Possible 28 man squad for Afcon camping
The camp starts end of December.
Would switch to 4-3-3 formation, similar to what Liverpool is playing.
GK- Ojo, Obasogie,Osayi, Bankole
RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
CB- Ajayi, Bassey, Omeruo, Awaziem, Frederick
MF- Ndidi, Onyeka, Nwakili, Nwobodo, Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro
FW- Osimhen, Boniface, Moffi, Lookman, Chukwuze, Simon, Iheanacho, Iwobi
RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
Re: Possible 28 man squad for Afcon camping
Would play Nwakili, Ndidi and Onyeka in midfield. Ndidi will play the deepest. Nwakili would be the deep playmaker.
Obasogie
Osayi, Ajayi, Bassey, Sanusi
Nwakili, Ndidi, Nwobodo
Chukwuze, Osimhen, Lookman
If Chukwuze is not fit, would play Iheanacho or Boniface.
Osayi, Ajayi, Bassey, Sanusi
Nwakili, Ndidi, Nwobodo
Chukwuze, Osimhen, Lookman
If Chukwuze is not fit, would play Iheanacho or Boniface.
Seems 80% the possible 27 man squad, good thing we will finally see more midfielders at least.ohenhen1 wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 7:07 am The camp starts end of December.
RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
Although I feel Ifeanyi Matthew and Alhassan Yusuf have a better shot over Nwobodo and Daga
Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:01 amSeems 80% the possible 27 man squad, good thing we will finally see more midfielders at least.ohenhen1 wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 7:07 am The camp starts end of December.
RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
Although I feel Ifeanyi Matthew and Alhassan Yusuf have a better shot over Nwobodo and Daga
Daga, Eletu, Frederick, Akinsanmiro and one of the goalkeepers won't make the final 23. They are just U20 camp trainees. Don't need Alhasan or Mathew.
Actually would take Daga and drop Iwobi or Moffi. Or Simon or a full back. Need 5 midfielders.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
ohenhen1 wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 7:07 am The camp starts end of December.
RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
I’m really surprised, though, that you included Iheanacho in your list
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Nwobodo or Onyeka??? Doesn’t sound like you truly know what you want. You’re just throwing names aroundohenhen1 wrote:Would play Nwakili, Ndidi and Onyeka in midfield. Ndidi will play the deepest. Nwakili would be the deep playmaker.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
… but here’s a lineup I’d like to try…
Competent Goalie (I hope we find one soon)
Aina, Ndah, Bassey, Sanusi
Nwakali. Ndidi, Onyeka
Iheanacho, Osimhen, Iwobi
Nwakali. Ndidi, Onyeka
As long as Akpom, aifeany Matthew, Alhassan Yusuf , Rasheed and Obasogie are on the list and Musa, Sadiq, Uzoho are not, I am good.
Need fast wide players and fast full backs for the system to work.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 11:35 am … but here’s a lineup I’d like to try…
Nwakali. Ndidi, Onyeka
That is the problem. We used to groom young players like Yekini, Oliseh, Kanu and etc well before they were full internationals. Doesn't hurt to bring them in as camp bodies.
- packerland
Those u-20 boys are not ready. I’m good if Uzoho, Musa, Sadiq & Collin’s are not on the list. The rest of the players need to wake up including all our so called strikers. Ohenhen1 I like the balance of your squad list even though I’m sure you have the right players. We won’t win jack carrying 12 attacking players.
Akpom can't make the team over any of the the strikers listed ....
I can't drop any one for Ifeanyi Mathew and Alhasan Yusuf. I do think Nigeria needs a new Defensive midfielder.
- maceo4
All the kids you listed can be dropped like Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro, they are not playing at any decent level at this time, so why can’t they be dropped for ones playing consistently at higher levels? Make it make sense…
- bret- hart
I would not mind taking Eletu or Akinsanmiro. Onuche Ogbelu is also doing well. All ofvthem are midfielders. Better to take at least 1 of them that to take a waste of space Aribo.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:19 pm Those u-20 boys are not ready. I’m good if Uzoho, Musa, Sadiq & Collin’s are not on the list. The rest of the players need to wake up including all our so called strikers. Ohenhen1 I like the balance of your squad list even though I’m sure you have the right players. We won’t win jack carrying 12 attacking players.
- packerland
BretHart,bret- hart wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:34 pmI would not mind taking Eletu or Akinsanmiro. Onuche Ogbelu is also doing well. All ofvthem are midfielders. Better to take at least 1 of them that to take a waste of space Aribo.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:19 pm Those u-20 boys are not ready. I’m good if Uzoho, Musa, Sadiq & Collin’s are not on the list. The rest of the players need to wake up including all our so called strikers. Ohenhen1 I like the balance of your squad list even though I’m sure you have the right players. We won’t win jack carrying 12 attacking players.
Make you no fill our team with your clients Lol Those boys look like future stars but they’re not ready. If the core of our squad were performing well then I’ll say take 2 or 3 of those boys so they can get valuable experience. Even westerhoff was pressured to take a young Kanu to the 94 WC but he didn’t.
- bret- hart
So you would rather take Aribo thar is a benchwarmer in Div 2?packerland wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:40 pmBretHart,bret- hart wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:34 pmI would not mind taking Eletu or Akinsanmiro. Onuche Ogbelu is also doing well. All ofvthem are midfielders. Better to take at least 1 of them that to take a waste of space Aribo.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:19 pm Those u-20 boys are not ready. I’m good if Uzoho, Musa, Sadiq & Collin’s are not on the list. The rest of the players need to wake up including all our so called strikers. Ohenhen1 I like the balance of your squad list even though I’m sure you have the right players. We won’t win jack carrying 12 attacking players.
Make you no fill our team with your clients Lol Those boys look like future stars but they’re not ready. If the core of our squad were performing well then I’ll say take 2 or 3 of those boys so they can get valuable experience. Even westerhoff was pressured to take a young Kanu to the 94 WC but he didn’t.
The goal is to have a hand in their development. Can’t completely outsource their development. Would allocate 5 spots to young players for camping. They will train with senior players.maceo4 wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:30 pmAll the kids you listed can be dropped like Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro, they are not playing at any decent level at this time, so why can’t they be dropped for ones playing consistently at higher levels? Make it make sense…
Packer na my guy but I don't understand why he and other CE members are so fixated on keeping div 2 benchwarming deadweights all in the name of "keeping the core team"...Aribo is simply not good enough on current form and has no business in the AFCON final squad. A player like Ifeanyi Matthew and even Nwakali are playing their best football right now and should make the team with no excuses.bret- hart wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:58 pmSo you would rather take Aribo thar is a benchwarmer in Div 2?packerland wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:40 pmBretHart,bret- hart wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:34 pmI would not mind taking Eletu or Akinsanmiro. Onuche Ogbelu is also doing well. All ofvthem are midfielders. Better to take at least 1 of them that to take a waste of space Aribo.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:19 pm Those u-20 boys are not ready. I’m good if Uzoho, Musa, Sadiq & Collin’s are not on the list. The rest of the players need to wake up including all our so called strikers. Ohenhen1 I like the balance of your squad list even though I’m sure you have the right players. We won’t win jack carrying 12 attacking players.
Good squad. I would include Nwabili and Rasheed and take out 2 of the home based goalies. In midfield, I take out Daga, Eletu, and Akinsanmiro and add Alhassan Yusuf, Onyedika, Dele-Bashiru, and Ibrahim Olawoyin. Realistically those U-20 boys are at least a year or two away from being SE ready, with Daga being the most raw.
IMO, Yusuf is the best in the DM position other than Ndidi. Covers a lot of ground, makes intelligent passes, and is decent going forward. Seen him twice in the Champions league and I was impressed. He's also just 23.
Dele-Bashiru and Olawoyin can also play both CM and AM so they are both quite versatile. Dele-Bashiru is also just 22.
IMO, Yusuf is the best in the DM position other than Ndidi. Covers a lot of ground, makes intelligent passes, and is decent going forward. Seen him twice in the Champions league and I was impressed. He's also just 23.
Dele-Bashiru and Olawoyin can also play both CM and AM so they are both quite versatile. Dele-Bashiru is also just 22.
RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
Ifeanyi Matthew over Dele Bashiru most definitelyolu wrote: ↑Sun Nov 26, 2023 5:53 pm Good squad. I would include Nwabili and Rasheed and take out 2 of the home based goalies. In midfield, I take out Daga, Eletu, and Akinsanmiro and add Alhassan Yusuf, Onyedika, Dele-Bashiru, and Ibrahim Olawoyin. Realistically those U-20 boys are at least a year or two away from being SE ready, with Daga being the most raw.
RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
Add Sadiq quick quick, Abi you no see the golazzo today?