Libya v Nigeria - Legal Implications

Showboy
Libya v Nigeria - Legal Implications

Post by Showboy »

Lawyers in the house/For those who are legally curious

Is there space for the Libyan FF to be sued for mishandling/endangering of their assets. Say for example Sevilla/Notts Forest/Leverkusen etc etc put a joint case together following the fiasco in Libya?

Is this something you'd consider if you were working as Legal counsel in any of the teams our boys play for?

Thoughts without insults.
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Re: Libya v Nigeria - Legal Implications

Humans are not assets. The Libya FF cannot be liable because the Se were not directly held up FFF officials. You can’t file a lawsuit against another party for something that happened to you at an airport.

No.

"Damage" is an essential element of any lawsuit of the nature you describe.

Sitting at an airport for a long time is very inconvenient, but it takes more than that to bring a lawsuit.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 2:28 pm Humans are not assets. The Libya FF cannot be liable because the Se were not directly held up FFF officials. You can’t file a lawsuit against another party for something that happened to you at an airport.
Humans can be assets. The whole insurance system is based on that.

You can file a lawsuit to whatever happens to you ANYWHERE. As long as you can tick all the boxes of negligence than caused you damage.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

Cost of paying players, flight tickets and etc. Cost of game day and TV earnings. There are damages. You also have defamation and etc.

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 3:10 pm Cost of paying players, flight tickets and etc. Cost of game day and TV earnings. There are damages. You also have defamation and etc.
SIGNED.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

bushboy wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 2:46 pm No.

Sitting at an airport for a long time is very inconvenient, but it takes more than that to bring a lawsuit.
Interesting was not aware. So can psychological distress be classed as damages?
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

bushboy wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 2:47 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 2:28 pm Humans are not assets. The Libya FF cannot be liable because the Se were not directly held up FFF officials. You can’t file a lawsuit against another party for something that happened to you at an airport.
Humans can be assets. The whole insurance system is based on that.

You can file a lawsuit to whatever happens to you ANYWHERE. As long as you can tick all the boxes of negligence than caused you damage.
Well said! I'm surprised Emir will state such - he needs to look at the financial books of clubs to fully understand what players are.

It'll be interesting to note the bar at which damages can be set in order to proceed.

What the Libyans did vexed me so much. It struck me as wilful negligence when listening to the pilots experience of the fiasco. As someone opined in one of the earlier posts - flying isn't the same as getting a taxi. There are processes that have to be followed almost completely negating human factors. The Libyans brought a whole lot of human factor into what could have been a disastrous end.

Showboy wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 3:36 pm

Psychological distress is a legitimate cause for a law suit but it’s also very difficult to prove. You have to be able to show some really negative impacts, such as loss of income, as a result of the distress🤔❗️

Showboy

Post by Showboy »

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 4:32 pm
Showboy wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2024 3:36 pm

Psychological distress is a legitimate cause for a law suit but it’s also very difficult to prove. You have to be able to show some really negative impacts, such as loss of income, as a result of the distress🤔❗️

Nice one. Im sure medical records would help in attempting to make the link. Thanks for the input!
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

NFF must sue Libyan FF. If they cannot do that, I have a lawyer in the USA that will take up the case. Take the Libyans to court and clean their clocks. This cannot continue to happen in Africa. If they consider themselves Abrabs, let them move to Arabia. We are Africans and must respect one another. This kind of treatment must be stopped by all means necessary. It is unsciencionable.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Igugu wrote: Sat Oct 19, 2024 11:30 am NFF must sue Libyan FF. If they cannot do that, I have a lawyer in the USA that will take up the case. Take the Libyans to court and clean their clocks. This cannot continue to happen in Africa. If they consider themselves Abrabs, let them move to Arabia. We are Africans and must respect one another. This kind of treatment must be stopped by all means necessary. It is unsciencionable.
Love this!

Its what Im trying to work on via one of the players.

We need to make a stand and with many of these things - monetary loss (or the threat of monetary loss) helps to make people focus. Its important Africans learn that the loss (or potential) of life is not something to be toyed with. The world is watching (and laughing at us as its unheard of) and a stand of sorts needs to be taken.

There are consequences to ones actions!

When you are useless and don't take care of your home, others will learn to disrespect your home and eventually you and your ilk the same. What Libya did was despicable but the NFF should have sent delegates or made arrangements to make sure its players are safe. Another reason why we can't blame these foreign born children from choosing to rep their country of birth.

Disorganization just full everywhere to the point of endangering peoples life. Tufiakwa

100%Naija wrote: Mon Oct 21, 2024 1:05 am When you are useless and don't take care of your home, others will learn to disrespect your home and eventually you and your ilk the same. What Libya did was despicable but the NFF should have sent delegates or made arrangements to make sure its players are safe. Another reason why we can't blame these foreign born children from choosing to rep their country of birth.

Disorganization just full everywhere to the point of endangering peoples life. Tufiakwa
There were officials trapped with the team in the deserted airport.
Which ‘delegates’ were the NFF expected to send again, when and how?

Seems you are still looking for an angle to partly blame the NFF for this debacle.
Or maybe I am misunderstanding you?

Oga,

Abeg, where you take study your law?

Cmoke :D :D :D :D