Premiere of Enugu Rangers documentary (London/Enugu)
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Premiere of Enugu Rangers documentary (London/Enugu)
Happy to announce the full premiere of the Rangers documentary - ‘Never Say Die!: The Rangers Story’ on 21st February, 2025 - London and Enugu.
Enugu premiere shall be sr the Centre For Memories, Independence Layout, Enugu by 6pm: Free Entry
London: The Africa Centre, 66 Great Suffolk Street, London SE1 Ticket details here:
https://www.africacentre.org.uk/event/d ... ZKxk5M0PoQ
Re: Premiere of Enugu Rangers documentary (London/Enugu)
cic old boy wrote: ↑Wed Feb 05, 2025 5:12 pm
Happy to announce the full premiere of the Rangers documentary - ‘Never Say Die!: The Rangers Story’ on 21st February, 2025 - London and Enugu.
Enugu premiere shall be sr the Centre For Memories, Independence Layout, Enugu by 6pm: Free Entry
London: The Africa Centre, 66 Great Suffolk Street, London SE1 Ticket details here:
https://www.africacentre.org.uk/event/d ... ZKxk5M0PoQ

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Is it going to be streamed, if so, where?
This story is over tapped pls; its getting annoying now
"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Jetre1,
The story cannot be overlapped given the number of years the club dominated. That creates abundance of angles to tell a story. I am unsure which angle was investigated here but there are numerous possible angles only limited by the creativity of the storyteller. For instance [1] how some of the players participated in the civil war, [2] the big battle v LGO, [3] the battle v IICC in continental contest, [4] clandestine naming of the club [5] the early recruitment policy [6] etc etc. Stories are only limited by imagination and creativity of the storyteller.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle

With the man of the moment, historian and documentary maker Ed Keazor at the premiere of Never Say Die, the Enugu Rangers documentary.
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Enugu, the story covered all those angles and then some! I thought I knew most of what I needed to know about Rangers, but it revealed new stuff. I had no idea that the players didn't call Chukwu "Chairman". That's what all fans called him. I had no idea that Chukwu was in the Biafran airforce.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 10:15 pm
Jetre1,
The story cannot be overlapped given the number of years the club dominated. That creates abundance of angles to tell a story. I am unsure which angle was investigated here but there are numerous possible angles only limited by the creativity of the storyteller. For instance [1] how some of the players participated in the civil war, [2] the big battle v LGO, [3] the battle v IICC in continental contest, [4] clandestine naming of the club [5] the early recruitment policy [6] etc etc. Stories are only limited by imagination and creativity of the storyteller.
Here's a review of the film:
https://naijiant.com/2025/02/22/never-s ... and-enugu/
Chukwu said it himself; he was called chairman for the first time in Green Eagles camp; there is no angle Enugu X2 mentioned above that's new abeeggii!!cic old boy wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 11:03 pmEnugu, the story covered all those angles and then some! I thought I knew most of what I needed to know about Rangers, but it revealed new stuff. I had no idea that the players didn't call Chukwu "Chairman". That's what all fans called him. I had no idea that Chukwu was in the Biafran airforce.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 10:15 pm
Jetre1,
Next year we go see this thing again and someone would be claiming its the first time ever.
I mentioned those angles to point to the fact that a story can be told based on the story tellers imagination and creativity. For instance, in spite of scores of books on the Nigerian civil war; I can still recall aspects that are yet to be covered till today. Many will still remain uncovered even after 100 books. Thus, I bet Keazor's work will have something unique as CIC confirms here. For me, his work is worthy and I look forward to watching it. I wish many others can write about the club and make movies on it. Their story is a remarkable one and truly unique during that period. I was never a fan of the club but I recognize its place in history.jette1 wrote: ↑Sun Feb 23, 2025 1:00 amChukwu said it himself; he was called chairman for the first time in Green Eagles camp; there is no angle Enugu X2 mentioned above that's new abeeggii!!cic old boy wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 11:03 pmEnugu, the story covered all those angles and then some! I thought I knew most of what I needed to know about Rangers, but it revealed new stuff. I had no idea that the players didn't call Chukwu "Chairman". That's what all fans called him. I had no idea that Chukwu was in the Biafran airforce.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 10:15 pm
Jetre1,
Next year we go see this thing again and someone would be claiming its the first time ever.
CICcic old boy wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 11:03 pmEnugu, the story covered all those angles and then some! I thought I knew most of what I needed to know about Rangers, but it revealed new stuff. I had no idea that the players didn't call Chukwu "Chairman". That's what all fans called him. I had no idea that Chukwu was in the Biafran airforce.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 10:15 pm
Jetre1,
Thanks for posting this review. The alias "Chairman" came from the legendary commentator Ernest Okonkwo, same as he named Odegbami "Mathematical", Adokiye "Chief Justice" and Atuegbu "Blockbuster." Those were all from Ernest Okonkwo.
Was there a Rangers player called Anigbogu?
Yes, a fullback by name Sylvester Okwuchukwu Anagbogu "Stone". He was an early player of the club after completing his schooling at St. Patrick's at Emene. He later left the club to join Bendel Insurance.
Why do you ask?
Just so you know there is no attempt here to diminish the new work in question. Perhaps the writers or upcoming writers need to get more creative especially with their headings/ Titles because titles are writers’ first bullets and, you as a writer would either hit or miss dependent on aiming reacquisitions. As you already mentioned Rangers stories would be redundant if it were merely on the round rubber and, I pkom that. In fact even I as a direct witness of the history regardless of not being anywhere near the inside could write my own story of Rangers and it would be just as valid and authentic because it would be about that snap of my life, my place in the world growing up as a child of that Biafran triumph/Nigerian dark history.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Feb 23, 2025 3:10 amI mentioned those angles to point to the fact that a story can be told based on the story tellers imagination and creativity. For instance, in spite of scores of books on the Nigerian civil war; I can still recall aspects that are yet to be covered till today. Many will still remain uncovered even after 100 books. Thus, I bet Keazor's work will have something unique as CIC confirms here. For me, his work is worthy and I look forward to watching it. I wish many others can write about the club and make movies on it. Their story is a remarkable one and truly unique during that period. I was never a fan of the club but I recognize its place in history.jette1 wrote: ↑Sun Feb 23, 2025 1:00 amChukwu said it himself; he was called chairman for the first time in Green Eagles camp; there is no angle Enugu X2 mentioned above that's new abeeggii!!cic old boy wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 11:03 pmEnugu, the story covered all those angles and then some! I thought I knew most of what I needed to know about Rangers, but it revealed new stuff. I had no idea that the players didn't call Chukwu "Chairman". That's what all fans called him. I had no idea that Chukwu was in the Biafran airforce.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 10:15 pm
Jetre1,
Last edited by jette1 on Sun Feb 23, 2025 5:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
I remember Ernest Okonkwo mentioning the name during Rangers matches but I have hardly come across the name again when Rangers past players are being mentioned. Thanks
How can the story of Enugu Rangers ever be “over tapped” (or over-flogged)?
Folks should count themselves fortunate to bear witness to the makings of real-life legend. But of course if it was some Oyinbo club that Nigerians have no logical natural or cultural affinity to, folks will be wearing their overpriced jerseys and memorizing their jaded histories - even fighting each other and driveling on about “we” and “us” from Iyana-Ipaja to Kaura Namoda!
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Gotti wrote: ↑Sun Feb 23, 2025 9:20 pm
How can the story of Enugu Rangers ever be “over tapped” (or over-flogged)?
Folks should count themselves fortunate to bear witness to the makings of real-life legend. But of course if it was some Oyinbo club that Nigerians have no logical natural or cultural affinity to, folks will be wearing their overpriced jerseys and memorizing their jaded histories - even fighting each other and driveling on about “we” and “us” from Iyana-Ipaja to Kaura Namoda!

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
You are not well.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Are they going to come to America?cic old boy wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 11:03 pmEnugu, the story covered all those angles and then some! I thought I knew most of what I needed to know about Rangers, but it revealed new stuff. I had no idea that the players didn't call Chukwu "Chairman". That's what all fans called him. I had no idea that Chukwu was in the Biafran airforce.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2025 10:15 pm
Jetre1,
Anything can be overlapped otherwise the word won’t be in the dictionary nor be part of language duuh!! My indictment however is on confined use of the story rather than on the historical phenomenon that is. Since you want to be selective and make your point regardless of my reply above. Rangers story can be conceptualize by anyone in millions of ways even outside of football and that I already saidGotti wrote: ↑Sun Feb 23, 2025 9:20 pmHow can the story of Enugu Rangers ever be “over tapped” (or over-flogged)?
1naija, when are going to become a murderator, I mean what is this nonsense?
Enugu II, Is this the "Stone" also known as "Jackstoneface" who played for St. Patrick's Emene in the East Central State Acada Cup Final against Holy Ghost College in, I think, 1973 or 1974? He played center back for the school, and his team mates were Kevin "Skipper" Onwana, "Hey deJack," and MacDonald Enehwali? Or is this another Stone? This Stone you are talking about must have played for Rangers after I departed Nigeria in 1976.
Video version go make Sense scatter..