IM NOT ARROGANT LIKE LYLES

The Olympic Games Paris 2024 will take place in France from 26 July to 11 August.

Moderator: Moderator Team

IM NOT ARROGANT LIKE LYLES

https://www.bbc.com/sport/olympics/videos/c1ep7jgl414o

Tebogo labels Lyles ‘arrogant’ after 200m final

Close
Men's 200m gold medallist Letsile Tebogo says he doesn't believe he can be the face of athletics because he is not a "arrogant or loud" person - adding that the USA's Noah Lyles is.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Re: IM NOT ARROGANT LIKE LYLES

jette1 wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 7:21 pm https://www.bbc.com/sport/olympics/videos/c1ep7jgl414o

Close
Men's 200m gold medallist Letsile Tebogo says he doesn't believe he can be the face of athletics because he is not a "arrogant or loud" person - adding that the USA's Noah Lyles is.
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
100% KPOM! Nothing sweeted me like when useless Lies came third in the 200 meters. :thumbs:

ohsee wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 8:10 pm
jette1 wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 7:21 pm https://www.bbc.com/sport/olympics/videos/c1ep7jgl414o

Close
100% KPOM! Nothing sweeted me like when useless Lies came third in the 200 meters. :thumbs:
Now the guy claim say he ran the race with COVID

metalalloy wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 8:43 pm

Close
Abeg, make he sharrap one time. :rotf:

...Americans are known loud mouths when they win because they want that commercial endorsement, big money.
You wanna shut'em up, just beat them.
You see how Serbia scared the NBA players yesterday, first it the South Sudan basketball during friendly.
Donzman

Post by Donzman »

I think he misspoke. What he meant to say was they he is not loud and boisterous like Lyles, which is true.

I actively root against Lyles, but have to admit that he has brought some excitement back to track and field since Bolt retired. All sprinters must appreciate that.

Donzman wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:23 pm I think he misspoke. What he meant to say was they he is not loud and boisterous like Lyles, which is true.

I actively root against Lyles, but have to admit that he has brought some excitement back to track and field since Bolt retired. All sprinters must appreciate that.
I think you might be up to something there; you know English isnt our first LANGUAGE after all and, often the meanings we assign to words we speak aren't the true meanings especially for someone from Botswana. He probably wont use arrogant if he realized its rather offensive.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Tebogo is the new face of the sport, he's got same height and stride of Bolt. He slow down and pumped his chest and lyles was still far behind, he's only 21 and get going to get faster!! The young man did it for his late mom.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!

jette1 wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:56 am
Donzman wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:23 pm I think he misspoke. What he meant to say was they he is not loud and boisterous like Lyles, which is true.

I think you might be up to something there; you know English isnt our first LANGUAGE after all and, often the meanings we assign to words we speak aren't the true meanings especially for someone from Botswana. He probably wont use arrogant if he realized its rather offensive.
Sorry, but a Botswanan (ok, Motswana is the correct term) knows the difference between ‘arrogant’ and ‘boisterous’. They are properly educated down there. He knew what he was saying. He meant was he was saying. Let’s not insult him

It’s not arrogance, it’s Covid.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

deanotito wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 2:03 am

Sorry, but a Botswanan (ok, Motswana is the correct term) knows the difference between ‘arrogant’ and ‘boisterous’. They are properly educated down there. He knew what he was saying. He meant was he was saying. Let’s not insult him
Donzman is right. The dude was asked a question about being the face of the track. His response suggested that he wasn't as loud as Lyles....so he can't be the face.
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

Why are threads like this not in the Olympics forum?

Riche007 wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 5:24 am

Donzman is right. The dude was asked a question about being the face of the track. His response suggested that he wasn't as loud as Lyles....so he can't be the face.
Donzman is wrong! Y’all should stop infantilizing Tebogo. He knows what he said. He understands English. Even a poorly educated person understands what “arrogant” is. He did not misspeak. And I support him.

You can clearly see in the post above this that Lyles is clearly arrogant. So why would you assume that Tebogo doesn’t know what arrogant means.

It's so annoying when folks try to cover for folks like they're stupid. Dude said what he said.

Mr. Piffington wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 7:12 am

It's so annoying when folks try to cover for folks like they're stupid. Dude said what he said.
The Guy spoke in pure plain English. .. :rotf:

deanotito wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 6:47 am
Riche007 wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 5:24 am

Donzman is wrong! Y’all should stop infantilizing Tebogo. He knows what he said. He understands English. Even a poorly educated person understands what “arrogant” is. He did not misspeak. And I support him.

You can clearly see in the post above this that Lyles is clearly arrogant. So why would you assume that Tebogo doesn’t know what arrogant means.
I agree with you 100%. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

...folks, this is a matter of knowing words and the use of it in a wide world context.

Some English we (Africans) say does not have the same connotation as is in America or the birth place of the language, England.

mcal wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:40 pm ...folks, this is a matter of knowing words and the use of it in a wide world context.

Some English we (Africans) say does not have the same connotation as is in America or the birth place of the language, England.
Oh Lord! My brother, Tebogo knows what “arrogant” is. Have you known people from Botswana? That is a proper country. They take education seriously. He knows what he said. He meant it.

mcal wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:40 pm ...folks, this is a matter of knowing words and the use of it in a wide world context.

Sorry mcal but it seems you are taking a very patronising view of the guy and his level of understanding of the English language?
Why?
On what basis do you assume that he does not mean or fully understand exactly what he has said?
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

metalalloy wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 8:43 pm

Close

And trying to give everyone else Covid was his plan?
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
Gboye7777

Post by Gboye7777 »

I agree. I don't think he was throwing Lyles shade, just his way of saying Lyles is loud and he is not.

Damunk wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 2:14 pm

Sorry mcal but it seems you are taking a very patronising view of the guy and his level of understanding of the English language?
Why?
On what basis do you assume that he does not mean or fully understand exactly what he has said?
...look, it doesn't matter how much education we have, and especially when we are not living in said countries for a long time, in Africa we say same thing with different connotation, with no prejudice btw.