Desser has more goals in less games for the SE compared to Boniface

Add awoniyi. There ain't no justification for this guy being overlooked. Boniface has been poor for our SE . Can we at least start calling up players that can help the squad
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Mon Apr 21, 2025 2:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Desser has more goals in less games for the SE compared to Boniface

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 9:13 pm Add awoniyi. There ain't no justification for this guy behind overlooked. Boniface has been poor for our SE . Can we at least start calling up players that can help the squad
Look at t b eir club affiliation and you go find the answer. Maybe managers are selecting the team like some CE members who are basing team selection on club and league affiliation. One player dey for Scotland and the other dey for mighty Bundesliga!.LOL.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 11:21 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 9:13 pm Add awoniyi. There ain't no justification for this guy behind overlooked. Boniface has been poor for our SE . Can we at least start calling up players that can help the squad
Look at t b eir club affiliation and you go find the answer. Maybe managers are selecting the team like some CE members who are basing team selection on club and league affiliation. One player dey for Scotland and the other dey for mighty Bundesliga!.LOL.
What clubs does Papa Daniel play for? :sneaky:

How can we call him up when we had to find space for the new JJ- Papa Mustapha Daniel in the team list, even though he hasn't been playing club football for a long while.
We also couldn't add Chrisantus Uche and Frank Onyeka cos we somehow had to squeeze in Alhassan Yusuf to maintain the "quota system".

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 11:36 pm
There you go! As far as I am concerned, clubs should not matter. Thus, I do not care diddly which club Papa Daniel plays for. The question is whether Papa Daniel is good enough and that has diddly to do with his club.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Seems everyone has forgotten how Dessers was flogged here on CE just a year ago.

Let me try and refresh you all:

Exhibit 1:
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 11:44 pm Surely this is the last of us seeing this junks? Dessers is literally the worse player I've ever seen in a Nigerian jersey :rotf:

Abeg we need our first teamers BACK in form before we meet South Africa...Osimhen, Boniface, Awoniyi, Aina, Ekong etc.

And yeah Finidi should go back to his level at Enyimba, doubt NFF are going to risk giving him a contract with that pathetic display, how TF do you sit on your subs in a mere friendly for goodness sake? na swear dem swear for us? from Rohr, Pisseiro and now Finidi!.
Exhibit 2:
Cellular wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 2:14 am The luckiest people in this game were the unused subs.
Because the folks you listed, Awaziem, Omeruo, Collins, Dessers and Osayi were bad.

If I was a sub, I will be praying for the coach not to use me.

Exhibit 3
iworo wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 2:15 pm I wrote both Awaziem and Dessers off after witnessing that game live at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey. Dessers's consistent squandering of chances during the match against Ecuador was particularly frustrating. It was evident from Peseiro's agitation towards Dessers that day that it would likely be the last time he would invite him to join the team.

Exhibit 4:
iworo wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 2:41 pm Cyriel Dessers skies a sitter and Rangers fans CAN believe it as Nigeria striker pulls off carbon copy of Celtic sin

The Ibrox frontman made his second appearance of this international break but it didn't go as well as his first.

By Gavin Berry Live Sports Editor

Cyriel Dessers misses a glaring chance for Nigeria

Cyriel Dessers was the toast of Nigeria after his long-awaited international return last week but Super Eagles fans shared the frustration Rangers supporters have felt this season in his second appearance of their double header.

The Ibrox striker netted, albeit from the penalty spot, in Nigeria’s first win over Ghana in 15 years but the Jekyll and Hyde frontman showed his wasteful side in defeat to Mali - their first to their African rivals for 49 years - on Tuesday night. Dessers went from hero to sinner as he squandered a glorious chance to level in their 2-0 loss in Ajax legend Finidi George’s second game in charge.

A brilliant defence-splitting pass released the 29-year-old former Cremonese man, back in the international set-up for the first time in two years, but as he raced in on goal, faced by the keeper who came off his line he blazed his effort well over the crossbar.

It was the kind of miss that Rangers fans have seen all too often this season - including in the huge Old Firm derby at Parkhead when he escaped the Celtic defence only to fluff his lines. And light blue legions watching the clip of the miss on social media commented of how it was an all too familiar sight.

One joked: “Expected him to fake shot about 40 times then blaze it over the bar… but at least he did the second part!”. Another said: “I’ve genuinely never seen a footballer so unbelievably awful in one on one situations. Every. Single. Time.” One said: “I see he’s just as s*** with Nigeria as he is with us.” With another adding: “Hopefully he stays there.”
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/foo ... s-32449545

Exhibit 5:
Cellular wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 3:01 pm He missed yet another opportunity to be considered a good option upfront. I am yet to see what he does well.

He has got to be the 7th option.

Osimhen
Boniface
Awoniyi
Moffi
Sadiq
Onuachu
Adams
Orban

Reasons why we should try to add Adebayo and Solanke to the pool.

There’s more, but I’m sure your memories are jogged now. :rotf:

It's that simple - if they trust the likes of Boniface we aren't going to qualify.

Damunk wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 1:08 am Seems everyone has forgotten how Dessers was flogged here on CE just a year ago.

Exhibit 1:
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 11:44 pm Surely this is the last of us seeing this junks? Dessers is literally the worse player I've ever seen in a Nigerian jersey :rotf:

Abeg we need our first teamers BACK in form before we meet South Africa...Osimhen, Boniface, Awoniyi, Aina, Ekong etc.

And yeah Finidi should go back to his level at Enyimba, doubt NFF are going to risk giving him a contract with that pathetic display, how TF do you sit on your subs in a mere friendly for goodness sake? na swear dem swear for us? from Rohr, Pisseiro and now Finidi!.
Exhibit 2:
Cellular wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 2:14 am The luckiest people in this game were the unused subs.
Because the folks you listed, Awaziem, Omeruo, Collins, Dessers and Osayi were bad.

Exhibit 3
iworo wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 2:15 pm I wrote both Awaziem and Dessers off after witnessing that game live at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey. Dessers's consistent squandering of chances during the match against Ecuador was particularly frustrating. It was evident from Peseiro's agitation towards Dessers that day that it would likely be the last time he would invite him to join the team.

Exhibit 4:
iworo wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 2:41 pm Cyriel Dessers skies a sitter and Rangers fans CAN believe it as Nigeria striker pulls off carbon copy of Celtic sin

The Ibrox frontman made his second appearance of this international break but it didn't go as well as his first.

Cyriel Dessers was the toast of Nigeria after his long-awaited international return last week but Super Eagles fans shared the frustration Rangers supporters have felt this season in his second appearance of their double header.

The Ibrox striker netted, albeit from the penalty spot, in Nigeria’s first win over Ghana in 15 years but the Jekyll and Hyde frontman showed his wasteful side in defeat to Mali - their first to their African rivals for 49 years - on Tuesday night. Dessers went from hero to sinner as he squandered a glorious chance to level in their 2-0 loss in Ajax legend Finidi George’s second game in charge.

A brilliant defence-splitting pass released the 29-year-old former Cremonese man, back in the international set-up for the first time in two years, but as he raced in on goal, faced by the keeper who came off his line he blazed his effort well over the crossbar.

It was the kind of miss that Rangers fans have seen all too often this season - including in the huge Old Firm derby at Parkhead when he escaped the Celtic defence only to fluff his lines. And light blue legions watching the clip of the miss on social media commented of how it was an all too familiar sight.

One joked: “Expected him to fake shot about 40 times then blaze it over the bar… but at least he did the second part!”. Another said: “I’ve genuinely never seen a footballer so unbelievably awful in one on one situations. Every. Single. Time.” One said: “I see he’s just as s*** with Nigeria as he is with us.” With another adding: “Hopefully he stays there.”

Exhibit 5:
Cellular wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 3:01 pm He missed yet another opportunity to be considered a good option upfront. I am yet to see what he does well.

Osimhen
Boniface
Awoniyi
Moffi
Sadiq
Onuachu
Adams
Orban

But form is not static ooo. The Boniface that we are mentioning now can be a heck of a striker for SE in 2 years! What matters is at this moment, who should be the guy invited? Thus, the views on Dessers THEN are immaterial at this moment. LOL, whenever I see Dessers he reminds me of Algeria's Slimani who misses tons of opportunities but go hang once in a while oo!

Damunk wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 1:08 am Seems everyone has forgotten how Dessers was flogged here on CE just a year ago.

Exhibit 1:

Exhibit 2:

Exhibit 3

Exhibit 4:

Exhibit 5:

Osimhen
Boniface
Awoniyi
Moffi
Sadiq
Onuachu
Adams
Orban

Short memories indeed :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: He's having a great season with Rangers no doubt, but we've seen his limitations at the international level and have better + more promising options in that position.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 11:59 pm
There you go! As far as I am concerned, clubs should not matter. Thus, I do not care diddly which club Papa Daniel plays for. The question is whether Papa Daniel is good enough and that has diddly to do with his club.
Exactly! Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Rwanda are in our group, Lesotho even have part time players, yet we have won only one game in six world cup qualifiers,ask yourself why... Still people are talking about the clubs our players are in! What really matters is the chemistry and motivation. Football is not boxing, it's a team sport.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:22 am

But form is not static ooo. The Boniface that we are mentioning now can be a heck of a striker for SE in 2 years! What matters is at this moment, who should be the guy invited? Thus, the views on Dessers THEN are immaterial at this moment. LOL, whenever I see Dessers he reminds me of Algeria's Slimani who misses tons of opportunities but go hang once in a while oo!
But which ‘form’ does Dessers have?
Is it in Scotland form or his SE form?
Take Boniface or Awoniyi to Scotland and they will probably clean out.
I know you like to downgrade league and club status but it’s the only objective way of inviting and assessing players.
Everything else is sentimental. It’s not foolproof but I’d take a guy scoring 6 goals in the Budedliga over a guy scoring 12 in Scotland any day.
Anyone performing for club but not for his national team is more likely down to the coach, not the player.

Dessers has never impressed in the SE. Let’s not be reminded at the wrong time.
It might be fatal.

Damunk wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 11:09 am

I know you like to downgrade league and club status but it’s the only objective way of inviting and assessing players.
Everything else is sentimental. It’s not foolproof but I’d take a guy scoring 6 goals in the Budedliga over a guy scoring 12 in Scotland any day.
Anyone performing for club but not for his national team is more likely down to the coach, not the player.

It might be fatal.

For me, it is the player that gets an invitation and nit a club. Yes, you can watch a player in Aberdeen and invite the player and watch one in Real Madrid and invite that player. In both cases it is their personal play that should matter. They then must compete with each other in the NT. If the Real player wins the competition so be it, if it is the Aberdeen guy same occurs.

This view above is based on atleast two truths: 1] leagues are not 100% accurate in player selection, and [2] Nigerian players [s I ecifically those coming from Nigeria] will go wherever they are paid and are not calculating which league is better, [3] form is transient but player movement is manipulated by time set by leagues, [4] we have seen players from so called Big leagues [Akpoguma for e.g.] that he a very not shown much against players from so called poorer league [Ajayi] as one of multiple examples. [5] Players are not machines where leagues supposedly and automatically define their form. They are humans susceptible to psychological among other impacts.

Maybe, we should not invite Osimhen either since the English and German leagues are better that the Turkish League. We are talking about the Super Eagles. Boniface and Awoniyi should not even come close to the CHAN Eagles talkless SE.

It might be fatal.
Last edited by 1naija on Mon Apr 21, 2025 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

You are slowly losing your marbles, and dare I say prematurely.
Osimhen is performing wherever he finds himself- including the SE.
So I don’t know how you have wedged him into the conversation.
Maybe you don’t even know what he is doing in Turkey in the first place. :roll:
1naija wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 2:36 pm Maybe, we should not invite Osimhen either since the English and German leagues are better that the Turkish League. We are talking about the Super Eagles. Boniface and Awoniyi should even come close to the CHAN Eagles talkless SE.

It might be fatal.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 11:30 am

It might be fatal.

For me, it is the player that gets an invitation and nit a club. Yes, you can watch a player in Aberdeen and invite the player and watch one in Real Madrid and invite that player. In both cases it is their personal play that should matter. They then must compete with each other in the NT. If the Real player wins the competition so be it, if it is the Aberdeen guy same occurs.

This view above is based on atleast two truths: 1] leagues are not 100% accurate in player selection, and [2] Nigerian players [s I ecifically those coming from Nigeria] will go wherever they are paid and are not calculating which league is better, [3] form is transient but player movement is manipulated by time set by leagues, [4] we have seen players from so called Big leagues [Akpoguma for e.g.] that he a very not shown much against players from so called poorer league [Ajayi] as one of multiple examples. [5] Players are not machines where leagues supposedly and automatically define their form. They are humans susceptible to psychological among other impacts.
Prof, we are specifically talking about Dessers and he has not performed for the Super Eagles.
And using your own logic, his club form means diddly squat wrt the SE.
Add to that, the Scottish league is a very poor one.
I might as well go invite a 15 goal Nigerian in the Indonesian league ahead of Boniface.

gochino wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 8:02 am
Enugu II wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 11:59 pm
Exactly! Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Rwanda are in our group, Lesotho even have part time players, yet we have won only one game in six world cup qualifiers,ask yourself why... Still people are talking about the clubs our players are in! What really matters is the chemistry and motivation. Football is not boxing, it's a team sport.
Seems you are leaving out one key factor in all of this: the coaches.
It’s like you are blaming the thermometer for poor outcomes in an ill patient, instead of the doctor that can’t read the thermometer accurately.
Meanwhile the thermometer works reliably well in other clinics. :idea:

The only person losing his marbles is you. No one with all his marbles intact would think a player will automatically do better in one league because he plays better in a different league, when the player in the lower league has proven to be better in direct competition (the SE) than the listed players in the superior league. It's only someone losing his marbles that can't see the correlation in the discussion between players in Scotland and Turkey, and players in Germany and England.
Damunk wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:22 pm You are slowly losing your marbles, and dare I say prematurely.
1naija wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 2:36 pm Maybe, we should not invite Osimhen either since the English and German leagues are better that the Turkish League. We are talking about the Super Eagles. Boniface and Awoniyi should even come close to the CHAN Eagles talkless SE.

It might be fatal.

You need to get your thoughts in order.
Can’t make out WTH you’re saying.
It’s those scrambled marbles again.

Simple question:
What is Osimhen doing in this discussion?
No garbled responses please.
1naija wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 4:35 pm The only person losing his marbles is you. No one with all his marbles intact would think a player will automatically do better in one league because he plays better in a different league, when the player in the lower league has proven to be better in direct competition (the SE) than the listed players in the superior league. It's only someone losing his marbles that can't see the correlation in the discussion between players in Scotland and Turkey, and players in Germany and England.
Damunk wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:22 pm You are slowly losing your marbles, and dare I say prematurely.

It might be fatal.

Exhibit 1:

Exhibit 2:

Exhibit 3

Exhibit 4:

Exhibit 5:

Osimhen
Boniface
Awoniyi
Moffi
Sadiq
Onuachu
Adams
Orban

In April of 2025, you repost comments made in May 2024 to prove what exactly?

Life is static?

Go to Rangers fan sites and see what they think of him...
Their fans that see him week in and week out.

Even from the list I had of those in front of him in 2024, he has leapedfrogged only the injured players.

You won't understand what Osimhen is doing in the conversation because you posted with a scrambled marble.

The answer to what Osimhen is doing in the discussion can be found in your scrambled marble reference to Scotland!. But then again, your marbles may be too scrambled to realize it.

Damunk wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 5:23 pm You need to get your thoughts in order.
Can’t make out WTH you’re saying.
It’s those scrambled marbles again.

Simple question:
What is Osimhen doing in this discussion?
No garbled responses please.
1naija wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 4:35 pm The only person losing his marbles is you. No one with all his marbles intact would think a player will automatically do better in one league because he plays better in a different league, when the player in the lower league has proven to be better in direct competition (the SE) than the listed players in the superior league. It's only someone losing his marbles that can't see the correlation in the discussion between players in Scotland and Turkey, and players in Germany and England.

It might be fatal.

Damunk,

I know that we are debating Dessers, but the criteria is one that is beyond Dessers I suppose. I am surprised about your comment on Osimhen. I initially wanted to use him as an example because it does fit given that he is not in the BIG FIVE league at the moment. But there are other examples as well including Akpoguma that I mentioned (v Ajayi). The bottom line is that these players, no matter which club/league that they come from, MUST prove their mettle in competition at the SE grounds. Their club pedigree should matter very little in such competition. Dessers, plays in Scotland, but as long as he is productive then he should get a chance to prove (in camp) whether he belongs or not. Same for Boniface. No one should be granted an automatic run based on their club.
Damunk wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:45 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 11:30 am

It might be fatal.

Prof, we are specifically talking about Dessers and he has not performed for the Super Eagles.
And using your own logic, his club form means diddly squat wrt the SE.
Add to that, the Scottish league is a very poor one.
I might as well go invite a 15 goal Nigerian in the Indonesian league ahead of Boniface.