CAMP THREAD (THIS WEEK, WE PREPARE FOR WAR!!!)

tedder89
Re: CAMP THREAD (THIS WEEK, WE PREPARE FOR WAR!!!)

Post by tedder89 »

Hopefully they get several training sessions on the pitch, ability to play high intensity jambodi African football will be key, quick adaptation will be the difference between 3 points and heartache

This is not Champions’ League

Friday temp in Kigali at kickoff slightly below 80F medium humidity at about 50%
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

Cellular wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 3:00 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:18 pm Osimhen should be captain
Kpom!
Kpom for where ? na so una dey overladen people !!! Allow him to focus on getting goals. And Tobi with his one way Zombie thnking na him you dey pkom
Last edited by jette1 on Mon Mar 17, 2025 5:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
onovo

Post by onovo »

danfo driver wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:08 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 1:41 pm
:thumbs: :thumbs: Battle Ready!

I'll say it again, I genuinely wish he was our captain.
Whilst Osimehn has the ginger/grit. and am also happy he is among the early ones in camp, However, as a striker, I will not support this. Because a captain needs to have a broad pitch view. Osimehn will be too busy as a frontman man running towards opposition goal with lesser view of what is happening behind. Only defenders, particular central defenders and goalkeeper has a better view of the pitch compared to other players due to the advantage of their pitch view. Hence they make better captain. During defending, transitioning/build-up play the captain should help direct his team mates about positioning, etc. Goalkeeper and central defenders sees the pitch/game better than a striker. Defensive midfielder and fullbacks are even preferred for me as captain compared to striker. This could be another reason why Eguavoen was preferred ahead of Yekini in AFCON 94 final against Zambia as captain.

Nigerians are truly stubborn. You guys are determined to derail this thread right? No problem.

danfo driver wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 5:44 pm Nigerians are truly stubborn. You guys are determined to derail this thread right? No problem.
Since when did Nigerians start sticking to rules? Including you!!
Now you have an idea how difficult it can be to moderate CE! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 6:20 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 5:44 pm Nigerians are truly stubborn. You guys are determined to derail this thread right? No problem.
Since when did Nigerians start sticking to rules? Including you!!
Now you have an idea how difficult it can be to moderate CE! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Even Oga Moderator, Cellular, join them :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 12:29 pm
mcal wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 10:39 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 10:30 am What is Ogunmodede doing in Rwanda? I thought Chelle had his own assistants. No?
...wuru wuru dey for every nook and crannies of Nigeria, including football.
They say the taste of pudding is in the eating.
We go wait and see on match day, and thereafter. It's all on the players on the field.
Our opponents are also cooking up something to destabilize plans and victory.
At this point no need to question selections, but 'pray' for sound minds of the participants.
Pls answer the question. Is he there as an assistant coach, scout or what? We deserve to know who the assistants are and if indeed he is one of them.
...he enter plane follow them there, means he is there for something "tangible". Maybe boot shiner, or person wey dey collect dirty uniforms, and that's a job :biggrin:

...these distracting paparazzi don dey follow them around, na so illicit shhiit dey exchange hand and truly distract from the actual goal.

onovo wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 4:07 pm

Whilst Osimehn has the ginger/grit. and am also happy he is among the early ones in camp, However, as a striker, I will not support this. Because a captain needs to have a broad pitch view. Osimehn will be too busy as a frontman man running towards opposition goal with lesser view of what is happening behind. Only defenders, particular central defenders and goalkeeper has a better view of the pitch compared to other players due to the advantage of their pitch view. Hence they make better captain. During defending, transitioning/build-up play the captain should help direct his team mates about positioning, etc. Goalkeeper and central defenders sees the pitch/game better than a striker. Defensive midfielder and fullbacks are even preferred for me as captain compared to striker. This could be another reason why Eguavoen was preferred ahead of Yekini in AFCON 94 final against Zambia as captain.
Oga, you can be a captain from anywhere on the pitch.

The reason why Yekini was never captain was because he just preferred to "just play ball". He didn't care much for the politics involved, didn't care about anything else but to play ball. Some even said he didn't care for anything but himself. He wanted to be left alone to play ball.

If I were the new coach, I will appoint my own captain that is a reflection of how I want the team to play.
The coach has said he wants players that battle and will leave everything on the pitch.
No one on that team epitomizes that more than Victor Osimhen (I need to find a befitting name for him).
Bro is a warrior.
He gives you double shift.
He never quits.
And he is a good teammate. He likes to encourage his teammates.

I like a leader that leads from the front. He won't ask anything of you that he won't ask of himself.

onovo

Post by onovo »

Super Eagles forwards Samuel Chukwueze, Victor Boniface, Igoh Ogbu and five other Nigerian players are expected to join the national team camp in Rwanda on Monday night as preparations intensify for Friday's crucial World Cup qualifier against Rwanda, allnigeriasoccer.com reports.

The Nigerian squad began assembling in Kigali on Sunday night, with six players and team staff welcomed by Nigeria's Ambassador to Rwanda, Aishatu Aliyu Musa.

Among the early arrivals were key players, including striker Victor Osimhen, forward Tolu Arokodare, defender Bruno Onyemaechi, goalkeepers Amas Obasogie and Kayode Bankole, and midfielder Papa Daniel.

The team wasted no time and commenced training on Monday with a gym session, as seen in a video circulating online, where the players were put through their paces by the technical staff.Meanwhile, eight more players, consisting of three forwards, three defenders, one midfielder, and one goalkeeper, are expected to arrive in camp on Monday night.

The incoming players include forwards Moses Simon, Victor Boniface, and Samuel Chukwueze; defenders Jordan Torunarigha, Bright Osayi-Samuel, and Igoh Ogbu; midfielder Raphael Onyedika; and goalkeeper Stanley Nwabali.

The Super Eagles are desperate for a strong start in their quest to qualify for the 2026 FIFA World Cup in the USA, Canada, and Mexico.

Currently sitting fifth in Group C with three points from four games, Nigeria aims to close the gap on table-toppers Rwanda, who lead the group by four points.

Head coach Eric Chelle will be hoping his side can break their winless streak against the Wasps, having failed to secure victory in their last two meetings.

A win at the Amahoro Stadium on Friday would be a significant boost for the Eagles' World Cup qualification hopes.

Adeyemi Adewale
https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=55017

ANC wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:39 pm
Yes!!
That outburst against Finidi last year shows he still has some growing up to do. The same inexperience in harnessing his hormones is the reason why he's not yet a reliable penalty taker. Perhaps he'll have learned how to be wiser with his choice of words and his nerves by the time Troost retires. I love Vic, but for now Troost is my much deserved captain.

I want to see him bully African opposition like this! Starting from this week.

danfo driver wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 7:28 pm I want to see him bully African opposition like this! Starting from this week.
Hopefully far far away from our box.

BTW, I don't know why CAF/FIFA is not using VAR for WCQ.

I suspect that Osimhen will be made assistant captain soon, and he'll captain whenever Ekong will not be available.

greg wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 7:27 pm
ANC wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:39 pm
Yes!!
That outburst against Finidi last year shows he still has some growing up to do. The same inexperience in harnessing his hormones is the reason why he's not yet a reliable penalty taker. Perhaps he'll have learned how to be wiser with his choice of words and his nerves by the time Troost retires. I love Vic, but for now Troost is my much deserved captain.
For what it’s worth, Osimhen is like 7/7 on penalties this season.
onovo

Post by onovo »

Inside The Super Eagles Camp:

Six players just arrived in Kigali.

Latest Arrival:

1. Victor Boniface.
2. ⁠Samuel Chukwueze
3. ⁠Jordan Torunarigha
4. ⁠Moses Simon
5. ⁠Raphael Onyedika
6. ⁠Stanley Nwabali.

[tweet]https://x.com/OgaNlaMedia/status/1901721841074319606[/tweet]

danfo driver wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 7:28 pm I want to see him bully African opposition like this! Starting from this week.
If I’m not mistaken, about two years ago or less, Calvin was named by some Super Eagles players as physically “the strongest” player amongst them.

I was surprised to hear it.