Canadian women to play Nigeria on Wednesday (July 17) in closed-door training match ahead of Olympics

Canadian women to play Nigeria in closed-door training match ahead of Olympics

By The Canadian Press

Canada will face 36th-ranked Nigeria on Wednesday in a closed-door training match in Marbella, Spain, in the final tune-up for Bev Priestman’s team before it opens defence of its women’s soccer title at the Paris Olympics.

Canada’s Simi Awujo, left, and Jessie Fleming celebrate winning in a shootout against Brazil in a SheBelieves Cup women’s soccer game on April 6, 2024 in Atlanta.

Canada will face 36th-ranked Nigeria on Wednesday in a closed-door training match in Marbella, Spain, in the final tune-up for Bev Priestman’s team before it opens defence of its women’s soccer title at the Paris Olympics.

Canada Soccer had previously announced the closed-door fixture but didn’t reveal the opponent until Monday.

The eighth-ranked Canadian women, who opened camp in Spain on July 4, edged No. 12 Australia 2-1 on Saturday in Marbella. That was a Tier 2 match that doesn’t count toward ranking or statistics, because there was no limit for substitutions or windows for subs.

Canada opens Group A play at the Olympics on July 25 against No. 28 New Zealand before facing No. 2 France on July 28, and No. 22 Colombia on July 31. Nigeria will play in Group C with No. 1 Spain, No. 7 Japan and No. 9 Brazil.

Canada has a 2-1-3 all-time record against Nigeria, drawing 0-0 when they met last summer at the FIFA World Cup in Australia.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published July 15, 2024.

https://www.thestar.com/sports/soccer/c ... 79382.html
Re: Canadian women to play Nigeria on Wednesday (July 17) in closed-door training match ahead of Olympics

iworo wrote: Wed Jul 17, 2024 4:59 pm
I like this coach. He say’s the right things. Maybe he can double as SE coach. :biggrin:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Wed Jul 17, 2024 6:09 pm
I like this coach. He say’s the right things. Maybe he can double as SE coach. :biggrin:
Coaching a women's soccer team is definitely different from coaching a men's soccer team in several ways. :biggrin:

Where is Danfo conductor; I have a question for you. Who came up with the name conductor bearing in mind that all you are doing is hanging by the door of a moving vehicle and collecting money. What in fact are you conducting ?
An orchestra leader is actually conducting something unlike you

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Lolly wrote: Wed Jul 17, 2024 6:09 pm
I’m sure he would sleep over the idea if an offer is made to him especially given we can’t afford a real mens coach.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

WOWO has reached a new level. They are now advocating a woman College coach that has never won a single strophy to be thyh new SE coach. Nigeria falcons finished 4th at Afcon after winning it 4 times in a row.

Super Falcons narrowly beaten by Olympic champions Canada but win post-game shootout 5-4

The Super Falcons stepped up their preparations for the 2024 Olympic Games with a high-profile friendly against reigning champions Canada at La Quinta Football Center Malaga on Wednesday evening, allnigeriasoccer.com reports.

Despite the omission of former Barcelona striker Asisat Oshoala, a strong-looking starting lineup took to the pitch, with starting berths handed to Chiamaka Nnadozie, Osinachi Ohale, Chidinma Okeke,Tosin Demehin, Michelle Alozie, Christy Ucheibe, Abiodun Deborah,Toni Payne, Jennifer Echegini, Rasheedat Ajibade and Chinwendu Ihezuo.

In the closed-door friendly, the Canadians scored what proved to be the game-winning goal before the 20th minute mark.

The Super Falcons searched for an equalizer in the second half but Canada's defence held strong and saw out a clean sheet.

Coach Randy Waldrum's girls earned a morale-boosting 5-4 win over the Concacaf giants in the post-game penalty shootout,

Nigeria's goalscorers in the shootout were Asisat Oshoala, Rasheedat Ajibade, Toni Payne, Deborah Abiodun and Christy Ucheibe.

One of Canada's most experienced players, Aston Villa's Adriana Leon was the only player to miss from the spot in the shootout, blasting her kick over the bar.

Nigeria will face three of the top ten ranked Fifa nations at the upcoming Olympic Games, opening group play against Brazil on July 25, followed by matches with world champions Spain on July 28 and Japan on July 31.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=52208

AN EXAMPLE OF...great communication between the interviewer and the one being interviewed. Questions were clear, concise and to the point; ditto the answers. This is why I've advocated that Nigerian coaches include public communication as part of their development.

Bell wrote: Thu Jul 18, 2024 7:59 am

AN EXAMPLE OF...great communication between the interviewer and the one being interviewed. Questions were clear, concise and to the point; ditto the answers. This is why I've advocated that Nigerian coaches include public communication as part of their development.
Bell,

Are you, perhaps, subliminally impressed by the fact that Randy Waldrum is a native English speaker?

What Nigeria and other African countries should do is develop their own languages so that Africans wouldn’t have to struggle with the burden of speaking a language that’s been forced on them🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Jul 18, 2024 9:39 am

Bell,

Are you, perhaps, subliminally impressed by the fact that Randy Waldrum is a native English speaker?

What Nigeria and other African countries should do is develop their own languages so that Africans wouldn’t have to struggle with the burden of speaking a language that’s been forced on them🤔❗️

Do you feel inferior

...no be Nigeria coaches only, Nigeria president and government officials when conducting business abroad or being interviewed by oyinbo press.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Jul 18, 2024 9:39 am

Bell,

What are you talking about? Didn’t our journalist attend school or have done kind of degree? English is our official language. It’s not that our journalist can’t speak, most of them ask weird questions that makes you want to bury your head.

That match report was appalling. Was the writer a professional journalist? One had to read the whole article to decipher what the score was (which is not once mentioned in the article). If Canada 🇨🇦 won the match, why was there a penalty shoot out?

wiseone wrote: Sat Jul 20, 2024 4:25 pm That match report was appalling. Was the writer a professional journalist? One had to read the whole article to decipher what the score was (which is not once mentioned in the article). If Canada 🇨🇦 won the match, why was there a penalty shoot out?
Practice…