Eric Chelle, Former Mali coach the new SE coach(rumor or fake news)

Score Nigeria and Owngoal are reporting that Eric Chelle has emerged as the front runner for the SE job.
Asides Mali, i can't seem to see any useful team he has coached.

https://scorenigeria.com.ng/exclusive-e ... -top-post/
Re: Eric Chelle, Former Mali coach the new SE coach?

naijaguy wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 3:44 pm Score Nigeria and Owngoal are reporting that Eric Chelle has emerged as the front runner for the SE job.

He is a good option. He coached Mali in the last afcon and almost knocked out Ivory Coast in the Qfinals.

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 3:46 pm
naijaguy wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 3:44 pm Score Nigeria and Owngoal are reporting that Eric Chelle has emerged as the front runner for the SE job.

He is a good option. He coached Mali in the last afcon and almost knocked out Ivory Coast in the Qfinals.
He was the one that was crying and water was poured on his head! :lol:

Is he going to be the new miracle worker?

Does he like being paid in promises, agbado, ewa, cassava, and abuse?

Wishing him all the best.

What was the trip to London all about? :laugh:

he's a good option because he lost to a ten man side?

Two weeks ago it was Concecao, Last week it was Herve Renard. A few days ago it was Sainfelt. They have no clue who it will be. They are just speculating. But I do know it will be a journey man mercenary failed coach. All of the coaches that have won trophies either have jobs or are in high demand. The Nigerian job is not attractive job. So one can deduce the type of coach they will hire.

Steve Mclaren was also linked to the job. All of the NFF and the sports minister need to be sacked. Tinubu is planning a cabinet reshuffle. Good time to remove the Sports minister. They also need to force changes in the NFF. The people that pay the bills dictate policy.

King Futcha wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 4:58 pm

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 5:41 pm

This is Nigeria 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂

Cellular wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 4:22 pm

Is he going to be the new miracle worker?

Does he like being paid in promises, agbado, ewa, cassava, and abuse?

Wishing him all the best.

I hope we can see that the problem is the NFF, not local or foreign coaches

Oh shut up. 🙄 He lost to 10 man IvC hosting the competition in the QFinals. Context matters. Wait why am I wasting my time engaging with you and your pea brain?

Every coach except a Nigerian born coach, regardless of pedigree, is a good option🤔🤐❗️

By the way, the guy is Malian and was born in Mali.
I wonder how our local caches will feel if he gets the job.

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 7:21 pm

Oh shut up. 🙄 He lost to 10 man IvC hosting the competition in the QFinals. Context matters. Wait why am I wasting my time engaging with you and your pea brain?
ok then what happened against a ten man Madagascar that lead to his firing?

Mali played some good football at the last AFCON under him, he also seems very enthusiastic about coaching Nigeria as he rejected a move by the Malian FA for a comeback, all the best to him if he's the man.

What we need is reform. We need to think long term. The next appointment should be given a minimum a 2 year deal. A young up and coming manager, surrounded by experienced backroom staff. I also don't understand why they promoted Laden Bosso to the U23 team. The guy didn't deserve a promotion. They do need to keep Manu Garba at the U17 level, hire a U20 team coach quickly. Nigeria needs a vision on what we want our football to be. Set goals and timelines to get there.

Qualiying for the World cup shouldn't be the goal. Nigeria need to start from scratch. Reform the NFF, overhaul the team. The priority should be long term goals not short term goals.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 8:20 pm Mali played some good football at the last AFCON under him, he also seems very enthusiastic about coaching Nigeria as he rejected a move by the Malian FA for a comeback, all the best to him if he's the man.
?? he got fired

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 8:20 pm Mali played some good football at the last AFCON under him, he also seems very enthusiastic about coaching Nigeria as he rejected a move by the Malian FA for a comeback, all the best to him if he's the man.
Dont mind them. They just want a Nigerian coach regardless of how incompetent meanwhile they japa from Naija before we were born sef. Mchewww

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2024 9:14 pm
Dont mind them. They just want a Nigerian coach regardless of how incompetent meanwhile they japa from Naija before we were born sef. Mchewww
Great point!

Coaching Nigeria is more than tactics or knowledge of the game and how to win. We need a higher profile coach with enough gravity to command the dressing room and the politics and back stabbing. Chelle can do well but he ain’t winning 6 games in a row to qualify for the WC. That take a lot more than tactics.

Can he stay composed enough when he hasn’t been paid in 6 months and the Nff asks him to include a player in the Sudan while the players he picked haven’t been paid for a yr? Can he handle that?