Amusan finishes 3rd in the Semis. misses the final

The Olympic Games Paris 2024 will take place in France from 26 July to 11 August.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Amusan finishes 3rd in the Semis. misses the final

bad luck Nigerians don jinx am. hopefully she gets a spot from best qualifiers. her time was 12.55 ... This Olympics we still never win nada..this was out last hope for a medal
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Amusan finishes 3rd in the Semis

2nd heat done, 3rd place didn't surpass Tobi's time. Fingers crossed. Bad luck Nigerians una go fail .. waiting on heat three now

Now waiting on the 3rd heat and hopefully ..fingers crossed

Tobi is out.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Re: Amusan finishes 3rd in the Semis. misses the final

They need to drug test those ladies in heat 3

Nothing is wrong with the country. It's just a lot of bad luck. God is the one that gave all the other countries medals.

With divine intervention we will get more medals in Los Angeles. God has decided it not our time.

But the good news is our politicians are trying. They are really trying. We just need more prayers.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

In all seriousness though...I don't know why i am so sad as if this was the super eagles.

Maybe it's also because I watched us get our #$% handed to us in two wrestling matches, one taekwondo match and one dq in 4x400

Yes I watched ALL of that live.....and then Amusan.

That's a lot of defeat to watch. Ruined my night.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
2think

Post by 2think »

Tbite wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:11 am Nothing is wrong with the country. It's just a lot of bad luck. God is the one that gave all the other countries medals.

With divine intervention we will get more medals in Los Angeles. God has decided it not our time.

But the good news is our politicians are trying. They are really trying. We just need more prayers.

May the Lord God Bless U real Good

Tbite wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:11 am Nothing is wrong with the country. It's just a lot of bad luck. God is the one that gave all the other countries medals.

TAKE NOTE, NIGERIA...you sow, you water, then you reap. No getting around these.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:01 am They need to drug test those ladies in heat 3
Why? Because Tobi didn’t bring her best game? She ran almost 1/2 a second below her world record and we know she’s much better than that. Let’s just say she didn’t have a good day at the office and move on. There’ll be other competitions where she can redeem herself🤔❗️

I had a strong feeling she would not run well. She went through her pre-race routine but as soon as she got into the blocks she looked a bit defeated. I think the pressure on her shoulders might be far greater than anything we can imagine. All athletes have pressure, to deliver for their nation. We saw what pressure did to Asafa.

but this is pressure on another level. She is the world record holder in a country with 200 million + people that has no other 'guaranteed' medal prospect. Find me another example like this. Which other athlete fits this criteria? I mean we could argue that Oboduduru was a prospect or others like Ese Brume, but regardless of how competitive 100m hurdles is (and it is very competitive), if Tobi Amusan is outside of the top 3, it is an upset.

If Ese Brown or Ruth Osoro or Favour Ofili or Ogazi or Obududuru are outside of the podium, I wouldn't exactly describe it as an upset. Obuduru finished 4th, but it wasn't out of the ordinary. Objectively, Tobi Amusan was shouldering 200 million people!

Usain Bolt did not have all of Jamaica on his shoulders, you had others, you had SAFP for example. Even India that has over a Billion people, cannot be said to have these exact circumstances.

I can put forward a very strong argument that Tobi Amusan's pressure is the highest there was in world sports. And if it wasn't at any point in time, you can be damned sure we made sure of it. Officials would have visited her to even spell it out in no vague terms.

And frankly it is unfair for Tobi Amusan to shoulder the entire responsibility. We are not Saint Lucia.

and if you see the race, her finish was actually strong enough to qualify. She lost the race out of the blocks. I wouldn't even put it squarely to reaction time. I don't think she had the drive in the first 30 metres. It was only when the race was on that she remembered her calibre. A little bit different to Asafa who competes reasonably well out the blocks but chokes as soon as he sees competition.