LOOKING AT MANAGER LABBADIA and his Tendencies...
After weeks of wrangling, including a quick ditching of Finidi George following poor results, Nigeria finally settled with German Manager Bruno Labbadia. Labbadia will hold a position that is a dream position after largely managing German clubs. The national team of Nigeria is an obvious step up that offers global notoriety and talented wards.
Bruno Labbadia is an experienced manager who has managed for two decades. His parents originated from Italy, but they settled in Germany and Bruno holds German citizenship solely. His football involves an offensive opportunity off a defensively tight strategy.
In the past he has favored a compact 4-1-4-1 and a 4-4-2 which seems, on paper, to suit the players currently used in the Nigerian team. However, it is also notable that Lobbadia has, at times, tried the 4-3-3 when attacking quickly or counter pressing. Unlike previous Nigerian managers who saw the Nigerian team and dream of an entirely offensive set up, Labbadia is more pragmatic. He built his set by using a deep defensive block and emphasizing passing out of the deep block by utilizing a deep-lying playmaker with ball skills.
Those who expect the return of Gernot Rohr may find their prayers answered with the appointment of Bruno Labbadia. Similar style and approach to the game. However, we must see how strictly Lobbadia wants to play out of the back, but his style sounds eerily like Rohr’s approach. Given Nigeria’s defensive frailties, the question becomes: Will Labbadia risk a two-person front with Osimhen and Boniface or even with Osimhen and Lookman That is left to be seen but it will be closely watched in the coming weeks and months as Labbaddia works to rescue a World Cup qualification that is on life support and qualifying for the next AFCON.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: LOOKING AT MANAGER LABBADIA and his Tendencies...
Well above average coach in my opinion and he is an experienced coach in clubside football. I will take him over some of these our local coaches who don't know what "football philosophy" means. Go Labbalabba! Viva Nigeria!!
NigerianDiamond wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 6:02 pmI will support a borefest coach winning games, than a samba-styled coach losing games.

NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.

No the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
Labbadi has 1 job and 1 job only; to coach the SE to the WC and Afcon.
It’s not his job to lay down a vision for any other team but SE.
He will not scout the local league.
He will not live in Nigeria.
He will not invite non SE players to camp to fight for shirts.
He will not invite any player that’s not playing at top level
He will not advice the youth teams
So, if you want a vision for Nigerian football you’ll need to go back to the nff. Finally, the Nff has to play by the book with the new coach.
They must not tamper with his lists.
They must not recommend players to the coach.
They must not interfere with tactics.
They must not owe him 1 kobo.
HMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 10:00 pmNo the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
So, if you want a vision for Nigerian football you’ll need to go back to the nff. Finally, the Nff has to play by the book with the new coach.
When you offer that this incoming coach not live in Nigeria or scout the local league (even before he asks for them like he's some kind of lord), you unintentionally highlight some weaknesses of having a foreign coach. If he's out of the country except for a handful of HOME matches, who identifies emerging players? Who liases with football officials. How does get to understand the psyche of the people he's leading and the fans?
You've granted him a lot of concessions he apparently has not even asked for. Looks like the only thing you left out is the timing of the motorcade to take him to Aso Rock, a la Berti Vogts, to show Tinubu this great catch.
And finally, after he leaves sooner or later, what will be the long-term benefits to Nigeria?

What are you seeing?Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
Assuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 6:10 amHMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 10:00 pmNo the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
When you offer that this incoming coach not live in Nigeria or scout the local league (even before he asks for them like he's some kind of lord), you unintentionally highlight some weaknesses of having a foreign coach. If he's out of the country except for a handful of HOME matches, who identifies emerging players? Who liases with football officials. How does get to understand the psyche of the people he's leading and the fans?
You've granted him a lot of concessions he apparently has not even asked for. Looks like the only thing you left out is the timing of the motorcade to take him to Aso Rock, a la Berti Vogts, to show Tinubu this great catch.
And finally, after he leaves sooner or later, what will be the long-term benefits to Nigeria?
Do you see that as progress or not?
Do you think it has long term benefits?
Do you think a local coach will be happier walking into that job or not?
The coach’s 1st job….steady the ship, put SE on the path to success again..
If he fails, he will join Finidi…..
No one cares about his motorcade to Ado rock or Aso rock….
If he does his job, gets the right players into the team. No one in Tanzania or Vietnam etc.. and gets the team on the right track…that’s a win…
There was a time when we were guaranteed Olympic, u-23, u-17 qualification….we are lucky to get the SE to draw with Lesotho….
We need the SE to set the example again….
Enyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 7:05 amAssuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 6:10 amHMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 10:00 pmNo the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
If he does his job, gets the right players into the team. No one in Tanzania or Vietnam etc.. and gets the team on the right track…that’s a win…
There was a time when we were guaranteed Olympic, u-23, u-17 qualification….we are lucky to get the SE to draw with Lesotho….
UNFORTUNATELY…what you’ve just described illustrates the sorry state of Nigerian football, the result of an absence of vision or planning. Nigeria has qualified for the WC and won the AFCON before but as random events, not the result of deft planning. With planning, such results should be routine and those grouped with Nigeria should be thinking runners-up.
The likes of Brazil, Germany, Argentina, France et al are always considered among the favorites to win their continental tournaments as well as the WC. There’s hardly any doubt about their qualifying. A well-organized Nigeria, one that’s built for the long term, should be similarly regarded.
So, to answer your question, it’s not progress for Nigeria to win the AFCON or qualify for the WC only when all the stars are correctly aligned. At best, it’s a sideways move that gives only a temporary sugar high and not sustainable.

...when and if things go south, the guy gonna say don't look at me I just got here, and he will still get his cash in full.
Stay tuned, and fingers crossed.
Coaches get paid regardless of the result until they’re let go. That’s how it is all over the world.
so progress at this stage is to not qualify and hire a local coach and wait until he gets it right then that planning?Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 amEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 7:05 amAssuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 6:10 amHMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 10:00 pmNo the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
UNFORTUNATELY…what you’ve just described illustrates the sorry state of Nigerian football, the result of an absence of vision or planning. Nigeria has qualified for the WC and won the AFCON before but as random events, not the result of deft planning. With planning, such results should be routine and those grouped with Nigeria should be thinking runners-up.
The likes of Brazil, Germany, Argentina, France et al are always considered among the favorites to win their continental tournaments as well as the WC. There’s hardly any doubt about their qualifying. A well-organized Nigeria, one that’s built for the long term, should be similarly regarded.
So, to answer your question, it’s not progress for Nigeria to win the AFCON or qualify for the WC only when all the stars are correctly aligned. At best, it’s a sideways move that gives only a temporary sugar high and not sustainable.
I don't care for this coach. Complete waste of resources. Ok now. They've gotten their foreign coach. Let's see how that addresses all of our problems now. Our root is rotten. Oyinbo will not save us!!!
...except in Nigeria, to Nigerian coaches.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 1:04 pmCoaches get paid regardless of the result until they’re let go. That’s how it is all over the world.
Is he not correct in his statement if things go SOuth.
What else is he supposed to say or do.
We all hope he will do / give his very best.
Should he also Not be paid ?
Enyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 1:58 pmso progress at this stage is to not qualify and hire a local coach and wait until he gets it right then that planning?Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 amEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 7:05 amAssuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 6:10 amHMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 10:00 pmNo the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
IF YOU ASK ME...progress will be when the NFF recognizes that it is operating without a vision which means success will be sporadic as we're witnessing. It's like getting into a car with no idea where you're going. It would take a group that understands this basic concept, not the current occupants.

Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 pmEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 1:58 pmso progress at this stage is to not qualify and hire a local coach and wait until he gets it right then that planning?Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 amEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 7:05 amAssuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 6:10 amHMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 10:00 pmNo the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.Bell wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 9:45 pm NFF ADRIFT...cutting corners and looking for short cuts for short term ephemeral joy that disguises the fact that the trend is down. No vision, no plans. Nigeria football going the way of Nigerian Olympics. At the end of his tenure, what block will be left to build on? Will Nigeria football be where it belongs? Unlikely, based on what we're seeing.
IF YOU ASK ME...progress will be when the NFF recognizes that it is operating without a vision which means success will be sporadic as we're witnessing. It's like getting into a car with no idea where you're going. It would take a group that understands this basic concept, not the current occupants.
Now ur asking a lot……..
NFF is a problem….u ain’t going to solve it not today not during the tenure of Labbadia…
The only way is to BYPASS IT….. you can only achieve that when the team is winning, then u can get a motorcade to Aso rock and get ur demands met and also set out ur own vision WITHOUT NFF
Enyi wrote: ↑Thu Aug 29, 2024 10:44 amBell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 pmEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 1:58 pmso progress at this stage is to not qualify and hire a local coach and wait until he gets it right then that planning?Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 amEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 7:05 amAssuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 6:10 amHMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Aug 27, 2024 10:00 pm
No the trend is not down. This team just finished 2nd at Afcon just months ago but they decided to tamper with the team because they didn’t play attractive football. What they got in return was disaster.
Now ur asking a lot……..
NFF is a problem….u ain’t going to solve it not today not during the tenure of Labbadia…
The only way is to BYPASS IT….. you can only achieve that when the team is winning, then u can get a motorcade to Aso rock and get ur demands met and also set out ur own vision WITHOUT NFF
FOR DAMN SURE...Nigeria is not going to achieve its true potential if the bar is not set high. That's how occasional wins and inexplicable losses can be avoided. Patience owuld be needed but fortunately, it's not very complicated and does not require astronomical financial expenditures; unfortunately, the present NFF have no clue what that is, or are caught up in pursuit of personal interests.

Bell, Perhaps you can use this opportunity to tell us what Nigeria has ever envisioned and nurtured to maturity. Pls tell us. What is the template in Nigeria for following your dreamy plan? We’ve had son=me success in football in spite of our terrible managerial structures but it’s no evidence of long term planning. Heck, I’ll tell you this much; Nigerians are good technocrats but are not good managers. Thats just a fact.Bell wrote: ↑Fri Aug 30, 2024 2:47 amEnyi wrote: ↑Thu Aug 29, 2024 10:44 amBell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 pmEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 1:58 pmso progress at this stage is to not qualify and hire a local coach and wait until he gets it right then that planning?Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 amEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 7:05 amAssuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 6:10 am
HMMM...when I talk about establishing a "vision" and coming up with "plans" for Nigerian football, did you think I was looking to a coach, foreign or domestic, to do that?
Now ur asking a lot……..
FOR DAMN SURE...Nigeria is not going to achieve its true potential if the bar is not set high. That's how occasional wins and inexplicable losses can be avoided. Patience owuld be needed but fortunately, it's not very complicated and does not require astronomical financial expenditures; unfortunately, the present NFF have no clue what that is, or are caught up in pursuit of personal interests.
LOOKS LIKE...you've given up on excellence in Nigeria. I haven't and that's why I'm on my crusade. Without going for excellence, Nigerian football will keep sliding down and will soon look like the Nigerian Olympic committee with horrifying results on the way. The status quo is not good enough.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Fri Aug 30, 2024 5:09 amBell, Perhaps you can use this opportunity to tell us what Nigeria has ever envisioned and nurtured to maturity. Pls tell us. What is the template in Nigeria for following your dreamy plan? We’ve had son=me success in football in spite of our terrible managerial structures but it’s no evidence of long term planning. Heck, I’ll tell you this much; Nigerians are good technocrats but are not good managers. Thats just a fact.Bell wrote: ↑Fri Aug 30, 2024 2:47 amEnyi wrote: ↑Thu Aug 29, 2024 10:44 amBell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 pmEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 1:58 pmso progress at this stage is to not qualify and hire a local coach and wait until he gets it right then that planning?Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 amEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 7:05 am
Assuming….just Assuming, we qualify for the WC, win the AFCON.
Now ur asking a lot……..

Oga, your NFF President is Gassau. A former Zamfara state FA chair with no prior experience as a player, manager or administrator, he became President after the usual zonal elections that’s dependent on favors. His assistant is Akinwuumi, a career football bureaucrat who has been present in every failure over the last decade. Worst still, the technical committee chairman is also a career football bureaucrat whose has failed at every level from the worst u17 outing in decades and the worst Afcon Afcon result in decades.Bell wrote: ↑Fri Aug 30, 2024 6:01 amLOOKS LIKE...you've given up on excellence in Nigeria. I haven't and that's why I'm on my crusade. Without going for excellence, Nigerian football will keep sliding down and will soon look like the Nigerian Olympic committee with horrifying results on the way. The status quo is not good enough.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Fri Aug 30, 2024 5:09 amBell, Perhaps you can use this opportunity to tell us what Nigeria has ever envisioned and nurtured to maturity. Pls tell us. What is the template in Nigeria for following your dreamy plan? We’ve had son=me success in football in spite of our terrible managerial structures but it’s no evidence of long term planning. Heck, I’ll tell you this much; Nigerians are good technocrats but are not good managers. Thats just a fact.Bell wrote: ↑Fri Aug 30, 2024 2:47 amEnyi wrote: ↑Thu Aug 29, 2024 10:44 amBell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 pmEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 1:58 pmso progress at this stage is to not qualify and hire a local coach and wait until he gets it right then that planning?Bell wrote: ↑Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 am
Now ur asking a lot……..
Where exactly is the vision coming from? One thing is for sure. Even Stevie Wonder can see the issue clearly.