. Both goalies are expected to concede less than 3 goals per game after training. :thumb:
MAIDABOI

Post by MAIDABOI »

ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:04 am No need to field a strong side against Sao Tome

Would lineup

Adeleye
Ebuehi, Toruna, Bassey, Aina
Chukwuze, Ndidi, Aribo, Simon
Boniface, Awoniyi

Osimhen is rested.
Any line up should include Osimhen he needs to break that Yekini record

Eagles have landed for their tough match

https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cw2N24lL ... BiNWFlZA==

The Manager would have to not dress one of these surplus strikers in this match. In my view that will be one of the debutants. Osimhen will start but not play the entire game. That is almost 100% certainty.

I like the fact that debutants attempting to make impression with early arrival in camp. LOL.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Gift Orban reports for Super Eagles duty ahead of potential cap-tying game, 9 other invitees land in Uyo.

Free-scoring KAA Gent striker Gift Orban has reported for international duty in Uyo ahead of the Super Eagles' dead rubber 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against São Tomé and Príncipe, allnigeriasoccer.com reports.

Orban has ended speculation about his international future by showing up in camp, around six months after withdrawing from the Olympic Eagles' squad for an U23 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Guinea.

Belgian Pro League club KAA Gent did not release the striker to the Nigeria Football Federation in March because the invitation letter was sent late.

Orban is a dual national - he is eligible to represent Togo's Sparrow hawks through his Togolese mother.

Although he has plenty Togolese friends and was being monitored by the Togolese Football Federation, Orban has committed his international future to Nigeria, where his father hails from.

Should Orban feature for even one second against São Tomé and Príncipe, he will become officially cap-tied to Nigeria.

Meanwhile, Orban's teammate at Gent, Jordan Torunarigha has also landed in Uyo and the central defender is set to make his competitive Super Eagles debut on Sunday after switching his international allegiance from his country of birth, Germany to Nigeria.

Goalkeepers Adebayo Adeleye and Francis Uzoho, fullbacks Tyronne Ebuehi and Bruno Onyemaechi, midfielder Frank Onyeka, forwards Moses Simon, Kelechi Iheanacho and Samuel Chukwueze are among the early arrivals in the Super Eagles camp.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=48719

iworo wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 12:56 pm Gift Orban reports for Super Eagles duty ahead of potential cap-tying game, 9 other invitees land in Uyo.

Free-scoring KAA Gent striker Gift Orban has reported for international duty in Uyo ahead of the Super Eagles' dead rubber 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against São Tomé and Príncipe, allnigeriasoccer.com reports.

Orban has ended speculation about his international future by showing up in camp, around six months after withdrawing from the Olympic Eagles' squad for an U23 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Guinea.

Belgian Pro League club KAA Gent did not release the striker to the Nigeria Football Federation in March because the invitation letter was sent late.

Orban is a dual national - he is eligible to represent Togo's Sparrow hawks through his Togolese mother.

Although he has plenty Togolese friends and was being monitored by the Togolese Football Federation, Orban has committed his international future to Nigeria, where his father hails from.

Should Orban feature for even one second against São Tomé and Príncipe, he will become officially cap-tied to Nigeria.

Meanwhile, Orban's teammate at Gent, Jordan Torunarigha has also landed in Uyo and the central defender is set to make his competitive Super Eagles debut on Sunday after switching his international allegiance from his country of birth, Germany to Nigeria.

Goalkeepers Adebayo Adeleye and Francis Uzoho, fullbacks Tyronne Ebuehi and Bruno Onyemaechi, midfielder Frank Onyeka, forwards Moses Simon, Kelechi Iheanacho and Samuel Chukwueze are among the early arrivals in the Super Eagles camp.

Why am I feeling for the Togolese?
Chai. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Some broken hearts out there right now.

We’ve been there.
Sorry.
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

There are 22 players in camp already but it is sad that we will only have one match to test a few of these new players.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2023/09/06/l ... -tome-tie/
thanks
davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

Damunk wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 1:19 pm
iworo wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 12:56 pm Gift Orban reports for Super Eagles duty ahead of potential cap-tying game, 9 other invitees land in Uyo.

We’ve been there.
Sorry.
same way i felt when Saka, tomori and others decided to play for countries other than nigeria.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

What makes anyone on this forum think that Orban cannot play as a10?

In addition to playing out wide, I believe that the formation (If we have a creative coach), can accommodate Orban, Victor and Victor.

Additionally, I am renaming Gift Orban as the BLACK MESSI!!

davidbam14 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:28 pm

We’ve been there.
Sorry.
same way i felt when Saka, tomori and others decided to play for countries other than nigeria.
Yup.
My very point.
You win some, lose some.
It’s a dog eat dog game.
Grab what you can, by all means necessary.
No ‘gentu-man’.
No mercy.
No apologies.

iworo wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 12:48 pm
Why do the 3 men on the left look the same? Are they related? Or are Nigerian men morphing into each other- bald, ugly, pot-bellied sycophants? :ohmy:

Damunk wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:51 pm

We’ve been there.
Sorry.
Yup.
My very point.
You win some, lose some.
It’s a dog eat dog game.
No ‘gentu-man’.
No mercy.
No apologies.
Not really about you win some you lose some. The bigger point IMO is majority of players will choose to play for the bigger country that trained them up as long as they are good enough for them. Just like Orban and Naija, it’s the same with Saka, Tomori etc…shoe is just on the other foot in this case…If we ignored him till he was 25+ he might choose to try the lesser country (Togo).

maceo4 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:58 pm

We’ve been there.
Sorry.
Yup.
My very point.
You win some, lose some.
It’s a dog eat dog game.
No ‘gentu-man’.
No mercy.
No apologies.
Not really about you win some you lose some. The bigger point IMO is majority of players will choose to play for the bigger country that trained them up as long as they are good enough for them. Just like Orban and Naija, it’s the same with Saka, Tomori etc…shoe is just on the other foot in this case…If we ignored him till he was 25+ he might choose to try the lesser country (Togo).
I may be wrong but I don’t think Nigeria ‘trained up’ Orban.
Did we?
Nigeria didn’t ‘train up’ Iwobi either.

If you won't dress one of the debutants in a game like this that will be competitive but with little negative implication, when will you dress him? I think Osimhen and one of the debutants will start. The debutant that starts will play 60 minutes and the other one will be subbed in. Osimhen will then be subbed out after 75 for Awoniyi. The goal is to see how the debutants partner with Osimhen. We already know how Awoniyi partners with him ... very ineffective. In fact, Osimhen did all the work in that partnership. It was like there was no partnership at all ...
Enugu II wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 12:45 pm The Manager would have to not dress one of these surplus strikers in this match. In my view that will be one of the debutants. Osimhen will start but not play the entire game. That is almost 100% certainty.

I like the fact that debutants attempting to make impression with early arrival in camp. LOL.

Damunk wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 4:15 pm
maceo4 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:58 pm

We’ve been there.
Sorry.
Yup.
My very point.
You win some, lose some.
It’s a dog eat dog game.
No ‘gentu-man’.
No mercy.
No apologies.
I may be wrong but I don’t think Nigeria ‘trained up’ Orban.
Did we?
Nigeria didn’t ‘train up’ Iwobi either.
You are wrong, he was discovered in Naija and Aneke took him to Norway, see here https://theathletic.com/4347031/2023/04 ... ick/?amp=1

…Iwobi is a reach based on who his family is…show me the majority of players who are choosing to go with the lesser country, esp when they were trained and in the system of the bigger one…ATEOTD relying on this form of recruiting is basically guaranteeing you will get the left overs, who can’t make it to their first choice…it’s not really a crap shoot like you want to make it sound like, it’s a scramble for the bottom of the barrel, the ones at the top are almost guaranteed not to choose the second/third option…

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 4:26 pm If you won't dress one of the debutants in a game like this that will be competitive but with little negative implication, when will you dress him? I think Osimhen and one of the debutants will start. The debutant that starts will play 60 minutes and the other one will be subbed in. Osimhen will then be subbed out after 75 for Awoniyi. The goal is to see how the debutants partner with Osimhen. We already know how Awoniyi partners with him ... very ineffective. In fact, Osimhen did all the work in that partnership. It was like there was no partnership at all ...
Enugu II wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 12:45 pm The Manager would have to not dress one of these surplus strikers in this match. In my view that will be one of the debutants. Osimhen will start but not play the entire game. That is almost 100% certainty.

1naija,

We shall see but with the paucity of friendlies, it is difficult to state what the goals of the manager would be -- test new guys v build on-going chemistry? What I know for sure is that Osimhen will be started to let him achieve personal goal of topping the scoring chart in the qualifiers. This will happen, bar injuries. Now is up in the air whether the manager will try all new strikers or give Awoniyi a walk out. Either way should be fine. If I am to bet, I will give Awoniyi a run-out for sure. The other newbies will prove who deserves to be on, based on their training with others. I feel that the Manager cannot be sure that Awoniyi works well with Osimhen and this is another opportunity to figure this out.

My hunch is that Orban will play wide and compete, not with Osimhen and Awoniyi, but with Simon, Chukwueze, and the other wide forwards. Just a hunch.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

delisyomie don wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 2:49 pm There are 22 players in camp already but it is sad that we will only have one match to test a few of these new players.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2023/09/06/l ... -tome-tie/
Sad for who? You do know there is another fifa window next month...