Sunday Mba

Re: Sunday Mba

txj wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 11:23 pm
jette1 wrote: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:55 pm JAYJAY, KANU, MBA, RASHIDI, TARIBO etc

that's how he would be remembered ; among the Nigerian greats

Not true...
:lol: he is rarely remembered today.

Wow in that short video our players were full of was full of fire, desire, drive etc. That's been missing for a long time. We need to relight that spark. A home based player scoring such a wonderful goal in the Afcon final?? Keshi the legend forever.
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

he is a legend, it shows that we don't need all these so-called superstars on the field every time, we need dedicated players who are ready to risk it all.
thanks

Let's not forget this CIV goal when we elevate Vincent to Oliver Kahn status here.

greg wrote: Fri Dec 15, 2023 7:25 am Wow in that short video our players were full of was full of fire, desire, drive etc. That's been missing for a long time. We need to relight that spark. A home based player scoring such a wonderful goal in the Afcon final?? Keshi the legend forever.
Keshi = LEGEND

:thumbs: :thumbs:
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

For me, that AFCON 2013 was very special. Not only did it prove that playibg with 'heart' is critical, it rubbished tge idea of 'levels' like txj likes to write about. Those 'leveks' continue to be tubbished by likes of Lesotho. LOL.

Many forget that Mba was not even a starter for that tourney. The starter was Euro professional Igiebor! Igiebor struck a memorable goal in a friendly against Venezuela and was a hero as a youth international. Keshi did not care. He wanted the best for Nigeria. After a poor tournament start with igiebor as a starter, Keshi benched Igiebor. In came a local player, Mba [levels??], and the rest is history. Everything changed.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Still feel for him that he wasn’t taken to the World Cup

deanotito wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2023 4:08 pm Still feel for him that he wasn’t taken to the World Cup
Dean

Perhaps, the feelings are okay but a manager has to focus on current form. This why I just do not agree with picking players based on past, club pedigree, and so on. Yes, you may invite them but they must constantly prove they belong or you simply find a replacement. Thus the consequence for Mba, Akpoguma, Igiebor is okay because they were cut when they could not constantly prove their keep. So should it be.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2023 5:31 pm
deanotito wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2023 4:08 pm Still feel for him that he wasn’t taken to the World Cup
Dean

Perhaps, the feelings are okay but a manager has to focus on current form. This why I just do not agree with picking players based on past, club pedigree, and so on. Yes, you may invite them but they must constantly prove they belong or you simply find a replacement. Thus the consequence for Mba, Akpoguma, Igiebor is okay because they were cut when they could not constantly prove their keep. So should it be.
My brother…His replacements were whom? I think a coach deserves wide latitude in selection but I don’t see any reason Mba was dropped for the likes of Uchebo and Babatunde.

deanotito wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2023 6:08 pm
Dean

My brother…His replacements were whom? I think a coach deserves wide latitude in selection but I don’t see any reason Mba was dropped for the likes of Uchebo and Babatunde.
Good point but those two were foreign based along with Nwofor and somehow Keshi may have thought that Mba apparently mo longer on his AFCON form could be replaced by one of those. Nwofor especially was a clinical striker but apart from one of the warm up games his box-focused performance was rubbish.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 12:24 am
Dean

Good point but those two were foreign based along with Nwofor and somehow Keshi may have thought that Mba apparently mo longer on his AFCON form could be replaced by one of those. Nwofor especially was a clinical striker but apart from one of the warm up games his box-focused performance was rubbish.
I think Mba too was foreign based at that point playing in French Division 2. But watching those old games on FIFA+ app I noticed Babatunde was so much better than what I initially thought. Uchebo was pure junk though played in Belgium Div 1.

maceo4 wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 12:35 am
Dean

I think Mba too was foreign based at that point playing in French Division 2. But watching those old games on FIFA+ app I noticed Babatunde was so much better than what I initially thought. Uchebo was pure junk though played in Belgium Div 1.
You remember that friendly before the tournament where Uchebo looked 100% like the “junks” we thought he was? And still he got picked for the WC and Mba dropped?

Honestly the selection of Uchebo and Ameobi, for different reasons, were unnerving. Mba was actually crying when he was dropped and I don’t blame him

deanotito wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 1:30 am
maceo4 wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 12:35 am
Dean

You remember that friendly before the tournament where Uchebo looked 100% like the “junks” we thought he was? And still he got picked for the WC and Mba dropped?

Honestly the selection of Uchebo and Ameobi, for different reasons, were unnerving. Mba was actually crying when he was dropped and I don’t blame him
That’s the problem with Keshi. You appreciate what he did for us but then again you remember pe junks that were part of his team. My guess is that he coached and the players played without fear. Remember he was going to be fired at the AFCON had he lost that third group game against Ethiopia.

Not sure how anyone can line up Mba alongside Yekini, Kanu, Mikel, Ikpeba, JJ etc as “one of” the greats.
Mba.
He had an iconic moment or two, but that’s about it.

Having said that, every player that gets to the level of representing Nigeria needs to be respected.
Nor be beans.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 11:28 pm

Not true...
Mba won’t enter Nigeria’s GOAT Top 40 list.

Damunk wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 6:24 am

Not true...
Perhaps not a sentimental top 40 list.. but if you had a list based on merit and performance, he would be one of the first names on it🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Dec 22, 2023 3:12 pm

Not true...
Perhaps not a sentimental top 40 list.. but if you had a list based on merit and performance, he would be one of the first names on it🤔❗️

We can put it to the test and you can then decide who is being sentimental and who isn’t.
Should we ask our esteemed body of CE experts? :thumb:

Damunk wrote: Fri Dec 22, 2023 6:48 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Dec 22, 2023 3:12 pm

Not true...

We can put it to the test and you can then decide who is being sentimental and who isn’t.
Should we ask our esteemed body of CE experts? :thumb:
🤣🤣🤣 CE and “experts” in one breadth… Have a merry Christmas😀❗️