Canada send two staff members home over drone incident

British coach Beverly Priestman is manager of Canada's women's team, who won gold in Tokyo in 2021

Canada women's football manager Beverly Priestman will not take charge of her side's Olympics opener against New Zealand after two members of her backroom staff were sent home for allegedly flying a drone over the Kiwis' team training session.

Priestman, 38, has "voluntarily withdrawn" from Thursday's match in St Etienne after the New Zealand Olympic Committee reported that a drone had been flown over their training session on Monday.

Jasmine Mander, Priestman's assistant, has been sent home along with "unaccredited analyst" Joseph Lombardi.

The Canadian Olympic Committee say a scouting report filed by Lombardi was sent to Mander.

Priestman says she takes responsibility for the actions of her colleagues.

"I first and foremost want to apologise to the players and staff at New Zealand Football and to the players on Team Canada. This does not represent the values that our team stands for,” Priestman said.

“I am ultimately responsible for conduct in our program."

The COC confirmed on Wednesday that a "non-accredited member of the Canada Soccer support team" was detained by authorities.

"The Canadian Olympic Committee stands for fair play and we are shocked and disappointed," it added in a statement., external

"We offer our heartfelt apologies to New Zealand Football, to all the players affected, and to the New Zealand Olympic Committee."

The NZOC said it has "formally lodged the incident with the IOC integrity unit and has asked Canada for a full review".

"The NZOC and New Zealand Football are committed to upholding the integrity and fairness of the Olympic Games and are deeply shocked and disappointed by this incident."

https://www.bbc.com/sport/articles/c1vd91envz2o
Re: Canada send two staff members home over drone incident

iworo wrote: Wed Jul 24, 2024 3:43 pm Canada send two staff members home over drone incident

British coach Beverly Priestman is manager of Canada's women's team, who won gold in Tokyo in 2021

Canada women's football manager Beverly Priestman will not take charge of her side's Olympics opener against New Zealand after two members of her backroom staff were sent home for allegedly flying a drone over the Kiwis' team training session.

Priestman, 38, has "voluntarily withdrawn" from Thursday's match in St Etienne after the New Zealand Olympic Committee reported that a drone had been flown over their training session on Monday.

Jasmine Mander, Priestman's assistant, has been sent home along with "unaccredited analyst" Joseph Lombardi.

The Canadian Olympic Committee say a scouting report filed by Lombardi was sent to Mander.

Priestman says she takes responsibility for the actions of her colleagues.

"I first and foremost want to apologise to the players and staff at New Zealand Football and to the players on Team Canada. This does not represent the values that our team stands for,” Priestman said.

“I am ultimately responsible for conduct in our program."

The COC confirmed on Wednesday that a "non-accredited member of the Canada Soccer support team" was detained by authorities.

"The Canadian Olympic Committee stands for fair play and we are shocked and disappointed," it added in a statement., external

"We offer our heartfelt apologies to New Zealand Football, to all the players affected, and to the New Zealand Olympic Committee."

The NZOC said it has "formally lodged the incident with the IOC integrity unit and has asked Canada for a full review".

"The NZOC and New Zealand Football are committed to upholding the integrity and fairness of the Olympic Games and are deeply shocked and disappointed by this incident."

https://www.bbc.com/sport/articles/c1vd91envz2o

https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/other/ ... 6d07&ei=37

INCREDIBLE...the lengths some would go to win. What I don't understand is how one can relish victory that's not earned. Apparently, the coach has now been fired by Canada, or has stepped down.

...case of not preparing her team very well.

This has happened before. Remember when Bielsa was Leeds manager and sent spies to watch a rival team's training session?

wiseone wrote: Wed Jul 24, 2024 7:42 pm This has happened before. Remember when Bielsa was Leeds manager and sent spies to watch a rival team's training session?
It has been happening for decades. How do you think nations like Germany dominate the WC? Details.
The Germans built a football base from scratch in Brazil 2014 to avoid spying opponents.

Materazzi did a number on Zidane because the Italians dug up dirt on him and of course spied on other opponents too.

Egypt's dominating CAF teams required sleuthing on their part. Nigeria does it too.
Countries like Uganda don't because they don't have the experience and funds for it.

I posted about this years ago on CE and people reacted weirdly.

The Canadians were simply inept and unfortunate to get caught.

Now FIFA's reaction is a bit heavy-handed... https://www.bbc.com/sport/olympics/arti ... dg0gqk4kqo
Last edited by Kabalega on Sun Jul 28, 2024 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Can anyone explain to me why this is wrong? I file it under scouting your opponents. Do some teams not allow spectators to watch them train? I don't get the problem.

Kabalega wrote: Sat Jul 27, 2024 6:34 pm
wiseone wrote: Wed Jul 24, 2024 7:42 pm This has happened before. Remember when Bielsa was Leeds manager and sent spies to watch a rival team's training session?
It has been happening for decades. How do you think nations like Germany dominate the WC? Details.
The Germans built a football base from scratch in Brazil 2014 to avoid spying opponents.

Materazzi did a number on Zidane because the Italians dug up dirt on him and of course spied on their opponents too.

Egypt's dominating CAF teams required sleuthing on their part. Nigeria does it too.
Countries like Uganda don't because they don't, have the experience and budget for it.

I posted about this years ago on CE and people reacted like it was weird.

The Canadians were simply inept and unfortunate to get caught.

Now FIFA's reaction is a bit heavy-handed... https://www.bbc.com/sport/olympics/arti ... dg0gqk4kqo
Stop making stuff up

ohsee wrote: Sun Jul 28, 2024 6:30 am Can anyone explain to me why this is wrong? I file it under scouting your opponents. Do some teams not allow spectators to watch them train? I don't get the problem.
no surprise a commie sees no problem with spying but its spying clay.

King Futcha wrote: Sun Jul 28, 2024 1:58 pm
ohsee wrote: Sun Jul 28, 2024 6:30 am Can anyone explain to me why this is wrong? I file it under scouting your opponents. Do some teams not allow spectators to watch them train? I don't get the problem.
:biggrin:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jul 28, 2024 8:34 am
Stop making stuff up
What exactly are you referring to?

Look at this yoroyoro baseball watcher talking about footie, aka "soccer." :biggrin: "Soccer" newbie, people have been "spying" openly on opposing teams for years. Back in the day, it was a known and accepted practice. I just want to know when it became forbidden.

ohsee wrote: Sun Jul 28, 2024 6:08 pm
Look at this yoroyoro baseball watcher talking about footie, aka "soccer." :biggrin: "Soccer" newbie, people have been "spying" openly on opposing teams for years. Back in the day, it was a known and accepted practice. I just want to know when it became forbidden.
ever heard of spygate clay? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spygate_(NFL)

maybe up north both those things are not tolerated in civilized countries.

i should have known DEI Canada becoming good at soccer overnight was not through hard work, shameful.

https://www.espn.com/olympics/story/_/i ... -incidents

Teams often have private training sessions because they do not want others/the opposition to see their sensitive tactical plans. Sending your scouts to watch the opposition playing a match is legitimate scouting and is allowed. Surreptitiously sending a drone to fly over your opponent's closed door training session without their consent or knowledge is not allowed.

e.g. The FA fined Leeds United £200,000 for sending one of its personnel to spy on one of Derby County's training sessions.

wiseone wrote: Sun Jul 28, 2024 8:56 pm Teams often have private training sessions because they do not want others/the opposition to see their sensitive tactical plans. Sending your scouts to watch the opposition playing a match is legitimate scouting and is allowed. Surreptitiously sending a drone to fly over your opponent's closed door training session without their consent or knowledge is not allowed.

e.g. The FA fined Leeds United £200,000 for sending one of its personnel to spy on one of Derby County's training sessions.
I guess football has become like warfare where secrecy is vital before combat. When did these things become illegal?

King Futcha wrote: Sun Jul 28, 2024 6:16 pm

i should have known DEI Canada becoming good at soccer overnight was not through hard work, shameful.

Futcha da baseball bitcha, :biggrin: I asked you when it became illegal to "spy" and you give me a link to gridiron football? :rotf: I blame Ebonics schooling. :biggrin: If you had attended my secondary school, the teacher would have asked the whole class to give you one doty slap for that Ebonical reply. :biggrin:

I will say it again in simple English so an Ebonics speaker like you can understand :biggrin: : what rule was violated, and when did it come into force? I have been reading all the stories about this "scandal", and none has given me this information.

Futcha da baseball bitcha, I've done your research for you. :biggrin: This is just for the EFL. I am still not sure whether there is an international rule against this.

https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/foo ... 85536.html
Leeds fined £200,000 for ‘spygate’ affair as EFL make new law to prevent further incidents

A new law has been created whereby teams are now barred from viewing their opponent's training within 72 hours of a fixture
Tom Kershaw
Monday 18 February 2019 20:02 GMT

Leeds have been fined £200,000 and received a formal reprimand for breaching “good faith” by the EFL for the ‘spygate’ incident where a club employee, acting on behalf of Marcelo Bielsa, was caught acting suspiciously on the perimeter of Derby’s training ground.

Police were called before the man was later revealed as a Leeds club employee. Bielsa took full responsibility for the incident and admitted he had sent someone to spy on every opponent he has faced thus far this season, while Derby boss Frank Lampard claimed he would rather not coach than use such tactics.

The drawn-out saga became the subject of contentious debate with the likes of Mauricio Pochettino defending Bielsa’s actions, while the Leeds manager hosted a 70-minute press conference, where he illustrated the depths of research he goes to on every team and dismissed the impact spying on Derby would have had.

ohsee wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2024 7:25 am

Futcha da baseball bitcha, :biggrin: I asked you when it became illegal to "spy" and you give me a link to gridiron football? :rotf: I blame Ebonics schooling. :biggrin: If you had attended my secondary school, the teacher would have asked the whole class to give you one doty slap for that Ebonical reply. :biggrin:

I will say it again in simple English so an Ebonics speaker like you can understand :biggrin: : what rule was violated, and when did it come into force? I have been reading all the stories about this "scandal", and none has given me this information.
as usual you have no idea what you're talking about.

we don't have 'secondary school' here in the US I'm glad I didn't go to your segregated school because its clear you learned little.

but heavens if you would have been in my class with all those flat bootay white girls you would have been in Heaven.

that is another story for another day.

its not the first time i had to do research for you won't be the last, the rule that was violated by your cheating nation is found here.

https://digitalhub.fifa.com/m/59dca8ae6 ... e-2023.pdf

if you can't find it which i suspect you won't be able to let me know and i will point it out for you.

thanks clay

King Futcha wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2024 1:41 pm

we don't have 'secondary school' here in the US I'm glad I didn't go to your segregated school because its clear you learned little.

but heavens if you would have been in my class with all those flat bootay white girls you would have been in Heaven.

its not the first time i had to do research for you won't be the last, the rule that was violated by your cheating nation is found here.

if you can't find it which i suspect you won't be able to let me know and i will point it out for you.

thanks clay
:biggrin: :biggrin:
Futcha da big fat bitcha, :biggrin: why did you not just point out the relevant law or regulation? I bet you did not read it yourself, and you were just hoping ohsee would point it out for you and not call you out on your failure to read it. Oya, copy and paste the relevant rule or law that says that you cannot "spy" on your opponents before a game. :biggrin: Chai! Ebonics education no good oh. :biggrin:

You know I am a man who grew up in Naija; you know, and everybody knows, that I have no interest in flat bootay, but luuuuvs well-rounded Jamo bakassi. :thumbs: I leave such flatness to desperate 57 year old vagins like you. :biggrin: Evin flat bootay, bony-arse chicas you no fit get--they wave you away, or pick race when they see you coming. :biggrin: When we meet again for lunch, I will not shake your hand--I know what it does 5 times a day. :biggrin:

ohsee wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2024 3:08 pm

thanks clay
Futcha da big fat bitcha, :biggrin: why did you not just point out the relevant law or regulation? I bet you did not read it yourself, and you were just hoping ohsee would point it out for you and not call you out on your failure to read it. Oya, copy and paste the relevant rule or law that says that you cannot "spy" on your opponents before a game. :biggrin: Chai! Ebonics education no good oh. :biggrin:

You know I am a man who grew up in Naija; you know, and everybody knows, that I have no interest in flat bootay, but luuuuvs well-rounded Jamo bakassi. :thumbs: I leave such flatness to desperate 57 year old vagins like you. :biggrin: Evin flat bootay, bony-arse chicas you no fit get--they wave you away, or pick race when they see you coming. :biggrin: When we meet again for lunch, I will not shake your hand--I know what it does 5 times a day. :biggrin:
your best yab since you could grow hair, :thumbs: :thumbs: im old enough to remember when you taught me, now i am teaching you, great work clay :thumbs: :thumbs:

now back to the matter at hand

i figured you couldn't find it probably because you have no integrity or loyalty.
Associations and clubs, as well as their players, officials and any other
member and/or person carrying out a function on their behalf, must
respect the Laws of the Game, as well as the FIFA Statutes and FIFA’s
regulations, directives, guidelines, circulars and decisions, and comply with
the principles of fair play, loyalty and integrity.

2. For example, anyone who acts in any of the following ways may be subject
to disciplinary measures:
a) violating the basic rules of decent conduct;
b) insulting a natural or legal person in any way, especially by using
offensive gestures, signs or language;
c) using a sports event for demonstrations of a non-sporting nature;
d) behaving in a way that brings the sport of football and/or FIFA into
disrepute;

e) actively altering the age of players shown on the identity cards they
produce at competitions that are subject to age limits.
next you will argue it doesn't explicitly say spying, fifa and soon cas disagree with you, cheaters.

King Futcha wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2024 5:29 pm

thanks clay

your best yab since you could grow hair, :thumbs: :thumbs: im old enough to remember when you taught me, now i am teaching you, great work clay :thumbs: :thumbs:

i figured you couldn't find it probably because you have no integrity or loyalty.

disrepute;

next you will argue it doesn't explicitly say spying, fifa and soon cas disagree with you, cheaters.
:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:
You no see? Much ado about something not even in the rule book. :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: OK, Futcha, carry on, I hope you learned something today. :biggrin:

ohsee wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2024 8:54 pm
King Futcha wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2024 5:29 pm

thanks clay

disrepute;

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:
You no see? Much ado about something not even in the rule book. :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: OK, Futcha, carry on, I hope you learned something today. :biggrin:
so you want them to list every possible way to violate fair play, ok.

when you come back to reality clay you will see Canada were docked six points for spying.

have a good day.

They used article 13 of the FDC (Fifa Disciplinary Code):
13. Offensive behaviour and violations of the principles of
fair play
1. Associations and clubs, as well as their players, officials and any other
disrepute;
produce at competitions that are subject to age limits

And article 6.1 of the OFT (Women's Olympic Football Tournament):
6.1 The member associations that participate in the preliminary competition
(the “Participating Member Associations”) agree to comply with and ensure
that every Delegation Member (players, coaches, managers, officials, media
officers, representatives, guests and any other person carrying out duties
throughout the preliminary competition, and for the entire duration of their
stay in the host country/countries, on behalf of a Participating Member
Association) (“Delegation Members”) complies with these Regulations, the
Laws of the Game, the FIFA Statutes and FIFA’s other regulations, the FIFA
Disciplinary Code, the FIFA Anti-Doping Regulations, the FIFA Code of Ethics
and the FIFA Equipment Regulations, as well as with any other FIFA circular
letters, regulations, guidelines, directives and/or decisions.
In addition, the players and team officials agree notably to:
a) respect the spirit of fair play and non-violence;
b) behave accordingly; and
c) refrain from doping as defined by the FIFA Anti-Doping Regulations.

https://digitalhub.fifa.com/m/6d0bae418 ... _final.pdf

Canada is being made an example of by Fifa. I feel once the training session was dubbed 'behind closed doors' there should not have been a drone flown over it. Seems it one of those things some teams do, but someone threw up a storm this time. The girls have won their first two games beating France and New Zealand so now at 0 points. Another 3 points and they may atleast get a best third place slot.

they are not being made example of, they are cheaters, you don't just start spying on a lowly team like new zealand, this is something that has been going on for a while and shall come to light.