COACH CHELLE'S DEBUT.....Tactics Corner
Things I DID NOT like
1. What was that starting line up????
Chelle gave the impression that he was doing his homework on our boys and was watching any and everything related to the SE. He looked or seemed like a man prepared. I figured he must have spent hours watching tape of old games etc. This starting line up was a shocker. I saw Osayi and Chukwueze. Two players who had not had the best seasons up until this point. I also saw a line up with Simon Samu and Lookman in it. I figured this had to be a flat 4-4-2 right? Right? WRONG!!!
2. What was that formation????
With the personnel listed I was even more in SHOCK at the formation when the match started. A diamond shaped 4-4-2 with Aina at LB (A player having the season of his life at RB), Ndidi at the base (A player enjoying the second phase of his career as abox to box 8), Iwobi at LCM (excuse me?), Samu at RCM (you having a laugh???), and Lookman at the tip (an attacking player that has eviscerated everyone from the inside left position all year!?) of the diamond. And then Moses Simon as part of a front two! Chineke! Coach Eric started 6 players in unfamiliar positions after 3 days of training!!! This is INSANE!
3. Team Coordination
You start 6 players out of position and you get exactly what transpired for 60 minutes yesterday. We were disjointed and uncoordinated for long stretches. Many a time, once the Rwandan team figured out what was happening, the out ball was to their full backs because our midfielders were all tucked in and arrived late every single time. Our 2 forwards occupied the 2 CBs but the full backs were in acres of space to get the ball whenever Rwanda passed out the back. Once the tucked in midfielders got pulled wide, our midfield spread wide open with passing lanes everywhere. Thankfully Rwanda is a terrible team so we survived. On the ball we were even worse. Simon was just running around trying to get in behind...crazy when u have Osi next to you. Passing left a lot to be desired...just not good enough.
What I did Like
1. Intensity
We seemed to have come out with the intent to "fight for every ball" and we chased them all around the pitch and made so many recoveries until we gassed out. I felt like we ran too much because our press was uncoordinated because of the lack of familiarity with the formation. There were so many times Iwobi didnt know who and when to go but he still went regardless. He and others were fighting.
2. Adaptability
Coach gave the 4-4-2 diamond rubbish another 15 mins before deciding he had seen enough. The introduction of Onyedika and Bruno along with the change in positions for Iwobi, Simon and Lookman effectively killed off the game. We looked so much better and had much balance. It's too bad we were tired by then, we probably would have scored more.
3. Plan
You could see a clear game plan from the SE. It just looked goofy for an hour. Maybe with more repetitions, the players would have been more familiar with the coach's intentions but you could at east see an attempt at one. We were very dangerous at set pieces as well due to many sumptuous deliveries from Lookman
Overall I'll grade him a C-.
I just dont know how u justify making so many changes with only a few days of training. That's borderline foolishness. We were bailed out by our WC striker when we were not in a good moment honestly. I am not sure how this game goes without Vic based on that line up/formation. Kudos to him for making the necessary changes and seeing off the game in a comfortable manner. But he better not try that ish again.
Chelle gave the impression that he was doing his homework on our boys and was watching any and everything related to the SE. He looked or seemed like a man prepared. I figured he must have spent hours watching tape of old games etc. This starting line up was a shocker. I saw Osayi and Chukwueze. Two players who had not had the best seasons up until this point. I also saw a line up with Simon Samu and Lookman in it. I figured this had to be a flat 4-4-2 right? Right? WRONG!!!
With the personnel listed I was even more in SHOCK at the formation when the match started. A diamond shaped 4-4-2 with Aina at LB (A player having the season of his life at RB), Ndidi at the base (A player enjoying the second phase of his career as abox to box 8), Iwobi at LCM (excuse me?), Samu at RCM (you having a laugh???), and Lookman at the tip (an attacking player that has eviscerated everyone from the inside left position all year!?) of the diamond. And then Moses Simon as part of a front two! Chineke! Coach Eric started 6 players in unfamiliar positions after 3 days of training!!! This is INSANE!
3. Team Coordination
You start 6 players out of position and you get exactly what transpired for 60 minutes yesterday. We were disjointed and uncoordinated for long stretches. Many a time, once the Rwandan team figured out what was happening, the out ball was to their full backs because our midfielders were all tucked in and arrived late every single time. Our 2 forwards occupied the 2 CBs but the full backs were in acres of space to get the ball whenever Rwanda passed out the back. Once the tucked in midfielders got pulled wide, our midfield spread wide open with passing lanes everywhere. Thankfully Rwanda is a terrible team so we survived. On the ball we were even worse. Simon was just running around trying to get in behind...crazy when u have Osi next to you. Passing left a lot to be desired...just not good enough.
What I did Like
1. Intensity
We seemed to have come out with the intent to "fight for every ball" and we chased them all around the pitch and made so many recoveries until we gassed out. I felt like we ran too much because our press was uncoordinated because of the lack of familiarity with the formation. There were so many times Iwobi didnt know who and when to go but he still went regardless. He and others were fighting.
2. Adaptability
Coach gave the 4-4-2 diamond rubbish another 15 mins before deciding he had seen enough. The introduction of Onyedika and Bruno along with the change in positions for Iwobi, Simon and Lookman effectively killed off the game. We looked so much better and had much balance. It's too bad we were tired by then, we probably would have scored more.
3. Plan
You could see a clear game plan from the SE. It just looked goofy for an hour. Maybe with more repetitions, the players would have been more familiar with the coach's intentions but you could at east see an attempt at one. We were very dangerous at set pieces as well due to many sumptuous deliveries from Lookman
I just dont know how u justify making so many changes with only a few days of training. That's borderline foolishness. We were bailed out by our WC striker when we were not in a good moment honestly. I am not sure how this game goes without Vic based on that line up/formation. Kudos to him for making the necessary changes and seeing off the game in a comfortable manner. But he better not try that ish again.
- danfo driver
Re: COACH CHELLE'S DEBUT.....Tactics Corner
Thanks for the write up. Great points!
Chelle loves the 4-4-2 diamond. Its time everyone gets used to it, because that will NOT change. He will continue to tweak and train the personnel, until he finds the 23 that works with his beloved 4-4-2 diamond.
As for the intro of Onyedika and Bruno, i do not believe there was a formation or system change. it was more a tactical change... which was brining in a guy who has the ability to calm the game - Onyedika - and a left back who has energy to keep pace with the Rwandan right winger - Aina was tired.
Chelle loves the 4-4-2 diamond. Its time everyone gets used to it, because that will NOT change. He will continue to tweak and train the personnel, until he finds the 23 that works with his beloved 4-4-2 diamond.
As for the intro of Onyedika and Bruno, i do not believe there was a formation or system change. it was more a tactical change... which was brining in a guy who has the ability to calm the game - Onyedika - and a left back who has energy to keep pace with the Rwandan right winger - Aina was tired.
I was not too impressed with SE play, but without a doubt, they had "shape"!
Very good observations from a smart football mind.Ugbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
3. Team Coordination
What I did Like
1. Intensity
2. Adaptability
3. Plan

I hope the players quickly adapt to this formation because we are soon going to come against the much better SA and Benin teams. And let’s see if there are improvements on Tuesday.
But I still believe the 3 specialists CMs work better for us but I am not qualified to argue with the coach.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
em, this was his first game away from home( a competitive game. 3 points, a clean sheet and the team weren't troubled. playing at high altitude , packed home crowd, playing against the group leader with the best defense( This same Rwanda defeated SA 2-0 )
What i noticed was how dangerous we were on set-plays. Ekong and Vic were very dangerous. a diamond formation and the hustle by every SE . just hope in September the players would be fit since leagues are just starting and players are still in off season mode .
However I still do not trust the SE players at all. who starts a freaking WCQ with 3 draws and a loss.
What i noticed was how dangerous we were on set-plays. Ekong and Vic were very dangerous. a diamond formation and the hustle by every SE . just hope in September the players would be fit since leagues are just starting and players are still in off season mode .
However I still do not trust the SE players at all. who starts a freaking WCQ with 3 draws and a loss.
Ugbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
3. Team Coordination
What I did Like
1. Intensity
2. Adaptability
3. Plan
Disagree on one aspect- making so many changes...
We're starting from scratch. There's nothing left on from the locust months of Finidi and Eguavoen to build on.
The relationship between players is not there yet and it made for some disjointed play in possession until the entry of Onyedika at the game management phase.
I liked his interpretation of Samu's role but we can do better there, as his lack of match sharpness showed..
Perhaps Iwobi in that role..But the idea of a left footed #8 running from the right of center midfield was quite interesting.
Overall I agree with the grade.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- danfo driver
Dele-Bashiru, Onyeka or Tella there will be something to look forward to.txj wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 4:25 pmUgbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
3. Team Coordination
What I did Like
1. Intensity
2. Adaptability
3. Plan
We're starting from scratch. There's nothing left on from the locust months of Finidi and Eguavoen to build on.
The relationship between players is not there yet and it made for some disjointed play in possession until the entry of Onyedika at the game management phase.
I liked his interpretation of Samu's role but we can do better there, as his lack of match sharpness showed..
Perhaps Iwobi in that role..But the idea of a left footed #8 running from the right of center midfield was quite interesting.
I laughed when you said "We're starting from scratch. There's nothing left on from theb locust . . ." Understatement.

Those hoping to see mistake-free crisp performance from our next 3 games are in for a shocking disappointment. Not gonna happen. We are literally starting from scratch and it will take more than 3 days here 3 days there to get our players into full Chelle-philosophy.
I think the camp pre AFCON will be were things will really be worked hard on, with a team closer to what Chelle will consider his real team.
It takes a lot of coordination to be able to press like that and still retain shape. There were a few tactical wrinkles that caught my attention with Samu and Lookman dropping into midfield slots to pick up the ball and help maintain possession.
I'd give Chelle a solid B here. Job well done in all aspects of the game especially in his first game
Una must always have something to complain about. Next thing now is to call for his sack as usual.
Indeed, man's needs are insatiable.
Samu better sits up, as the likes of Tella and Ejuke could displace him no distant time. Whilst Iwobi was okay in performance, I am still struggling to understand Iwobi's role in that midfield, not the best in terms of a ball winnner/defensive duties and also not create anything for the attack line. Iwobi should be replaced by Onyedika going forward.txj wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 4:25 pmUgbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
3. Team Coordination
What I did Like
1. Intensity
2. Adaptability
3. Plan
Thanks for this post. I didn’t want to sound like a spoil sport, but I watched 15 minutes of highlights yesterday and I didn’t see any discernible attacking build up. The goals were both borne out of mistakes.Ugbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
3. Team Coordination
What I did Like
1. Intensity
2. Adaptability
3. Plan
I’m hopeful this all improves but I heard the noise about the game and considered watching a replay, but decided to watch extended highlights instead.
The only possible reason for playing 6 players out of position is that you thought it would confuse the opposition. The other much worse reason is that you don’t know what you’re doing
- danfo driver
The first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
Thanks for this post. I didn’t want to sound like a spoil sport, but I watched 15 minutes of highlights yesterday and I didn’t see any discernible attacking build up. The goals were both borne out of mistakes.
I’m hopeful this all improves but I heard the noise about the game and considered watching a replay, but decided to watch extended highlights instead.
The only possible reason for playing 6 players out of position is that you thought it would confuse the opposition. The other much worse reason is that you don’t know what you’re doing
The second goal was a headed pass, which the striker controlled away from the defender, raced own and chipped the goalkeeper.
Which mistakes?
If you can describe those two goals as arising from ‘mistakes’, then we might as well describe every goal ever scored in football as coming from a mistake. Someone, somewhere in the conceding team would have made a ‘mistake’ at some point to concede possession to the opposition.
In that case, it’s a ‘mistake’ not to win a tackle, and a ‘mistake’ to be dribbled by an opponent.
1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pmThe first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
Thanks for this post. I didn’t want to sound like a spoil sport, but I watched 15 minutes of highlights yesterday and I didn’t see any discernible attacking build up. The goals were both borne out of mistakes.
The second goal was a headed pass, which the striker controlled away from the defender, raced own and chipped the goalkeeper.
2nd goal: All I would say is that if that were a Nigerian defender, there’d be at least 10 threads up right now abusing his mother and father for giving birth to him. That was bad defending….or at the very least, the defender lacks the pace/experience to not get caught out like that. Vic kicked the ball away from him and beat him with pace. That ball was the defender’s to lose and he lost it.
Again, I’m not trying to poo-pooh the victory. A win is a win and great teams win ugly. But I also look for signs that there’s a method to the ‘madness’
Last edited by deanotito on Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
See above.Damunk wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:58 pmWhich mistakes?
If you can describe those two goals as arising from ‘mistakes’, then we might as well describe every goal ever scored in football as coming from a mistake. Someone, somewhere in the conceding team would have made a ‘mistake’ at some point to concede possession to the opposition.
In that case, it’s a ‘mistake’ not to win a tackle, and a ‘mistake’ to be dribbled by an opponent.
Couldn't disagree more.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:23 pm1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pmThe first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
2nd goal: All I would say is that if that were a Nigerian defender, there’d be at least 10 threads up right now abusing his mother and father for giving birth to him. That was bad defending….or at the very least, the defender lacks the pace/experience to not get caught out like that. Vic kicked the ball away from him and beat him with pace. That ball was the defender’s to lose and he lost it.
Again, I’m not trying to poo-pooh the victory. A win is a win and great teams win ugly. But I also look for signs that there’s a method to the ‘madness’
The first goal was a classic poachers strike. And a pin-point free kick by Ademola. The ball landed in the box, evading a defender's head and about five yards in front of Osimhen. Victor raced towards the ball and jabbed the ball with his right foot straight into the net. The reaction of the keeper was comical. The ball was already hugging the net before the keeper moved.
The second goal was a defender's nightmare. It was a pure hustle to the ball as the defender tried to casually control Samu's header. Osimhen intercepted the ball and raced towards the goal. With pace, power, and trickery 99% of most strikers will not score that goal. It was so bad for the defender that by the time he recovered, Osimhen was already ten yards ahead of the nearest defender.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.
The first goal was from practiced set pieces. If you watch the game you will see Eagles tried the same free kick a few minutes earlier. the difference was that the first was a deep kick from right to left to Calvin Bassett but he completely missed the ball.
If to say I don post picture here before, I for post the picture freeze when the defender slipped for the first goal. But alas, I haven’t and I don’t want to expose all my bank account information to the World Wide Web by mistakeAbbey wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:57 pmCouldn't disagree more.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:23 pm1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pmThe first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
The first goal was a classic poachers strike. And a pin-point free kick by Ademola. The ball landed in the box, evading a defender's head and about five yards in front of Osimhen. Victor raced towards the ball and jabbed the ball with his right foot straight into the net. The reaction of the keeper was comical. The ball was already hugging the net before the keeper moved.
The second goal was a defender's nightmare. It was a pure hustle to the ball as the defender tried to casually control Samu's header. Osimhen intercepted the ball and raced towards the goal. With pace, power, and trickery 99% of most strikers will not score that goal. It was so bad for the defender that by the time he recovered, Osimhen was already ten yards ahead of the nearest defender.

How does one of the world’s greatest strikers have acres of space in front of goal? It’s either the other team is really bad or a mistake happened. Even your local secondary school would have swarmed Victor Osimhen for that set piece. And that was Rwanda’s plan, until his marker slipped
For the 2nd goal, yes, “mistake” is more debatable. But were I a coach, I’d be looking for that defender’s replacement. That ball was his and Victor stole it. If that was Omeruoh/Ekong, everybody would be saying they’re past it and need to go.
Ugbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
3. Team Coordination
What I did Like
1. Intensity
2. Adaptability
3. Plan
Good write-up with a few valid points, but it seems to be built on a premise of bias against the coach. Two things stood out to me.
Firstly, you gave the coach a “C” for a crucial and difficult away game…his very first as the team’s new coach which he won convincingly. Honestly, that’s some bullshit in my opinion dude.
Secondly, your argument or the fact that you didn’t see the intro of Onyedika and Bruno as a tactical move to close out the game makes me think your real issue is with your preferred players not starting the game. You probably disagreed with the coach selection of players who fit his offensive system which, by the way, worked successfully.
This was the first time I’ve ever seen this group of Super Eagles players dominate an away game and come away with a positive result.
So, to some extent, I think your write-up was disingenuous because you weren’t fair to the new coach and the players for what they achieved on Friday, especially given all the “firsts” involved. A new formation and a fresh philosophy with a new coach. That was a tough challenge my guy, and they deserve credit for what they accomplished….PERIOD!
Me i was not not impressed. Pedestrian passing the ball around for 80% of their possession wont work against quality teams that are hungry. SA or Ghana and that game will likeky be a L. They dont pass the eye test for me. Sans Osimhen and maybe Samu, it ends in a draw. Simon was short one most of the game, Iwobo was just doing the fundamentals without much risk taking. They were too cautious and tentative. I want to see a well oil unit with attacking creativity and flair.
Last edited by oscar52 on Sun Mar 23, 2025 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- theDunamis
oscar52 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:19 am Me i was not not impressed. Pedestrian passing the ball around for 80% of their possession wont work against quality teams that are hungry. SA or Ghaba and that game will likeky be a L. They dont pass the eye test for me. Sans Osimhen and maybe Samu, it ends in a draw. Simon was short one most of the game, Iwobo was just doing the fundamentals without much risk taking. They were too cautious and tentative. I want to see a well oil unit with attacking creativity and flair.
In 3 days with a new coach and a new philosophy??? While the soccer restaurant is still taking orders, sir, do you also want to see the Brazil 70 team? And the 2010 Spanish team is also on the menu if that suits your taste better.

This is a fair writeup, but as part of "What I did Like" I would have added that the addition of effective pieces was a welcome new dimension in this team. When he was being hired, he insisted on bringing along his set piece specialist. We can see how important that has been to determining the game outcome. Everyone is shouting Osimhen, but it was a rehearsed passage of play that told Vic b4 hand where to be for that 1st goal. If you watch the goal again, you will see how cleverly our players were trained to stay onside. They already knew where the ball was headed so there was no need to follow the Rwanda's defenders as they drifted backwards towards their goal. This had the double effect of freeing our players from their markers and of course opening the back post space that Vic ran into. Also if the free headers that landed on Troost's head had gone in, then we could have all been talking a different story by now. We could have scored at least 4 from set pieces that Rwanda could do nothing about. Only poor finishing saved them.Ugbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
3. Team Coordination
What I did Like
1. Intensity
2. Adaptability
3. Plan
Due this, would grade him B- at least. C- is a bit harsh.
I'm glad for this post though because the forum was starting to look like Finidi's post-Ghana friendly game when everyone was shouting jogo bonido while ignoring the glaring inadequacies.
LMFAOOO Nigerians are a very interesting bunch, una still dey fantasize about "mouth watering football" in this our current situation, really Nigerians??!
Pls if it will take anyhow/confusing football to confuse our opponents and ugly our way into qualifying to the world cup, I'll take that without thinking twice right now