COACH CHELLE'S DEBUT.....Tactics Corner
Re: COACH CHELLE'S DEBUT.....Tactics Corner
LMFAOOO Nigerians are a very interesting bunch, una still dey fantasize about "mouth watering football with pattern" in this our current situation, really Nigerians??! So we still have a choice
Pls if it will take anyhow/confusing football to confuse our opponents and ugly our way into qualifying to the world cup, I'll take that without thinking twice right now

- theDunamis
Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 4:33 am LMFAOOO Nigerians are a very interesting bunch, una still dey fantasize about "mouth watering football" in this our current situation, really Nigerians??!
Pls if it will take anyhow/confusing football to confuse our opponents and ugly our way into qualifying to the world cup, I'll take that without thinking twice right now![]()
I know right!!

- danfo driver
You are trying too hard. Take some time off and get some rest.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:23 pm1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pmThe first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
Thanks for this post. I didn’t want to sound like a spoil sport, but I watched 15 minutes of highlights yesterday and I didn’t see any discernible attacking build up. The goals were both borne out of mistakes.
I’m hopeful this all improves but I heard the noise about the game and considered watching a replay, but decided to watch extended highlights instead.
The only possible reason for playing 6 players out of position is that you thought it would confuse the opposition. The other much worse reason is that you don’t know what you’re doing
The second goal was a headed pass, which the striker controlled away from the defender, raced own and chipped the goalkeeper.
2nd goal: All I would say is that if that were a Nigerian defender, there’d be at least 10 threads up right now abusing his mother and father for giving birth to him. That was bad defending….or at the very least, the defender lacks the pace/experience to not get caught out like that. Vic kicked the ball away from him and beat him with pace. That ball was the defender’s to lose and he lost it.
Again, I’m not trying to poo-pooh the victory. A win is a win and great teams win ugly. But I also look for signs that there’s a method to the ‘madness’
If you think its easy to mark Victor Osimhen, one of the top strikers in the world, go and mark him and see if you will survive it.

- danfo driver
oscar52 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:19 am Me i was not not impressed. Pedestrian passing the ball around for 80% of their possession wont work against quality teams that are hungry. SA or Ghaba and that game will likeky be a L. They dont pass the eye test for me. Sans Osimhen and maybe Samu, it ends in a draw. Simon was short one most of the game, Iwobo was just doing the fundamentals without much risk taking. They were too cautious and tentative. I want to see a well oil unit with attacking creativity and flair.

"SA or 'Ghaba' and the game is an L."

Like I told Dean, please take some time off an get some rest. You are tired.
- danfo driver
My brother, a lot of people here dont know much about football. They think its a video game or robots. It is well.theDunamis wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 1:39 amoscar52 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:19 am Me i was not not impressed. Pedestrian passing the ball around for 80% of their possession wont work against quality teams that are hungry. SA or Ghaba and that game will likeky be a L. They dont pass the eye test for me. Sans Osimhen and maybe Samu, it ends in a draw. Simon was short one most of the game, Iwobo was just doing the fundamentals without much risk taking. They were too cautious and tentative. I want to see a well oil unit with attacking creativity and flair.
In 3 days with a new coach and a new philosophy??? While the soccer restaurant is still taking orders, sir, do you also want to see the Brazil 70 team? And the 2010 Spanish team is also on the menu if that suits your taste better.![]()
deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 11:53 pmIf to say I don post picture here before, I for post the picture freeze when the defender slipped for the first goal. But alas, I haven’t and I don’t want to expose all my bank account information to the World Wide Web by mistakeAbbey wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:57 pmCouldn't disagree more.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:23 pm1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pmThe first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
Thanks for this post. I didn’t want to sound like a spoil sport, but I watched 15 minutes of highlights yesterday and I didn’t see any discernible attacking build up. The goals were both borne out of mistakes.
I’m hopeful this all improves but I heard the noise about the game and considered watching a replay, but decided to watch extended highlights instead.
The only possible reason for playing 6 players out of position is that you thought it would confuse the opposition. The other much worse reason is that you don’t know what you’re doing
The second goal was a headed pass, which the striker controlled away from the defender, raced own and chipped the goalkeeper.
2nd goal: All I would say is that if that were a Nigerian defender, there’d be at least 10 threads up right now abusing his mother and father for giving birth to him. That was bad defending….or at the very least, the defender lacks the pace/experience to not get caught out like that. Vic kicked the ball away from him and beat him with pace. That ball was the defender’s to lose and he lost it.
Again, I’m not trying to poo-pooh the victory. A win is a win and great teams win ugly. But I also look for signs that there’s a method to the ‘madness’
The first goal was a classic poachers strike. And a pin-point free kick by Ademola. The ball landed in the box, evading a defender's head and about five yards in front of Osimhen. Victor raced towards the ball and jabbed the ball with his right foot straight into the net. The reaction of the keeper was comical. The ball was already hugging the net before the keeper moved.
The second goal was a defender's nightmare. It was a pure hustle to the ball as the defender tried to casually control Samu's header. Osimhen intercepted the ball and raced towards the goal. With pace, power, and trickery 99% of most strikers will not score that goal. It was so bad for the defender that by the time he recovered, Osimhen was already ten yards ahead of the nearest defender.. But trust me, for that first goal, Victor’s marker slipped and almost hit the ground. Victor ran unchallenged and slotted the ball in.
How does one of the world’s greatest strikers have acres of space in front of goal? It’s either the other team is really bad or a mistake happened. Even your local secondary school would have swarmed Victor Osimhen for that set piece. And that was Rwanda’s plan, until his marker slipped
For the 2nd goal, yes, “mistake” is more debatable. But were I a coach, I’d be looking for that defender’s replacement. That ball was his and Victor stole it. If that was Omeruoh/Ekong, everybody would be saying they’re past it and need to go.
Why are you arguing about a game you didn't watch?
The defender didn't slip. He was beaten to at best a 50-50 ball by Osimhen.
What happened to him after the crucial moment doesn't figure
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- danfo driver
its his interpretation of the second goal that has me more befuddled. This guy actually thinks its normal for any defender in the world to stop one of the best strikers in the world. He even said after the goal, he would have changed the defender.txj wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 2:38 pmdeanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 11:53 pmIf to say I don post picture here before, I for post the picture freeze when the defender slipped for the first goal. But alas, I haven’t and I don’t want to expose all my bank account information to the World Wide Web by mistakeAbbey wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:57 pmCouldn't disagree more.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:23 pm1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pmThe first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
The first goal was a classic poachers strike. And a pin-point free kick by Ademola. The ball landed in the box, evading a defender's head and about five yards in front of Osimhen. Victor raced towards the ball and jabbed the ball with his right foot straight into the net. The reaction of the keeper was comical. The ball was already hugging the net before the keeper moved.
The second goal was a defender's nightmare. It was a pure hustle to the ball as the defender tried to casually control Samu's header. Osimhen intercepted the ball and raced towards the goal. With pace, power, and trickery 99% of most strikers will not score that goal. It was so bad for the defender that by the time he recovered, Osimhen was already ten yards ahead of the nearest defender.. But trust me, for that first goal, Victor’s marker slipped and almost hit the ground. Victor ran unchallenged and slotted the ball in.
How does one of the world’s greatest strikers have acres of space in front of goal? It’s either the other team is really bad or a mistake happened. Even your local secondary school would have swarmed Victor Osimhen for that set piece. And that was Rwanda’s plan, until his marker slipped
For the 2nd goal, yes, “mistake” is more debatable. But were I a coach, I’d be looking for that defender’s replacement. That ball was his and Victor stole it. If that was Omeruoh/Ekong, everybody would be saying they’re past it and need to go.
What happened to him after the crucial moment doesn't figure

danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 2:43 pmits his interpretation of the second goal that has me more befuddled. This guy actually thinks its normal for any defender in the world to stop one of the best strikers in the world. He even said after the goal, he would have changed the defender.txj wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 2:38 pmdeanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 11:53 pmIf to say I don post picture here before, I for post the picture freeze when the defender slipped for the first goal. But alas, I haven’t and I don’t want to expose all my bank account information to the World Wide Web by mistakeAbbey wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:57 pmCouldn't disagree more.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:23 pm1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pmThe first goal was a set piece.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 8:49 pm
What happened to him after the crucial moment doesn't figure![]()
I dont even know what to say here. One of the best strikers in the world and you think a defender should easily take the ball from him??? LOL

Its like a boxer who is knocked out saying that the reason he lost is because he fell down!
- danfo driver
txj wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 2:50 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 2:43 pmits his interpretation of the second goal that has me more befuddled. This guy actually thinks its normal for any defender in the world to stop one of the best strikers in the world. He even said after the goal, he would have changed the defender.txj wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 2:38 pmdeanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 11:53 pmIf to say I don post picture here before, I for post the picture freeze when the defender slipped for the first goal. But alas, I haven’t and I don’t want to expose all my bank account information to the World Wide Web by mistakeAbbey wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:57 pmCouldn't disagree more.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:23 pm1st goal: Victor’s marker slipped. I was about to start abusing the Rwandans for forgetting to mark Victor Osimhen, but if you look at the replay, his marker slipped, allowing Victor an open goal. Football is simple. When you have a dangerous player advancing, you mark or double mark him. How did Victor Osimhen get an open look on goal with no Rwandan in sight? Watch the replaydanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 9:19 pm
The first goal was a set piece.
What happened to him after the crucial moment doesn't figure![]()
I dont even know what to say here. One of the best strikers in the world and you think a defender should easily take the ball from him??? LOL
Its like a boxer who is knocked out saying that the reason he lost is because he fell down!

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
I don't believe he watched the game.
I didn’t. I said so in the first post. I watched extended highlights. I’m not arguing about the game…I was just looking to see if the Super Eagles were able to plan and execute an attacking move. And in 15 minutes, I didn’t see it…and I remarked that the goals came from mistakes…and not what I would call proper executions.
First goal. The defender slipped. It’s in the replays…I even have the picture still. But not all the camera angles showed it.
Great teams need to learn to win ugly, and so I can’t knock it. Matter of fact, our World Cup dream is in the balance because we couldn’t win ugly.
But over time, against better teams, you have to learn how to have an attacking plan and execute it. This trial and error soccer we’ve been playing for years won’t cut it.
That is the point the starter of this thread and I are making.
To someone that didn’t know, can you honestly say that team looked like it had the last 2 African players of the year on the field? Nigeria’s play has not matched its talent for years now, and my hope was that I’d see something different with the new coach. Again, it’s his first game, but it was my hope.
Last edited by deanotito on Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- danfo driver
you admit not to watching the game but some how with "extended highlights," you are able to tell that we did not have an attacking plan or execute one?deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:37 pmI didn’t. I said so in the first post. I watched extended highlights. I’m not arguing about the game…I was just looking to see if the Super Eagles were able to plan and execute an attacking move. And in 15 minutes, I didn’t see it…and I remarked that the goals came from mistakes…and not what I would call proper executions.
First goal. The defender slipped. It’s in the replays…I even have the picture still. But not all the camera angles showed it.
Great teams need to learn to win ugly, and so I can’t knock it. Matter of fact, our World Cup dream is in the balance because we couldn’t win ugly.
But over time, against better teams, you have to learn how to have an attacking plan and execute it. This trial and error soccer we’ve been playing for years won’t cut it.
That is the point the starter of this thread and I are making.

you people have time. smh. there were two wicked crosses by the SE , i was hoping it ended up as own goals. As of right now any W by the SE for me i no senddanfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:42 pmyou admit not to watching the game but some how with "extended highlights," you are able to tell that we did not have an attacking plan or execute one?deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:37 pmI didn’t. I said so in the first post. I watched extended highlights. I’m not arguing about the game…I was just looking to see if the Super Eagles were able to plan and execute an attacking move. And in 15 minutes, I didn’t see it…and I remarked that the goals came from mistakes…and not what I would call proper executions.
That is the point the starter of this thread and I are making.![]()
The other point that I disagree slightly with Ugbowo on is about the many changes in the team setup. I actually thought it was refreshing. But obviously the relationship between players needs to improve. And YES, it was a risky move. But he did show flexibility in tweaking things that were not working..
I think that one problem we've had in the SE over several years is that we don't constantly challenge our players. Instead trotting out the same lineups and roles, game after game...
You need to consistently challenge your players in order to enhance the competitiveness of your team.
And we need to see improvements in the next game.
I think that one problem we've had in the SE over several years is that we don't constantly challenge our players. Instead trotting out the same lineups and roles, game after game...
You need to consistently challenge your players in order to enhance the competitiveness of your team.
And we need to see improvements in the next game.
Last edited by txj on Sun Mar 23, 2025 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Is that truly what I said?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:42 pmyou admit not to watching the game but some how with "extended highlights," you are able to tell that we did not have an attacking plan or execute one?deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:37 pmI didn’t. I said so in the first post. I watched extended highlights. I’m not arguing about the game…I was just looking to see if the Super Eagles were able to plan and execute an attacking move. And in 15 minutes, I didn’t see it…and I remarked that the goals came from mistakes…and not what I would call proper executions.
“I watched extended highlights. I’m not arguing about the game…I was just looking to see if the Super Eagles were able to plan and execute an attacking move. And in 15 minutes, I didn’t see it“
So if you watched the full game and you saw it, I’m all ears, but it doesn’t seem like a single person on this thread is saying so. Most of you seem to be in the “a win is a win” column. And I agree. It is. I was truly hoping for more
- danfo driver
What I am saying is that it is IMPOSSIBLE to discern whether a team had a plan or executed a plan by watching extended highlights. Those videos are cut and paste videos -- how are you going to see any pattern in them? A game is 90 minutes and you watched a cut and paste 15 mins excerpt and thought you'd be able to see plans and execution?deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:53 pmIs that truly what I said?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:42 pmyou admit not to watching the game but some how with "extended highlights," you are able to tell that we did not have an attacking plan or execute one?deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:37 pmI didn’t. I said so in the first post. I watched extended highlights. I’m not arguing about the game…I was just looking to see if the Super Eagles were able to plan and execute an attacking move. And in 15 minutes, I didn’t see it…and I remarked that the goals came from mistakes…and not what I would call proper executions.
“I watched extended highlights. I’m not arguing about the game…I was just looking to see if the Super Eagles were able to plan and execute an attacking move. And in 15 minutes, I didn’t see it“
So if you watched the full game and you saw it, I’m all ears, but it doesn’t seem like a single person on this thread is saying so. Most of you seem to be in the “a win is a win” column. And I agree. It is. I was truly hoping for more
I am NOT in the win is a win column. Go to the match thread and you will see my position on what I hoped to see from a coach who had 2.5 days with his new players to completely overhaul formation, tactics, strategy etc etc; and whether I saw what I hoped to see.
- theDunamis
danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:00 amMy brother, a lot of people here dont know much about football. They think its a video game or robots. It is well.

The coach is new but 90% of the boys are not. Its the same sleepy soccer under Rohr, Passionate, abd Finidi. Only Eguavoens lads have sone energy to them. About 20% of these players these to be phased out if the new coach wants a swuard that pass the eye test. These boys thst played Rwanda cannot beat South Africa if Osimhen does not play.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:00 amMy brother, a lot of people here dont know much about football. They think its a video game or robots. It is well.theDunamis wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 1:39 amoscar52 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:19 am Me i was not not impressed. Pedestrian passing the ball around for 80% of their possession wont work against quality teams that are hungry. SA or Ghaba and that game will likeky be a L. They dont pass the eye test for me. Sans Osimhen and maybe Samu, it ends in a draw. Simon was short one most of the game, Iwobo was just doing the fundamentals without much risk taking. They were too cautious and tentative. I want to see a well oil unit with attacking creativity and flair.
In 3 days with a new coach and a new philosophy??? While the soccer restaurant is still taking orders, sir, do you also want to see the Brazil 70 team? And the 2010 Spanish team is also on the menu if that suits your taste better.![]()
- danfo driver
Tactics, strategy and formation was new.oscar52 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 4:53 pmThe coach is new but 90% of the boys are not. Its the same sleepy soccer under Rohr, Passionate, abd Finidi. Only Eguavoens lads have sone energy to them. About 20% of these players these to be phased out if the new coach wants a swuard that pass the eye test. These boys thst played Rwanda cannot beat South Africa if Osimhen does not play.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:00 amMy brother, a lot of people here dont know much about football. They think its a video game or robots. It is well.theDunamis wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 1:39 amoscar52 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:19 am Me i was not not impressed. Pedestrian passing the ball around for 80% of their possession wont work against quality teams that are hungry. SA or Ghaba and that game will likeky be a L. They dont pass the eye test for me. Sans Osimhen and maybe Samu, it ends in a draw. Simon was short one most of the game, Iwobo was just doing the fundamentals without much risk taking. They were too cautious and tentative. I want to see a well oil unit with attacking creativity and flair.
As for the highlighted portion, I guess we were pressing aggressively under ****, "Passionate" and Finidi?
Life is easy, my brother. If you dont like the football, you have two options: (1) dont watch it; or (2) go and start a protest against the coach and get him fired. I didn't like the football under Finidi and after his first 2 matches, I refused to watch the team and simply supported them through CE's match threads.
P.s- Its not "soccer," its "football."
The problem is anyhow confusing football will not produce winning results against organized teams with even average quality. I will give the new coach one more game but the Rwanda game was a regression from the Eguavoen era for me.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 4:33 am LMFAOOO Nigerians are a very interesting bunch, una still dey fantasize about "mouth watering football" in this our current situation, really Nigerians??!
Pls if it will take anyhow/confusing football to confuse our opponents and ugly our way into qualifying to the world cup, I'll take that without thinking twice right now![]()
https://www.plus.fifa.com/en/player/c97 ... dfbd153ef7oscar52 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 5:02 pmThe problem is anyhow confusing football will not produce winning results against organized teams with even average quality. I will give the new coach one more game but the Rwanda game was a regression from the Eguavoen era for me.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 4:33 am LMFAOOO Nigerians are a very interesting bunch, una still dey fantasize about "mouth watering football" in this our current situation, really Nigerians??!
Not really, SA were very lucky vs the SE. Their full back should have been sent off . A horrible tackle on Dele.
Also Rwanda were very impressive vs SA
https://www.plus.fifa.com/en/player/68f ... fb3bcd2548
Also Rwanda are very likely to go on 10 points if they defeat Lesotho. This our group get as e be
iworo wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 12:06 amUgbowo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 2:45 pm Things I DID NOT like
1. What was that starting line up????
Chelle gave the impression that he was doing his homework on our boys and was watching any and everything related to the SE. He looked or seemed like a man prepared. I figured he must have spent hours watching tape of old games etc. This starting line up was a shocker. I saw Osayi and Chukwueze. Two players who had not had the best seasons up until this point. I also saw a line up with Simon Samu and Lookman in it. I figured this had to be a flat 4-4-2 right? Right? WRONG!!!
2. What was that formation????
With the personnel listed I was even more in SHOCK at the formation when the match started. A diamond shaped 4-4-2 with Aina at LB (A player having the season of his life at RB), Ndidi at the base (A player enjoying the second phase of his career as abox to box 8), Iwobi at LCM (excuse me?), Samu at RCM (you having a laugh???), and Lookman at the tip (an attacking player that has eviscerated everyone from the inside left position all year!?) of the diamond. And then Moses Simon as part of a front two! Chineke! Coach Eric started 6 players in unfamiliar positions after 3 days of training!!! This is INSANE!
3. Team Coordination
You start 6 players out of position and you get exactly what transpired for 60 minutes yesterday. We were disjointed and uncoordinated for long stretches. Many a time, once the Rwandan team figured out what was happening, the out ball was to their full backs because our midfielders were all tucked in and arrived late every single time. Our 2 forwards occupied the 2 CBs but the full backs were in acres of space to get the ball whenever Rwanda passed out the back. Once the tucked in midfielders got pulled wide, our midfield spread wide open with passing lanes everywhere. Thankfully Rwanda is a terrible team so we survived. On the ball we were even worse. Simon was just running around trying to get in behind...crazy when u have Osi next to you. Passing left a lot to be desired...just not good enough.
What I did Like
1. Intensity
We seemed to have come out with the intent to "fight for every ball" and we chased them all around the pitch and made so many recoveries until we gassed out. I felt like we ran too much because our press was uncoordinated because of the lack of familiarity with the formation. There were so many times Iwobi didnt know who and when to go but he still went regardless. He and others were fighting.
2. Adaptability
Coach gave the 4-4-2 diamond rubbish another 15 mins before deciding he had seen enough. The introduction of Onyedika and Bruno along with the change in positions for Iwobi, Simon and Lookman effectively killed off the game. We looked so much better and had much balance. It's too bad we were tired by then, we probably would have scored more.
3. Plan
You could see a clear game plan from the SE. It just looked goofy for an hour. Maybe with more repetitions, the players would have been more familiar with the coach's intentions but you could at east see an attempt at one. We were very dangerous at set pieces as well due to many sumptuous deliveries from Lookman
Overall I'll grade him a C-.
I just dont know how u justify making so many changes with only a few days of training. That's borderline foolishness. We were bailed out by our WC striker when we were not in a good moment honestly. I am not sure how this game goes without Vic based on that line up/formation. Kudos to him for making the necessary changes and seeing off the game in a comfortable manner. But he better not try that ish again.
Good write-up with a few valid points, but it seems to be built on a premise of bias against the coach. Two things stood out to me.
Firstly, you gave the coach a “C” for a crucial and difficult away game…his very first as the team’s new coach which he won convincingly. Honestly, that’s some bullshit in my opinion dude.
Secondly, your argument or the fact that you didn’t see the intro of Onyedika and Bruno as a tactical move to close out the game makes me think your real issue is with your preferred players not starting the game. You probably disagreed with the coach selection of players who fit his offensive system which, by the way, worked successfully.
This was the first time I’ve ever seen this group of Super Eagles players dominate an away game and come away with a positive result.
So, to some extent, I think your write-up was disingenuous because you weren’t fair to the new coach and the players for what they achieved on Friday, especially given all the “firsts” involved. A new formation and a fresh philosophy with a new coach. That was a tough challenge my guy, and they deserve credit for what they accomplished….PERIOD!
Why would it be premised on bias against the coach?
We have a terrible culture of treating critical commentary like it's a "crime"
Last edited by txj on Sun Mar 23, 2025 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oh, the defender definitely slipped. No contesting that, but describing the ‘mistake’ as resulting in the goal is stretching it a bit.deanotito wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 11:53 pm If to say I don post picture here before, I for post the picture freeze when the defender slipped for the first goal. But alas, I haven’t and I don’t want to expose all my bank account information to the World Wide Web by mistake. But trust me, for that first goal, Victor’s marker slipped and almost hit the ground. Victor ran unchallenged and slotted the ball in.
Firstly, the move was a rehearsed one, and the SE would not have rehearsed it believing there’d be no defenders around. Ultimately it’s about movement and execution. Like someone said, they had tried the same move moments earlier.
Secondly, who’s to say Osimhen’s burst of movement, or suddenly change in direction wasn’t responsible for the slip?
Let’s not forget that Ekong was right in there, so they would have had to pay him close attention too.
You’d quickly run out of reliable defenders.For the 2nd goal, yes, “mistake” is more debatable. But were I a coach, I’d be looking for that defender’s replacement. That ball was his and Victor stole it. If that was Omeruoh/Ekong, everybody would be saying they’re past it and need to go.

Osimhen is well known to ‘steal’ the ball off some of the best defenders in the world.
It’s his quickness of thought, his quickness of movement and those long elastic legs God has blessed him with. Simply put, he beat the player to the airborne ball and went on to score.