Osimhen - Finidi Consolidated Thread

carbon
Re: Italian Media :Napoli striker Osimhen’s furious rant results in change of Nigeria coach

Post by carbon »

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 11:36 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 11:34 pm West African side would be my preference. Rivers FC is also looking for a coach. They have a lot of resources.
I disagree. I think Ihefu Sports Club is perfect for his next move.
Ihefu don hire a Belgian, Patrick Aussems.

Tanzania will be the first African country to deploy VAR in local league. The coming season will see VAR in use in the Tanzania Premier League.

Top three teams in the TPL will handle with ease any team from the NPL. That is the level of transformation driven by recent investments in the Tanzania local league.
Re: Osimhen fumes on live stream over Finidi comment

Why has the focus shifted to a player that did not play in any of the two recent World Cup qualifying matches?

It would appear Nigerian coaches always beef with the players. For example Keshi beefed with the gari master and refused to take his top scorer in qualifying to the World Cup. He also beefed with the player that won the Afcon in 2013 also refused to take him to the World Cup. SS beefed with his best player and benched him in the finals of the fifa under 20 World Cup. Oliseh beefed with Obi and caused the goalkeeper to retire. Now we see Finidi beefing with Lookman, Boniface, Tella, Ekong,Sadqi and Osimhen .

We have a lot of problems in Nigeria: tribalism, to big manism, to personality disorder, and pure madness. The patten keep reapting itself over and over with Nigerian coaches and quite frankly in the short term having a foreign might be the best solution.

The red flag for me was the two friendly matches prosecuted by Finidi. None of the alternative strikers to Osimhen was tested.

I saw an interview where Finidi claimed formations were not important. He also said tactics were over rated. It was little surprise he teams find it difficult to win

At what point do you say to your self thanks Finidi but no thanks?
Re: Italian Media :Napoli striker Osimhen’s furious rant results in change of Nigeria coach

I am still trying to understand the support some people render to Finidi , it like they didn’t watch the football he served.

If indeed the players turned up late for the qualifiers, what is the excuse for that eyesore we witnessed versus Mali??? What does his supporters have to say concerning comments Finidi made saying formations don’t matter and Tactics are over rated? Is this guy for real???????

Have you ever thought that the beefing is because some of the players cannot subject themselves to a local coach? This slave mentality is not just confined to NFF and fans. Players are victims of that mindset

Waiting for all the facts of this very unfortunate incident to come out to take an informed position.
"But that was not all for the embattled coach on Saturday. Early in the day, forward Victor Osimhen went on his live social media to launch some withering comments about the coach following a media report that claimed the coach questioned his commitment during the meeting with the NFF and Sports Minister."

"Finidi declined to address the issue on record, except to point out that he had reached out personally to Osimhen. However, two officials who were present at the meeting confirmed independently that George did not make any of the statements attributed to him regarding Osimhen."
https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/soccer ... fb7a&ei=25

theDunamis wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 1:46 pm Waiting for all the facts of this very unfortunate incident to come out to take an informed position.
"But that was not all for the embattled coach on Saturday. Early in the day, forward Victor Osimhen went on his live social media to launch some withering comments about the coach following a media report that claimed the coach questioned his commitment during the meeting with the NFF and Sports Minister."

"Finidi declined to address the issue on record, except to point out that he had reached out personally to Osimhen. However, two officials who were present at the meeting confirmed independently that George did not make any of the statements attributed to him regarding Osimhen."
https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/soccer ... fb7a&ei=25
You're a very wise person

carbon wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 12:54 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 11:36 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 11:34 pm West African side would be my preference. Rivers FC is also looking for a coach. They have a lot of resources.
I disagree. I think Ihefu Sports Club is perfect for his next move.
Ihefu don hire a Belgian, Patrick Aussems.

Tanzania will be the first African country to deploy VAR in local league. The coming season will see VAR in use in the Tanzania Premier League.

Top three teams in the TPL will handle with ease any team from the NPL. That is the level of transformation driven by recent investments in the Tanzania local league.
Hmm let’s hope Tanimu can score a couple of own goals, sabotage the Belgian and then recommend Finidi. I truly believe Ihefu is the best move right now and I actually hear that they also sell very good fufu at the Ihefu stadium at half time.
Finidi GEORGE v Victor OSIMHEN........more facts emerging

In my view, this is a learning moment for Victor Osimhen. He should know that lots of stuff posted on social media can be false. Best to verify from the source. I feel for the lad because if there is any player who GIVES HIS LIFE for Nigeria that person is Victor Osimhen. My hope is that the NFF have him apologize privately and leave it there. No need for penalties. This is the guys first faux pas. Let it go.
Finidi George Reacts to Victor Osimhen’s Outbursts on Injury Allegations, Video Emerges Updated Sunday, June 16, 2024 at 7:38 PM by Esther Odili 4 min read
https://www.legit.ng/sports/football/15 ... o-emerges/

Finidi George has responded to recent viral comments made by Super Eagles forward Victor Osimhen On Saturday, Osimhen went live on Instagram to deny claims made by some that he had staged an injury to be excluded from the 2026 World Cup qualifiers The Napoli forward's comments stirred major reactions on social media, prompting veteran Nigerian journalist Colin Udoh to investigate the situation further Udoh contacted high-ranking officials of the Nigerian Football Federation and also revealed his chat with Finidi,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcqRnMOalyA
The video in question.

Udoh reached out to senior NFF officials, who confirmed that Finidi never accused Osimhen of feigning an injury. The journalist also revealed that he reached out to Finidi who refuted ever making such statement and expected Osimhen to have handled the situation differently. Udoh said on Instagram: “So I called a couple of people who were at that meeting between Finidi, the NFF, and the minister to find out if what is alleged to have been said was actually said, and so these people are usually very, very senior and reliable people and I was told categorically that Finidi did not say the things he’s alleged to have said.

Super Eagles “He did not say he wasn’t going to beg Osimhen. He did not say that Osimhem was not committed. In fact, he did confirm when he was asked about Osimhen’s absence that he called him from Germany, and that’s why he was excused. “It was when the issue of player’s commitment was raised; that’s why he said he would not beg anybody to play for the Super Eagles, but he did not mention any player by name,[/color] specifically “And so, I also called Finidi himself to ask him if that was the case and he also confirmed to me that he never said any of those things. “In fact, he corroborated what the other gentleman had told me and that he would have no reason to call out any player, whether in public or in private, and that he would address issues with the players themselves if there were any issues. "We need someone like him to fight"

“And then, as soon as the video was brought to his attention, he said he reached out to Osimhen and let him know that one, he never said those things, and two, even if he had, Osimhen should have reached out to him first to find out if he did say, what he was alleged to have said, rather than going, public with such disrespect.”
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon Jun 17, 2024 3:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Finidi GEORGE v Victor OSIMHEN........more facts emerging

Listen @ 6.45 and weep. A player who played in the game told him there was no tactical plan. ‘They just went onto the field”…..

[media] [/media]

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 2:57 pm Listen @ 6.45 and weep. A player who played in the game told him there was no tactical plan. ‘They just went onto the field”…..

[media] [/media]
Oma lost me when he said the appointment of Finidi was hasty. Anyone who is an objective person without any agenda knows that it was anything but hasty. Haba! Make we dey talk true even if it doesn't suit us.

Why Privately? So others who are not as big a star can repeat the same mistake? He needs to aplogize publicly and he needs be penalized somehow so he would learn from his mistake and so others won't see such behaviour as acceptable. I don't agree with those who think he should be banned permanently.
Enugu II wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 2:54 pm In my view, this is a learning moment for Victor Osimhen. He should know that lots of stuff posted on social media can be false. Best to verify from the source. I feel for the lad because if there is any player who GIVES HIS LIFE for Nigeria that person is Victor Osimhen. My hope is that the NFF have him apologize privately and leave it there. No need for penalties. This is the guys first faux pas. Let it go.
Finidi George Reacts to Victor Osimhen’s Outbursts on Injury Allegations, Video Emerges Updated Sunday, June 16, 2024 at 7:38 PM by Esther Odili 4 min read

Finidi George has responded to recent viral comments made by Super Eagles forward Victor Osimhen On Saturday, Osimhen went live on Instagram to deny claims made by some that he had staged an injury to be excluded from the 2026 World Cup qualifiers The Napoli forward's comments stirred major reactions on social media, prompting veteran Nigerian journalist Colin Udoh to investigate the situation further Udoh contacted high-ranking officials of the Nigerian Football Federation and also revealed his chat with Finidi,

The video in question.

Udoh reached out to senior NFF officials, who confirmed that Finidi never accused Osimhen of feigning an injury. The journalist also revealed that he reached out to Finidi who refuted ever making such statement and expected Osimhen to have handled the situation differently. Udoh said on Instagram: “So I called a couple of people who were at that meeting between Finidi, the NFF, and the minister to find out if what is alleged to have been said was actually said, and so these people are usually very, very senior and reliable people and I was told categorically that Finidi did not say the things he’s alleged to have said.

Super Eagles “He did not say he wasn’t going to beg Osimhen. He did not say that Osimhem was not committed. In fact, he did confirm when he was asked about Osimhen’s absence that he called him from Germany, and that’s why he was excused. “It was when the issue of player’s commitment was raised; that’s why he said he would not beg anybody to play for the Super Eagles, but he did not mention any player by name,[/color] specifically “And so, I also called Finidi himself to ask him if that was the case and he also confirmed to me that he never said any of those things. “In fact, he corroborated what the other gentleman had told me and that he would have no reason to call out any player, whether in public or in private, and that he would address issues with the players themselves if there were any issues. "We need someone like him to fight"

“And then, as soon as the video was brought to his attention, he said he reached out to Osimhen and let him know that one, he never said those things, and two, even if he had, Osimhen should have reached out to him first to find out if he did say, what he was alleged to have said, rather than going, public with such disrespect.”

Coaching a group of hyper competitive professional athletes in their 20s - all of whom think they are the best player in their position; would test the patience of anyone.

Coaches falling out with players is not a Nigerian issue. It happens at every professional football team. Even world class coaches like Ferguson fell out with star players like Beckham, Pogba, Keane, Van Nistelrooy, Ince etc. Ditto Mourinho with Casillas and Sergio Ramos, and Pep had issues with Zlatan and Joao Cancelo.
Flex Swift wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 1:18 pm
It would appear Nigerian coaches always beef with the players. For example Keshi beefed with the gari master and refused to take his top scorer in qualifying to the World Cup. He also beefed with the player that won the Afcon in 2013 also refused to take him to the World Cup. SS beefed with his best player and benched him in the finals of the fifa under 20 World Cup. Oliseh beefed with Obi and caused the goalkeeper to retire. Now we see Finidi beefing with Lookman, Boniface, Tella, Ekong,Sadqi and Osimhen .

1naija,

He needs to speak directly to Finidi and not the public. For me that will have the desired and sincere effect. However, going public to make an apology may be good but in my view a personal apology to Finidi must be part of it.

As for penalty, I would not issue one. I feel that this was not intentional. If you listen to the video, Victor clearly made the right move to call his coach and perhaps necause of other experiences he recorded it (according to his claim). This clearly shows a player desiring to do the right thing and to amply protect himself.

His only faux pas is relying on social media and then defending himself over false accusations which he thought came from the Manager but we now know that it did not come from the manager.
1naija wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 3:12 pm Why Privately? So others who are not as big a star can repeat the same mistake? He needs to aplogize publicly and he needs be penalized somehow so he would learn from his mistake and so others won't see such behaviour as acceptable. I don't agree with those who think he should be banned permanently.
Enugu II wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 2:54 pm In my view, this is a learning moment for Victor Osimhen. He should know that lots of stuff posted on social media can be false. Best to verify from the source. I feel for the lad because if there is any player who GIVES HIS LIFE for Nigeria that person is Victor Osimhen. My hope is that the NFF have him apologize privately and leave it there. No need for penalties. This is the guys first faux pas. Let it go.

The video in question.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

And you think this is positive for Victor or shows how massice he is? For a player looking to move to a better club? Ok.
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 9:07 pm https://football-italia.net/napoli-osim ... %20fitness.

This shows how massive and big Our Vic is, as we can see his influence . The Italians know who the gem is If you want him pay the $$$$
Napoli striker Victor Osimhen has caused a firestorm in Nigeria after a live video slamming coach Finidi George, who promptly resigned.

The forward was forced to pull out of international duty for the 2026 World Cup qualifiers due to injury, hardly the first time he has struggled with his fitness.

Has it been confirmed that Finidi did not make the comment?

P.s- watching Victor’s video, all the curse was levied at people who believing the lies told against him. The one thing he said about Finidi is “I have lost respect for him.” Must someone maintain respect for a second person? I know Nigerians will die on respect, but is there a law out there that requires someone to maintain respect for another person?

Has it been confirmed that Finidi did not make the comment?

P.s- watching Victor’s video, all the curse was levied at people who believing the lies told against him. The one thing he said about Finidi is “I have lost respect for him.” Must someone maintain respect for a second person? I know Nigerians will die on respect, but is there a law out there that requires someone to maintain respect for another person?

I agree he shouldn't make a public post on insta gram. But he should release a written statement of apology. Finidi also need to publicly accept the apology. Fences mended and move on. That should be it. No sanctions. But stern warning. Locker room talk must stay in the locker room. In fact don't talk about Nigeria football on social media. He has to understand social media is not for your personal intimate life and for the locker room. Social media is for fan outreach and for selling things. Osimhen needs to learn from this experience. IF you are angry, go through the proper dispute resolution processes.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 2:57 pm Listen @ 6.45 and weep. A player who played in the game told him there was no tactical plan. ‘They just went onto the field”…..

[media] [/media]
Oma is very close to a couple of players. I am not happiest when he makes comments like this, because it could be construed that he is doing someone’s bidding.

Even before this issue, he seemed to suggest that the players were not comfortable with Finidi and did it rate him

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 3:37 pm I agree he shouldn't make a public post on insta gram. But he should release a written statement of apology. Finidi also need to publicly accept the apology. Fences mended and move on. That should be it. No sanctions. But stern warning. Locker room talk must stay in the locker room. In fact don't talk about Nigeria football on social media. He has to understand social media is not for your personal intimate life and for the locker room. Social media is for fan outreach and for selling things. Osimhen needs to learn from this experience. IF you are angry, go through the proper dispute resolution processes.
You don soften up abi? You don dey rub powder for your yansh outside!? :lol:

Osimhen does not want! Like you said yesterday, he will leave so you can focus on your “other Strikers.” :lol: :lol:

You don dey panic? A bunch of the players think Finidi is a sh1t coach and many of them will take Osimhen’s side! They will boycott the team and you will be left with your Tanimu :lol:

There is no damage to Finidi. He has already resigned as the Super Eagles coach. He will get a job in Nigeria in a flash if he wants to continue coaching. It's Victor that will now have to prove himself even more for Nigeria. It's not enough to score goals at his club. If Nigeria fails to qualify for this WC, he would have led Nigeria to fail to qualify for back to back WC. None of our superstar player in recent times have had such record. He now needs to back up his rant.

And for comparison, Finidi qualified Nigeria for the WC and won the AFCON 3 years after starting for the SE. This will make Victor Osimhen's 7th year!
Damunk wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 9:54 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 9:10 pm I am telling you! The way the World will view it is that Finidi stepped out of line and Osimhen took him out! No club in Europe ever consider Finidi after this.
I don’t know who wrote the piece but it states that Victor himself could be a liability for anyone thinking of signing him.
So the damage could be mutual.
Not good.

1naija wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 3:40 pm There is no damage to Finidi. He has already resigned as the Super Eagles coach. He will get a job in Nigeria in a flash if he wants to continue coaching. It's Victor that will now have to prove himself even more for Nigeria. It's not enough to score goals at his club. If Nigeria fails to qualify for this WC, he would have led Nigeria to fail to qualify for back to back WC. None of our superstar player in recent times have had such record. He now needs to back up his rant.

And for comparison, Finidi qualified Nigeria for the WC and won the AFCON 3 years after starting for the SE. This will make Victor Osimhen's 7th year!
Damunk wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 9:54 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2024 9:10 pm I am telling you! The way the World will view it is that Finidi stepped out of line and Osimhen took him out! No club in Europe ever consider Finidi after this.
I don’t know who wrote the piece but it states that Victor himself could be a liability for anyone thinking of signing him.
So the damage could be mutual.
Not good.

LOL @ “he will get a job in Nigeria if he wants to.” It course you know he will NOT get a job outside Nigeria :lol: :lol: it’s easy to get a job in Nigeria when your corrupt friends need you to help them transfer players and share the money. :lol:

Go outside Nigeria and let’s see if anyone will touch him!

P.s— Osimhen won the AFOY, sometning your towns man never won!

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2024 3:37 pm

[media] [/media]
Oma is very close to a couple of players. I am not happiest when he makes comments like this, because it could be construed that he is doing someone’s bidding.

Even before this issue, he seemed to suggest that the players were not comfortable with Finidi and did it rate him
If the Players were not comfortable with Finidi.... So they should throw the WC qualification into the bin. Ok!

Coaches don't treat every one the same. If you aren't or a good player or you are disposable. The coach will have a shorter leash. He would publicly dress you down. But if you are the star player. Those things are handled in private. You give star players more leeway because you need them. it is not right but it is the reality. If Osimhen apologizes, learns from his mistake, they will forgive him. Because they need him. If he was an average player, he will never get another callup. That is the way things are done. It is not right. But that is the way things are done. But that doesn't mean a player can continue with bad behavior. Eventually they will say it is not worth the drama and move on. My hope is still to see Osimhen grow in the captain ship role. Learn from his experience