Euro 2024

Re: Euro 2024

Only way back from the Austrians, raking long ball, big up and under over the backline. Whipped cross from deep. Big leap. Thumping header.

Ralf needs to reach for the get out of jail free card. Speed dial to Big Sam.

Talk about snatching food out of Baumgartner's mouth! He had already swung his foot to smash that ball!
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Turks behind a stout defensive wall.

Shades of the Ottoman Empire

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

What a save!!!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Bodies all over the floor, like the set of Godfather!!!!

Epic!

Coach wrote: Tue Jul 02, 2024 9:18 pm Only way back from the Austrians, raking long ball, big up and under over the backline. Whipped cross from deep. Big leap. Thumping header.
And there it was. Big up and under. Thumping header. But Mighty stood Mehmet.

Blood and thunder. Austria this, Austria that they said. Corner said the linesman. Game. Set. Match. Jurassic Park? More like quarter-finals. Chilli sauce?

finally the Euros are getting very exciting. What a classic Austria vs Turkey

What a game! Gladiators on both sides of the halfway line. Every man gave everything -- and then more.

A showcase for the beautiful game.

Set pieces. Corners. Crosses.

Coach wrote: Tue Jul 02, 2024 9:19 pm Ralf needs to reach for the get out of jail free card. Speed dial to Big Sam.

Needed to vary things a bit...

Coach wrote: Tue Jul 02, 2024 9:32 pm Blood and thunder. Austria this, Austria that they said. Corner said the linesman. Game. Set. Match. Jurassic Park? More like quarter-finals. Chilli sauce?
I'm surprised you didn't invoke the Ottoman-Habsburg Wars!

:P

One question I'd like you guys to ask yourself - have you seen our Eagles fight for the Jersey the way the Turkish players fought for theirs? If No, what is the reason? and how have we, as fans, contributed to that reason?

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 1:53 am One question I'd like you guys to ask yourself - have you seen our Eagles fight for the Jersey the way the Turkish players fought for theirs? If No, what is the reason? and how have we, as fans, contributed to that reason?
Why should they fight harder for Nigeria than you? What have you done for Nigeria except to support the Super Eagles ….. far, far away from Nigeria! :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

As I was saying...

Ronaldo always finds a way to make everything about him. Aside from his ludicrous
insistence on taking every single FK and shooting from every ridiculous angle, after Oblak saved his penalty he ensured that all the attention was on him. Instead of his 🇵🇹 Portuguese teammates listening to their coach's team talk and adopting a new tactical plan during HT of extra-time, they had to instead waste time consoling their 39yo captain who was crying crocodile🐊 tears. It was embarrassing watching inexperienced young players in their early 20s trying to console him. As captain, Ronaldo should instead have been motivating the younger players and getting them to refocus their minds on the game.

Everything is always about him.

wiseone wrote: Fri Jun 28, 2024 10:26 pm Ronaldo's monumental ego could cost his team. A 39yo striker had no business playing in a final group match that was utterly meaningless to Portugal since they had already qualified with maximum points and were top of the group. Portugal's 🇵🇹 manager Roberto Martinez made 8 changes for the final group match against Georgia 🇬🇪, and rested all of Portugal's key players (most of whom are in their 20s) - except....the 39yo Ronaldo. Martinez rested even the GK! When a team is playing a meaningless match like that the priority is to avoid injuries and suspensions for the KO rounds.

Ronaldo probably insisted on playing the game in his selfish pursuit of "easy goals" to pad his record against what he assumed would be a very inferior Georgia 🇬🇪 team. He got himself booked in the first half for dissent and constantly aimed disrespectful backchat at the referee throughout the match. A stricter referee would have sent him off (which would have got him suspended for the key KO match against Slovenia). Him playing that match not only endangered Portugal's squad, but also denied key match practice to younger attackers such as Diogo Jota and Goncalo Ramos - who badly need minutes on the pitch.

Ronaldo needs to be protected from his own ego.

wiseone wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 3:24 am As I was saying...

Ronaldo always finds a way to make everything about him. Aside from his ludicrous
insistence on taking every single FK and shooting from every ridiculous angle, after Oblak saved his penalty he ensured that all the attention was on him. Instead of his 🇵🇹 Portuguese teammates listening to their coach's team talk and adopting a new tactical plan during HT of extra-time, they had to instead waste time consoling their 39yo captain who was crying crocodile🐊 tears. It was embarrassing watching inexperienced young players in their early 20s trying to console him. As captain, Ronaldo should instead have been motivating the younger players and getting them to refocus their minds on the game.

wiseone wrote: Fri Jun 28, 2024 10:26 pm Ronaldo's monumental ego could cost his team. A 39yo striker had no business playing in a final group match that was utterly meaningless to Portugal since they had already qualified with maximum points and were top of the group. Portugal's 🇵🇹 manager Roberto Martinez made 8 changes for the final group match against Georgia 🇬🇪, and rested all of Portugal's key players (most of whom are in their 20s) - except....the 39yo Ronaldo. Martinez rested even the GK! When a team is playing a meaningless match like that the priority is to avoid injuries and suspensions for the KO rounds.

Ronaldo probably insisted on playing the game in his selfish pursuit of "easy goals" to pad his record against what he assumed would be a very inferior Georgia 🇬🇪 team. He got himself booked in the first half for dissent and constantly aimed disrespectful backchat at the referee throughout the match. A stricter referee would have sent him off (which would have got him suspended for the key KO match against Slovenia). Him playing that match not only endangered Portugal's squad, but also denied key match practice to younger attackers such as Diogo Jota and Goncalo Ramos - who badly need minutes on the pitch.

I go easier on CR these days. He's given us a lot across his career. I've been listening to his podcasts a lot more and he seems like a genuinely good guy...not perfect mind you, who really is?

I also think he's been humble in accepting his role after WC 2022, which was a disaster. He accepts being subbed. He plays deep up front, not being a defensive liability, maximizing what he has at this age.

And yeah, I have to compare to Modric who selfishly insisted on being anchor in midfield and leader...knowing he doesn't have the legs. Modric also has last say. Nigerians know what I am talking about when I say big ego...much as I LOVE Modric, he and Dalic cost us with their older inner circle, refusing to go with merit and tactics adapted to older guys playing a supplemental role.

Modric would not and cannot do that with RM and Ancelotti. He took a pay cut and accepts reduced minutes. I follow very closely...bottom line: they said legend as you are, RM is bigger, so don't bite the hand that feeds you.

CR absolutely is doing right by Portugal in comparison. I can only bow.

Why this attack on a Man Utd legend?? That excerpt reads like something from a hater. Sent off??? Really?? His shirt was clearly pulled which if reviewed would 100% be a penalty. Instead the ref bottled it and when he protested he was unjustly carded. Sending him off would have been insane! I'm surprised anyone would talk about easy goals....really?? Is that how easy this game is?? I'd rather see a player on the pitch for his commitment. Portugal doesn't have a better option than him in that position currently.
Per him crying after the penalty miss, I didn't like that, but it also shows he cares, more so, he still went and picked up the ball for the first penalty kick. Ronaldo is a hardworking dude, he's worked for every bit of achievement he has. There's no arrogance in hardwork. No doubt, like every player, he wants to play. It's still up to his coach.

mate wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 4:31 pm

I go easier on CR these days. He's given us a lot across his career. I've been listening to his podcasts a lot more and he seems like a genuinely good guy...not perfect mind you, who really is?

I also think he's been humble in accepting his role after WC 2022, which was a disaster. He accepts being subbed. He plays deep up front, not being a defensive liability, maximizing what he has at this age.

And yeah, I have to compare to Modric who selfishly insisted on being anchor in midfield and leader...knowing he doesn't have the legs. Modric also has last say. Nigerians know what I am talking about when I say big ego...much as I LOVE Modric, he and Dalic cost us with their older inner circle, refusing to go with merit and tactics adapted to older guys playing a supplemental role.

Modric would not and cannot do that with RM and Ancelotti. He took a pay cut and accepts reduced minutes. I follow very closely...bottom line: they said legend as you are, RM is bigger, so don't bite the hand that feeds you.

Well said about Ronaldo, many have said behind closed doors, he's a very normal, level headed guy. On the pitch, he just wants to win.
But as a Modric shriner, I don't accept your view on the Maestro :D I'll just be grateful to see him play another min. Every min, I'm grateful, he always has enough time, always enough space, he's a Master.

felarey wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 5:15 pm

Well said about Ronaldo, many have said behind closed doors, he's a very normal, level headed guy. On the pitch, he just wants to win.
But as a Modric shriner, I don't accept your view on the Maestro :D I'll just be grateful to see him play another min. Every min, I'm grateful, he always has enough time, always enough space, he's a Master.

Like I said, I LOVE Modric. Memories of a lifetime for a glorious 8 year run. But even a genius can falter.

He did at the end. It seems like a small thing. But this decision to go with the old guard has cost the young guys a MAJOR development opportunity.

Luka Sucic is an example. One of the young guys who did play. Solicited consequently by Inter Milan, Fulham, and Bayer Leverkusen. Martin Baturina is young and talented and didn't play so much...and isn't getting the same solicitation. He might have to wait another season to leave Dinamo for a big 5 league...yet WC qualifying is 2 years from now.

Butterfly effect. Love Modric. He should do what the coach and federation ask...but he's a God for us and did what he wanted. In contrast to CR.

A thing of beauty is a joy forever. Modric is the beauty of futbol.

I respect the likes of Rodri and all other roadrunners. Those who have brought the Masai into football so much that one mistakes the pitch for the Maasai Mara.

Their mere existence is an admission of failure. They are the men you couldn't rise to the level of football art. The men who stare at 🐐
Last edited by txj on Wed Jul 03, 2024 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mate, the trouble is that the nearly 40yo Ronaldo wants to be treated the same way as the 30 yo Ronaldo and be the center of everything. He did NOT accept being sub or subbed off. He no longer speaks to former Portugal 🇵🇹 manager Fernando Santos who had the temerity to put Ronaldo on the bench (after an outburst of dissent when Santos subbed him off) and instead play the 21yo Gonçalo Ramos who scored a hat trick on his debut. Only an egomaniac would fail to understand that a football coach cannot play an out of form striker pushing 40yo and drop a 21yo striker who scored a hat trick in the prior game!

In response, Ronaldo refused to speak to Santos (who is so fond of Ronaldo that he described him as being like his “son”) for the next 2 years.

https://bolavip.com/en/amp/soccer/ferna ... 83978.html

Last edited by wiseone on Wed Jul 03, 2024 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

txj wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 6:48 pm A thing of beauty is a joy forever. Modric is the beauty of futbol.

I respect the likes of Rodri and all other roadrunners. Those who have brought the Masai into football so much that one mistakes the pitch for the Maasai Mara.

Their mere existence is an admission of failure. They are the men you couldn't fire to the level of football art. The men who stare at 🐐
Again, to be fair, we need Rodri too. At Croatia, for one Modric we need one destroyer in peak Brozovic to be defensive holding midfielder.

How many countries have had the luxury of 2 magicians like Xavi and Iniesta in midfield at the same time?

France had to surround ZZ with destroyers.

And even when you have a few magicians...think Platini, Giresse, Tigana in that glorious 80s French midfield...one can argue the lack of destroyer midfielder cost them a WC (although a cowardly ref and Schumacher in 82 might be the real reason!)

:wink: