Benin 2 (Dossou, Mounie) Nigeria 1(Onyedika)

Re: Benin 2 (Dossou, Mounie) Nigeria 1(Onyedika)

I’m at work watching the match. What a waste of productive hours.

Damunk wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:36 pm
charlie wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:23 pm All you mumus insulting Finidi. I have told you once I will keep telling you until it sinks in: If you want to know the problem with Nigerian football,...Look in a mirror.

The coach that is knacking us now was the one we fired, even though he never failed to take us to a major tournament. A lot of you complaining now where part of the Sack Rohr parade.

Karma don catch all of una.
Tell then Charlie, even though they will continue to ignore you.

Sadly, we are where we are.
If we want a local coach, we have to keep Finidi.
He will learn - something we Nigerians believe is below us *>cough<*>cough,<*

Now we are being forced to learn the hard way.
... But was it not under Gernot Rohr that the rot started? His tenure was only good in the first contract but the rot was deep in the second contract. frankly, I see no regrets getting rid of him. Nigeria must find the right coach but it is certainly not Gernot Rohr. Even going further, some of these players must be cleared out.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

mcal wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:36 pm ...this requires a very very good laf :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I can’t laugh, unfortunately.
But I know who will be roaring with laughter at the moment.
Our arrogance has caught up with us.
We will learn…hopefully.
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

SEE WHAT HAVING A COMPETENT MANAGER CAN DO?

THIS SAME TEAM GOT TO THE FINAL OF THE AFCON.

LOOK AT WHAT AN INCOMPETENT, ARROGANT CLUELESS COACH DO TO A GOOD TEAM.
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon
icee

Post by icee »

I said yesterday - My strategy had turned into hoping and prayer because on the merits of key decisions made from ANC, we do not deserve success if the world is just. I love my eagles so still hopefully but I braced myself for this one. Somethings in life are easy and straightforward but we do more work to impose complexity and chaos.

One thing I'll touch on later. The players did not believe Finidi is a component coach. Finidi has been with this team a while you know so they know what they were getting. Rumour had it that players did want the change. Maybe that's why some of them didn't go out of there way to play injured. At Afcon, we had at least 4 players who played with injuries. Ekong played injured from the second game. The believed in the project, and they can tell when everyone has a defined role - it was clear to see.

Sad. Finidi is poor. Great player does not equate great coach. We threw these qualifiers away with disorganization. Then again why should our football fare better than our country’s when it comes to planning

I am disappointed in the way we played, but very happy for Gernot Rohr. He gave Finito a real schooling about how football is about systems and not individuals. Clearly the root of our problems is in the decisions coming out of the NFF boardroom.

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:37 pm The disappointing part is there was no fight with the exception with Onyedika literally fighting another player at the 93rd minute match. This is the worst game I have ever seen in my life watching Nigeria. Fire Finidi, drop the majority of the players. Shamefull, pathethic performance. Lets just overhaul the squad and start fresh.
i see you do not want to mention your benEfactors name FINIDI :oops:

maceo4 wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:37 pm
Lolly wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:34 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:30 pm The only one that showed up today was Lookman. Every one on this team should be dropped. Lets start fresh.
Onyedika played well.
Ohenhen is so annoying, he championed this useless coach, now lets start afresh with new players. Forgetting that just months ago this same set of players went to the ANC Final...what is the difference since then? Are they just suddenly bad players? What changed...will he please refresh us...
God bless you bro. I’m so tired.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Cant wait for Finidi's "excellent" post match interview :veryangry:
Last edited by Showboy on Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

green4life wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:37 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:28 pm Incredible.....1-2 down and no energy, no push. Just incredible. For me Manager has to go but several of these players should simply be cut. Get players who can give us all out effort. We have been getting this low effort for months now but simply changing managers has not cured it.....NFF must find a manager who is ready to clear house and lay down the hammer.
Little to do with the players and everything to do with the manager & NFF. We just finished second in the ANC months ago with the same players who were organized and developed a culture of work ethic on and off the ball. Then we blew that up for an inexperienced rookie manager and we want to act surprised? Really? :lol:
Zero sense of urgency by everyone involved.
Starting with the NFF and Sports Ministry with the drama of choosing a coach.
Preparations for the game.
Players not taking the games as seriously as they should have taken it.
Even them couldn't overcome bad coaching.

Oh well.

Finidi just put the death nail on any talk of a local coach handling the Eagles in the foreseeable future. :cry: :oops: :oops:

charlie wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:23 pm All you mumus insulting Finidi. I have told you once I will keep telling you until it sinks in: If you want to know the problem with Nigerian football,...Look in a mirror.

The coach that is knacking us now was the one we fired, even though he never failed to take us to a major tournament. A lot of you complaining now where part of the Sack Rohr parade.

...absolutely the coach has nothing to do with this, the so called abroad players were dirt poor. I mean at their european league clubs matches move fast, but today and last friday, it was all like practice not even a friendly.
Damn, I can only laf :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Very disappointing and disjointed performers. The whole backline was awful. Damn, this is painful!

Finidi was never convincing.

We must now face the truth. The SuperEagles are subpar. How are any of the forwards who played today better than Iheanacho? They are clearly not but some of us would want to single out a scapegoat instead of admitting the barefaced truth. We really don’t have the depth we thought we had🤔❗️

Synopsis wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:39 pm I’m at work watching the match. What a waste of productive hours.
Please don't remind me how much bread I put on hold just to watch this.

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:37 pm The disappointing part is there was no fight with the exception with Onyedika literally fighting another player at the 93rd minute match. This is the worst game I have ever seen in my life watching Nigeria. Fire Finidi, drop the majority of the players. Shamefull, pathethic performance. Lets just overhaul the squad and start fresh.
This team just won silver in the AFCON…..few months ago……or was I dreaming?

The fact that most of the players are Nigerian rejects…tells you one team….

THE MANAGER IS BAD

COOKING SPOON wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:31 pm GERNOT RORH HAS DONE NIGERIA A BIG FAVOUR.

FINALLY WE CAN BE DONE WITH THE INFERNAL CLASS OF 1994.

THEY ARE USELESS
wORST THING TO HAPPEN TO OUR FOOTBALL. hORRIBLE GROUP OF PEOPLE

Finidi made mistakes with his initial squad. We were very light at the back and he chose not to invite some experienced players who could have filled in for the injured ones. If he couldn’t find a got left back, what about Ebuehi who played there at the last World Cup? What about Balogun in CD? Osayi was made to play in an unfamiliar position for 2 important matches while Tanimu also played at RB when he is really a central defender.

He invited 5 strikers, no left back, only one right back. He even invited players like Onyeka who has been injured and not likely match fit. It showed today when he came on.

I have been saying it, World Cup qualification is not some kalo kalo. Finidi took too many risks with squad selection and it backfired.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Some players are just not good enough. Ajayi, Taminu, the two home based players, especially the one with hair and even Ndidi himself. They need to just go to their bases from Abidjan. What a bloody joke.

Damunk wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:39 pm
mcal wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:36 pm ...this requires a very very good laf :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I can’t laugh, unfortunately.
But I know who will be roaring with laughter at the moment.
Our arrogance has caught up with us.
We will learn…hopefully.
...the only recourse is to laf
I can't get angry
I can't break things
I can't get mad at anyone
so na laf, very painful laf too :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Cellular wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:40 pm
green4life wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:37 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:28 pm Incredible.....1-2 down and no energy, no push. Just incredible. For me Manager has to go but several of these players should simply be cut. Get players who can give us all out effort. We have been getting this low effort for months now but simply changing managers has not cured it.....NFF must find a manager who is ready to clear house and lay down the hammer.
Little to do with the players and everything to do with the manager & NFF. We just finished second in the ANC months ago with the same players who were organized and developed a culture of work ethic on and off the ball. Then we blew that up for an inexperienced rookie manager and we want to act surprised? Really? :lol:
Zero sense of urgency by everyone involved.
Starting with the NFF and Sports Ministry with the drama of choosing a coach.
Preparations for the game.
Players not taking the games as seriously as they should have taken it.
Even them couldn't overcome bad coaching.

Oh well.

Finidi just put the death nail on any talk of a local coach handling the Eagles in the foreseeable future. :cry: :oops: :oops:
Death gini? They will have to hire who they can pay for which is likely another local. This begs the question though. If Benin can afford a decent coach, then no clue why we can't.

Naija fan wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:38 pm Only way we qualify now is if we win out. What are the chances of that?
:rotf: :rotf: you too can win $1M if you play the lottery.