Breaking News: Our Osimhen (The African Footballer of the Year) to CHELSEA No deal. Staying at Napoli

Re: Breaking News: Our Osimhen transfer pending

gochino wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 9:17 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 4:22 pm Saudi league is a good league. Watched a few of their games. He should do what is best for him and his family. If Saudi offers him 1 million a week. It will be difficult to turn down.
So Saturday you go chill for house with your beer come dey watch Saudi league? Mba nu!
Osimhen should take the money and invest it.

metalalloy wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 3:08 pm
packerland wrote: Tue Aug 27, 2024 11:42 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Aug 27, 2024 11:33 pm Osimhen should earn more than Enzo Fernandez. At least 320K a week. Why would he not be one of the highest earners at the club.
He should which is why I was laughing at the people saying that worst case scenario he goes back to Napoli on his current wage like that’s a big victory. Even Sterling is on 325k/wk. With that huge transfer fee, Osimhen’s transfer would’ve been wrapped up by now.
He currently makes more than Sterling at Napoli.
That’s not true. Victor is at 180k/wk (pounds) while Sterling is making 325k/wk. That’s why Chelsea can’t wait to offload Sterling.

ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 10:50 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 4:22 pm Saudi league is a good league. Watched a few of their games. He should do what is best for him and his family. If Saudi offers him 1 million a week. It will be difficult to turn down.
So Saturday you go chill for house with your beer come dey watch Saudi league? Mba nu!
Osimhen should take the money and invest it.

Something is wrong with your head 😕

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: Breaking News: Our Osimhen transfer pending. Al Ahli or Chelsea

As a Chelsea fan, I am pissed they let this drag for so long. The boy has wanted to go to Chelsea from the beginning and they insulted him with those childish offers. Taking his fandoms for granted.

The Saudis have really muddled things up and are valuing Vic in a rarified stratosphere.

Kid is in a bit of a pickle because of Chelsea’s initial disrespect.

I think he should go to Saudi and then in 2 years come back and play for Juventus or Athletico or whatever not so top club that players usually go to after Saudi.

Ugbowo wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 4:53 am As a Chelsea fan, I am pissed they let this drag for so long. The boy has wanted to go to Chelsea from the beginning and they insulted him with those childish offers. Taking his fandoms for granted.

The Saudis have really muddled things up and are valuing Vic in a rarified stratosphere.

I think he should go to Saudi and then in 2 years come back and play for Juventus or Athletico or whatever not so top club that players usually go to after Saudi.
I hope the insult doesn’t become an issue once he finally signs for Chelsea. I know a woman that constantly insults her husband because his people negotiated her original bride price down and some of the items on list presented to the guy. The woman felt it was an insult. The thing dragged on for years and ended up breaking their marriage. I hope Osimhen doesn’t carry such feelings.

Ugbowo wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 4:53 am As a Chelsea fan, I am pissed they let this drag for so long. The boy has wanted to go to Chelsea from the beginning and they insulted him with those childish offers. Taking his fandoms for granted.

You thinks say na play station 4? We saw how useless Ronaldo was at the Euros.

If Osimhen really wants to play for Chelsea, he can make it happen. Napoli were willing to do a swap plus cash deal with Chelsea but Osimhen’s team were not happy with personal terms. We have seen players take a pay cut and forgo some benefits just to force a move. But I can’t begrudge him if he wants to hold on for what he believe he deserves. We are just football fans while it is a job for him.

It is now looking like Saudi or sitting on the bench at Napoli. If I were Osimhen, I would sit tight at Napoli till January when another opportunity would come from a top European team. Saudi would kill his football and would turn our world class striker into a shadow of himself. He already has a tough job getting back into top shape and form after this long drawn out transfer saga. I really feel for the boy.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 8:56 am

If Osimhen really wants to play for Chelsea, he can make it happen. Napoli were willing to do a swap plus cash deal with Chelsea but Osimhen’s team were not happy with personal terms. We have seen players take a pay cut and forgo some benefits just to force a move. But I can’t begrudge him if he wants to hold on for what he believe he deserves. We are just football fans while it is a job for him.

It is now looking like Saudi or sitting on the bench at Napoli. If I were Osimhen, I would sit tight at Napoli till January when another opportunity would come from a top European team. Saudi would kill his football and would turn our world class striker into a shadow of himself. He already has a tough job getting back into top shape and form after this long drawn out transfer saga. I really feel for the boy.
Even Mbappe took a pay cut to play at Madrid

gochino wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 9:21 am
Lolly wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 8:56 am

Even Mbappe took a pay cut to play at Madrid
And a hefty sign-on fee of £85m paid over the duration of his 5 year contract. That’s £17m on top of his £12.5m after tax salary.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Dammy wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 10:30 pm As football fans, I believe our main challenge should be the sporting aspect and not the financial side.
Only Osimhen and his family, entourage etc should be concerned about finances,
I see so many Nigerians online saying he should take the Saudi money. I wonder if he’s going to share it with them!
As a football fan, I want to watch the best player we have produced in recent years play at the highest levels for as long as possible,
Anyone advocating that Osimhen at 25 should go to Saudi Arabia is not a genuine SE fan!
He will be ill advised to choose Saudi league unless he knows that the last years were a fluke…..

If he comes here to Chelsea and he does well!! His image rights, the face mask rights!!, he will cover the difference in wages easily and then in a year or two he can either go to Real or Saudi….

Saudi promises a lot and some of them don’t pay and the ones that pay won’t renew ur contract. In 4 years he will be back earning £50k a month in Europe or earn £150k now for 4 years and go to Saudi and earn £200k on a free in 4years….

Unless he knows the past years is a fluke….if he backs himself, everything leads to staying with the elites…and retiring like Ronaldo in Saudi

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 12:56 pm
I won’t be surprised if he goes to Saudi and damns the consequences. The money on offer is outrageous and could turn the head of any professional football.

Lolly wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 1:17 pm
I won’t be surprised if he goes to Saudi and damns the consequences. The money on offer is outrageous and could turn the head of any professional football.
He would be crazy to turn down the Saudi offer!
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Lolly wrote: Thu Aug 29, 2024 1:17 pm

and for those hoping for Olise and MAdueke, both will be named in the France and England squad in a few days (actually France already called up Olise )

it is about time African players start getting some respect . Enough with the disrespect. I hope Vic collect plenty money from Chelsea and this should open the door for other CAF players. We get low balled too much
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Thu Aug 29, 2024 1:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

packerland wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 11:10 pm
metalalloy wrote: Wed Aug 28, 2024 3:08 pm
packerland wrote: Tue Aug 27, 2024 11:42 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Aug 27, 2024 11:33 pm Osimhen should earn more than Enzo Fernandez. At least 320K a week. Why would he not be one of the highest earners at the club.
He should which is why I was laughing at the people saying that worst case scenario he goes back to Napoli on his current wage like that’s a big victory. Even Sterling is on 325k/wk. With that huge transfer fee, Osimhen’s transfer would’ve been wrapped up by now.
He currently makes more than Sterling at Napoli.
That’s not true. Victor is at 180k/wk (pounds) while Sterling is making 325k/wk. That’s why Chelsea can’t wait to offload Sterling.
Where are you getting 180k per week? Capology has him earning a lot more than that. Regarding Sterling, You have to factor in taxes in determining what they make. This is the response I posted for Goke in the other thread
Goke, I actually went back and looked at the salaries you posted from capology. I think you are making a mistake in looking at what the players you compared are earning on a gross basis before taxes. Taxes are a huge consideration to take into account, and Italy had a very beneficial tax structure which encouraged players to move to Serie A over the past few years. If i am looking at this correctly, after taxes, Osimhen actually makes more than Sterling, but less than Dembele. Click on the "NET" tab for each player:

Player Weekly Salary. Annual Salary
Osimhen. € 230,769 per week. € 12,000,000 per year
Dembele. € 264,423 per week € 13,750,000 per year
Sterling. € 208,741 per week. € 10,854,518 per year

So, in light of the above, do you still think that Osimhen is paid below market value?

https://www.capology.com/player/victor-osimhen-36158/
https://www.capology.com/player/ousmane-dembele-35565
https://www.capology.com/player/raheem-sterling-34676
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=318014&p=6003291&hi ... s#p6003291

In my view, a deal on Osihmen transfer is one that is headed to the deadline wire. That should not be surprising and this weekend brings that wire. Osihmen, it is obvious, will have a home at that point. What is unknown is how much he will extract from the suitors. His goal should be to extract as much as possible. This career isn't a long one. Milk it while you can. That should be the strategy.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics