Best Super Eagles Right Back Ever?

mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Eguavon was the worst player in the 1994 squad, while his replacement, which was Mobi Oparaku was also terrible. I remembered Yobo hooking us up with one of his bodies plying his trade in the 3rd division, he was not it. If I'm not mistaken his name is Abbey George, he looked out of place in most of the games he played. I think Aina is the best RB we've seen in the last 25 years.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!
mastermind
Re: Best Super Eagles Right Back Ever?

Post by mastermind »

Be More Human!!

Did you ever get to watch Sylvanus “Quicksilver” Okpala?
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Dammy wrote: Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:51 pm Did you ever get to watch Sylvanus “Quicksilver” Okpala?
Okpala ain't that polished... 😂 Aina is rated best defender in the epl this season
Be More Human!!

Common guys. Please let’s not

Aina is definitely the best SE RB in modern times but I prefer Chidi Ordia. :thumb:
KIZONZO

Post by KIZONZO »

We have always struggled with the right back position. Godwin Okpara was good. Jero shapoke was very talented but injury finished his career. Aina seems to be the best we've had in that position!

Those mentioning Sylvanus Okpala. He is on the same level as Tyronne Ebuehi. Good, but not great or consistent enough.
You never realize what you have till you lose it.

Gbenga Okunowa? :taunt:

mastermind wrote: Sat Mar 22, 2025 11:33 pm
Dammy wrote: Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:51 pm Did you ever get to watch Sylvanus “Quicksilver” Okpala?
Okpala ain't that polished... 😂 Aina is rated best defender in the epl this season
Okpala ain’t that polished ??? If you were in the village your intestines would be used to fence off the spot where it happed

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

KIZONZO wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:26 am We have always struggled with the right back position. Godwin Okpara was good. Jero shapoke was very talented but injury finished his career. Aina seems to be the best we've had in that position!

Those mentioning Sylvanus Okpala. He is on the same level as Tyronne Ebuehi. Good, but not great or consistent enough.
Aina is not consistent either.
KIZONZO

Post by KIZONZO »

ANC wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 1:05 am
KIZONZO wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:26 am We have always struggled with the right back position. Godwin Okpara was good. Jero shapoke was very talented but injury finished his career. Aina seems to be the best we've had in that position!

Aina is not consistent either.
Even google disagrees with your answer by just typing"Is Ola Aina consistent?"
Aina became a key player and a regular starter for a 2nd placed team in the EPL, was very strong and in the team of the tournament at last Nation's cup for Nigeria, has very good games and multiple clearances from the far post.

If that's not consistent, I'm not sure what comes close!
You never realize what you have till you lose it.

Aina and Okpara are very good shouts. Chidi Ordiah was good as well, as was Yobo when he started his SE career as a RB.

davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:22 am Aina is definitely the best SE RB in modern times but I prefer Chidi Ordia. :thumb:
You Sir are a true naija fan and I agree with you 100%. Chidi Odiah

I think he's our best RB ever. He's played at a higher level club wise than any of our previous right backs and has straight up balled at 3 AFCONs.

We’ve always struggled to find good fight backs for some unknown reasons. Most of those who have played there in recent years have converted from their original positions - Yobo, Ambrose, Eguavoen, Oparaku. Even the older generation of Tony Igwe, Ekeji, Sofoluwe, Atuegbu, Adiele were converted from their original positions.

Aina is okay but for me he is not our best ever RB. I still find him a bit too casual and sometimes can be very poor. But he is having his best seasons and has about two more years to stake his claim for our best ever RB.

My choice would be Chidi Odiah. He was solid, both when defending and when attacking. Most of us didn’t see him play for his club regularly because he spent most of his career in Russia. But he showed us his quality when playing for the SE.

If you ask the older folks, they would say Tony Igwe or Patrick Ekeji.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Yisa Shofoluwe?

Dammy wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:22 amYisa Shofoluwe?
Mainly played at LB and was not a natural RB.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I want to believe that highlighted is a joke. Meanwhile, Okpala was primarily a midfielder.

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:36 am
Dammy wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:22 amYisa Shofoluwe?
Mainly played at LB and was not a natural RB.
He played both RB and LB interchangeably and effortlessly, ditto Bright Omokaro

Chidi Odiah, easy choice for me.

Best for me. Can't think of anyone better

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:05 am We’ve always struggled to find good fight backs for some unknown reasons. Most of those who have played there in recent years have converted from their original positions - Yobo, Ambrose, Eguavoen, Oparaku. Even the older generation of Tony Igwe, Ekeji, Sofoluwe, Atuegbu, Adiele were converted from their original positions.

Aina is okay but for me he is not our best ever RB. I still find him a bit too casual and sometimes can be very poor. But he is having his best seasons and has about two more years to stake his claim for our best ever RB.

My choice would be Chidi Odiah. He was solid, both when defending and when attacking. Most of us didn’t see him play for his club regularly because he spent most of his career in Russia. But he showed us his quality when playing for the SE.

If you ask the older folks, they would say Tony Igwe or Patrick Ekeji.
Chidi Odiah is a good shout.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Do not forget that Emenalo was also in that 1994 squad (and was playing for a third division team at the time). His post football career as as an administrator has redeemed him and made people forget that he was not good enough to play international football ⚽️.
mastermind wrote: Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:10 pm
Eguavon was the worst player in the 1994 squad, while his replacement, which was Mobi Oparaku was also terrible. I remembered Yobo hooking us up with one of his bodies plying his trade in the 3rd division, he was not it. If I'm not mistaken his name is Abbey George, he looked out of place in most of the games he played. I think Aina is the best RB we've seen in the last 25 years.
Last edited by wiseone on Sun Mar 23, 2025 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.