Super Eagles Camp Updates

Re: Super Eagles Camp Updates

nzeogwu wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:30 pm What makes anyone on this forum think that Orban cannot play as a10?

In addition to playing out wide, I believe that the formation (If we have a creative coach), can accommodate Orban, Victor and Victor.

Additionally, I am renaming Gift Orban as the BLACK MESSI!!
Have you ever seen him play as a 10?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 5:53 pm
delisyomie don wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 2:49 pm There are 22 players in camp already but it is sad that we will only have one match to test a few of these new players.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2023/09/06/l ... -tome-tie/
Sad for who? You do know there is another fifa window next month...
And you know we currently have nothing scheduled while everyone else has 2 friendlies.

You also know we are the only major African team to not have a friendly THIS window.

We are behind the ball. This NFF so far has been a disaster.

🤣🤣🤣🤣someone just claimed orban wasn't developed via Nigeria.

The thing tire me. A player makes the team based on his performance at one position, and we want assign him to completely different position. EII is suggesting he is played on the wings to compete with Moses and Chukwueze.
Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 5:54 pm
nzeogwu wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:30 pm What makes anyone on this forum think that Orban cannot play as a10?

In addition to playing out wide, I believe that the formation (If we have a creative coach), can accommodate Orban, Victor and Victor.

OJI

Post by OJI »

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:39 am Who is the tall black guy in the picture? Is he one of Peseiro's assistant? If so, what position does
he coach?
That "tall black guy" happens to be Patrick Pascal.
Patrick Pascal is a former Nigerian footballer, who is currently the Super Eagles team coordinator and chairman Bauchi Football Association. Patrick Pascal was part of the Nigeria Olympic team that won the gold medal in Atlanta 1996

Thanks, uncle. I remember that name.
OJI wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 7:43 pm
1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:39 am Who is the tall black guy in the picture? Is he one of Peseiro's assistant? If so, what position does
he coach?
That "tall black guy" happens to be Patrick Pascal.
Patrick Pascal is a former Nigerian footballer, who is currently the Super Eagles team coordinator and chairman Bauchi Football Association. Patrick Pascal was part of the Nigeria Olympic team that won the gold medal in Atlanta 1996

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 7:37 pm The thing tire me. A player makes the team based on his performance at one position, and we want assign him to completely different position. EII is suggesting he is played on the wings to compete with Moses and Chukwueze.

My brother the thing tire me, we've seen him week in week out playing as a striker, some here saw a few youtube highlights and they want him to play the role the likes of Jay jay and Oruma player. LEt me post his highlights so they can see better.

For me he is either played as a striker of a SS

nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Apologies. I mean in the mold of Messi as a support striker. Not as a JJ.

MAIDABOI

Post by MAIDABOI »

I can say with certainty that you have never seen him Play
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

You are absolutely right. :)

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 7:53 pm
1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 7:37 pm The thing tire me. A player makes the team based on his performance at one position, and we want assign him to completely different position. EII is suggesting he is played on the wings to compete with Moses and Chukwueze.

My brother the thing tire me, we've seen him week in week out playing as a striker, some here saw a few youtube highlights and they want him to play the role the likes of Jay jay and Oruma player. LEt me post his highlights so they can see better.

He does not have to be used in the exact same role at his club. This happens all the time...

Having said that, the #10 thing is not reflected in any of his qualities...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Which other player in the team is being used in different role than he plays at his club? Or will this be the first?
txj wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 9:12 pm

He does not have to be used in the exact same role at his club. This happens all the time...

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 9:43 pm Which other player in the team is being used in different role than he plays at his club? Or will this be the first?

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you go wait tire

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 9:43 pm Which other player in the team is being used in different role than he plays at his club? Or will this be the first?

We have done it over the years:

Okey Isima
Sylvanus Okpalla
Siasia
Simon as a wing back

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I'm surprised BPokey is with 1Naija having been a Mikel Obi shriner for years. The player with 2 completely different roles for club and country.

For something more recent, look at the Falcons with Michelle Alozie who came in the squad as a striker and got converted to a makeshift RB and remained there. Post WC she has been in defence for her club until her recent red.

Having said all that Orban is far from a 10. He can maybe play as a 9.5....off a main striker or in a dual parallel striker system.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Was just playing with everyone. With all seriousness and all jokes aside, I am all for a 4-3-3 without wingers like Samu. How many people on this forum believe that Nigeria can play with a three-man midfield, two wide forwards, and a target man?

A: If so, what is our best three up front? RF, CF, LF ( Think outside the box and please do not include either Chukwueze, Lookman or Simon)

B: Whether in camp or not, which three midfielders can provide the ball best and with the most frequency to these forwards?
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Was just playing with everyone. With all seriousness and all jokes aside, I am all for a 4-3-3 without wingers like Samu. How many people on this forum believe that Nigeria can play with a three-man midfield, two wide forwards, and a target man?

A: If so, what is our best three up front? RF, CF, LF ( Think outside the box and please do not include either Chukwueze, Lookman or Simon)

B: Whether in camp or not, which three midfielders can provide the ball best and with the most frequency to these forwards?

E be like my eye dey pain me.
I still never see Orban for any of the camp videos. :blink: :blink: :blink:

Maybe him dey camera shy. Every report I have seen says he and Torunarigha were among the first players to arrive in camp.
Damunk wrote: Thu Sep 07, 2023 12:45 am E be like my eye dey pain me.

Orban is the new hype. I hope he starts dk that we can see what he can do. Nigeria already have players with similar skill sets. I don't see how he is going to improve the team. Our problem is the midfield and defense. And I have not seen anything to suggest that he can be good as a 10. Agente may want to force him into the starting 11. Our focus should be GK, midfield and defense. Who is going to stop the opponent. Who is going to pass the ball to Orban?

ohenhen1 wrote: Thu Sep 07, 2023 12:58 am Orban is the new hype. I hope he starts dk that we can see what he can do. Nigeria already have players with similar skill sets. I don't see how he is going to improve the team. Our problem is the midfield and defense. And I have not seen anything to suggest that he can be good as a 10. Agente may want to force him into the starting 11. Our focus should be GK, midfield and defense. Who is going to stop the opponent. Who is going to pass the ball to Orban?
Maybe it is just me. I do not expect Orban to start and when he plays, he will be played wide. That is just a hunch. BTW, we have seen his type and hype before. I hope that this time it will be different.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Damunk wrote: Thu Sep 07, 2023 12:45 am E be like my eye dey pain me.
Saw him going through the metal detectors. Mace posted a video from IG.