Pepe and City

Re: Pepe and City

Football can be a funny game.

City's steady return to stability IMO is in significant part from the role of Matheus Nunes in the hybrid RB position.

I still expect them to be our main challenge

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

True the opposition has something to do with it, and their confidence at the back is still a little brittle.

However the key point here is the steady remergence of their game model

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

T'has to be said though, McKenna is the epitome of the ambitious upstart manager who gets a sudden flight of fancy and sets up his team well beyond their station

Ekwensu Literature no fit talk much anymore. :lol: :lol:

txj wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:36 pm 1. Football can be a funny game.

2. City's steady return to stability IMO is in significant part from the role of Matheus Nunes in the hybrid RB position.

3. I still expect them to be our main challenge
Two out of three isn’t bad. Points 1 and 2 couldn’t be more right. 3 couldn’t be more wrong. Nunes to right back has stretched a BandAid over the gaping wound on the right-hand side. Decent engine, intelligence on the ball and accomplished driving through midfield. Sound observation Tx. But the vulnerability defensively remains as real as ever.

As for challengers, the only thing that can stop Liverpool is Liverpool themselves. Is there enough rotation in midfield? Gravenbach is playing a lot of football. An overstretch and that midfield changes completely.

Must say, Liverpool’s chance creation is otherworldly, the movement and ability to create central overloads, splendid.
Last edited by Coach on Thu Jan 23, 2025 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

I remember when I told Ekwensu Literature about this and he started twerking with vigor :lol:

For me sha, I need 2 more signings! a "6" and a right back. :D

Clairvoyance presumably. As has been said many times over, City will suffer some biblical floggings before the season’s close. Old Testament.

It is true that City will suffer. But one thing I am certain of is that no matter how much suffering they endure, they will finish above Arsenal this season.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jan 21, 2025 10:02 pm It is true that City will suffer. But one thing I am certain of is that no matter how much suffering they endure, they will finish above Arsenal this season.
chei, they did look good last weekend, they play Chelsea on saturday and i dey shake, , they have a very important game vs PSG tomorrow

City being carved open like a pork loin at Toby’s carvery’s. Defensive disarray…when in doubt, call on the English. Like the wavering world in ‘39. Our Jack. Making the difference.

Good heavens. City are a complete shambles. This is a complete ravaging. 2 goals down, 3-2 up in minutes and pouring forward.

Blows. Raining.

PSG 20+ shots, multiple clear cut chances. “Wingers” worthless. There’s no amount of money City can spend in the remainder of January to fix this. They’re spent. Tired old men being bludgeoned by young, sprightly usurpers.

something is going on at city..chei...but watch them beat Chelsea on saturday

Coach wrote: Wed Jan 22, 2025 10:28 pm PSG 20+ shots, multiple clear cut chances. “Wingers” worthless. There’s no amount of money City can spend in the remainder of January to fix this. They’re spent. Tired old men being bludgeoned by young, sprightly usurpers.
none of their new signings played. The squad needs serious refresh, they are burnt out

They are finished. Maresca won’t be able to play the “not in the race” card on this occasion. City are heading into shutdown mode. Thumped today and it’s only a matter of time before 4 becomes 5 and 6. With or without their “wingers” back.

Dare any suggest it, but there’s a quiet case rising against Guardiola’s team selections and tactics. Few in punditry would be bold enough to step forward and question his genius, the thought alone is a blasphemy of sorts. But with the results repeating and games playing out in similar vain, at some point the science has to be called to question.

Is it time to go 4-5-1 ala Big Sam or 5 at the back and push for 40 points and Premier League safety?

Coach wrote: Thu Jan 23, 2025 9:12 am Dare any suggest it, but there’s a quiet case rising against Guardiola’s team selections and tactics. Few in punditry would be bold enough to step forward and question his genius, the thought alone is a blasphemy of sorts. But with the results repeating and games playing out in similar vain, at some point the science has to be called to question.

Is it time to go 4-5-1 ala Big Sam or 5 at the back and push for 40 points and Premier League safety?
Coach you love these PE teacher Hackney Marshes style footie.
Never please. City will never play like the Crazy gang of the 80’s … kicking, biting and scratching everything that moved in front of them …

^40 points. Survival. By any means necessary. If they don’t shut up shop soon enough, they’ll take 5 or 6. Without looking at their upcoming EPL fixtures, one would willingly wager, they’ll concede no less than 10 goals in the next 4 games.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Jan 22, 2025 10:47 pm
Coach wrote: Wed Jan 22, 2025 10:28 pm PSG 20+ shots, multiple clear cut chances. “Wingers” worthless. There’s no amount of money City can spend in the remainder of January to fix this. They’re spent. Tired old men being bludgeoned by young, sprightly usurpers.
none of their new signings played. The squad needs serious refresh, they are burnt out
Correct, plus including they have won all winnables. Why do they have to kill themselves again?

Ekwensu, any comments? :D

horrid season, yet 6 points behind and playing next week :D

Come on Pep, we just need you to close Cambiasso and the back-up DM! Come on, you can do it! :thumbs:

I remember when Ekwensu said City will be quiet in January, as he was hoping ...with trepidation. :lol: