Re: Euro 2024
Nigeria contributes 2
Ghana contributes 1
Angola/Congo 1 (E Konsa)
Cote d'Ivoire 1 (Guéhi)
Ghana contributes 1
Angola/Congo 1 (E Konsa)
Cote d'Ivoire 1 (Guéhi)
There are a lot more than that!
What about:
Sane (Germany/Senegal
)
Frimpong (Holland/Ghana)
Akanji (Switzerland/Nigeria)
Saka (England/Nigeria)
Eze (England/Nigeria)
De Bruyne (Belgium/Burundi)
Tielemans (Belgium/Congo)
Not to mention the numerous Congolese, Cameroonians et al playing for Belgium and France.
What about:
Sane (Germany/Senegal
Frimpong (Holland/Ghana)
Akanji (Switzerland/Nigeria)
Saka (England/Nigeria)
Eze (England/Nigeria)
De Bruyne (Belgium/Burundi)
Tielemans (Belgium/Congo)
Not to mention the numerous Congolese, Cameroonians et al playing for Belgium and France.
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Jun 13, 2024 12:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
I think Portugal is a dark horse team.
They are very well balanced.
That group including france, Italy and Croatia is a free fire zone. There will be lots to talk about before that group is decided
They are very well balanced.
That group including france, Italy and Croatia is a free fire zone. There will be lots to talk about before that group is decided
More than a dark horse
. One of the favourites. Which is why I was so surprised by how comfortably Croatia
dealt with them.
wiseone wrote: ↑Wed Jun 12, 2024 2:17 am Mate, I was very impressed by Croatia'sperformance in their 2-1 away to Portugal
. Portugal had looked devastating in their recent fixtures. I actually thought Portugal
was one of the favourites to win the Euros (with Ronaldo, Bruno Fernandes, Bernardo Silva, Rafael Leao, Diogo Jota, Ruben Dias, Joao Felix, Joao Cancelo, Ramos, Pepe, Mendes, Palhinha, Danilo, et al).
Yet Croatia passed and ran rings around them. Despite having a combined age of almost 100 years, Croatia's midfield trio were technically brilliant and easy on the eye. They reminded me of Croatia's great 1990s midfield with Prosinecki and Boban.
Fingers crossed. I always get nervous when we enter a tournament in form...only to bomb!!!

I am sorry for how things are going for the Super Eagles. I know it's hard for Nigerians. It's hard for me. I hate to see them struggle like this. I'd love to see them back in the World Cup.
Football takes a toll.
...sorry for what?mate wrote: ↑Thu Jun 13, 2024 6:57 amwiseone wrote: ↑Wed Jun 12, 2024 2:17 am Mate, I was very impressed by Croatia'sperformance in their 2-1 away to Portugal
. Portugal had looked devastating in their recent fixtures. I actually thought Portugal
was one of the favourites to win the Euros (with Ronaldo, Bruno Fernandes, Bernardo Silva, Rafael Leao, Diogo Jota, Ruben Dias, Joao Felix, Joao Cancelo, Ramos, Pepe, Mendes, Palhinha, Danilo, et al).
Yet Croatia passed and ran rings around them. Despite having a combined age of almost 100 years, Croatia's midfield trio were technically brilliant and easy on the eye. They reminded me of Croatia's great 1990s midfield with Prosinecki and Boban.
Fingers crossed. I always get nervous when we enter a tournament in form...only to bomb!!!
I am sorry for how things are going for the Super Eagles. I know it's hard for Nigerians. It's hard for me. I hate to see them struggle like this. I'd love to see them back in the World Cup.
Football takes a toll.
"You make your bed you sleep on it like that"
We are a f'd-up nation, never learn.
Anyway, on to euros and copa entertainments
The competition is about to kick off and already I am dreading Fox Sport commentators here in the US.
Please if someone has a web link please share it.
Thank God uefa.com has the game free.
Spoke too soon

Here come the manschaft...
2-0
This could get ugly
2-0
This could get ugly
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- Scipio Africanus
Scotland getting steamrolled. Is that a PK?
Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Germany are just too well oiled, they are one scarily well organized machine. Our German-Naija boy is balling his socks off as usual.
Interesting ploy to have Kroos as a de facto left centerback in possession
PK
Red card + PK
Havertz. 3-0
Sons of Scotland, its the nunc dimitis...
Yup. Looks like the stereotype is back. Machine.
I don't think it is just that Scotland sucks. Germany is forcing them to play poorly, although Scotland need to soul search on such an implosion.
This is the result one expects when you have Kroos, Musiala, and so. Scotland has nobody on such levels. The best Scotland could have hoped for is heroic resistance and being competitive...but they aren't.
German midfield and defense is class. We will see if forwards however can do it vs tier 1 opposition, which I think is the only relative weak part. But even 45 minutes suggest Germany is a hot favorite now.
- Scipio Africanus
What I like about them is that they don’t need any invitation to shoot. They also don’t dwell on the ball in the attacking phase. One two three …. The ball is in the danger area. Unlike our rubber legged players
Ex nihilo nihil fit

- bret- hart
Anti England is back. 

Well there’s a lot of good beer in Bavaria for the Scot’s to drown their sorrows
- Scipio Africanus
I would love to see Germany against a team with a strong midfield like Croatia or Portugal. We’ll see what level Germany is really on then. Scotland are doing their best but they aren’t very good.mate wrote: ↑Fri Jun 14, 2024 8:40 pmYup. Looks like the stereotype is back. Machine.
I don't think it is just that Scotland sucks. Germany is forcing them to play poorly, although Scotland need to soul search on such an implosion.
This is the result one expects when you have Kroos, Musiala, and so. Scotland has nobody on such levels. The best Scotland could have hoped for is heroic resistance and being competitive...but they aren't.
German midfield and defense is class. We will see if forwards however can do it vs tier 1 opposition, which I think is the only relative weak part. But even 45 minutes suggest Germany is a hot favorite now.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

- Scipio Africanus
Germany might beat the Brazil 2014 score in this game
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Fri Jun 14, 2024 8:43 pmI would love to see Germany against a team with a strong midfield like Croatia or Portugal. We’ll see what level Germany is really on then. Scotland are doing their best but they aren’t very good.mate wrote: ↑Fri Jun 14, 2024 8:40 pmYup. Looks like the stereotype is back. Machine.
I fancy our midfield over anybody else. World class defense too. Finally decent, but not great forwards...which might be the different. There are many tier 1 European teams right now and the results go could any way between them.
I had France and England as a 2 pack slight tier1+. I now add Germany. Again, any 1 of about 10 European teams are capable of beating each other.