OFFICIAL: Eric Chelle (former Mali coach) is SE New Coach

Re: OFFICIAL: Eric Chelle (former Mali coach) is SE New Coach

Dammy wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 9:19 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 8:57 am
greg wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 8:40 am When is the man coming out to confirm na? Until then, another Lagbajia experience is fair game. Nothing they shock person with this NFF again.
His contract is only for the WCQ. No fanfare at all, he’ll,get to work asap and try to make the WC.
This is what we have been told, so why does the NFF want to burden him with the CHAN team? Gasau has said the new coach will be taking over the CHAN team from Ogunmodede.
Chelle should just be allowed to focus on the WCQs and avoid any distractions
Kpom

Prior to his appointment as Mali’s coach, Eric Chelle only coached amateur teams and teams in the 4th and 3rd tiers of French football. You might wonder why he was appointed Malian coach. Well, that’s really not my concern. That was a Malian problem. I am more concerned that the NFF, in spite of his inferior pedigree, chose Eric Chelle over a host of Nigerian coaches of proven competence.

The NFF is, without a doubt, the Nigerian Federation of Foolishness🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 9:51 am Prior to his appointment as Mali’s coach, Eric Chelle only coached amateur teams and teams in the 4th and 3rd tiers of French football. You might wonder why he was appointed Malian coach. Well, that’s really not my concern. That was a Malian problem. I am more concerned that the NFF, in spite of his inferior pedigree, chose Eric Chelle over a host of Nigerian coaches of proven competence.

Which Nigerian coaches are you hewing in your mouth like kolanut? Which one is qualified but hasn’t already done damage to the SE?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 10:01 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 9:51 am Prior to his appointment as Mali’s coach, Eric Chelle only coached amateur teams and teams in the 4th and 3rd tiers of French football. You might wonder why he was appointed Malian coach. Well, that’s really not my concern. That was a Malian problem. I am more concerned that the NFF, in spite of his inferior pedigree, chose Eric Chelle over a host of Nigerian coaches of proven competence.

Which Nigerian coaches are you hewing in your mouth like kolanut? Which one is qualified but hasn’t already done damage to the SE?
Why don't you provide answers to what he has raised?

fabio wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 10:04 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 10:01 am

Why don't you provide answers to what he has raised?
Which Nigerian coaches of proven confidence were overlooked? None whatsoever!
They can’t even qualify Monday as the 1st day of the week. All the 94 crew have failed already, none of our local clubs are rated top 40 in Africa and we haven’t even qualified for any major youth tournament in years. Who are the coaches that deserve a chance?

Dammy wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 9:19 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 8:57 am
greg wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 8:40 am When is the man coming out to confirm na? Until then, another Lagbajia experience is fair game. Nothing they shock person with this NFF again.
His contract is only for the WCQ. No fanfare at all, he’ll,get to work asap and try to make the WC.
This is what we have been told, so why does the NFF want to burden him with the CHAN team? Gasau has said the new coach will be taking over the CHAN team from Ogunmodede.
Chelle should just be allowed to focus on the WCQs and avoid any distractions
It would have made a lot more sense to give Ogunmodede the SuperEagles job🤔❗️

NFF chairman is on point. He should coach the CHAN team, that's the senior national team. End off.

...what the crooked nfa can afford Eric Chelle the Malian?
I guess he has agreed to accept naira, bucket load of it too, the guy will be veeeeeeeery happy :biggrin:

...well, those are oyinbo clubs and they qualify as good resume or cv for hiring by the bankrupt and corrupt nfa.

Shocking that many were once calling for a world class in the likes of city coach etc. NFA can't even afford that man's one day expense :biggrin:

He has African coaching experience, and he will know our opponents. His Malian team seemed to play for him as well. Someone mentioned that he coached lower division teams in France, the same argument used to beat our local coaches over their lack of top flight European experience- those arguments do not consider the significant barriers faced by black coaches in Europe.

I wouldn't have picked him, but I'm just a fan and no expert. I am rooting for him to win

I don’t agree with him coaching the CHAN team. Let him concentrate on the WCQ since that’s what his contract is for. He can watch the CHAN games from the stand & if possible, visit some of our players at their clubs/watch their games. It’s like the NFF is trying to get their money’s worth and/or win a trophy at all cost.

packerland wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 11:48 am I don’t agree with him coaching the CHAN team. Let him concentrate on the WCQ since that’s what his contract is for. He can watch the CHAN games from the stand & if possible, visit some of our players at their clubs/watch their games. It’s like the NFF is trying to get their money’s worth and/or win a trophy at all cost.
Not everyone is as sensible as you! Too many senseless people commenting on matters that are over their heads, just so that they can be heard!
You hire a man for a specific job, the WCQs, and then you distract him with another job. Let those who have started CHAN finish it! It’s common sense but it’s obviously not common on the forum.
The WCQs is not just played on the field, this is the time that Chelle needs to meet with his key players in their clubs and outline his plans for the team. Preparation for the WCQs starts from now and there is no time to waste
oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

I believe Chelle will do very well and most likely qualify us for the world cup. Don't forget his opponents are African teams not oyinbo, he has experience on the continent and this in my opinion counts a lot..I am not so sure there are any coaches of pedigree out there who would have picked up the SE job with the salary on offer and the precarious world cup position we are in.
As for local coaches, the only guy alive today who has proven himself over time, is Samson Siasia, unfortunately he has been out of football over 5 years and needs to go pick a small inconspicuous job to get his mojo back. Any other talk of local coaches being overlooked is a bit of a stretch our records in the continental competitions at club level, should tell us something about the capacity issues we are having with the locals.
I am pretty comfortable with this choice and also glad he is the pick of the bumbling NFF which means they are likely not going to sabotage him as they typically do. He might not be the cup of tea of many of us here, however i am willing to give him a chance and more importantly i think he is a modern coach whose style of play might endear us very quickly. He has a damn big job ahead of him, he is condemned to winning his first two matches or else it's over even before the fat lady sings.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS

Dammy wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 12:37 pm
packerland wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 11:48 am I don’t agree with him coaching the CHAN team. Let him concentrate on the WCQ since that’s what his contract is for. He can watch the CHAN games from the stand & if possible, visit some of our players at their clubs/watch their games. It’s like the NFF is trying to get their money’s worth and/or win a trophy at all cost.
Not everyone is as sensible as you! Too many senseless people commenting on matters that are over their heads, just so that they can be heard!
You hire a man for a specific job, the WCQs, and then you distract him with another job. Let those who have started CHAN finish it! It’s common sense but it’s obviously not common on the forum.
The WCQs is not just played on the field, this is the time that Chelle needs to meet with his key players in their clubs and outline his plans for the team. Preparation for the WCQs starts from now and there is no time to waste
Two opposing viewpoints can be sensible. The CHAN may also give him an insight into NFF game period logistics and operations. It is an opportunity to potentially identify one or two players that can add to squad depth. In the end, it should be up to the manager to decide

This is not likely to end well.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 07, 2025 3:16 pm Pending an official statement by the NFF, this looks already a done deal according to the reports from Malian sources

https://x.com/Mike_ThePundit/status/1876630019050791011
Wishing him success.

Hope they give him everything he needs to succeed.

aruako1 wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 1:35 pm
Dammy wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 12:37 pm
Two opposing viewpoints can be sensible. The CHAN may also give him an insight into NFF game period logistics and operations. It is an opportunity to potentially identify one or two players that can add to squad depth. In the end, it should be up to the manager to decide
From a football development perspective. It's a wonderful idea. The coach starts with the CHAN team with little or no pressure to perform. He gets the opportunity understand the culture and phychology of the team and the organisation he is working for....

This contractor approach of... he is just in charge of AfCon and World Cup qualifiers is not only myopic, also self destructive. Keshi was in charge of both teams.

wiseone wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 1:38 pm This is not likely to end well.
I saw or read somewhere, the ex- Cameroon coach want $120k per month. While, Cisse ex - Senegal was ok with $30k per month, however, he wanted a break from football.

fabio wrote: Tue Jan 07, 2025 9:45 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jan 07, 2025 9:40 pm Condition don cause crayfish to bend. I was expecting better but I’ll support him nonetheless.
He’s still better than Eguavoen. :thumb:
You sound rather sad..... Kpele.
He didn't get the Whiteman he wanted. :(

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jan 07, 2025 11:22 pm Coach Chelle more pressure than any other incoming SE coach ever. He has to win the Rwanda game or it could be over before it starts. That's a tremendous amount of pressure!
He doesn't have pressure.

He was not the one who put us in the mess.

All he needs to help him succeed is for the NFF to make sure that they are not his problem. Let him focus on football and not the extracurricular that every coach ends up being involved in... begging for resources and his pay.

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: nothing more to ask. Can the bobo even speak English?

Cellular wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 1:50 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 07, 2025 3:16 pm Pending an official statement by the NFF, this looks already a done deal according to the reports from Malian sources

https://x.com/Mike_ThePundit/status/1876630019050791011
Wishing him success.

Hope they give him everything he needs to succeed.
Like wise, however i very much doubt the NFF will

fabio wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 1:54 pm
wiseone wrote: Wed Jan 08, 2025 1:38 pm This is not likely to end well.
I saw or read somewhere, the ex- Cameroon coach want $120k per month. While, Cisse ex - Senegal was ok with $30k per month, however, he wanted a break from football.
i would have loved if we got Cisse