Who is your best SE Captain ever?

Re: Who is your best SE Captain ever?

gochino wrote: Fri Mar 07, 2025 9:06 pm
naijaguy wrote: Fri Mar 07, 2025 7:28 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Mar 07, 2025 3:53 pm Definition of a True Captain!

A leader who put his troop's interest above his. A leader who fights tooth and nail to defend his troops. A leader who goes out of his way to look for those maligned and bring them into the fold. A leader who had malaria, but got on the pitch, risking his life for his county and his troops! A leader who serves!

That is the Definition of a Captain!

If we go by this sentiment, then Mikel will rank ahead. Man captained and played even when knew his father was kidnapped few hours before the game against Argentina in 2018.
Exactly, plus the olympics were he used his money to rescue the team.
You guys seem to be crying a lot. :lol: :lol: if you want to name Mikel, name him. No one held your mouth and twisted it. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Like everyone has done, name your own and use whatever sentiment you like. It truly is a very free world with a question soliciting free choice. :D

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 1:37 am

A leader who put his troop's interest above his. A leader who fights tooth and nail to defend his troops. A leader who goes out of his way to look for those maligned and bring them into the fold. A leader who had malaria, but got on the pitch, risking his life for his county and his troops! A leader who serves!

If we go by this sentiment, then Mikel will rank ahead. Man captained and played even when knew his father was kidnapped few hours before the game against Argentina in 2018.
You guys seem to be crying a lot. :lol: :lol: if you want to name Mikel, name him. No one held your mouth and twisted it. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Like everyone has done, name your own and use whatever sentiment you like. It truly is a very free world with a question soliciting free choice. :D
hhuhhuumm!! clears throat; could that be why you're hesitant to Name your man - Okocha

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Keshi, Kanu, Yobo, Mikel, Oliseh , Enyeama ... theses folks were all warriors

Lolly wrote: Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:55 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 07, 2025 4:13 pm
Chairman Chukwu.

In an era where there was a divide between the Rangers guys and Shooting Stars guys, he commanded respect and was able to get everyone to play for one purpose.

Second has to be Big Boss.

Then Mikel.
There were no big egos or super stars in Chukwu's era even amongst the coaches. Odegbami who was the closest to being a super star was super humble and got on well with everybody. Hence I would say CCC had it easier than Keshi who had to deal with different mafiosos including the one he headed.

Actually there were what some may define as "big egos" in Nigeria's national team going back to the 1950s! The first guy to lead a revolution for bonuses goes back to skipper Anieke and Opel Ironkwe, as I recall it, in 1955 when the team only received oranges at interval and nothing else. Ironkwe led protest the morning before the team's biggest loss to date [ 0-7] to Gold Coast [Ghana]. That led to recriminations - banning of Ironkwe and skipper Anieke.

There are other stories concerning issues of team dissent in the NT from time to time.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

jette1 wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 2:46 am
danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 1:37 am

hhuhhuumm!! clears throat; could that be why you're hesitant to Name your man - Okocha
You seem to be communicating with the wrong person. :lol: :lol: Get some rest.

But picking Your best SE captain ever based hear say rather than on your observable eyewitness experience / defeats the questions. So is it all about Sentimental ranking then.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Enugu II wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 3:32 am
Chairman Chukwu.

In an era where there was a divide between the Rangers guys and Shooting Stars guys, he commanded respect and was able to get everyone to play for one purpose.

Then Mikel.
There were no big egos or super stars in Chukwu's era even amongst the coaches. Odegbami who was the closest to being a super star was super humble and got on well with everybody. Hence I would say CCC had it easier than Keshi who had to deal with different mafiosos including the one he headed.

Actually there were what some may define as "big egos" in Nigeria's national team going back to the 1950s! The first guy to lead a revolution for bonuses goes back to skipper Anieke and Opel Ironkwe, as I recall it, in 1955 when the team only received oranges at interval and nothing else. Ironkwe led protest the morning before the team's biggest loss to date [ 0-7] to Gold Coast [Ghana]. That led to recriminations - banning of Ironkwe and skipper Anieke.

There are other stories concerning issues of team dissent in the NT from time to time.
I was referring to the era of CCC in the 70s and early 80s. But my point still stands that Keshi had a lot more to deal with than CCC had during his own time, and he exhibited good leadership skills all through.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Interesting Topic

For me, and I can only speak of my lifetime, top 5 will be:

1. Stephen Keshi - solid, longevity, respect, reads the riot act
2. Christian Chukwu - gentle giant, commands respect, calm under pressure
3. Sunday Oliseh - stands up for his men (fighter), commited to the cause
4. William Troost-Ekong - leads by example, commanding presence, a fighter
5. John Obi Mikel - Calm presence, handles referees well, dedicated

Keshi
CCC
Mikel
Ekong
Okechukwu

JJ gets honourable mention
Oliseh was a good activist

akamoke wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 10:56 am Interesting Topic

For me, and I can only speak of my lifetime, top 5 will be:

1. Stephen Keshi - solid, longevity, respect, reads the riot act
2. Christian Chukwu - gentle giant, commands respect, calm under pressure
3. Sunday Oliseh - stands up for his men (fighter), commited to the cause
4. William Troost-Ekong - leads by example, commanding presence, a fighter
5. John Obi Mikel - Calm presence, handles referees well, dedicated
...agree with all, but this guy, when was he the captain and for how long?
The only thing I remember of him was scoring that classic goal vs Spain at 1998 world cup.
Then fighting at his club in Germany, then being SE coach and quitting.

Nobody has mentioned Musa except Colin in his tweet. Has he been that bad?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 2:22 pm Nobody has mentioned Musa except Colin in his tweet. Has he been that bad?
Lolly,

My view of Musa is that he is a leader and that is recognized by his alias "Guv'nor." However, the only impact that he seems to have (to the satisfaction of NFF leadership) is keeping the team from the public protests that the team showed under leadership of Mikel, Enyeama, and Oliseh. Thus, he clearly is a leader. What is different is "to who's benefit?" My answer is that his leadership, while keeping the team focused, has often benefitted NFF leadership. That is starkly different from leadership provided by several of those we have mentioned here.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 2:30 pm
Lolly wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 2:22 pm Nobody has mentioned Musa except Colin in his tweet. Has he been that bad?
Lolly,

My view of Musa is that he is a leader and that is recognized by his alias "Guv'nor." However, the only impact that he seems to have (to the satisfaction of NFF leadership) is keeping the team from the public protests that the team showed under leadership of Mikel, Enyeama, and Oliseh. Thus, he clearly is a leader. What is different is "to who's benefit?" My answer is that his leadership, while keeping the team focused, has often benefitted NFF leadership. That is starkly different from leadership provided by several of those we have mentioned here.
True.

I can’t remember much of his leadership skills on the pitch.

There iss a reason he has friends in the media. :D

Lolly,

I am sorry, I think your sentence - keeping the team focused may be misinterpreted here. Focused on what exactly? Missing out on WC? Failure to win anything? Getting slapped, trounced and humiliated by the likes of Portugal and Mexico? Getting humiliated by Guinea Bissau, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, and the other Guineas? What exactly were they focused on? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thankfully, you then wrote - "has often benefitted NFF leaderhip" - BOOOOOM!! That i the key! its not that he kept the team focused, he made the team subdued and accept every rubbish from the NFF. He made the team toothless and lack fight or bite, which then translated into the pitch. And thats why for 6 year, prior to last year when Ekong took up captainship, we were going out on the pitch to learn!

The NFF love him. In return for promising him a slot, he also promised them to clip the wings of his team and make them subdued losers. THAT IS HIS LEGACY! A selfish, self-centered, corrupt enabler of NFF.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Keneth Olayombo and Victor Oduah. Honorable mentions
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

My big uncle 1naija told me that CCCCCC was the one who brought in the "hey yous" to the SE.

Chairman Chukwu.

Then Mikel.

EII,

Pardon me but which Anieke are you referring to❓❗️

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 3:30 pm
lol

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 11:02 pm
Chairman Chukwu.

Then Mikel.

EII,

This is the 'Baby" Anieke that played in the 1950s, different from Peter Anieke that played in the late 60s and early 70s. There was also Sunday Anieke who played late 60s before dying quite young. The best known of those Aniekes is Peter who played for Stores and NEPA after featuring for the Nigerian academicals.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 3:01 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 11:02 pm
Chairman Chukwu.

Then Mikel.

EII,

This is the 'Baby" Anieke that played in the 1950s, different from Peter Anieke that played in the late 60s and early 70s. There was also Sunday Anieke who played late 60s before dying quite young. The best known of those Aniekes is Peter who played for Stores and NEPA after featuring for the Nigerian academicals.
My dear EII,

Thanks for the clarification. I just wanted to be sure because I don’t think there’s anything that happened in 1955 that you and I recall. We may have read or been told about it but we most certainly did no recall it :lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: ❗️

Lolly wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 3:23 pm
Lolly,

True.

I can’t remember much of his leadership skills on the pitch.
Lolly,

The truth is he has some memorable games. Of course, the better known ones are at the World Cup. Apart from the one that most people remember where he came into Nigeria's second game after not starting the first [ as I rember it now] he made his devastating pace count with two goals. Recall that in the previous, again World Cup tournament, he hit two v Argentina. One was an unforgettable curving shot.

The above really are about actual games, but he isn't Guv'nor based on those but instead based on what he allegedly accomplishes outside the media lights. A most recent story was how he was critical to keeping the team focused in a tournament by convincing benchplayers to stay focused as a team instead of complaining about playing time or about the manager. These are just reports that filter through. Also notes his presence and leadership on the bus when the SE is on way to games.

For me, his alleged influence is not what you often envision from someone that has the type of small frame. Neither does he have the language fluency but yet he has other leadership characteristics that more likely compensate.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 3:30 pm
Any SE captain that hasn't had confrontations with the thiefing NFF is not a captain.

Doing so in order to keep on being invited... :(