Osimhen doubt for SA game (now available)

Re: Osimhen doubt for SA game

bushboy wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 6:14 pm A half fit Osimhen is a big risk. I would start with Moffi. Who has better ball skills and is a superior finisher.
no

Moffi was invisible in the friendlies.

airwolex wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:00 pm
packerland wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 3:58 pm
Dammy wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 3:51 pm
ugly boy wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 3:45 pm kelechi is playing since he was at the press conference
Kelechi Iheanacho is “unhappy” as he has yet to play at the AFCON and so opted out of today’s CAF official pre-match conference in Bouake.

Leicester City striker Iheanacho was slated to accompany coach Jose Peseiro for today’s official presser.
That is selfish on his part. What about Moffi who hasn’t played and who was not even included in the original squad and was only added due to injuries? I guess he’s fuming because he hasn’t had a chance to play to show potential suitors since his contract is running down this summer.
I can understand that he isn't happy, but to skip the press conference! If true that's just a bad look.
I am sure it is not true.

ugly boy wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 3:45 pm kelechi is playing since he was at the press conference
Kelechi Iheanacho is “unhappy” as he has yet to play at the AFCON and so opted out of today’s CAF official pre-match conference in Bouake.

Leicester City striker Iheanacho was slated to accompany coach Jose Peseiro for today’s official presser.
I don't understand. He laughs, sings and is merry when he is on the bench in Leicester. Even when he just left City and his stock was high, and many felt he should leave Leicester, some people here stoutly defended him and said he was earning big money for doing nothing, and he was getting his papers in the UK.

Well, he is on the bench for SE, so he should be happy for the success of the team.

BTW, I have stayed in the team hotel several times, so my comment here has additional 'sauce'.

Synopsis wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 6:26 pm Moffi was invisible in the friendlies.
Which friendlies?
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

bushboy wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 7:41 pm
Which friendlies?
Well, Saudi Arabia, Lesotho, Zimbabwe.

truetalk wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 7:19 pm

I don't understand. He laughs, sings and is merry when he is on the bench in Leicester. Even when he just left City and his stock was high, and many felt he should leave Leicester, some people here stoutly defended him and said he was earning big money for doing nothing, and he was getting his papers in the UK.

Well, he is on the bench for SE, so he should be happy for the success of the team.

BTW, I have stayed in the team hotel several times, so my comment here has additional 'sauce'.
I’ve also seen him laugh sing and be merry with his teammates and celebrating every goal with the rest of the players…Abi you haven’t seen him do that this entire tournament? Or what are you saying?

maceo4 wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 8:16 pm

I’ve also seen him laugh sing and be merry with his teammates and celebrating every goal with the rest of the players…Abi you haven’t seen him do that this entire tournament? Or what are you saying?
I can't read Kele any more. He is usually the jovial guy but he was not a part of their last locker room celebration. What I do know is that 10-20 years from now, someone will do a "tell it all" interview on things we're not privy to. Maybe we'll find if Musa is indeed a leader or just another player with connection while riding the coattails of others.

packerland wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 8:47 pm

I can't read Kele any more. He is usually the jovial guy but he was not a part of their last locker room celebration. What I do know is that 10-20 years from now, someone will do a "tell it all" interview on things we're not privy to. Maybe we'll find if Musa is indeed a leader or just another player with connection while riding the coattails of others.
I saw Kele celebrating the two ‘goals’ we scored during the last game, I didn’t see him NOT celebrating in the locker room. I just feel like these folks are trying so hard to put discord in the team all in the name of gist. Clearly nobody will be happy to not play a single minute at the tourney esp and rightly so as a professional should feel they have something to offer. Same way it was reported Vic was unhappy in 2019 and Ighalo said he had to talk to him to relax that his time would come. But I haven’t seen Kelechi actively trying to undermine the team in anyway regardless of his lack of PT…

Bobo is behind Onuachu in the pecking order. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Senior Div 2 Benchwarmer needs to be put in his place. He can sit on the bench in a Div 2 club, but thinks he cant sit on the bench in Nigeria. He needs to be cut out of the team once the AFCON is over.

bushboy wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 6:14 pm A half fit Osimhen is a big risk. I would start with Moffi. Who has better ball skills and is a superior finisher.
Why do you always make stuff up when google is just a click away. they have almost identical shot conversion rates and shots on target per 90 minutes (footystats.org). But Osimhen scores more goals each season, defends, creates opportunity for others by just torturing defenders but you keep pushing a false narrative. Moffi is a good player but no sane man picks him over a mildly unfit Osimhen

maceo4 wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 9:27 pm

I saw Kele celebrating the two ‘goals’ we scored during the last game, I didn’t see him NOT celebrating in the locker room. I just feel like these folks are trying so hard to put discord in the team all in the name of gist. Clearly nobody will be happy to not play a single minute at the tourney esp and rightly so as a professional should feel they have something to offer. Same way it was reported Vic was unhappy in 2019 and Ighalo said he had to talk to him to relax that his time would come. But I haven’t seen Kelechi actively trying to undermine the team in anyway regardless of his lack of PT…
Mace,

This isnt about sowing discord bit about knowing as much as one can. Kele is human unless we are stating that he is not. This is a guy with several international games under his belt and he is no where near retirement. Clearly, if he is not injured then something unusual has to be going on and as journalist worth his salt should really find out. That is the job of journalists. There is no way Kele or anyone else for that matter can be happy with the situation if they find themselves in a similar situation. As they say .... the story is definitely loading.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 9:32 pm

Mace,

This isnt about sowing discord bit about knowing as much as one can. Kele is human unless we are stating that he is not. This is a guy with several international games under his belt and he is no where near retirement. Clearly, if he is not injured then something unusual has to be going on and as journalist worth his salt should really find out. That is the job of journalists. There is no way Kele or anyone else for that matter can be happy with the situation if they find themselves in a similar situation. As they say .... the story is definitely loading.
E2, I think it’s sowing discord when they continuously ask the same question about Kelechi once the coach has answered it once, then why continue to ask the same thing after each game? What purpose does it serve? Let’s wait till after the tourney and we will really know what took place, I just don’t think it’s the right time to distract the team via assumptions when we have seen Kelechi celebrating with the team, training normally wi the team, and trying to be as professional as possible given the situation. Only the coach knows why he’s not playing someone that had a hand in goals in our last 5 games leading up to the tourney. I wouldn’t necessarily start dogging the player when he can’t force himself on the team all he can do is be progressional which we have seen him do, regardless of how he feels about the situation.

Mace,

This is quite strange.

Are you saying that he should be guaranteed playing time- based on his past history, or else something is wrong?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 10:20 pm

Mace,

This is quite strange.

Are you saying that he should be guaranteed playing time- based on his past history, or else something is wrong?
Nope. Neither I am stating that Peseiro should play him.

What I am stating, however, is that given the fact that he has been regularly featuring for the team and suddenly has zero minutes THAT ALONE should have well trained journalists snooping around for answers because it is strange. Any journalist worth a dime in the profession should be asking questions at this time.

Bros, any answer provided by Peseiro on this issue creates a readable story and there are $$$$ for the media to be made by selling the story. It really matters diddly what Peseiro says. What matters is that he responds to the question and just that creates a STORY worth selling.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 10:35 pm

Mace,

This is quite strange.

What I am stating, however, is that given the fact that he has been regularly featuring for the team and suddenly has zero minutes THAT ALONE should have well trained journalists snooping around for answers because it is strange. Any journalist worth a dime in the profession should be asking questions at this time.

Bros, any answer provided by Peseiro on this issue creates a readable story and there are $$$$ for the media to be made by selling the story. It really matters diddly what Peseiro says. What matters is that he responds to the question and just that creates a STORY worth selling.

I'm not asking about the journalists; frankly I care diddly about the journos.

I am asking about YOU.

This is what you said:

Clearly, if he is not injured then something unusual has to be going on

If you say it is CLEARLY UNUSUAL, then you are saying that he MUST GET PLAYING TIME, based on his past history.

Why would it be unusual?

Why could it not be based on technical considerations?

I'm trying to understand your rationale for considering this unusual...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: Osimhen doubt for SA game (now available)

Txj, I agree, this happens all the time in footie, you get injured miss a few games and the team has found a rhythm in your absence and it’s tough for you to get back your place. Plus the coach has been very economical with his subs and there are others who haven’t seen any time despite being used in games prior like Moffi, Bruno etc…It’s part of footie, you just have to be a professional about it!

maceo4 wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 9:55 pm

Mace,

E2, I think it’s sowing discord when they continuously ask the same question about Kelechi once the coach has answered it once, then why continue to ask the same thing after each game? What purpose does it serve? Let’s wait till after the tourney and we will really know what took place, I just don’t think it’s the right time to distract the team via assumptions when we have seen Kelechi celebrating with the team, training normally wi the team, and trying to be as professional as possible given the situation. Only the coach knows why he’s not playing someone that had a hand in goals in our last 5 games leading up to the tourney. I wouldn’t necessarily start dogging the player when he can’t force himself on the team all he can do is be progressional which we have seen him do, regardless of how he feels about the situation.
Also find the constant Kelechi questions a bit weird. Almost like he has many friends in the media who are determined to politik him into the team.

Musa, Omeruoh and Awaziem arguably have better cases than Kelechi (if this were based on longevity), but every press conference, all the questions are Kelechi, Kelechi, Kelechi. One would think Kelechi is Jay Jay Okocha

txj wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 10:53 pm
Enugu II wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 10:35 pm

Mace,

This is quite strange.

I'm not asking about the journalists; frankly I care diddly about the journos.

I am asking about YOU.

This is what you said:

Clearly, if he is not injured then something unusual has to be going on

If you say it is CLEARLY UNUSUAL, then you are saying that he MUST GET PLAYING TIME, based on his past history.

Why would it be unusual?

Why could it not be based on technical considerations?

I'm trying to understand your rationale for considering this unusual...
Txj,

It is UNSUAL because in previous games, prior to AFCON, Iheanacho will USAUALLY get playing time. Is that not what unusual means if suddenly he is fit but is not getting into games? If you follow SE closely, then you ought to know that it is indeed UNUSUAL. Maybe you have another definition for UNUSUAL.

Perhaps, and surprisingly, you are unaware about how the team frequently used the personnel prior to the AFCON. I am surprised that you even question the use of that word. I guess you want me to state that it is not surprising? That, frankly, will be inaccurate.

In any case, my thought about questioning it is of course from the journalistic viewpoint and explaining why a journalist should and ought to ask the question. It will be a dereliction of duty not to ask that question.

For me, as a fan, I would not care as far as the team is winning. However, the discussion here is about the questioning by a journalist. To be frank, I will expect persistence in sniffing around the team to get an answer on why Iheanacho has not played a minute, why he was announced to be at the press conference today but yet was not there? Those are journalistic due diligence.

deanotito wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 11:57 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 9:55 pm

Mace,

Also find the constant Kelechi questions a bit weird. Almost like he has many friends in the media who are determined to politik him into the team.

Musa, Omeruoh and Awaziem arguably have better cases than Kelechi (if this were based on longevity), but every press conference, all the questions are Kelechi, Kelechi, Kelechi. One would think Kelechi is Jay Jay Okocha
Dean,

I am not at all surprised and frankly it is parr expectation. Let me ask you this, prior to the AFCON, how many minutes was Iheanacho playing for Nigeria per game compared to Musa, Omeruo, and Awaziem? If you have an idea of the answer it should give you a clue why the journalists have focused their questions on Iheanacho's absence. In factr, I would expect them to ask about Moffi before ever asking about Awaziem for instance or Ojo? This based on the use of the players prior to AFCON. LOL.

Nacho simply doesn't fit the system. Especially since it appears that the pressing has increased.

He doesn't fit in. Especially if we are up a goal. There's just no logical reason to bring him in.

That's the truth.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 2:34 am Nacho simply doesn't fit the system. Especially since it appears that the pressing has increased.

He doesn't fit in. Especially if we are up a goal. There's just no logical reason to bring him in.

That's the truth.
If we’re ties midway through the 2nd half. It’s Nacho time.