Breaking News: Our Osimhen (The African Footballer of the Year) to CHELSEA No deal. Staying at Napoli

Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Fri Aug 30, 2024 9:36 pm, edited 20 times in total.

Re: Breaking News: Our Osimhen tells Napoli he wants to leave the club

I thought he already said he wanted to leave. No? Why has his relationship with Napoli gone south so fast?

Osimhen's mistake was not leaving last two seasons immediately after winning the scudetto.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 9:54 pm I thought he already said he wanted to leave. No? Why has his relationship with Napoli gone south so fast?
Abi ooo. I think he stays at Napoli

The Osimhen situation bothers me, a top striker who not only won a scudetto for his club after many years of waiting, but also had an impressive goal tally even in his worst ever season and YET no decent club is willing to splurge the money on him? surely it can't just be about his attitude cause there have been many top players who have been nearly impossible to coach yet had successful careers at various clubs...so what really is going on? something isn't adding up about his situation, maybe someone is trying hard to sabotage him.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 12:24 am The Osimhen situation bothers me, a top striker who not only won a scudetto for his club after many years of waiting, but also had an impressive goal tally even in his worst ever season and YET no decent club is willing to splurge the money on him? surely it can't just be about his attitude cause there have been many top players who have been nearly impossible to coach yet had successful careers at various clubs...so what really is going on? something isn't adding up about his situation, maybe someone is trying hard to sabotage him.
Kpom! The thing taya me sef. If Oshimen was French, German or Italian the big teams would be lining up. Even if he was Cameroonian ,Ghanaian or Ivorian teams would still be willing to invest in him and take the risk. I might be wrong but I don’t think most of these teams want to invest so much in a Nigerian brand as their major star. Just look at the injury record of our players on national duty and the constant fighting with teams for release and medical issues. Again, I might be wrong but I think his nationality might be a burden on him. Imagine if Chelsea, PSG or Arsenal have to deal with the Nff before Afcon. They might have decided that the juice ain’t worth the squeeze.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 12:24 am The Osimhen situation bothers me, a top striker who not only won a scudetto for his club after many years of waiting, but also had an impressive goal tally even in his worst ever season and YET no decent club is willing to splurge the money on him? surely it can't just be about his attitude cause there have been many top players who have been nearly impossible to coach yet had successful careers at various clubs...so what really is going on? something isn't adding up about his situation, maybe someone is trying hard to sabotage him.
We are all ignoring the elephant in the room. We all watched the man at ANC missing chance after chance. 7 games played. One goal scored.
He is a very good striker. But not world class. Not even close.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

bushboy wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 3:52 am
We are all ignoring the elephant in the room. We all watched the man at ANC missing chance after chance. 7 games played. One goal scored.
That is exactly the issue! Arsenal, Chelsea and PSG will buy him at the right price and his market value. He is overpriced by Napoli. He was average in league last year and he was below average at the AFCON! He is a 65-75 million euros player!

Undertaker wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 5:09 am
That is exactly the issue! Arsenal, Chelsea and PSG will buy him at the right price and his market value. He is overpriced by Napoli. He was average in league last year and he was below average at the AFCON! He is a 65-75 million euros player!
I agree with both of you. How is this breaking news? He is indirectly telling Napoli to lower the price. At this point he won’t mind getting sold for 30 million euros as long as his wages remain the same. Victor messed up by signing that extension but his fan boys here won’t admit it. They are plenty average players around the world earning similar pay as him.
gurrano

Post by gurrano »

Remind me again how many goals Mbappe or Harry Kane scored at the Euro’s .. did that in any way impact their valuation?

Really surprised by several comments here. There is nothing unusual with Osimhen's situation. None. Negotiations take time. Simply reading about a player's value in the media is just BS. The price for player's contract is always negotiated and negotiation is impacted by numerous variables. If Victor wants to move, as already expressed, it is a more difficult negotiation because it puts the club in a difficult negotiating position but also expresses a decision that must be made. I fully expect Osimhen to move but the club must be satisfied by an offer.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

If he wanted to leave so badly, why did he renew his contract? Renewing his contract is the primary reason he hasn’t been able to move🤔❗️

gurrano

Post by gurrano »

Thing is Victor is in a very good position right now.. if Napoli fail to make a deal this summer, he can stay with them on his current salary which is not too bad after he renegotiated it last year.. he can then run down his contract and walk away as a free agent with more leverage to negotiate a bigger payoff… Napoli on the other hand need to offload his high wage which is big drain on their finances and also would not want to lose all the money they spent in recruiting him.. Based on this, I think it is in Napoli’s best interest to get him sold off now as long as he can agree on terms with whoever wants him..

Enugu II wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 5:25 pm Really surprised by several comments here. There is nothing unusual with Osimhen's situation. None. Negotiations take time. Simply reading about a player's value in the media is just BS. The price for player's contract is always negotiated and negotiation is impacted by numerous variables. If Victor wants to move, as already expressed, it is a more difficult negotiation because it puts the club in a difficult negotiating position but also expresses a decision that must be made. I fully expect Osimhen to move but the club must be satisfied by an offer.
There are too many daft and dumb comments here. You just have to laugh and move on. Shows many are so clueless on how things operate. They just read one liners on social media, watch football and go with whatever lazy thoughts . It is actually very laughable . You really cannot blame them.

They were all fundamentally bruised intellectually while growing up . It is very difficult for them to analyze situations , that is why i laugh at them. The funny part is they quote each other and think they've made sense.
The little opportunity they get to post on the internet , they take full advantage of it and get excited, while indirectly exposing their follies . Just laugh and hope they improve some day . Do not hold your breath .

gurrano wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 6:28 pm Thing is Victor is in a very good position right now.. if Napoli fail to make a deal this summer, he can stay with them on his current salary which is not too bad after he renegotiated it last year.. he can then run down his contract and walk away as a free agent with more leverage to negotiate a bigger payoff… Napoli on the other hand need to offload his high wage which is big drain on their finances and also would not want to lose all the money they spent in recruiting him.. Based on this, I think it is in Napoli’s best interest to get him sold off now as long as he can agree on terms with whoever wants him..
Kpom. World-class players are not easy to purchase. It involves a lot of back and forth .

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 6:35 pm
Enugu II wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 5:25 pm Really surprised by several comments here. There is nothing unusual with Osimhen's situation. None. Negotiations take time. Simply reading about a player's value in the media is just BS. The price for player's contract is always negotiated and negotiation is impacted by numerous variables. If Victor wants to move, as already expressed, it is a more difficult negotiation because it puts the club in a difficult negotiating position but also expresses a decision that must be made. I fully expect Osimhen to move but the club must be satisfied by an offer.
There are too many daft and dumb comments here. You just have to laugh and move on. Shows many are so clueless on how things operate. They just read one liners on social media, watch football and go with whatever lazy thoughts . It is actually very laughable . You really cannot blame them.

They were all fundamentally bruised intellectually while growing up . It is very difficult for them to analyze situations , that is why i laugh at them. The funny part is they quote each other and think they've made sense.
The little opportunity they get to post on the internet , they take full advantage of it and get excited, while indirectly exposing their follies . Just laugh and hope they improve some day . Do not hold your breath .
You sit on your fat behind and accuse people of making daft and dumb comments yet, other than your disparaging comments, you offer no insights as to why Osimhen is in his current situation.

First of all, Osimhen’s agents probably misled him into renewing his contract with Napoli, ostensibly for the huge commission they stood to get from his huge salary increase. Moreover, they did not do their due diligence and warn him of the possibility that Napoli might place an unreasonable exit clause in his contract.

Secondly, Osimhen and his agents probably overestimated his value. They should have figured that no team would want to pay such an exorbitant transfer fee for a player who could soon leave on a free transfer. Clubs are now trying to pull a “Senior Man” on Osimhen. Apparently, he learnt nothing from Iheanacho’s travails.

Thirdly, if Osimhen was really desperate to leave Napoli, as he appears to be now, then signing a new contract with Napoli was, at best, ill advised. It is the most important reason why he’s having so much trouble switching clubs. If iheanacho had resigned with Leicester as he was being pressured to do, he wouldn’t have had the opportunity to switch to Sevilla and he would still be a slave to the whims of the Leicester management and whatever terrible decisions they choose to make🤔❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Mon Aug 12, 2024 12:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Surprised folks don’t see how much power Osimhen has in this situation. If he was desperate, he would have taken reduced wages and gone on loan to Chelsea. Instead, he’s sticking to his guns and biding his time.

Napoli will most likely take a deal. Otherwise, they’re screwed. Worst case for Osimhen is he has a nothing year, collects his pay check and waits for matters to unfold.

Could he have just packed his bags and leave while he was still under contract?
naijaguy wrote: Sat Aug 10, 2024 11:00 pm Osimhen's mistake was not leaving last two seasons immediately after winning the scudetto.

Not scoring in big games hurt him I think.

waka-man wrote: Sun Aug 11, 2024 8:11 pm Surprised folks don’t see how much power Osimhen has in this situation. If he was desperate, he would have taken reduced wages and gone on loan to Chelsea. Instead, he’s sticking to his guns and biding his time.

Napoli will most likely take a deal. Otherwise, they’re screwed. Worst case for Osimhen is he has a nothing year, collects his pay check and waits for matters to unfold.
Money may not be what motivates Osimhen. I believe he’s more interested in new opportunities to expand his horizons but he’s not going to get one as long as he’s tied to that stupid contract🤔❗️

There’s nothing unusual happening regarding Osimhen’s transfer.
The buyers know that Napoli want/have to sell , so they’re playing the long game with the hope that Napoli will drop the asking price shortly before the transfer window closes.
It’s like those guys who hang around ashewos. They know the price will drop as dusk approaches