A teenage John Obi Mikel was SPECIAL!

Re: A teenage John Obi Mikel was SPECIAL!

Funny how time changes everything. In retrospect, I now believe that Jose Mourinho’s decision to play Mikel as a DM was not only the right decision but it also prolonged his career. Most of us believed Mikel was an attacking MF but we were wrong because we focused more on him individually than the importance of what he did for the team. Mikel’s ability to control the game from MF was always the best part of his game, his movement, decision making and ability to switch play were impeccable. We just didn’t like watching him do the dirty work in MF but Jose knew better than we did.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Apr 19, 2025 5:31 pm Funny how time changes everything. In retrospect, I now believe that Jose Mourinho’s decision to play Mikel as a DM was not only the right decision but it also prolonged his career. Most of us believed Mikel was an attacking MF but we were wrong because we focused more on him individually than the importance of what he did for the team. Mikel’s ability to control the game from MF was always the best part of his game, his movement, decision making and ability to switch play were impeccable. We just didn’t like watching him do the dirty work in MF but Jose knew better than we did.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

What a life!

My typing-voice was coarse. I tried to tell you people years ago, but the anger and hatred for Mourinho made it impossible for most of you to see what was staring you right in the face. I havent even watched the video Bigpokey has posted, but as I said more than 10 years ago, anyone who watched Mikel in 2015+ knew he was a DM. After Egu, and under Siasia, where Siasia used a 4-2-4, there was no 10. Mikel may have wore the 10, but Siasia did not play with one. He played with an 8 - Promise. And then 2 DMs, Kaita and Mikel.

Anyway, now that una hatred has subsided, you can all begin to admit the truth.

Wow, Mikel running with a ball! We hardly saw that at Chelsea. Keshi used Mikel in the best way. He played in the central midfield position at Afcon 2013 and that was his best ever performance.

gochino wrote: Sat Apr 19, 2025 7:55 pm Wow, Mikel running with a ball! We hardly saw that at Chelsea. Keshi used Mikel in the best way. He played in the central midfield position at Afcon 2013 and that was his best ever performance.

You clearly did NOT watch Mikel much. Go and watch Chelsea v. Bayern (CL Final 2012).
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Apr 19, 2025 5:31 pm Funny how time changes everything. In retrospect, I now believe that Jose Mourinho’s decision to play Mikel as a DM was not only the right decision but it also prolonged his career. Most of us believed Mikel was an attacking MF but we were wrong because we focused more on him individually than the importance of what he did for the team. Mikel’s ability to control the game from MF was always the best part of his game, his movement, decision making and ability to switch play were impeccable. We just didn’t like watching him do the dirty work in MF but Jose knew better than we did.
I disagree. His best position is not pure DM that Mourinho turned him into, was more like early-Fabregas CM, a press-resistant, fast thinking midfielder who controls and dictates the game from the midfield. The one thing Mikel always lacked was stamina, and quick-twitch. But his close ball control, first touch, passing range and touch was excellent. He had all the same basic technical and tactical attributes a young Fabregas had in a bigger stronger frame (except Fabregas had a better final pass). Wenger turned those attributes from CM to an AM. Mourinho turned those attributes into a DM.

In optimizing him as a DM, he gave up a lot of what he could have been. It may have indeed prolonged his career, but it limited his ceiling.

In today's game (e.g the way Arsenal currently sets up because that's what I am most familiar with), yes he's more of a 6 like Partey is. But DM back in those mourinho days was a pure water carrier. That was serious underutilization of Mikel Obi's overall talent.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote: Sat Apr 19, 2025 9:21 pm
I disagree. His best position is not pure DM that Mourinho turned him into, was more like early-Fabregas CM, a press-resistant, fast thinking midfielder who controls and dictates the game from the midfield. The one thing Mikel always lacked was stamina, and quick-twitch. But his close ball control, first touch, passing range and touch was excellent. He had all the same basic technical and tactical attributes a young Fabregas had in a bigger stronger frame (except Fabregas had a better final pass). Wenger turned those attributes from CM to an AM. Mourinho turned those attributes into a DM.

In optimizing him as a DM, he gave up a lot of what he could have been. It may have indeed prolonged his career, but it limited his ceiling.

In today's game (e.g the way Arsenal currently sets up because that's what I am most familiar with), yes he's more of a 6 like Partey is. But DM back in those mourinho days was a pure water carrier. That was serious underutilization of Mikel Obi's overall talent.
emm Mikel was at Chelsea for 11 seasons, Now ask yourself, how many seasons did he play for Jose?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Apr 19, 2025 9:36 pm

emm Mikel was at Chelsea for 11 seasons, Now ask yourself, how many seasons did he play for Jose?

Fabregas ko, FabricAss ni.

Apparently, Nigerians are the only dvnces who do not know how to walk and chew gum at the same time.

- Eto'o was moved to left wing, he didnt forget how to play football.
- Essien was moved to DM from CM he played at Lyon, he didnt forget how to play football.
- Pirlo was moved from trequartista to regista, he didnt forget how to play football.
- DeBruyne was moved from left winger to CAM and he didnt forget how to play football.
- Bernado Silva was moved from Right winger to CAM and he didnt forget how to play football.
- David Beckham was moved from Right midfielder to CM and he didnt forget how to play football.

But according to Nigerians, the Nigerian is the one who is a dvnce. :lol: :lol:
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

danfo driver wrote: Sat Apr 19, 2025 9:42 pm

Apparently, Nigerians are the only dvnces who do not know how to walk and chew gum at the same time.

- Essien was moved to DM from CM he played at Lyon, he didnt forget how to play football.
- Pirlo was moved from trequartista to regista, he didnt forget how to play football.
- DeBruyne was moved from left winger to CAM and he didnt forget how to play football.
- Bernado Silva was moved from Right winger to CAM and he didnt forget how to play football.
- David Beckham was moved from Right midfielder to CM and he didnt forget how to play football.

we are too old for this way of debating. say your piece, leave out all the unnecessary abuses. It just makes it harder to understand the point you are trying to make.

I talked about the technical and tactical attributes he had. He could have been molded into something else. But instead Mourinho molded him into a water carrier, which he eventually leanred to do really really well. And was honestly was one of the best at his role in the world.

you are free to believe what you want. Mourinho had a talented youngster and molded him into less than he could have become in my opinion.

I use Arsenal examples becuase its Arsenal I know really really well. He's not the only player who during
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote: Sat Apr 19, 2025 11:55 pm

we are too old for this way of debating. say your piece, leave out all the unnecessary abuses. It just makes it harder to understand the point you are trying to make.

No one insulted anyone.

I simply said that your post seems to suggest that the Nigerian player is a dvnce, while other players from other countries are smart enough to walk and chew gum at the same time.

As for the rest of the nonsense you wrote, I didnt read it. I am not interested. As you see, I didn't initially respond to you. Feel free to respond to Bigpokey and have the conversation with him.

This game vs Spain was the one Mikel in my opinion put on probably the best individual midfield performance by any Nigerian player in recent memory, the fact that it was against the very best of Spains midfield made it so much better...absolute masterclass display of midfield generalship.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 6:51 am This game vs Spain was the one Mikel in my opinion put on probably the best individual midfield performance by any Nigerian player in recent memory, the fact that it was against the very best of Spains midfield made it so much better...absolute masterclass display of midfield generalship.

Definitely and, though not teenager but at his very prime going against the bests of the bests.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

I talked about the technical and tactical attributes he had. He could have been molded into something else. But instead Mourinho molded him into a water carrier, which he eventually leanred to do really really well. And was honestly was one of the best at his role in the world.

you are free to believe what you want. Mourinho had a talented youngster and molded him into less than he could have become in my opinion.

I use Arsenal examples becuase its Arsenal I know really really well. He's not the only player who during
Abeg stop it,! Mikel was never the best DM in the world, stop the propaganda

jette1 wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 3:59 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 6:51 am This game vs Spain was the one Mikel in my opinion put on probably the best individual midfield performance by any Nigerian player in recent memory, the fact that it was against the very best of Spains midfield made it so much better...absolute masterclass display of midfield generalship.

Definitely and, though not teenager but at his very prime going against the bests of the bests.
Was that not the game we lost 3:0?? We even conceeded a very embarassing goal while trying to play a high line. Keshi used him as an effective central midfielder at the afcon and then for some reason moved him to the attacking midfield position at the confederations cup. He played a lot better at the afcon and should have been the player of the tournament.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

gochino wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 8:35 pm

Abeg stop it,! Mikel was never the best DM in the world, stop the propaganda
where did i say he was the best?
icee

Post by icee »

For me it was the game against Argentina that sealed it - I saw someone that compared to his mates, was just way above, using mostly his brain and touch....infact, he reads the game 5 steps ahead, lays the ball with anticpation even though his mates will use muscle and gragra to kill the move. It became obvious quickly that he was going to be a VERY big fish. After watching the game, I concluded that IQ, shows up very early...you can tell the players that will have high intelligence game - same with Messi in that game. Messi then had speed to boot.