Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?

Malian tactician, Eric Chelle, has taken one of the toughest jobs as Nigeria’s World Cup qualification campaign hangs by a thread, Soccernet.ng reports.
Meanwhile, as Nigeria sits at the second bottom of the Group C standings, it’s time to ask the tough questions—who is truly responsible for the mess?
So far, the Super Eagles of Nigeria have managed just three points from a possible 12, sitting fifth in the qualifying group. It’s a shocking reality for a team ranked 44 in the world and fifth in Africa.
How Did The Super Eagles of Nigeria Get Here?
It all started under Jose Peseiro, who failed to secure wins against Lesotho and Zimbabwe, settling for two disappointing draws—one at home in Uyo and the other on neutral ground.
Finidi George then stepped in but fared no better, picking up just one point from two crucial games—a home draw against South Africa and a morale-damaging loss to Gernot Rohr’s Benin Republic.

Now, the responsibility falls on the Franco-Malian tactician, Chelle, who is tasked with reviving Nigeria’s qualification hopes.
With four games left, he faces a daunting task to secure the only automatic ticket to the 2026 FIFA World Cup in the USA, Canada, and Mexico.
Can Chelle Turn Things Around?
Chelle’s first test will be to correct the mistakes of his predecessors and find a winning formula. The Super Eagles cannot afford any more slip-ups if they hope to avoid missing their second consecutive World Cup.

But as the blame game continues, Chelle and his Super Eagles team are currently gearing up to secure all points when they lock horns the Wasps of Rwanda on Friday at the Amahoro Stadium, Kigali.
https://soccernet.ng/2025/03/nigeria-ch ... seiro.html

Malian tactician, Eric Chelle, has taken one of the toughest jobs as Nigeria’s World Cup qualification campaign hangs by a thread, Soccernet.ng reports.
Meanwhile, as Nigeria sits at the second bottom of the Group C standings, it’s time to ask the tough questions—who is truly responsible for the mess?
So far, the Super Eagles of Nigeria have managed just three points from a possible 12, sitting fifth in the qualifying group. It’s a shocking reality for a team ranked 44 in the world and fifth in Africa.
It all started under Jose Peseiro, who failed to secure wins against Lesotho and Zimbabwe, settling for two disappointing draws—one at home in Uyo and the other on neutral ground.
Finidi George then stepped in but fared no better, picking up just one point from two crucial games—a home draw against South Africa and a morale-damaging loss to Gernot Rohr’s Benin Republic.

Now, the responsibility falls on the Franco-Malian tactician, Chelle, who is tasked with reviving Nigeria’s qualification hopes.
With four games left, he faces a daunting task to secure the only automatic ticket to the 2026 FIFA World Cup in the USA, Canada, and Mexico.
Chelle’s first test will be to correct the mistakes of his predecessors and find a winning formula. The Super Eagles cannot afford any more slip-ups if they hope to avoid missing their second consecutive World Cup.

But as the blame game continues, Chelle and his Super Eagles team are currently gearing up to secure all points when they lock horns the Wasps of Rwanda on Friday at the Amahoro Stadium, Kigali.
- bret- hart
Re: Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?
Finidi. Started beefing with Lookman before the games vs South Africa and Benin. Told Ekong he was not needed despite being fit for those games, Invited bums like Igbokwe, Sodiq, and Tiaminu etc instead of calling up better players like Felix Agu who had already declared his intent to play for Nigeria. Just a sh!!!t Manager and coach overall.
Shout out to Piss-Error tho who stuck with Uzoho despite the fact that he knew he was a sh!!t GK.

Re: Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?
Chelle cannot take the blame if he wins all our remaining games and we still fail to qualify.
Finidi got 1 point out of 6. There is no escaping this fact.
Finidi had some bad luck with the officiating vs. South Africa in Uyo, which was horrific, and I believe without that and FDB's injury in that game, he could have picked 6 points from that long weekend (FDB's injury was a direct result of the bad officiating vs SA and knocked him out of the Benin game).
Finidi however partly made his own luck and was responsible for his fate. In the short period he was coach, he beefed with Ekong, Osimhen and Tella (I may be missing others). His press conferences and attitude to games were puzzling (at least from the language).
Peserio was just as bad, and maybe even worse. 2 points out of 6 against mediocre opposition. Sticking with Uzoho for as long as he did. Just a lazy mercenary. Thankfully, we lucked out with Nwabali at AFCON, and the the team went on a run on the backs of the likes of Osimhen, Lookman and Ekong. His ultra conservative approach and running the starters to the ground were a limiting factor and not an enhancer.
Those two have made a mess. Chelle has no margin for error. He has to win out. Can't blame him if he does, regardless of the outcome.
Finidi had some bad luck with the officiating vs. South Africa in Uyo, which was horrific, and I believe without that and FDB's injury in that game, he could have picked 6 points from that long weekend (FDB's injury was a direct result of the bad officiating vs SA and knocked him out of the Benin game).
Finidi however partly made his own luck and was responsible for his fate. In the short period he was coach, he beefed with Ekong, Osimhen and Tella (I may be missing others). His press conferences and attitude to games were puzzling (at least from the language).
Peserio was just as bad, and maybe even worse. 2 points out of 6 against mediocre opposition. Sticking with Uzoho for as long as he did. Just a lazy mercenary. Thankfully, we lucked out with Nwabali at AFCON, and the the team went on a run on the backs of the likes of Osimhen, Lookman and Ekong. His ultra conservative approach and running the starters to the ground were a limiting factor and not an enhancer.
Those two have made a mess. Chelle has no margin for error. He has to win out. Can't blame him if he does, regardless of the outcome.
Last edited by truetalk on Thu Mar 20, 2025 5:46 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Finidi George is THE WORST SE coach we have had since I began following the team in 1994.
The NFF hired him, even after his 2 mach trial where it was clear he was a PISS POOR manager and coach.
The NFF are the problem.
The NFF hired him, even after his 2 mach trial where it was clear he was a PISS POOR manager and coach.
The NFF are the problem.
Peseiro and Finidi.
Chelle would be judged on the results of the games he is in charge. He can’t be blamed for us missing out of the World Cup since it is no more in our hands. The other teams are too far ahead and it’s three of them, not one. So it is very unlikely that all 3 would drop so many points that would allow us to catch up. My guess. I could be wrong.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
if the NFF and the SE are smart , they should ensure they at least get the playoff spot. instead the jokers are smiling on social media etc
Clearly NFF.
They took forever to appoint Finidi, and he turned out to be unqualified for the job. Then they took forever to appoint Chelle.
But they gave him two friendlies to prepare himself. And what did he do with them? Finidi really messed up. Let’s stop blaming NFF for his failures.
The long delay was because they struggled to find qualified candidates. When Peseiro left, their incompetence in getting a replacement was exposed. They settled for Finidi. Both parties knew it so it was doomed from the start. NFF is to blame.
You guys are dangerous! Finidi has said several times that the beef with Lookman was just a rumour. It never happened.bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:33 pm Finidi. Started beefing with Lookman before the games vs South Africa and Benin. Told Ekong he was not needed despite being fit for those games, Invited bums like Igbokwe, Sodiq, and Tiaminu etc instead of calling up better players like Felix Agu who had already declared his intent to play for Nigeria. Just a sh!!!t Manager and coach overall.
Shout out to Piss-Error tho who stuck with Uzoho despite the fact that he knew he was a sh!!t GK.![]()
iworo wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:19 pm Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?
Last edited by gochino on Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Plus, the players must also be blamed. They cannot be blameless. There just is no possible way to exempt players from blame.gochino wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:15 pmDo you work for NFF? Are you scared to blame them?iworo wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:19 pm Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?
We claim our players are professionals. Not so. Here is what a professional means:
a
: of, relating to, or characteristic of a profession
b
: engaged in one of the learned professions
c
(1)
: characterized by or conforming to the technical or ethical standards of a profession
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Chairman, you know this is like blaming nobody.
The public sector in Nigeria cannot be assumed to be a positive. The structure is too flawed.
The coach must be able to rise above the NFF constraint. I would not have bothered responding if NFF was one of the options.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
EII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:17 pmPlus, the players must also be blamed. They cannot be blameless. There just is no possible way to exempt players from blame.gochino wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:15 pmDo you work for NFF? Are you scared to blame them?iworo wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:19 pm Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?
We claim our players are professionals. Not so. Here is what a professional means:
a
b
c
(1)
: characterized by or conforming to the technical or ethical standards of a profession
I think we should rid ourselves of the blame game. Sometimes, things just don’t work out. Our players may be professionals but they’re not competing against a bunch of high school kids. They are competing against other professionals
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 8:57 pmEII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:17 pmPlus, the players must also be blamed. They cannot be blameless. There just is no possible way to exempt players from blame.gochino wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:15 pmDo you work for NFF? Are you scared to blame them?iworo wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:19 pm Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?
a
b
c
(1)
I think we should rid ourselves of the blame game. Sometimes, things just don’t work out. Our players may be professionals but they’re not competing against a bunch of high school kids. They are competing against other professionals
TTTK,
I am cool with that. Just not impressed by the blaming of Managers at all times when the players are left as if sacred.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
I agree with you here. NFF for sure.
Prof. Did you see some of the goals Uzoho conceeded and how some of his teammates looked like they wanted to wire him a hot slap. How can you blame them for that?Enugu II wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 9:10 pmTonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 8:57 pmEII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:17 pmPlus, the players must also be blamed. They cannot be blameless. There just is no possible way to exempt players from blame.gochino wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:15 pmDo you work for NFF? Are you scared to blame them?iworo wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:19 pm Chelle, Finidi, or Peseiro: Who should take the blame if Super Eagles misses the 2026 World Cup?
a
b
c
(1)
TTTK,
I am cool with that. Just not impressed by the blaming of Managers at all times when the players are left as if sacred.
They were not the ones that kept inviting him!
Now, Bassey also had a gaffe against Benin, but Uzoho's mediocrity ws continous and repetitive. That was on the coach.
I won't even talk about the NFF.
- bret- hart
Actions speak louder than words. We all saw how he treated Lookman during those 2 friendlies vs Ghana and Mali.gochino wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:13 pmYou guys are dangerous! Finidi has said several times that the beef with Lookman was just a rumour. It never happened.bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:33 pm Finidi. Started beefing with Lookman before the games vs South Africa and Benin. Told Ekong he was not needed despite being fit for those games, Invited bums like Igbokwe, Sodiq, and Tiaminu etc instead of calling up better players like Felix Agu who had already declared his intent to play for Nigeria. Just a sh!!!t Manager and coach overall.
Shout out to Piss-Error tho who stuck with Uzoho despite the fact that he knew he was a sh!!t GK.![]()
- bret- hart
Finidi would not have beaten Rhor's Benin. The guy is just too clueless. Best would have been a draw with or without FDB. Did you see the trash players he took to that game? I agree we should have beaten South Africa in Uyo. Missed too many chances plus we gave them way too much respect.truetalk wrote: ↑Thu Mar 20, 2025 4:56 pm Chelle cannot take the blame if he wins all our remaining games and we still fail to qualify.
Six games left, not four. Or am I missing something?