Super Eagles coach lists key positions needed for new team
- danfo driver
Re: Super Eagles coach lists key positions needed for new team
I know that you didnt make it up - 100%! I knew this because I saw the the owngoal article and the youtube video about it some days ago.Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 5:19 pm
https://owngoalnigeria.com/2025/03/28/w ... n-balogun/
By now bro, you should know that I don’t make things up on the forum just to prove a point!
I was saying that just like the unnamed source for the story, I too can make up a story.
Even you know deep down that you are in no position to determine who the coach will invite to the SE. If he feels Balogun is still up to the job, he will invite him and then we will see who is shedding tears.

SO so sad that this is what our fans have been reduced to. Simply because the corrupt NFF have imposed a retirement league player - who cost us 3 points, our fans now say "well, we have sh1t already, why not rub more sh1t on our face."If our captain is playing in Saudi Arabia, then a player in the much higher ranked Scottish league is in with a chance.
I would rather recall Gabe Osho but if the coach decides to recall Balogun, I have no problem with that.
Or maybe Tanimu should be recalled?

Kaii! I am so so so so sad at how far we have falling. Kaii! Such a strong and proud fanbase before, look at us now. "give a chance" to a below average 37 year old because a below average 32 year old retiree is in the team.

That train (aka Balogun) has left the stationDammy wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 5:19 pmhttps://owngoalnigeria.com/2025/03/28/w ... n-balogun/danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 4:17 pm
I disagree. They are brainless and/or corrupt.
According to reports, even the SE players are asking for Balogun to be recalled. Does that make them brainless as well?
We need to be careful on our comments on the forum!
I can also say, according to reports, even the SE players are asking for Robert Mugabe's corpse to start for Nigeria. You see how easy that was? Very easy to use unsubstantiated reports to talk nonsense.
Additionally, there are SE players who I am sure want Iheanacho back. Hell, two journalists who travel with the team have posted on social media that they miss their "senior man." he makes them laugh and jokes with them. Is it out of the ordinary for people to want their friend to be with them? Did Yobo not bring his Div 3 best friend, the sh1t George Abbey, to the National team? Simply because it now suits your agenda, we should allow players select the team?![]()
Hilaroous!
Since Balogun left the national team, how many CBs have been given opportunities? I mean, those who have played more than 3 games?Why is there a call for Balogun to be brought back into the SE? Because he’s stupid playing at a high level. He plays for one of the top 10 football club in the UK before over 50,000 fans on a regular basis. That’s a fact and not feelings!
Balogun is also playing regularly in the UEFA Cup and his club are in the Quarterfinals. He may be 37 years old but we have players of similar age or older still playing active football. It’s all about how the players take care of themselves.
What alternatives do we have? Adarabioyo, whose jerking is around? The young players like Frederick or Osuji, who are not yet ready or the inexperienced duo of Torunarigha or Ogbu?
Balogun’s recall is not long term but a short term fix to an immediate problem and it definitely makes sense!
- Ekong
- Bassey
- Ajayi
- Tanimu
- Awaziem
- Omeruo?
Who have you really tested and given an opportunity to compete that made you realize, "you know what? hmm... I have searched and searched and cant find anyone. Let me go back to a 37 year old, playing in a backwater league who has played less than 40% of his team's games this season."
Anyway, I only responded to you because I respect you. The beauty of all this is that Balogun is finished! There is nothing your tears or the money he has paid to the journalists will do! Balogun and his 37 year old body will NEVER wear our jersey again! If he had any self-respect left, he will retire and spend time with his family. Shameless beggar or a player who does not have sense!![]()
Thank God for Chelle.![]()
By now bro, you should know that I don’t make things up on the forum just to prove a point!
Even you know deep down that you are in no position to determine who the coach will invite to the SE. If he feels Balogun is still up to the job, he will invite him and then we will see who is shedding tears.
If our captain is playing in Saudi Arabia, then a player in the much higher ranked Scottish league is in with a chance.
I would rather recall Gabe Osho but if the coach decides to recall Balogun, I have no problem with that.
Or maybe Tanimu should be recalled?![]()

Experience is good. Pepe was an oldie but stabilizing force for Portugal.
That being said, the two times that a youngster was allowed to play as a central defender for Nigeria were coach Onigbinde playing Keshi on 1984 and making him captain over an elder Musa Lawal. We lost to a solid Cameroonian team but played extremely well.
2013 when a young Omeruo benched an aging an unfit Yobo. We made it to the final and won. In both cases though, they were paired with a veteran.
That being said, the two times that a youngster was allowed to play as a central defender for Nigeria were coach Onigbinde playing Keshi on 1984 and making him captain over an elder Musa Lawal. We lost to a solid Cameroonian team but played extremely well.
2013 when a young Omeruo benched an aging an unfit Yobo. We made it to the final and won. In both cases though, they were paired with a veteran.
Ferguson Urges Balogun to Leave Rangers
– Is It Time for a New Chapter?

Former Rangers midfielder Derek Ferguson has advised Leon Balogun to leave the club at the end of the 2024/25 season, despite the Nigerian defender’s expressed desire to extend his stay at Ibrox. Balogun, 36, is in the final months of his contract, and Ferguson believes it’s time for the experienced centre-back to seek a new challenge.
Balogun has enjoyed two successful spells with Rangers—first from 2020 to 2022 and then returning in 2023 with a one-year contract extension. Over this period, he has been a solid presence in the defence, often praised for his leadership and commitment to the club. However, Ferguson, speaking to Ibrox News, pointed out that while Balogun has performed well, his age and injury record could hinder Rangers' long-term plans.
Rangers now face a critical decision as they weigh the pros and cons of offering the veteran defender a new contract. While Balogun’s experience and leadership are invaluable, Ferguson’s perspective highlights a potential concern for the club: their need to build for the future rather than holding on to an aging player who may struggle with injuries.
Should Rangers decide to part ways with Balogun, they’ll need to find a suitable replacement—someone who can bring stability to their defence while also fitting into the club's long-term vision.
Balogun's Next Move – What Lies Ahead?
For Balogun, the end of the season may mark the end of his time at Rangers, but it could also be the beginning of a new chapter in his career. Whether he moves to another club or transitions into a different role within the game, his time at Ibrox has been marked by hard work and dedication. While Ferguson’s opinion is clear, it will ultimately be up to Balogun and the Rangers board to decide the next step.
Will Balogun move on for a fresh challenge, or will Rangers offer him a contract extension despite his advancing years? The decision could shape the club’s defensive strategy for seasons to come.
https://www.talktalknigeria.com/home/20 ... ew-chapter
Former Rangers midfielder Derek Ferguson has advised Leon Balogun to leave the club at the end of the 2024/25 season, despite the Nigerian defender’s expressed desire to extend his stay at Ibrox. Balogun, 36, is in the final months of his contract, and Ferguson believes it’s time for the experienced centre-back to seek a new challenge.
Balogun has enjoyed two successful spells with Rangers—first from 2020 to 2022 and then returning in 2023 with a one-year contract extension. Over this period, he has been a solid presence in the defence, often praised for his leadership and commitment to the club. However, Ferguson, speaking to Ibrox News, pointed out that while Balogun has performed well, his age and injury record could hinder Rangers' long-term plans.
A Critical Decision for Rangers’ FutureFerguson noted, “He’s done terrifically well since coming back in, but he’s 36 and injury-prone. He’s a good player, but is he someone Rangers should be looking to tie down? No. It’s time for Leon to look elsewhere.”
Rangers now face a critical decision as they weigh the pros and cons of offering the veteran defender a new contract. While Balogun’s experience and leadership are invaluable, Ferguson’s perspective highlights a potential concern for the club: their need to build for the future rather than holding on to an aging player who may struggle with injuries.
Should Rangers decide to part ways with Balogun, they’ll need to find a suitable replacement—someone who can bring stability to their defence while also fitting into the club's long-term vision.
For Balogun, the end of the season may mark the end of his time at Rangers, but it could also be the beginning of a new chapter in his career. Whether he moves to another club or transitions into a different role within the game, his time at Ibrox has been marked by hard work and dedication. While Ferguson’s opinion is clear, it will ultimately be up to Balogun and the Rangers board to decide the next step.
Will Balogun move on for a fresh challenge, or will Rangers offer him a contract extension despite his advancing years? The decision could shape the club’s defensive strategy for seasons to come.
- danfo driver
Two things:nzeogwu wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 6:57 pm Experience is good. Pepe was an oldie but stabilizing force for Portugal.
(1) do you know why Portugal kept an aging Pepe and not the aging others? Pepe was world class when he was younger - winning multiple CL for Real Madrid. On the other hand, like the other below average players that Portugal got rid of, Balogun was a journey man, jumping from one club to another, who couldnt get into the top 100 players of Germany.
Please dont ever mention his name in the same paragraph, page or even chapter as Pepe, again.
(2) What did Portugal win with their oldie?
You can keep pairing your 37 year old Balogun with your 32 year old Ekong in your brain. Those days are long gone in a SE shirt! Never ever to be revisited again.
- danfo driver
iworo wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 7:04 pm Ferguson Urges Balogun to Leave Rangers
A Critical Decision for Rangers’ FutureFerguson noted, “He’s done terrifically well since coming back in, but he’s 36 and injury-prone. He’s a good player, but is he someone Rangers should be looking to tie down? No. It’s time for Leon to look elsewhere.”

Where is Ajayi? Is he injured or out of favour?Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 5:19 pmhttps://owngoalnigeria.com/2025/03/28/w ... n-balogun/danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 4:17 pm
According to reports, even the SE players are asking for Balogun to be recalled. Does that make them brainless as well?
I can also say, according to reports, even the SE players are asking for Robert Mugabe's corpse to start for Nigeria. You see how easy that was? Very easy to use unsubstantiated reports to talk nonsense.
Additionally, there are SE players who I am sure want Iheanacho back. Hell, two journalists who travel with the team have posted on social media that they miss their "senior man." he makes them laugh and jokes with them. Is it out of the ordinary for people to want their friend to be with them? Did Yobo not bring his Div 3 best friend, the sh1t George Abbey, to the National team? Simply because it now suits your agenda, we should allow players select the team?![]()
Hilaroous!
Since Balogun left the national team, how many CBs have been given opportunities? I mean, those who have played more than 3 games?Why is there a call for Balogun to be brought back into the SE? Because he’s stupid playing at a high level. He plays for one of the top 10 football club in the UK before over 50,000 fans on a regular basis. That’s a fact and not feelings!
Balogun is also playing regularly in the UEFA Cup and his club are in the Quarterfinals. He may be 37 years old but we have players of similar age or older still playing active football. It’s all about how the players take care of themselves.
What alternatives do we have? Adarabioyo, whose jerking is around? The young players like Frederick or Osuji, who are not yet ready or the inexperienced duo of Torunarigha or Ogbu?
Balogun’s recall is not long term but a short term fix to an immediate problem and it definitely makes sense!
- Ekong
- Bassey
- Ajayi
- Tanimu
- Awaziem
- Omeruo?
Who have you really tested and given an opportunity to compete that made you realize, "you know what? hmm... I have searched and searched and cant find anyone. Let me go back to a 37 year old, playing in a backwater league who has played less than 40% of his team's games this season."
Anyway, I only responded to you because I respect you. The beauty of all this is that Balogun is finished! There is nothing your tears or the money he has paid to the journalists will do! Balogun and his 37 year old body will NEVER wear our jersey again! If he had any self-respect left, he will retire and spend time with his family. Shameless beggar or a player who does not have sense!![]()
If our captain is playing in Saudi Arabia, then a player in the much higher ranked Scottish league is in with a chance.
- danfo driver
He is in Div 2 playing with players of his level. Nigeria is too high for him. If he wants to be part of the national team, he should go to Div 1.mutiman wrote: ↑Sat Apr 05, 2025 9:16 amWhere is Ajayi? Is he injured or out of favour?Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 5:19 pmhttps://owngoalnigeria.com/2025/03/28/w ... n-balogun/danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 4:17 pm
Hilaroous!
- Ekong
- Bassey
- Ajayi
- Tanimu
- Awaziem
- Omeruo?
Rangers coach has collected bribe for his house rent for playing Leon Balogun for 90 minutes in the Europa Cup quarterfinal match.
They even played with 10 men for 80 minutes and didn’t concede a goal. Wonderful.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
No, Omeruo was paired with another rookie, Godfrey Oboabona who was home-based at the time.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Fri Apr 04, 2025 6:57 pm Experience is good. Pepe was an oldie but stabilizing force for Portugal.