Nigeria steps up pursuit of Arsenal’s Ethan Nwaneri

With his stock rising, the battle for his international allegiance is set to intensify in the coming months

EAGLE OR LION?: Ethan Nwaneri of Arsenal has a decision to make

THE Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) is making efforts to persuade Arsenal’s rising star, Ethan Nwaneri, to represent the Super Eagles instead of his birth country, England.

According to multiple reports in Nigeria, the National Sports Commission, the country’s highest sport’s governing body, is prepared to support the NFF in its bid to secure the talented young attacker.

Nwaneri’s international future has been a subject of debate following his impressive performances for Arsenal.

The 17-year-old has already represented England at youth levels, setting the stage for a potential tug-of-war between the NFF and the English FA.

NFF Holds Key to Super Eagles Selection

Speaking to SportsBoom.com, the spokesperson for Nigeria’s Sports Commission, Mr. Daniel Adeyanju, stated that the NFF has the final say on national team selections.

Arsenal teenager Ethan Nwaneri makes history as his team cruise past Brentford

“Ethan is a very talented player, and I’m sure many football federations would be interested in him,” Adeyanju told SportsBoom.com.

“We’ve seen the reports, but I can confirm that it is the NFF that determines who plays for the Super Eagles. When the time comes, they will make their position known.”

Nigeria’s Track Record with Dual-Nationality Players

The NFF has successfully convinced several European-born players to represent Nigeria in the past.

Notable names include Fulham’s Alex Iwobi and Calvin Bassey, Atalanta’s Ademola Lookman, Nottingham Forest’s Ola Aina, and former QPR winger Bright Osayi-Samuel.

However, the federation has also missed out on high-profile talents, including AC Milan duo Fikayo Tomori and Tammy Abraham, as well as Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, who opted to play for England.

Strategic Plan to Convince Nwaneri

A senior NFF board member, speaking anonymously to SportsBoom.com, revealed the federation’s plan to secure Nwaneri’s commitment.

“He’s a fantastic player, and we really want him. In fact, it was coach Eric Chelle who first suggested we make a move for him,” the official told SportsBoom.com.

“We plan to meet with his family in London and present our vision for his international career. Alex Iwobi could also play a role in convincing him since they share an Arsenal connection. If he chooses Nigeria, he will have no trouble settling into the squad, as we have several England-born players in our ranks.”

The official also highlighted the opportunities available in the Nigerian national team. “Playing for England is appealing, but we also have a strong team, and players often get more chances here. Aina, Lookman, Bassey, and Iwobi have all improved significantly with the Super Eagles.”

Nwaneri has been a revelation for Arsenal during the 2024-25 season, stepping up following injuries to Gabriel Jesus, Bukayo Saka, and Kai Havertz. The young midfielder has scored eight goals in 27 appearances, including two in the UEFA Champions League, making him one of the youngest scorers in the competition’s knockout stage.

With Nwaneri’s stock rising, the battle for his international allegiance is set to intensify in the coming months.

https://www.voice-online.co.uk/sport/fo ... n-nwaneri/
Re: Nigeria steps up pursuit of Arsenal’s Ethan Nwaneri

They should bring Iwobi, Aina, and Lookman along with NFF when they meet with him. Their career surged after selecting Nigeria.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 9:42 pm :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Why would any of these guys join the dumpster fire called Nigeria ?

Imagine switching allegiances only to not be called up for a quota or slot player.

Jokers. That young man will be in the next England squad. And it won't just be to make up the numbers. We have to make our own grassroots our foundation. Chasing dual nationality players should not be the only plan.

Even if Nigeria qualified for the WC, I do NOT understand the delusion. Most of you are prostitutingly in love with Div 3 and Div 2 players, as well as backwater, retirement and relegation fodder. What do you think? Nwaneri will leave Bellingham of Madrid, Palmer of Chelsea, Foden of City and Rice of Arsenal to come and be playing with relegation trash like Aribo and retirement league sh1t like Al Hassan?? :lol: :lol:

Do yoiu guys even think? Do you guys not see that your greed, wickedness and criminality is something that will continue to cost us across board? Many of you will kill just to be able to see a Div 3 player, YOU ARE THE FOOKING PROBLEM! YOU! YES, YOU!!!

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 9:52 pm Why would any of these guys join the dumpster fire called Nigeria ?

Imagine switching allegiances only to not be called up for a quota or slot player.
Don't worry Nwaneri will be fine, one Usman Mama Daniel that plays for Zamfara utd will take his slot anyway but Nwaneri I'm sure wouldn't mind :woot:

There is no battle for his allegiance, like I said on the zoom we need to stop trying to reap where we did not sow.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:32 pm Even if Nigeria qualified for the WC, I do NOT understand the delusion. Most of you are prostitutingly in love with Div 3 and Div 2 players, as well as backwater, retirement and relegation fodder. What do you think? Nwaneri will leave Bellingham of Madrid, Palmer of Chelsea, Foden of City and Rice of Arsenal to come and be playing with relegation trash like Aribo and retirement league sh1t like Al Hassan?? :lol: :lol:

Do yoiu guys even think? Do you guys not see that your greed, wickedness and criminality is something that will continue to cost us across board? Many of you will kill just to be able to see a Div 3 player, YOU ARE THE FOOKING PROBLEM! YOU! YES, YOU!!!
You act like we have an abundance of players in top division clubs. If we do, can you name?

Ejuke, Uche, Onyeka. Who else???

Which Div 3 player was on this team!!
Last edited by Synopsis on Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:36 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 9:52 pm Why would any of these guys join the dumpster fire called Nigeria ?

Don't worry Nwaneri will be fine, one Usman Mama Daniel that plays for Zamfara utd will take his slot anyway but Nwaneri I'm sure wouldn't mind :woot:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You know what infuriates me the most. we have people in the media, the fan base and cybereagles who go out of their way to try to justify sh1t like this. There were people who justified Tanimu - a guy who is now languishing on the bench in Div 3.

This really makes my blood boil! :-x :-x

We should focus on fixing our u17s and u20. We are yet to qualify in two worldcups. The current crop of players are the same who failed last time. We have no idea how our u17s u20s are doing. Since we stopped qualifying for the olympics we've failed woefully when it comes to players for the SE. We are becoming a local champion alas AFCON teams like the 80s

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:53 pm We should focus on fixing our u17s and u20. We are yet to qualify in two worldcups. The current crop of players are the same who failed last time. We have no idea how our u17s u20s are doing. Since we stopped qualifying for the olympics we've failed woefully when it comes to players for the SE. We are becoming a local champion alas AFCON teams like the 80s
While we are fixing it, we should pick the team on merit. And our crooked media and demonic fanbase should go get jobs and stop collecting bribe from players to get them on the team. Is that too much to ask???

Look at both games? There are players that Chelle refused to use. Why?? The guy even openly spoke about Papa Daniel today. There is a reason why the guy didnt use them.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:53 pm We should focus on fixing our u17s and u20. We are yet to qualify in two worldcups. The current crop of players are the same who failed last time. We have no idea how our u17s u20s are doing. Since we stopped qualifying for the olympics we've failed woefully when it comes to players for the SE. We are becoming a local champion alas AFCON teams like the 80s
Tbh this is the biggest issue. In the past, we knew who our future stars were by watching u17/u20 world cups. Now I don’t even know if we still have youth teams.

Synopsis wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:58 pm
Tbh this is the biggest issue. In the past, we knew who our future stars were by watching u17/u20 world cups. Now I don’t even know if we still have youth teams.
it's shocking . the likes of Mikel, Onazi, Kanu, etc all went through the youth systems, got familair with CAF ball, even thses current squad all played CAF ball , many of them were part of the 2018 WC squad.

We were grouped with the likes of Benin, Rwanda, SA, Lesotho and Zimbabwe ( only SA has managed to be at the WC and that was 16 years ago) we have 7 points from 6 games ..chei :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: omo , whatever crap we've been doing since 2018 has not worked , 7 freaking years plus . It is time to look and eat up those running our football , they are clueless

abeg make i go watch Argentina vs Brazil. I will continue to enjoy football and will enjoy the one next here in my domot

Babadee

Post by Babadee »

I think Super eagles need less of all this British boys. There are u17 locally with talent that need coaching.

They need to focus on creating a title winning U 17 and u20.

Secondly why will he want to play for Nigeria when he can see skelly and Saka playing for England.

Saka had a better chance than that nwaneri

We should just give all our fringe players a chance at this point and use the rest of the games as a glorified training for them...the likes of Osimhen and co shouldn't even bother honoring any more call up's, let's focus on the AFCON and go all out for broke.

I'm just tired abeg.

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 12:28 am We should just give all our fringe players a chance at this point and use the rest of the games as a glorified training for them...the likes of Osimhen and co shouldn't even bother honoring any more call up's, let's focus on the AFCON and go all out for broke.

I'm just tired abeg.
All we have to do is pick the team on merit.

Just imagine the slots for Aribo, Papa Daniel and Al Hassan went to Chrisantus, Onyeka and Dele-Bashiru. You think the coach wouldnt have used one or 2 or 3 of those? Instead he didnt even play Aribo or Daniel and only played Al Hassan as a RB because his two RBs were injured. :lol:

Even if Nwaneri somehow miraculously agrees to play for Nigeria, they will drop him for some bum that plays for Bendel Insurance all in the name of "homebased quota"

bret- hart wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 4:11 am Even if Nwaneri somehow miraculously agrees to play for Nigeria, they will drop him for some bum that plays for Bendel Insurance all in the name of "homebased quota"
And CE members, our rotten fanbase and demonic media will justify it. They will tell us how "the boys time will come," and how this bendel insurance player was part of a scrimmage and he was passing the ball like pirlo and shooting like thunder balogun. They will tell us how when they saw clips of him, he fit right into the team more than mother theresa fitn into the catholic church. TUEHHHH!!! :oops: :-x

Synopsis wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:58 pm
We can trace this problem to Amaju Pinnick administration, especially the U-23. Pinnick sole focus on the SE has led us to where we are today.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

My favourite Naija term but it really should be SLUT :taunt:
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

danfo driver wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 4:08 am
Tobi17 wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 12:28 am We should just give all our fringe players a chance at this point and use the rest of the games as a glorified training for them...the likes of Osimhen and co shouldn't even bother honoring any more call up's, let's focus on the AFCON and go all out for broke.

I'm just tired abeg.
All we have to do is pick the team on merit.

Just imagine the slots for Aribo, Papa Daniel and Al Hassan went to Chrisantus, Onyeka and Dele-Bashiru. You think the coach wouldnt have used one or 2 or 3 of those? Instead he didnt even play Aribo or Daniel and only played Al Hassan as a RB because his two RBs were injured. :lol:
Lobatan!!

That’s all we ask. The amount of money the greedy *kindpeople* running our football have missed out on for peanuts is mind boggling. Talk about cutting off your nose …
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)