Nigeria has won 4 of her last 12 competitive home games across 4 coaches & 3 stadia.

Goalgetter
Re: Nigeria has won 4 of her last 12 competitive home games across 4 coaches & 3 stadia.

Post by Goalgetter »

iworo wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 11:37 pm
If NFF are smart they would ask for the remaining home games be played in Morocco. But they’re too stupid to notice the trend. The pitch will be better and the players will play better in Morocco than Uyo. Remember how they beat Sao Tome
10-0 in Morocco?
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
Re: Nigeria has won 4 of her last 12 competitive home games across 4 coaches & 3 stadia.

Goalgetter wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:57 am
If NFF are smart they would ask for the remaining home games be played in Morocco. But they’re too stupid to notice the trend. The pitch will be better and the players will play better in Morocco than Uyo. Remember how they beat Sao Tome
10-0 in Morocco?
brah, Soatome ke.. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you and NFF nah who carry first of una class with this kind talk?

Chei!!!!!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Could it be that all these teams come to park the bus in our backyard.

Could it be that it doesn't feel like home for the foreign born players?

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:07 am Could it be that all these teams come to park the bus in our backyard.
This has to be the lamest and most irresponsible excuse ever...when have these teams NOT EVER parked the bus in our backyard over the years? When did "smaller" teams parking the bus against the supposed traditional big teams at their homes become a new phenomenon?

Just drop this embarrassing rhetorics VE, this crop of players just aren't good enough and lack the true Nigerian win at all cost mentality, probably our worst yet most media-pampered generation of players ever (except Osimhen)- the rest are at best club/paper tigers with the bite force of a jelly when it really matters in Africa.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:14 am, edited 2 times in total.

gochino wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:02 am Could it be that it doesn't feel like home for the foreign born players?
But they've been playing there for years so where else can they consider home at this point? They can't even beat almighty Benin republic in neutral grounds so what gives at this point?

When you guys are ready for the uncomfortable conversation, you all will start telling yourselves the truth.

gochino wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:02 am Could it be that it doesn't feel like home for the foreign born players?
But the foreign Morocco, Senegal, Algeria, CIV, are winning at home

Think of it, from 80s till 2000 we went close to 20 years without losing a game at home, in fact our first loss was the Afcon final against Cameroon which ended in penalties. Keep in mind that in this space we hosted 2 Afcons, it wasn't as if we weren't playing enough games. So what exactly changed?

gochino wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:26 am Think of it, from 80s till 2000 we went close to 20 years without losing a game at home, in fact our first loss was the Afcon final against Cameroon which ended in penalties. Keep in mind that in this space we hosted 2 Afcons, it wasn't as if we weren't playing enough games. So what exactly changed?
African football has much improved from that time. The gap between the top and bottom teams has narrowed significantly.

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:42 am
gochino wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:26 am Think of it, from 80s till 2000 we went close to 20 years without losing a game at home, in fact our first loss was the Afcon final against Cameroon which ended in penalties. Keep in mind that in this space we hosted 2 Afcons, it wasn't as if we weren't playing enough games. So what exactly changed?
African football has much improved from that time. The gap between the top and bottom teams has narrowed significantly.
VE

Why then are Senegal and Morocco frequently winning at home? While the gap has closed, the really great teams find the way to win at home. Nigeria clearly cannot be counted among those in recent times.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):

27/03/21 Benin 0-1 Nigeria
07/09/21 Cabo Verde 1 -2 Nigeria
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
13/11/21 Liberia 0-2 Nigeria
25/03/22 Ghana 0-0 Nigeria
13/06/22 São Tomé e Príncipe 0-10 Nigeria
19/11/23 Zimbabwe 1 -1 Nigeria
27/03/23 Guinea-Bissau 0-1 Nigeria
18/06/23 Sierra Leone 2-3 Nigeria
10/06/24 Benin 2-1 Nigeria
10/09/24 Rwanda 0-0 Nigeria
15/10/24 Libya 0-3 Nigeria* (Libya penalised)
14/11/24 Benin 1 -1 Nigeria
21/03/25 Rwanda 0-2 Nigeria

9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss

The stats suggest we have a decent team, but our home results are letting us down.

Build a world-class stadium in one of the coldest regions of Taraba or Plateau state. Ensure there is an international airstrip nearby and nice hotels. Then make that the home of the Super Eagles. In the meantime move our home games to Morocco. Playing at home is worse than playing away at this point.

Honestly just move our home games to morocco until the NFF is serious about rebuilding the National Stadium in Surulere. That is our home. Calabar, PH, Kano, Abuja is not our home stadium.

Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 2:10 am
10-0 in Morocco?
brah, Soatome ke.. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you and NFF nah who carry first of una class with this kind talk?
You totally missed the point. The team played smooth and better than any Naija team we’ve seen in recent time in that game because of the perfect turf in Morocco. That was the biggest margin in Naija football history and could have easily been 13-0 but for some missed chances. Go look at São Tomé record in the current WC qualifiers..While they’ve lost their matches, the margins are significantly lower.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

comedy galore! :lol: :lol:

one thing you can bank on with Nigerians is them always pointing fingers at everything but the truth. Oh! na witch cause ma! Oh! its my village people! Oh! Its my mother in law! Oh! na that wicked woman that sells akara :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: What a waste of citizens! :oops:

Like I told the others early this week, if you like continue to deceive yourself. Until you face the truth and SAY IT, you will continue to feel pain like you did on Tuesday. :roll:
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

If they must play in Uyo, why don’t they schedule the matches for late evening kickoff to help mitigate the effect of heat/humidity? They should not be kicking of earlier than 7pm local time. Stupid bunch.

Goalgetter wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:21 pm If they must play in Uyo, why don’t they schedule the matches for late evening kickoff to help mitigate the effect of heat/humidity? They should not be kicking of earlier than 7pm local time. Stupid bunch.
Another excuse don land :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Goalgetter wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:14 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 2:10 am
10-0 in Morocco?
You totally missed the point. The team played smooth and better than any Naija team we’ve seen in recent time in that game because of the perfect turf in Morocco. That was the biggest margin in Naija football history and could have easily been 13-0 but for some missed chances. Go look at São Tomé record in the current WC qualifiers..While they’ve lost their matches, the margins are significantly lower.
Nope it wasn't just the smooth surface.

Sao Tome is actually one of the few really horrible teams in Africa.

The surface at Uyo is not responsible for anything, it is not a bad surface.

Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 11:12 am
vancity eagle wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:42 am
VE

Why then are Senegal and Morocco frequently winning at home? While the gap has closed, the really great teams find the way to win at home. Nigeria clearly cannot be counted among those in recent times.
While these teams are winning at home more often than us, if you watch those games, those teams are usually still STRUGGLING.

We played better against Zimbabwe than Senegal did vs Togo, or CIV vs Gambia, despite them winning.

Orion wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:35 pm Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):

27/03/21 Benin 0-1 Nigeria
07/09/21 Cabo Verde 1 -2 Nigeria
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
13/11/21 Liberia 0-2 Nigeria
25/03/22 Ghana 0-0 Nigeria
13/06/22 São Tomé e Príncipe 0-10 Nigeria
19/11/23 Zimbabwe 1 -1 Nigeria
27/03/23 Guinea-Bissau 0-1 Nigeria
18/06/23 Sierra Leone 2-3 Nigeria
10/06/24 Benin 2-1 Nigeria
10/09/24 Rwanda 0-0 Nigeria
15/10/24 Libya 0-3 Nigeria* (Libya penalised)
14/11/24 Benin 1 -1 Nigeria
21/03/25 Rwanda 0-2 Nigeria

9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss

The stats suggest we have a decent team, but our home results are letting us down.

Build a world-class stadium in one of the coldest regions of Taraba or Plateau state. Ensure there is an international airstrip nearby and nice hotels. Then make that the home of the Super Eagles. In the meantime move our home games to Morocco. Playing at home is worse than playing away at this point.
What possibly is a reason for poor results at home? It surely cannot be the skill level of our players if they are doing the business away from home. Is it the "home environment" ? What is it?

danfo driver wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:28 pm
Goalgetter wrote: Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:21 pm If they must play in Uyo, why don’t they schedule the matches for late evening kickoff to help mitigate the effect of heat/humidity? They should not be kicking of earlier than 7pm local time. Stupid bunch.
Another excuse don land :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
It's not an excuse.

Morocco, Senegal, CIV, Ghana, Algeria all played their home matches at least 2 hours later than we did.

Why do you think that is ?

The main reason we drew Zimbabwe was because our players were tired. So if we played later in the day could that not have helped ?

This is the same NFF who once scheduled a critical match in the North in the middle of the day. They are truly incompetent to go along with their criminality.

A competent federation will fo everything in their power to HELP the chances of their national team.

It seems the NFF does the opposite, they are actively trying to derail our campaign, whether by stupidity or corruption.