Lookman!
- The YeyeMan
Re: Lookman!
Stop. My issue is with you. You're hanging onto danfo's coat tails and trying to derail the thread. It's enough.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 9:27 amplease kindly address the issues. Forget about your disdain towards danfo . We are in crises, what's your fix ? Buhari and Tinubu are true reflections of our SE. The people voted for bad leaders. These leaders are responsible for every issue we are experiencing, be it politics, economy and sports. We all had issues at the olympics , Favor wasn't registered for the 100-Meters sprint , kits didn't arrive on time talkless of winning a single medalThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 1:37 amYou're just performing as danfo's sidekick here. Move along.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 12:25 amdo not get mad at me i am only digging the issues. We cannot even afford to pay a coach in CFA. The naira is a joke because of Nigerians who voted Buhari 2ce and now tinubiDammy wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 12:23 amTake your stupid politics away from this thread and let serious minded people engage on this important topic!Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 12:14 am you know the worst one, they elected buhari 2ce , then elected someone from the same party. Buhari left office with the CFA currency having more value than the naira, then the clueless Nigerians voted for Tinubu whereby the CFA done pass naira some
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Lolly wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 12:32 amSpot on, bro.1naija wrote: ↑Fri Dec 06, 2024 11:19 pm The problem is apart from Lookman who has been consistent for the past 2 years for club and country, the rest only put up such performances every other 3 months.
Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Dec 06, 2024 10:35 pm I ha just finished watching Gabe Osho marshalling the Auxerre defence against free scoring PSG in a goalless draw, shortly after watching Lookman score the winner against mighty AC Milan. During the week I also watched Man of the Match performances from Ndidi and Iwobi, and also a stellar performance from Fisayo Dele- Bashiru in the Italian Cup against Napoli. Tella scored the winner against Bayern Munich and Joe Aribo scored and was outstanding against Chelsea.
What exactly is the problem of the SE that we are struggling in the WCQs against minnows?
The only player or players who consistently rise to the occasion are Lookman and Osimhen. They go on the pitch to win, and not just to show up and make up the numbers. We need a few more of our “star” players to do the same.
Ndidi can be frustrating. Iwobi needs to have more belief in his ability. Dele-Bashiru also needs to have more belief. Same with Tella and Aribo who by the way is half the player he was 3 years ago. We need more winners.
We need a professional coach and for the NFF to simply allow him to run the team professionally.
The rest will follow.
But unfortunately we'll get neither of this.
That's why all thats left is, yes, my Aladura Prayer Warriors
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- danfo driver
CoolDamunk wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 2:30 amDammy asked what could be termed a rhetorical question aimed at generating debate.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 1:50 amThis is about football. My point is that we know what our problem is - it is absolutely apparent to anyone who wants to be honest, but we are pretending like we dont know what it is and asking the usual Nigerian question - "why are things the way they are?"
Anyway, it is well. I'll take my leave now. You guys can continue to bury your head in the sand and help Dammy answer his pressing novel question: "What exactly is the problem of the SE that we are struggling in the WCQs against minnows?"![]()
You gave a rhetorical non-answer which generated a diversion into partisan politics.
Guy, we don’t give a shytt about Tinubu and Buhari right here, right now.
Like I said, the rot started yonks ago. You simply used the opportunity to ventilate your beef with the latest two - which of course, is your right.
But Nigeria had football issues when Goodluck J was in power and he even moved to ban the Super Eagles for two years in 2010 after a disastrous campaign.
You can go even further back if you like.![]()
: :

- danfo driver
Here is the type of insightful discussion-generating response, providing tidbits we have never considered before, and about which we need to dig deeper to answer Dammy's thought-provoking inquirymcal wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 9:53 am...your NFA. You can own the best car in the world but still can't drive it on a dilapidated roads like in Nigeria.Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Dec 06, 2024 10:35 pm I ha just finished watching Gabe Osho marshalling the Auxerre defence against free scoring PSG in a goalless draw, shortly after watching Lookman score the winner against mighty AC Milan. During the week I also watched Man of the Match performances from Ndidi and Iwobi, and also a stellar performance from Fisayo Dele- Bashiru in the Italian Cup against Napoli. Tella scored the winner against Bayern Munich and Joe Aribo scored and was outstanding against Chelsea.
What exactly is the problem of the SE that we are struggling in the WCQs against minnows?

- Scipio Africanus
2-1 Palace! An Arteta special!!! Gggggg goooooooooolll!!!!danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 3:44 pmHere is the type of insightful discussion-generating response, providing tidbits we have never considered before, and about which we need to dig deeper to answer Dammy's thought-provoking inquirymcal wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 9:53 am...your NFA. You can own the best car in the world but still can't drive it on a dilapidated roads like in Nigeria.Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Dec 06, 2024 10:35 pm I ha just finished watching Gabe Osho marshalling the Auxerre defence against free scoring PSG in a goalless draw, shortly after watching Lookman score the winner against mighty AC Milan. During the week I also watched Man of the Match performances from Ndidi and Iwobi, and also a stellar performance from Fisayo Dele- Bashiru in the Italian Cup against Napoli. Tella scored the winner against Bayern Munich and Joe Aribo scored and was outstanding against Chelsea.
What exactly is the problem of the SE that we are struggling in the WCQs against minnows?![]()

Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

When Lookman left the game, Atlanta's game became ordinary. No better than the opponent's. I give it to you Lookman. God bless Nigeria.
I saw Lookman attempt to dribble 3 players at a time and failing against benin. That is a sneak peek of the problem.
Said it before, the crux of the problem is NFF.
NFF is clearly bereft of any cognitive idea regarding firing and hiring of coaches. The timing is always wrong and the personnel is always benumbing.
If we start from Gernot Rohr, the guy should have gone immediately after 2018 WC. He was let go at a crucial time of the 2022 WCQ and eve of AFCON. Wrong timing as NFF had no plan on ground for his replacement. Enter Austin Eguavoen, the most failed SE coach ever. He failed again, bungling the WCQ and AFCON. So, wrong timing was complemented by wrong personnel.
Then came Jose Gbeseiro, who I also regard as a wrong personnel. After he left, why did it take NFF so long to hire Finidi George, who didn't appear to be a right fit. He even failed his audition in 2 games against Ghana and Mali. Enter again Austin Eguavoen. For crying out loud, why haven't we appointed a substantive coach since the Finidi debacle ended or why were we again unable to have a plan in place for a replacement? Now, we had to wait until the next game are 2 crucial WCQs before we are now saying we will hire one despite having all the time in the world during a relatively easy AFCONQ to ease a new coach into the seat?
The timing is once again wrong. It portends a repeat of what happened in 2022 and also happened with Finidi. But if only we can get the right fit, the challenge can be ameliorated. Some coaches are known to hit the ground running. For me the Super Eagles coach should:
1. Be a good man-manager. Players will always have excesses and shortcomings. Stars or wannabe stars and relative millionaires are likely to be prima donnas, especially when they earn more than their coaches. Finidi was obviously poor at managing this complex. Eguavoen is better but he doesn't know where to draw the line, considereing all the rakiya, chidi and sola who now creep into the SE camp in the name of content creators. I didn't hear of Rohr and Peseiro having personal issues with the players. In addition, Rohr was particularly able to keep a lewd and lecherous NFF at bay. Peseiro should explain why Ahmed Musa was on the AFCON team. That was clearly the NFF and Peseiro,who should have rejected that idea, but he hit back at them by not giving Musa a look-in. Truth is Naija coaches can't fend off NFF, especially when they want to infuse players not meriting call-ups to SE. This is a major Achilles heel of Naija coaches.
2. Be able to make SE play with intensity, urgency, fast transition and high pressing. This is where Rohr failed woefully. Up until when we played Argentina in a friendly (and won 4-2, I think), Gernot Rohr was the man but after that, the SE played bland football and scandalously lost home games to the likes of CAR. Peseiro only got it right during AFCON 2023 but was found out in the final against CIV. So, there were two-outliers-in-one there. Getting it right in AFCON was an outlier because he had had a terrible run but within that outlier his loss to CIV was also an outlier. It may not be unconnected with Ola Aina hiding an injury.
We can't continue playing that dour and sleepy football that has eroded the fear factor the SE used to have even on home soil. It's the same problem with Man Utd. They can't get the ball out of their half soon enough. Getting the ball in the opponents' penalty box in 4-5 touches was the mantra of Sir Alex Ferguson that won his club several penalties and opponents used to complain. If you don't get inside the penalty box, your chances of scoring reduce. Sunday Oliseh, the player, wouldn't have any of the nonsense we are doing today but aren't capacitated for. He got the ball forward faster than any SE player. Probably that was what Clemens Westerhof wanted anyway. He wasn't anything like the typical Dutch coaches like Cruyff and LVG who turn pitches to a passage but he got results.
When Aston Villa hired Unai Emery, the guy beat Man Utd 3-1 in his first game. So, while Man Utd were and are still trying to retract from the LVG's pass, pass, pass era; Emery hasn't looked back since then with his attacking, high pressing style. Maybe his tenure at Arsenal taught him a lesson too and he varied his playing style. This is what an SE coach should do. I wonder what the NFF Technical Committee, if they are actually involved in hiring the SE, looks at when sourcing for coaches. Do they assess the history and depth of a coach's playing style before selecting one? We've left hiring of SE coaches to chance too often and that's why we are where we are. Jose Mourinho was said to have recommended Jose Gbeseiro but his failed tenure in Venezuela, Saudi Arabia etc were never issues. Why should we just depend on the recommendations of the friend of a coach to hire a coach? Maybe Pinick was just trying to impress us that he knew Mourinho. Rohr was hired quickly as a face saver after the self-inflicted failure in hiring Paul Le Guen embarrassed NFF. Not that Le Guen would have succeeded anyway.
The last 2 games of Eguavoen left some bad tastes in the mouth. Has he hit his usual cul-de-sac especially after starting so well? While, honestly speaking, he brought some urgencies to the SE, helping the team to create tons of chances, his inability to win away games is also troubling. But for these, I'd have said he should continue. I find it hard to believe that a new coach in January will save our WCQ. This is just my opinion.
For me, how the SE coach will set out to play the team is very key to who should be in charge of SE else, it's just gambling away our WC chances.
NFF is clearly bereft of any cognitive idea regarding firing and hiring of coaches. The timing is always wrong and the personnel is always benumbing.
If we start from Gernot Rohr, the guy should have gone immediately after 2018 WC. He was let go at a crucial time of the 2022 WCQ and eve of AFCON. Wrong timing as NFF had no plan on ground for his replacement. Enter Austin Eguavoen, the most failed SE coach ever. He failed again, bungling the WCQ and AFCON. So, wrong timing was complemented by wrong personnel.
Then came Jose Gbeseiro, who I also regard as a wrong personnel. After he left, why did it take NFF so long to hire Finidi George, who didn't appear to be a right fit. He even failed his audition in 2 games against Ghana and Mali. Enter again Austin Eguavoen. For crying out loud, why haven't we appointed a substantive coach since the Finidi debacle ended or why were we again unable to have a plan in place for a replacement? Now, we had to wait until the next game are 2 crucial WCQs before we are now saying we will hire one despite having all the time in the world during a relatively easy AFCONQ to ease a new coach into the seat?
The timing is once again wrong. It portends a repeat of what happened in 2022 and also happened with Finidi. But if only we can get the right fit, the challenge can be ameliorated. Some coaches are known to hit the ground running. For me the Super Eagles coach should:
1. Be a good man-manager. Players will always have excesses and shortcomings. Stars or wannabe stars and relative millionaires are likely to be prima donnas, especially when they earn more than their coaches. Finidi was obviously poor at managing this complex. Eguavoen is better but he doesn't know where to draw the line, considereing all the rakiya, chidi and sola who now creep into the SE camp in the name of content creators. I didn't hear of Rohr and Peseiro having personal issues with the players. In addition, Rohr was particularly able to keep a lewd and lecherous NFF at bay. Peseiro should explain why Ahmed Musa was on the AFCON team. That was clearly the NFF and Peseiro,who should have rejected that idea, but he hit back at them by not giving Musa a look-in. Truth is Naija coaches can't fend off NFF, especially when they want to infuse players not meriting call-ups to SE. This is a major Achilles heel of Naija coaches.
2. Be able to make SE play with intensity, urgency, fast transition and high pressing. This is where Rohr failed woefully. Up until when we played Argentina in a friendly (and won 4-2, I think), Gernot Rohr was the man but after that, the SE played bland football and scandalously lost home games to the likes of CAR. Peseiro only got it right during AFCON 2023 but was found out in the final against CIV. So, there were two-outliers-in-one there. Getting it right in AFCON was an outlier because he had had a terrible run but within that outlier his loss to CIV was also an outlier. It may not be unconnected with Ola Aina hiding an injury.
We can't continue playing that dour and sleepy football that has eroded the fear factor the SE used to have even on home soil. It's the same problem with Man Utd. They can't get the ball out of their half soon enough. Getting the ball in the opponents' penalty box in 4-5 touches was the mantra of Sir Alex Ferguson that won his club several penalties and opponents used to complain. If you don't get inside the penalty box, your chances of scoring reduce. Sunday Oliseh, the player, wouldn't have any of the nonsense we are doing today but aren't capacitated for. He got the ball forward faster than any SE player. Probably that was what Clemens Westerhof wanted anyway. He wasn't anything like the typical Dutch coaches like Cruyff and LVG who turn pitches to a passage but he got results.
When Aston Villa hired Unai Emery, the guy beat Man Utd 3-1 in his first game. So, while Man Utd were and are still trying to retract from the LVG's pass, pass, pass era; Emery hasn't looked back since then with his attacking, high pressing style. Maybe his tenure at Arsenal taught him a lesson too and he varied his playing style. This is what an SE coach should do. I wonder what the NFF Technical Committee, if they are actually involved in hiring the SE, looks at when sourcing for coaches. Do they assess the history and depth of a coach's playing style before selecting one? We've left hiring of SE coaches to chance too often and that's why we are where we are. Jose Mourinho was said to have recommended Jose Gbeseiro but his failed tenure in Venezuela, Saudi Arabia etc were never issues. Why should we just depend on the recommendations of the friend of a coach to hire a coach? Maybe Pinick was just trying to impress us that he knew Mourinho. Rohr was hired quickly as a face saver after the self-inflicted failure in hiring Paul Le Guen embarrassed NFF. Not that Le Guen would have succeeded anyway.
The last 2 games of Eguavoen left some bad tastes in the mouth. Has he hit his usual cul-de-sac especially after starting so well? While, honestly speaking, he brought some urgencies to the SE, helping the team to create tons of chances, his inability to win away games is also troubling. But for these, I'd have said he should continue. I find it hard to believe that a new coach in January will save our WCQ. This is just my opinion.
For me, how the SE coach will set out to play the team is very key to who should be in charge of SE else, it's just gambling away our WC chances.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
- danfo driver
Hi! you were saying?Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 4:54 pm2-1 Palace! An Arteta special!!! Gggggg goooooooooolll!!!!danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 3:44 pmHere is the type of insightful discussion-generating response, providing tidbits we have never considered before, and about which we need to dig deeper to answer Dammy's thought-provoking inquirymcal wrote: ↑Sat Dec 07, 2024 9:53 am...your NFA. You can own the best car in the world but still can't drive it on a dilapidated roads like in Nigeria.Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Dec 06, 2024 10:35 pm I ha just finished watching Gabe Osho marshalling the Auxerre defence against free scoring PSG in a goalless draw, shortly after watching Lookman score the winner against mighty AC Milan. During the week I also watched Man of the Match performances from Ndidi and Iwobi, and also a stellar performance from Fisayo Dele- Bashiru in the Italian Cup against Napoli. Tella scored the winner against Bayern Munich and Joe Aribo scored and was outstanding against Chelsea.
What exactly is the problem of the SE that we are struggling in the WCQs against minnows?![]()

- packerland
And they said foreign born players can’t represent smh. Lookman wore natives while Osimhen had a shiny tuxedo on. Love them both, but just saying…
- danfo driver
Neither of them knows you exist. Demonic Pigpackerland wrote: ↑Mon Dec 16, 2024 8:25 pmAnd they said foreign born players can’t represent smh. Lookman wore natives while Osimhen had a shiny tuxedo on. Love them both, but just saying…
you should ignore such divisive comments from those who have malices towards other. We all know Victor's folks are no longer alive and had to attend the event in a different gear set by the NFF them( Oshola also wore the same gear)danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Dec 16, 2024 8:37 pmNeither of them knows you exist. Demonic Pigpackerland wrote: ↑Mon Dec 16, 2024 8:25 pmAnd they said foreign born players can’t represent smh. Lookman wore natives while Osimhen had a shiny tuxedo on. Love them both, but just saying…
I am glad Lookman's folks are there with him representing . Let those who are wicked continue to burn in their hate. We just have to pray for them
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
And deservedly so.
Congratulations to Ademola Lookman.
Your dedication to your craft will continue to pay off.
Thank you for representing the GWG.

Osimhen last year and now Lookman
. This is the first time in 27 years that 2 players from the same country have won it in succession to each other (since Kanu, then Ikpeba, won it).
- packerland
And you’re wrong again. I see you’ve stopped breaking transfer news after what happened to you this summer, Fabrizio Romano from Teemu.danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Dec 16, 2024 8:37 pmNeither of them knows you exist. Demonic Pigpackerland wrote: ↑Mon Dec 16, 2024 8:25 pmAnd they said foreign born players can’t represent smh. Lookman wore natives while Osimhen had a shiny tuxedo on. Love them both, but just saying…
- danfo driver
E pain am! dejected low life.packerland wrote: ↑Tue Dec 17, 2024 1:53 pmAnd you’re wrong again. I see you’ve stopped breaking transfer news after what happened to you this summer, Fabrizio Romano from Teemu.danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Dec 16, 2024 8:37 pmNeither of them knows you exist. Demonic Pigpackerland wrote: ↑Mon Dec 16, 2024 8:25 pmAnd they said foreign born players can’t represent smh. Lookman wore natives while Osimhen had a shiny tuxedo on. Love them both, but just saying…

Showed up in the hood too. God bless you son.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
World Class . A true son of the soil