IKPEBA: "Current SE players can't play during my era"
Ikpeba is very close to this current team and should be able to speak on the team intelligently than most. I believe that he is supported by facts at least when one compares the results produced by the current SE, especially at home, to those produced during Ikpeba's era. These days no SE fan can be assured that Nigeria can beat teams like Botswana, CAR, Lesotho in Nigeria. In those days not only was victory assured against such teams, the issue was by how many goals would Nigeria win!Current Super Eagles players can’t play during my era – Ex-Monaco forward Victor Ikpeba
https://soccernet.ng/2025/03/super-eagl ... kpeba.html
by Ayomide Oguntimehin March 4, 2025 in News, NewsNow, Nigeria, This Week, Top 0
Former AS Monaco and Super Eagles forward Victor Ikpeba has cast doubt on the ability of Super Eagles of Nigeria’s current crop of players, Soccernet.ng reports.
Speaking on the Bet9ja Home Turf, the former CAF Player of the Year suggests that many of the current players would not have been able to compete during his era.
Ikpeba, who was part of Nigeria’s 1994 AFCON-winning squad and a key figure in the country’s golden generation, believes that football in his time demanded more talent, passion, and quality compared to the modern game.
“In my era, not everyone was allowed to play football. If you had to play, you needed talent, passion, and quality. Now, most parents want their kids to play football because there is money. That has changed,” Ikpeba stated.
Reflecting on the leagues of the 1980s and 1990s, the former Monaco striker emphasized that Nigerian club football was more competitive back then, with players needing to be exceptional to earn a place in the national team.
“The leagues we had in the ‘80s and ‘90s were very competitive, and the club players were very good. To be selected for the Green Eagles or Super Eagles, you had to be outstanding. Quality-wise and talent-wise, I think we had more in my era than this one,” he added.
Ikpeba further questioned whether the current generation of Nigerian footballers possesses the same skill, fighting spirit, and determination that defined his era.
“I don’t think some of these guys can play in my era, and that’s the truth. The skills, quality, and fight were different. Can these guys even play in Lagos?” he continued.
Ikpeba’s comments have sparked mixed reactions in the Nigerian football community, with some questioning his comparison, especially considering that the current team has produced back-to-back African Player of the Year winners and Ballon d’Or nominees.
While I disagree with his take that some of today's players will not make the SE of his era, he is correct on the present TEAM. This current team has no energy that differentiates a WILL to win at home. It just does not have that conviction in its play when at home or even away from home.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
Re: IKPEBA: "Current SE players can't play during my era"
He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
The last 7 years has been a painful experience for us, fans. Hoping to God that favoritism and bribery has ended. We will no longer have to suffer to watch Div 2 and backwater league players in out team. And 37 year old defenders will have some shame and self respect and retire from the national team.
Danfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
TBH, on most days I feel our team is good with their club pedigree. However, it is increasingly underwhelming in terms of what they produce on the field. That is just annoying. I feel the players may need to visit a shrink or a psychologist (

Notice also that the NFF is gravely bothered. Usually, the NFF will require them to arrive in Nigeria before the team travels together. That usually leads to players going to visit their families in Nigeria before coming to camp and then there are numerous visitors trooping in. This time, NFF has changed tune. It requires all of them to arrive in Rwanda first with the hope that they can focus on winning the game instead of having friends and family visiting camp round the clock. Hopefully, the tact works.
Last edited by Enugu II on Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
Bros, please tone down this your constant attack on Balogun's age. I can't remember his sin or mistakes that has brought about this constant brickbat about his age. Portugal still has a C.Ronaldo and most recently had Pepe before his retirement some months back. While I am not an advocate of him returning to the team, but your insistence on hitting him based on his age is absurd and unpleasant to a man who gave his best throughout his stay in the team. Many of our local-born players who are still part of this team are not younger than he is, or is it because they are using fake football ages. I am not sending this because I want us to go back-and-forth, but to appreciate and show regards for those who have put our country's name on the map. Let's stop casting aspersions on them.
- danfo driver
He is NOT in the provisional list, so you wont hear "pim" from me about him any longer. I wish him and his fans the best!NigerianDiamond wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:44 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
Bros, please tone down this your constant attack on Balogun's age. I can't remember his sin or mistakes that has brought about this constant brickbat about his age. Portugal still has a C.Ronaldo and most recently had Pepe before his retirement some months back. While I am not an advocate of him returning to the team, but your insistence on hitting him based on his age is absurd and unpleasant to a man who gave his best throughout his stay in the team. Many of our local-born players who are still part of this team are not younger than he is, or is it because they are using fake football ages. I am not sending this because I want us to go back-and-forth, but to appreciate and show regards for those who have put our country's name on the map. Let's stop casting aspersions on them.

- danfo driver
I am sorry, could you please list the club pedigree you are referring to?Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
TBH, on most days I feel our team is good with their club pedigree. However, it is increasingly underwhelming in terms of what they produce on the field. That is just annoying. I feel the players may need to visit a shrink or a psychologist ()
Notice also that the NFF is gravely bothered. Usually, the NFF will require them to arrive in Nigeria before the team travels together. That usually leads to players going to visit their families in Nigeria before coming to camp and then there are numerous visitors trooping in. This time, NFF has changed tune. It requires all of them to arrive in Rwanda first with the hope that they can focus on winning the game instead of having friends and family visiting camp round the clock. Hopefully, the tact works.
Refer to the recent call up list it is on this site already and then search for lists to be issued by Rwanda, Benin Republic, etc.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 7:38 pmI am sorry, could you please list the club pedigree you are referring to?Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
TBH, on most days I feel our team is good with their club pedigree. However, it is increasingly underwhelming in terms of what they produce on the field. That is just annoying. I feel the players may need to visit a shrink or a psychologist ()
- danfo driver
I know the clubs they are playing for. I want to understand what you mean by pedigree. Maybe we understand that word to mean different things. So, wanted to clarify.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 7:51 pmRefer to the recent call up list it is on this site already and then search for lists to be issued by Rwanda, Benin Republic, etc.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 7:38 pmI am sorry, could you please list the club pedigree you are referring to?Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
Wow! LOL. I thought the word was pretty clear. In any case, the dictionary would be helpful in terms of the word's meaning for this particular occasion. Here is a link: https://www.dictionary.com/danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 8:14 pmI know the clubs they are playing for. I want to understand what you mean by pedigree. Maybe we understand that word to mean different things. So, wanted to clarify.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 7:51 pmRefer to the recent call up list it is on this site already and then search for lists to be issued by Rwanda, Benin Republic, etc.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 7:38 pmI am sorry, could you please list the club pedigree you are referring to?Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
- danfo driver
coolEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 8:18 pmWow! LOL. I thought the word was pretty clear. In any case, the dictionary would be helpful in terms of the word's meaning for this particular occasion. Here is a link: https://www.dictionary.com/danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 8:14 pmI know the clubs they are playing for. I want to understand what you mean by pedigree. Maybe we understand that word to mean different things. So, wanted to clarify.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 7:51 pmRefer to the recent call up list it is on this site already and then search for lists to be issued by Rwanda, Benin Republic, etc.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 7:38 pmI am sorry, could you please list the club pedigree you are referring to?Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
The eras are vastly different.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 12:44 pmIkpeba is very close to this current team and should be able to speak on the team intelligently than most. I believe that he is supported by facts at least when one compares the results produced by the current SE, especially at home, to those produced during Ikpeba's era. These days no SE fan can be assured that Nigeria can beat teams like Botswana, CAR, Lesotho in Nigeria. In those days not only was victory assured against such teams, the issue was by how many goals would Nigeria win!Current Super Eagles players can’t play during my era – Ex-Monaco forward Victor Ikpeba
by Ayomide Oguntimehin March 4, 2025 in News, NewsNow, Nigeria, This Week, Top 0
Former AS Monaco and Super Eagles forward Victor Ikpeba has cast doubt on the ability of Super Eagles of Nigeria’s current crop of players, Soccernet.ng reports.
Speaking on the Bet9ja Home Turf, the former CAF Player of the Year suggests that many of the current players would not have been able to compete during his era.
Ikpeba, who was part of Nigeria’s 1994 AFCON-winning squad and a key figure in the country’s golden generation, believes that football in his time demanded more talent, passion, and quality compared to the modern game.
“In my era, not everyone was allowed to play football. If you had to play, you needed talent, passion, and quality. Now, most parents want their kids to play football because there is money. That has changed,” Ikpeba stated.
Reflecting on the leagues of the 1980s and 1990s, the former Monaco striker emphasized that Nigerian club football was more competitive back then, with players needing to be exceptional to earn a place in the national team.
“The leagues we had in the ‘80s and ‘90s were very competitive, and the club players were very good. To be selected for the Green Eagles or Super Eagles, you had to be outstanding. Quality-wise and talent-wise, I think we had more in my era than this one,” he added.
Ikpeba further questioned whether the current generation of Nigerian footballers possesses the same skill, fighting spirit, and determination that defined his era.
“I don’t think some of these guys can play in my era, and that’s the truth. The skills, quality, and fight were different. Can these guys even play in Lagos?” he continued.
Ikpeba’s comments have sparked mixed reactions in the Nigerian football community, with some questioning his comparison, especially considering that the current team has produced back-to-back African Player of the Year winners and Ballon d’Or nominees.
While I disagree with his take that some of today's players will not make the SE of his era, he is correct on the present TEAM. This current team has no energy that differentiates a WILL to win at home. It just does not have that conviction in its play when at home or even away from home.
How many good teams were there in Ikpeba's era?
How many made the tournament?
How many good players (in Africa) were there during his time compared to today?
Victor Ikpeba is about to get some disrespect thrown his way by not staying clear of such argument.
- bret- hart
When Osimhen cusses him out again people here will say "respect your elders". These 94 set bums cannot respect themselves. The same Ikepba that scored a PK vs Cameroon and put his hands on his head like he missed... Enabling the Ref and Cameroon to steal that AFCON should keep his mouth closed. Most talented set and all they have to show was 1 measly afcon and World cups littered with disappointments. That set was good enough to win the 94 World cup but didnt because of their ego.
But football and in fact all sports are generational so this is no different from the long standing feud of Michael Jordan or Labron who is better. I mean who were Ikpebas competition back then besides the north Africans when most African countries couldn't even afford boots for their national teamsEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Jette1jette1 wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 11:26 pmBut football and in fact all sports are generational so this is no different from the long standing feud of Michael Jordan or Labron who is better. I mean who were Ikpebas competition back then besides the north Africans when most African countries couldn't even afford boots for their national teamsEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
Notice also that the NFF is gravely bothered. Usually, the NFF will require them to arrive in Nigeria before the team travels together. That usually leads to players going to visit their families in Nigeria before coming to camp and then there are numerous visitors trooping in. This time, NFF has changed tune. It requires all of them to arrive in Rwanda first with the hope that they can focus on winning the game instead of having friends and family visiting camp round the clock. Hopefully, the tact works.unlike now where there are no more minos
Okay. Morocco recently mauled Lesotho 7-0!! Are there still minnows or not? Let's get off those excuses. Nigeria drawing at home against that same Lesotho is a monumental disgrace.
BTW, Ikpeba played in the modern era and his opponents had boots. LOL. He did not play in the era of Thunder Balogun. Or are you stating that in the era of Top 5 leagues we should expect drawing at home with the likes of Lesotho and Kitchen FC players? If you accept that, I just hope the rest of Nigerians dont.
Nigeria hired a manager to restore the country's footballing pride and not to crouch behind a couch and claim that this era is an era where a home draw against Lesotho is acceptable. Never. If he cannot change the mindset of these players, then he would be let go and someone else should come in. Enough of poor results from highly touted European- based pros.
No one doubts the technical ability of today's players. Athletically, they may even be superior.
That being said, I'd take anyone from.1980-2000 over anyone playing today and that includes Osimhen and Lookman. While they have traits if the intangibles, it is quite. Lear that the following is missing in almost all our players.
Fighting spirit: 5 of 11 on the field exhibit this.
Similar committnent to country as with club: Enough said. Clear difference.
Patriotism: Don't have the pride of the teams of the past. No problem drawing at hole and assume it's ok.
Mental toughness: They fold easily.
They are deficient in those areas. Maroc, Algeria and Egypt play like their lives depend on the outcome. We are simply not there and it's not a talent problem.
That being said, I'd take anyone from.1980-2000 over anyone playing today and that includes Osimhen and Lookman. While they have traits if the intangibles, it is quite. Lear that the following is missing in almost all our players.
Fighting spirit: 5 of 11 on the field exhibit this.
Similar committnent to country as with club: Enough said. Clear difference.
Patriotism: Don't have the pride of the teams of the past. No problem drawing at hole and assume it's ok.
Mental toughness: They fold easily.
They are deficient in those areas. Maroc, Algeria and Egypt play like their lives depend on the outcome. We are simply not there and it's not a talent problem.
Kpomx10.Cellular wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 9:29 pmThe eras are vastly different.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 12:44 pmIkpeba is very close to this current team and should be able to speak on the team intelligently than most. I believe that he is supported by facts at least when one compares the results produced by the current SE, especially at home, to those produced during Ikpeba's era. These days no SE fan can be assured that Nigeria can beat teams like Botswana, CAR, Lesotho in Nigeria. In those days not only was victory assured against such teams, the issue was by how many goals would Nigeria win!Current Super Eagles players can’t play during my era – Ex-Monaco forward Victor Ikpeba
How many good teams were there in Ikpeba's era?
How many made the tournament?
How many good players (in Africa) were there during his time compared to today?
Victor Ikpeba is about to get some disrespect thrown his way by not staying clear of such argument.
Kpom!jette1 wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 11:26 pmBut football and in fact all sports are generational so this is no different from the long standing feud of Michael Jordan or Labron who is better. I mean who were Ikpebas competition back then besides the north Africans when most African countries couldn't even afford boots for their national teamsEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 5:38 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 04, 2025 2:22 pm He is quite close to Eric Chelle, so I am sure he has made these comments to him.
Notice also that the NFF is gravely bothered. Usually, the NFF will require them to arrive in Nigeria before the team travels together. That usually leads to players going to visit their families in Nigeria before coming to camp and then there are numerous visitors trooping in. This time, NFF has changed tune. It requires all of them to arrive in Rwanda first with the hope that they can focus on winning the game instead of having friends and family visiting camp round the clock. Hopefully, the tact works.unlike now where there are no more minos
...today's SE is all about "how much money and prestige the fella/player carry".
There is no zeal or fire to play and win for country.
When they fly into Nigeria na to show off the latest in fashion accessories out from oyinbo land.
This is a new age. I grew up in the era of the 70s 80s and some 90s.
I just watch these players today hoping on hope.
To make matters worse, we have very poor and dysfunctional administration.
When they fly into Nigeria na to show off the latest in fashion accessories out from oyinbo land.
Mcalmcal wrote: ↑Wed Mar 05, 2025 12:10 pm ...today's SE is all about "how much money and prestige the fella/player carry".
It is indeed a new age. I believe the NFF ordered direct arrival in Rwanda to curb that holiday atmosphere that often accompanies camp in Nigeria. Lets hope that it works. However, multiple insiders have complained about the festive atmosphere of camp in Nigeria and the lack of professional attitude by some players. Remember, on one occasion a player was selling t-shirts in camp. Lets just hope the new manager begins to curb all that.
...unfortunately money rules in Nigeria, and among Nigerians. From the biggest of things to the smallest, especially when you are coming from abroad, you are perceived as loaded with pounds and euros and dollars. A small fraction of it will make folks in Nigeria crawl for you. That attitude is destroying our football results.Enugu II wrote: ↑Wed Mar 05, 2025 12:27 pmMcalmcal wrote: ↑Wed Mar 05, 2025 12:10 pm ...today's SE is all about "how much money and prestige the fella/player carry".
It is indeed a new age. I believe the NFF ordered direct arrival in Rwanda to curb that holiday atmosphere that often accompanies camp in Nigeria. Lets hope that it works. However, multiple insiders have complained about the festive atmosphere of camp in Nigeria and the lack of professional attitude by some players. Remember, on one occasion a player was selling t-shirts in camp. Lets just hope the new manager begins to curb all that.
I really don’t think Ikpeba is talking about talent perse. Cause there are several current SEs I would take ahead of Ikpeba who, in my opinion, wasn't very good. (I disliked seeing Ikpeba on SE team lists as much as some people dislike seeing Musa on current lists.)
He’s really talking about grit and heart. And on that front, I agree with him. The current SE doesn’t seem to play with a lot of grit. You can’t be getting beat by Rwanda at home and say you’re equals with the 94 Eagles
Can Ikpeba play in this current SE?