England or Nigeria? Arsenal star Ethan Nwaneri open to first international call-up

Arsenal’s teenage star Ethan Nwaneri has left his international future wide open, having been eligible to play for Nigeria and England, Soccernet.ng reports.

Recent reports suggest that the 17-year-old will represent the first country that approaches him—whether England or his parent’s country, Nigeria.

According to multi-award-winning Nigerian journalist Shina Oludare, a family source close to the midfielder revealed that Nwaneri is ready to honour whichever national team makes the first move.
This development has put the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on high alert as they seek to strengthen the Super Eagles with top talents of Nigerian descent.

Nwaneri: A shining light at Arsenal

The London-born playmaker has been making waves under the guidance of Spanish gaffer Mikel Arteta at Arsenal this season, scoring eight goals in 27 appearances, including two goals in the Champions League.

His performances have drawn attention, and while he has already featured for England’s U-16, U-17, U-18, and U-19 teams, a senior call-up remains uncertain.

Will Nigeria Make the First Move?
Should Nwaneri choose Nigeria, he would follow in the footsteps of England-born Super Eagles stars like Alex Iwobi, Ademola Lookman, Bright Osayi-Samuel, and Calvin Bassey, who have all embraced their Nigerian heritage at the international level.

With the NFF closely monitoring the situation, the race is now on between England and Nigeria to secure one of Arsenal’s brightest young prospects.

https://soccernet.ng/2025/03/england-ni ... aneri.html
Re: England or Nigeria? Arsenal star Ethan Nwaneri open to first international call-up

That would be a huge coup to get Nwaneri
to wear the colors of the Eagles.
Not too sure if that’s possible because there’s
pressure on Tuchel to invite him to the Three
lions camp for this international break.
One well known studio host called it
“A sackable offense if he wasn’t invited”.
So England is well aware of the profile of player
that’s been raised on the island
Re: England or Nigeria? Arsenal star Ethan Nwaneri open to first international call-up

It will be a miracle if we got him. We had a far better chance with Eze and Saka and we fumbled both.

bret- hart wrote: Thu Mar 06, 2025 5:13 pm It will be a miracle if we got him. We had a far better chance with Eze and Saka and we fumbled both.
It would have been interesting to see Saka compete on the continent. Eze is kind of an odd one. I think both sides missed out. He would’ve been a great addition to the Eagles with his skill and playmaking ability … and playing for Nigeria would’ve really enhanced his profile.

Lookman
Osimhen
Iwobi
Eze

Wouldn’t have been a bad foursome in the attacking third … oh well

Why hasn’t Nigeria made an approach? We are so slow in things like this.

Synopsis wrote: Thu Mar 06, 2025 5:24 pm Why hasn’t Nigeria made an approach? We are so slow in things like this.
Hard to tell if they have or not.
These things are usually done very discreetly.
If it leaks it’s usually a targeted action to
influence negotiations and proceedings

Nwaneri will have a better chance winning APOy, WPOY etc playing for the SE. He should pick the SE and experience what it is to be a true son of the soil like Lookman, Iwobi, Ekong, Bassey, Osimhen etc

I can't help but feel that most of these English born players might be leveraging our so called journalists to pressure England into inviting them to the Three Lions. It almost seems as though they’re using the threat of being courted by Naija as a bargaining chip. We've seen this movie before :mad: :sneaky: ....Saka, Eze, Tomori, Abraham, etc.

If they’re genuinely committed to representing Naija, they should make their intentions clear publicly. This is why I’m not feeling how we’re handling Chuba Akpom’s situation. It's just unfair in my opinion.

iworo wrote: Thu Mar 06, 2025 6:10 pm I can't help but feel that most of these English born players might be leveraging our so called journalists to pressure England into inviting them to the Three Lions. It almost seems as though they’re using the threat of being courted by Naija as a bargaining chip. We've seen this movie before :mad: :sneaky: ....Saka, Eze, Tomori, Abraham, etc.

If they’re genuinely committed to representing Naija, they should make their intentions clear publicly. This is why I’m not feeling how we’re handling Chuba Akpom’s situation. It's just unfair in my opinion.
I don’t think Nwaneri is using Nigeria to leverage England … and I don’t think Saka is regretting choosing England

Isn’t he already an England u20 player? If he is there’s no way England will release him. If he isn’t then Nigeria will wait for him to come to them but he’ll get snatched up by England on his way.

You don't approach these players when they are on their way to becoming superstars at big clubs.
You approach them when they are fringe players.

Get the likes of Lookman, Aina, Iwobi and Bassey to drop in a word or two. Even ask them if they know of ballers that are up and coming. Don't wait until the rest of the world discovers them.

Meanwhile, the NFF never invited the Championship MVP when he won the trophy or now he is at Lille. Or Orban. Had they tried to use the Super Eagles as leverage they would have been all over them.

Cellular wrote: Thu Mar 06, 2025 7:32 pm You don't approach these players when they are on their way to becoming superstars at big clubs.
You approach them when they are fringe players.

Get the likes of Lookman, Aina, Iwobi and Bassey to drop in a word or two. Even ask them if they know of ballers that are up and coming. Don't wait until the rest of the world discovers them.

Meanwhile, the NFF never invited the Championship MVP when he won the trophy or now he is at Lille. Or Orban. Had they tried to use the Super Eagles as leverage they would have been all over them.

Well stated Chairman

He's been speaking to Tuchel and probably makes his first squad next week, Nigeria is not in the equation.