Okoye leads Udinese to No 1 in Serie A

https://www.espn.com/soccer/standings/_/league/ita.1

Have we ever had a goalie who was the No 1 for league leaders in a top 5 league?

What else does this man have to do to get his rightful position back as No 1 Nigerian goalie? It’s now 4 straight games he has been called up and hasn’t played 1 min for Nigeria. Thats not right. Football is about current form and quality of competition. Okoye has improved so much that he’s now one of the best in the world without any acknowledgment from Nigeria for his accomplishments. God Dey o!
Re: Okoye leads Udinese to No 1 in Serie A

This reminds me of a famous quote of Sunday Oliseh against Babayaro after Babayaro abandoned the team and demanded his place back because he was in his words "pulling first team shirt at Chelsea" to which Oliseh replied:

"One particular player demanded to get his shirt back as if it is his birthright. This is is wrong especially since his replacement is doing a good job, and some say, better than him!"

His replacement was Ifeanyi Udeze!

Nwabali is doing a great job and brings Naija swagger and confidence to the team. Hey Brazil get two top goalies, we used to have Ogedegbe and Okala. Nothing spoil.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 3:34 am https://www.espn.com/soccer/standings/_/league/ita.1

Have we ever had a goalie who was the No 1 for league leaders in a top 5 league?

What else does this man have to do to get his rightful position back as No 1 Nigerian goalie? It’s now 4 straight games he has been called up and hasn’t played 1 min for Nigeria. Thats not right. Football is about current form and quality of competition. Okoye has improved so much that he’s now one of the best in the world without any acknowledgment from Nigeria for his accomplishments. God Dey o!

Cmoke wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 3:54 am This reminds me of a famous quote of Sunday Oliseh against Babayaro after Babayaro abandoned the team and demanded his place back because he was in his words "pulling first team shirt at Chelsea" to which Oliseh replied:

"One particular player demanded to get his shirt back as if it is his birthright. This is is wrong especially since his replacement is doing a good job, and some say, better than him!"

His replacement was Ifeanyi Udeze!

Nwabali is doing a great job and brings Naija swagger and confidence to the team. Hey Brazil get two top goalies, we used to have Ogedegbe and Okala. Nothing spoil.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 3:34 am https://www.espn.com/soccer/standings/_/league/ita.1

Udeze was certainly no Cele-baba just as Nwabali ain’t no Okoye. Football is about current form and class not past glories. Okoye is the No 1 African goalie today and should be starting if it’s about merit.

After exactly 4 games into tge season? Olorun gba mi ooo. Why don’t we wait and see where they are midway into the season before you start running your mouth🤔❗️

With a Nigerian passport only, Okoye might not get into the Udinese team, not because he is not good enough (he is!) but because he might be competing with other players for a non-EU place on the team. There is a reason why Kudus is not playing for a top 6 side in the EPL. The size of the club and the league played in are important but not the sole determinant of whether a player is picked or not.

Didn't okoye come to camp late? Yep 2nd choice. If he is not careful he will drop to 3rd choice. Okonkwo is doing quite well at Wrexam these days.

Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Nwabali has that thing on lock-down until further notice. You can see how much confidence he instills on the defenders. He’s the boss in that defense line.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Only injury will get Okoye another look in as Eagus numba One.

I am glad we have this 'problem'... wish we had this kin problem all throughout the team.

Cellular wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 5:45 pm

Only injury will get Okoye another look in as Eagus numba One.

I am glad we have this 'problem'... wish we had this kin problem all throughout the team.
I think our midfield which used to be our biggest weakness is finally looking more competitive, our present dilemma is that defence with the likes of Ekong and Ajayi not getting any younger.

Okoye is number 2 in the SE. Simple.
Nwabali is number 1.
No amount of PR will Change this.

Okoye should continue doing well for Udinese and he should also start coming to camp early, he will be looked in when we play friendly matches.

naijaguy wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 5:58 pm Okoye is number 2 in the SE. Simple.
Nwabali is number 1.

Okoye should continue doing well for Udinese and he should also start coming to camp early, he will be looked in when we play friendly matches.
The issue will be settled when we get a real coach who actually works as a coach for living. It’ll swift and decisive. No shaking!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 6:11 pm
naijaguy wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 5:58 pm Okoye is number 2 in the SE. Simple.
Nwabali is number 1.

The issue will be settled when we get a real coach who actually works as a coach for living. It’ll swift and decisive. No shaking!
So be it. No need to debate this topic every other day in a new thread.

We are lucky to have them both. I would love us to secure another very competent 3rd choice-- there are a few options there. Wouldnt mind one who is very experienced, lest say above 29 years old.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 7:37 pm We are lucky to have them both. I would love us to secure another very competent 3rd choice-- there are a few options there. Wouldnt mind one who is very experienced, lest say above 29 years old.
Abeg no do mek onku 1Naira start his Akpeyi propaganda again o. Cut off age is 27yrs.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 7:58 pm
danfo driver wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 7:37 pm We are lucky to have them both. I would love us to secure another very competent 3rd choice-- there are a few options there. Wouldnt mind one who is very experienced, lest say above 29 years old.
Abeg no do mek onku 1Naira start his Akpeyi propaganda again o. Cut off age is 27yrs.

Okoye is 25 and Nwabali is 28. Its a role that needs more experience. Wouldnt mind a 30 year old sef, that can give us 4 more solid years and then we can ADDITIONALLY be inviting a 20-22 year old now, from time to time, who will end up replacing that 30 year old when the time comes.

You can't be happy for someone doing a good job because you have never had a job talkless being good at it. You should research the story of a Jamiele Holloway and Troy Aikman at the University of Oklahoma. That's what competition does. You snooze, you lose your spot. Many teams pray for such problem, but you pray against it.

Last edited by 1naija on Wed Sep 18, 2024 11:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 9:50 pm You can't be happy for someone doing a good job because you have never had a job talkless being good at it. You should research the story of a Jamiele Holloway and Troy Aikman at the University of Oklahoma. That's what competition does. You snooze, you lose your spot. Many teams play for such problem, but you pray against it.

abi ooo

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 9:50 pm You can't be happy for someone doing a good job because you have never had a job talkless being good at it. You should research the story of a Jamiele Holloway and Troy Aikman at the University of Oklahoma. That's what competition does. You snooze, you lose your spot. Many teams pray for such problem, but you pray against it.

I don’t have a job because I’m not working class. I make $ off investments. :laugh:

In football, a player that’s performing at a higher level consistently and in form never sits for his replacement that’s “doing a good job” unless the replacements is of a higher caliber.. The best players always play without question, Otherwise you’d have a system without merit. Okoye plays at a much higher level, his team is currently ahead of Juve, Inter, Milan, some of the best teams in the world. Nwabali is good goalie but he ain’t no Okoye playing vs Amazulu and Pokahane.

The SE we want is one that plays the best Nigerian player alive in every position on the field no matter what.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Sep 19, 2024 1:05 am
1naija wrote: Wed Sep 18, 2024 9:50 pm You can't be happy for someone doing a good job because you have never had a job talkless being good at it. You should research the story of a Jamiele Holloway and Troy Aikman at the University of Oklahoma. That's what competition does. You snooze, you lose your spot. Many teams pray for such problem, but you pray against it.

I don’t have a job because I’m not working class. I make $ off investments. :laugh:

In football, a player that’s performing at a higher level consistently and in form never sits for his replacement that’s “doing a good job” unless the replacements is of a higher caliber.. The best players always play without question, Otherwise you’d have a system without merit. Okoye plays at a much higher level, his team is currently ahead of Juve, Inter, Milan, some of the best teams in the world. Nwabali is good goalie but he ain’t no Okoye playing vs Amazulu and Pokahane.

The SE we want is one that plays the best Nigerian player alive in every position on the field no matter what.
Emir,

You have to come to grips with what a player does for a particular team and there are no handouts based on what one achieves elsewhere. Bassey is playing at a higher level (?) than both Ajayi and Ekong. Not so? But has he proved to be better than those two in SE colors? We have Kevin Akpoguma playing in the Bundesliga. Not so? But in several games played for Nigeria, in which of those has he proven to be better than other Nigerian defenders? Please let us know.

Bros, we should and are glad that Okoye is playing for a Serie A club. However, that is by no means reason to suddenly enthrone him over Nwabali who has been outstanding and by far proven to be better than what we experienced with both Okoye and Uzoho a few years ago! Nwabali has earned that spot.

If Okoye is to be No. 1, he must earn it playing with SE -- in GWG and not any other shirt. What he does for his club only gets him an invitation and nothing else. For him to start, he must and should earn it in NIGERIA's colors. Not what he is doing at Real Madrid, Arsenal, Juventus, or whatever FC there is in Europe. I, for one, could care diddly about what any of those guys do at their clubs, except when it means inviting them to the SE. After that, they must prove it in training to earn a starting shirt. This is not Sunday Sunday kickabout in Ajegunle/reputation elsewhere takes precedence!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I am glad we have two quality GK, but IMHO Okoye is slightly better than Nwabali.
I wish we had fierce competition like this in all positions, in which you snooze you lose.

Okoye should be given the opportunity during scheduled friendlies. He needs 1-2 sterling performances in the SE shirt to regain his NT confidence and regain that of the fans.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

The best player for the national team is not necessarily the one playing in a bigger league or club. Nick Pope plays for Newcastle but is behind Pickford. Ramsdale could not displace Pickford even when the former was a starter with Arsenal. Boniface and Awoniyi play in a bigger league than Osimhen, should they start ahead of him?

Another consideration is that playing for Chippa United means that Nwabali is more exposed to shots because his defence is not as good as the Italian defences.

No, you don't have any gaddem investment. That's a pipe dream.

I bet if we go back to the 2022 Afcon game vs Tunisia, we will find out that you were the loudest abuser of the same okoye.

Babalawo wrote: Thu Sep 19, 2024 3:31 am I am glad we have two quality GK, but IMHO Okoye is slightly better than Nwabali.
I wish we had fierce competition like this in all positions, in which you snooze you lose.

Okoye should be given the opportunity during scheduled friendlies. He needs 1-2 sterling performances in the SE shirt to regain his NT confidence and regain that of the fans.
I fear the goalkeeping position has somehow become politicised, more than any other SE position.
But we’ll see.