Who is your best SE Captain ever?
Ekong deserves a mention but the undisputed number 1 is Keshi.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
- danfo driver
Re: Who is your best SE Captain ever?
Definition of a True Captain!
A leader who put his troop's interest above his. A leader who fights tooth and nail to defend his troops. A leader who goes out of his way to look for those maligned and bring them into the fold. A leader who had malaria, but got on the pitch, risking his life for his county and his troops! A leader who serves!
That is the Definition of a Captain!

A leader who put his troop's interest above his. A leader who fights tooth and nail to defend his troops. A leader who goes out of his way to look for those maligned and bring them into the fold. A leader who had malaria, but got on the pitch, risking his life for his county and his troops! A leader who serves!

A true leader will not run away from his troops because he suspects someone is using witchcraft on him. He will face the witchcraft for his troops.

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Chairman Chukwu.
In an era where there was a divide between the Rangers guys and Shooting Stars guys, he commanded respect and was able to get everyone to play for one purpose.
Second has to be Big Boss.
Then Mikel.
- danfo driver
Could you please write more about this, please? Some of us, in our early 20s, who wear baggy jeans and only know about Chukwuemeka Carney and Nathan Nwaneri, are trying to learn more about our team. Thank you.

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Danfo Driver, the professional troublemakerdanfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:22 pmCould you please write more about this, please? Some of us, in our early 20s, who wear baggy jeans and only know about Chukwuemeka Carney and Nathan Nwaneri, are trying to learn more about our team. Thank you.![]()

You can go back into the archives na. Read Prof. EII, Hardman, Pa Ohsee, CICOB, Toxicarrow, Mystic dem... even Gotti, if you no mind carry dictionary.

Back in those days, the two top clubs produced the bulk of the national team. We were lucky that unlike Ghana who refuses to pass ball to their teammates or not chase a pass down if played by a teammate that was from the other club, the Naija team respected their captain and played as a unit.
Me, personally, I was a huge fan of Keshi. I believe he was one of the youngest captains. A natural born leader.
The man changed the landscape of football...
A man's man...
- danfo driver
thansk jare, I will search them out.Cellular wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:30 pmDanfo Driver, the professional troublemakerdanfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:22 pmCould you please write more about this, please? Some of us, in our early 20s, who wear baggy jeans and only know about Chukwuemeka Carney and Nathan Nwaneri, are trying to learn more about our team. Thank you.![]()
You can go back into the archives na. Read Prof. EII, Hardman, Pa Ohsee, CICOB, Toxicarrow, Mystic dem... even Gotti, if you no mind carry dictionary.![]()
Back in those days, the two top clubs produced the bulk of the national team. We were lucky that unlike Ghana who refuses to pass ball to their teammates or not chase a pass down if played by a teammate that was from the other club, the Naija team respected their captain and played as a unit.
Me, personally, I was a huge fan of Keshi. I believe he was one of the youngest captains. A natural born leader.
The man changed the landscape of football...
A man's man...
Yea, for me, and with what I heard about Chukwu:
- Keshi
- Chukwu
- Oliseh
For me, [1] Stephen Keshi, and [2] Christian Chukwu. These are men who had an aura over all players when in a room together. They were larger than life. I put Keshi ahead, however, based on how he changed Nigeria's football. He was a trailblazer. He led many Nigerians to explore playing in Ivory Coast after he was banned in Nigeria and then led them to Belgium and Europe. No one else had such a deep effect on Nigeria's football.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
There were no big egos or super stars in Chukwu's era even amongst the coaches. Odegbami who was the closest to being a super star was super humble and got on well with everybody. Hence I would say CCC had it easier than Keshi who had to deal with different mafiosos including the one he headed.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
For me, it is a very tough call.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:46 pm For me, [1] Stephen Keshi, and [2] Christian Chukwu. These are men who had an aura over all players when in a room together. They were larger than life. I put Keshi ahead, however, based on how he changed Nigeria's football. He was a trailblazer. He led many Nigerians to explore playing in Ivory Coast after he was banned in Nigeria and then led them to Belgium and Europe. No one else had such a deep effect on Nigeria's football.
Because dem show Keshi pepper.
The man did what was previously unheard of. Stood up to the NFA and government. Demanded player rights. Negotiated allowances and improved welfare. And showed them the path to better playing conditions overseas.
And he was physically imposing in his heydays. He was one of those that even the rough hard looking Camerounians saw as a formidable physical specimen.
It was from him that the likes of Oliseh, Yobo and Mikel learned how to be true captains. They took care of their lesser teammates. Paying for things from kits, airfare to accomodation.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
Lolly, they had big egos o.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:55 pmThere were no big egos or super stars in Chukwu's era even amongst the coaches. Odegbami who was the closest to being a super star was super humble and got on well with everybody. Hence I would say CCC had it easier than Keshi who had to deal with different mafiosos including the one he headed.
It was just that Chairman didn't let anyone show ego or get any preferential treatment.
Egos come out when you treat people differently.
Most of the time in their teams, they played the best players for the position... so it was difficult to get people to protest loudly. You fit murmur but you no fit tok am loud.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
The longest serving skipper of the national team. After a 3-year absence, he resumed his captaincy without malice or controversy. Godwin Achebe

Lolly,Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:55 pmThere were no big egos or super stars in Chukwu's era even amongst the coaches. Odegbami who was the closest to being a super star was super humble and got on well with everybody. Hence I would say CCC had it easier than Keshi who had to deal with different mafiosos including the one he headed.
I think those two were vastly different personalities as leaders. Chukwu is a quiet leader who often led by example and really comes from the old school. His personality was huge and impacted all that he met. The administrators went through him always because of his vast influence.
Keshi was a leader right from secondary school and his personality was larger than life. People followed him every step. He took several of those guys to NNB when he went there. Then was central to issues that the SE had at the time with the group from Benin -- NNB largely because they appeared to take directives from Keshi. That was central to the NFF issuing a ban on him. That ban forced him to move to the Ivory Coast. Guess what? He then became central to attracting several key Nigerian players to the Ivory Coast. From there he headed to Belgium where he did exactly the same. His influence was beyond Nigeria. Recall, that he was used to take the Ghanaian prodigy to Belgium where Keshi signed up as the guy's father and procured a Nigerian passport for him. I do not believe any Nigerian captain has been revered as much as Keshi was.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
True word. Godwin Achebe was a great captain. The shock was that he would regain his position both as captain and starter even after being at the war front for three years! He came back to bench Segun Olumodeji who himself was a stalwart in defense.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 5:55 pm The longest serving skipper of the national team. After a 3-year absence, he resumed his captaincy without malice or controversy. Godwin Achebe
- YemiBrazil
CCC - The best.
Keshi - the most powerful (but always with visible inner circle, CCC stayed above any cabal-type influence).
3rd but very close - Sunday Oliseh - Trusted selfless warrior for the team.
Achebe? - Na my papa fit discuss that one for heaven.
Keshi - the most powerful (but always with visible inner circle, CCC stayed above any cabal-type influence).
3rd but very close - Sunday Oliseh - Trusted selfless warrior for the team.
Achebe? - Na my papa fit discuss that one for heaven.
If we go by this sentiment, then Mikel will rank ahead. Man captained and played even when knew his father was kidnapped few hours before the game against Argentina in 2018.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 3:53 pm Definition of a True Captain!
The Big Boss, Stephen Okechukwu Keshi!! A born leader of men. They don’t make them like him anymore. What people don’t remember is that he captained both Anderlecht and Strasbourg as well
There was no big boy during the Green Eagles days. And most of them played for the shirt and not money. And there was no mafia picking up slots and unhealthy rivalry in camp.Cellular wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 5:13 pmLolly, they had big egos o.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:55 pmThere were no big egos or super stars in Chukwu's era even amongst the coaches. Odegbami who was the closest to being a super star was super humble and got on well with everybody. Hence I would say CCC had it easier than Keshi who had to deal with different mafiosos including the one he headed.
It was just that Chairman didn't let anyone show ego or get any preferential treatment.
Egos come out when you treat people differently.
Most of the time in their teams, they played the best players for the position... so it was difficult to get people to protest loudly. You fit murmur but you no fit tok am loud.
I agree with most of what you’ve written. Hence why I chose Keshi over CCC. He had to deal with a lot more stuff both on the pitch and off it.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 6:05 pmLolly,Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:55 pmThere were no big egos or super stars in Chukwu's era even amongst the coaches. Odegbami who was the closest to being a super star was super humble and got on well with everybody. Hence I would say CCC had it easier than Keshi who had to deal with different mafiosos including the one he headed.
I think those two were vastly different personalities as leaders. Chukwu is a quiet leader who often led by example and really comes from the old school. His personality was huge and impacted all that he met. The administrators went through him always because of his vast influence.
Keshi was a leader right from secondary school and his personality was larger than life. People followed him every step. He took several of those guys to NNB when he went there. Then was central to issues that the SE had at the time with the group from Benin -- NNB largely because they appeared to take directives from Keshi. That was central to the NFF issuing a ban on him. That ban forced him to move to the Ivory Coast. Guess what? He then became central to attracting several key Nigerian players to the Ivory Coast. From there he headed to Belgium where he did exactly the same. His influence was beyond Nigeria. Recall, that he was used to take the Ghanaian prodigy to Belgium where Keshi signed up as the guy's father and procured a Nigerian passport for him. I do not believe any Nigerian captain has been revered as much as Keshi was.
Dan Anyiam.
The true Hero of Nigerian football.
- Undertaker
"Hey You" was the best Captain we ever had. I remembered him captaining the SE in a match vs. Angola under CCC!
Exactly, plus the olympics were he used his money to rescue the team.naijaguy wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 7:28 pmIf we go by this sentiment, then Mikel will rank ahead. Man captained and played even when knew his father was kidnapped few hours before the game against Argentina in 2018.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 07, 2025 3:53 pm Definition of a True Captain!