AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa 1 Nigeria 0 FT

Re: AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa v Nigeria

Sunset wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:04 pm
Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:01 pm
Sunset wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:59 pm This GK is a joker :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I'm not surprised looking a how things have gone for him with his club
And he is the second best U20 goalkeeper in Nigeria? Hmmm.
He's based in Europe so he must be amongst our best :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
So an agent got him into the team? That makes sense.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
davidbam14
Re: AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa 1 Nigeria 0

Post by davidbam14 »

Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:04 pm Some of our football in the third half halve has been atrocious. Even our U17 boys don’t play such schoolboy football.

The only thing going for these boys is the high energy and pace that they have. They have zero football brain starting from the midfielders to the strikers. Very poor football education at the age of 20. We are in trouble.
well said
Thunder

Post by Thunder »

This goalkeeper will spell doom for the team. He conceded a goal on his third attempt & third mistake. Real ugly!!!
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

Is he really the second-best option available among Nigerian foreign-based or locally-based U-20 keepers?

Thunder wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:06 pm This goalkeeper will spell doom for the team. He conceded a goal on his third attempt & third mistake. Real ugly!!!
He is the sub. The main goalkeeper is very good.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I knew this team wasn't going to win the cup, even if they manage to win this game. The frontline has been absolutely dreadful throughout the competition.

Sick of this rubbish

We have been very poor today. Have they been celebrating too much?

Thank God we have qualified for the World Cup. Hopefully the coach can find better attacking players in time for the tourney.

Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:56 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:53 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:50 pm
Cellular wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:44 pm
Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 3:43 pm0-0 so far
'Sauce'?!
Link?
https://www.youtube.com/live/EzkdTcEKoz ... ABwUmo1DEB
What happened to our GK, Harcourt?
Injury?
Injury - collision with Senior Bameyi.
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Re: AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa 1 Nigeria 0 FT

Like I said only another thread, hustle and tenacity doesn’t win you games. Today is a perfect example of all muscle and no brain. Our boys were extremely poor upfront. Some very shocking football to be honest.

But I congratulate them on qualifying for the World Cup. Big achievement but sadly a lot of them are going to miss out on the big one. They are not well trained, obviously spent too much time in unregulated academies.

... paid the price for poor finishing especially in the first half.

2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^

Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:04 pm Some of our football in the third half has been atrocious. Even our U17 boys don’t play such schoolboy football.

The only thing going for these boys is the high energy and pace that they have. They have zero football brain starting from the midfielders to the strikers. Very poor football education at the age of 20. We are in trouble.
You're going to far. They played good football. Outplayed SA by a big margin. All they need are a few better passing MF players, and a clinical finisher. I'm pleased with the coach and his football philosophy.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

bret- hart wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:36 pm 2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^
You love to blame quota because all Nigeria’s problems for you begin and end in the north.
The problem is corruption, full stop.
Fill the team with Chukwuemekas, Babatundes and Oghenes and there will still be no difference if the system is not cleansed.
Was that ‘keeper there on a quota?
If so, which type?

The real quota in Nigeria is forcing poor HB players into the SE regardless of their ethnicity.
So it’s not about the north.
Na you wan’ chook that one inside legitimate argument.

Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:53 pm
bret- hart wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:36 pm 2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^
You love to blame quota because all Nigeria’s problems for you begin and end in the north.
Fill the team with Chukwuemekas, Babatundes and Oghenes and there will still be no difference if the system is not cleansed.
If so, which type?

The real quota in Nigeria is forcing poor HB players into the SE regardless of their ethnicity.
Thats a lie. Quota system and corruption goes hand in hand.

Inability to shoot the ball messed them up. Like they were always looking to pass rather than testing the keeper.

If so, which type?

Nonsense. Historically our best players have come from the south. Serious footballing nations know where to get their talents from. France knows where to get their ballers from, same as Brazil. Its only Nigeria that does federal character callups and hires coaches based on federal character and wonders why we are so trash in football lately.

CE, are you people vexing over a loss in the u20s? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: oh boy the goal is to qualify,scout and find prospects . we cannot be losing sleep over winning the u20 AFCON it matters not ..haba una don start to abuse 18 years olds ..come on folks yall are better than this

davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:32 pm Like I said only another thread, hustle and tenacity doesn’t win you games. Today is a perfect example of all muscle and no brain. Our boys were extremely poor upfront. Some very shocking football to be honest.

But I congratulate them on qualifying for the World Cup. Big achievement but sadly a lot of them are going to miss out on the big one. They are not well trained, obviously spent too much time in unregulated academies.
Well said, from game 1 they looked like players without a proper understanding of the game which i guess is mainly due to bad coaching.

Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:05 pm
Sunset wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:04 pm
Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:01 pm
Sunset wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:59 pm This GK is a joker :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I'm not surprised looking a how things have gone for him with his club
And he is the second best U20 goalkeeper in Nigeria? Hmmm.
He's based in Europe so he must be amongst our best :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
So an agent got him into the team? That makes sense.
I wouldn't say that, on paper he would look like a decent addition at the U20 level (Even the main SE a couple years ago :rotf: ) but with a bit of scouting its quite clear he's a shaky GK to say the least and this is despite the professional experience he has over the other two. Zubairu only has himself to blame with his haphazard recruitment.

bret- hart wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 6:00 pm
If so, which type?

Nonsense. Historically our best players have come from the south. Serious footballing nations know where to get their talents from. France knows where to get their ballers from, same as Brazil. Its only Nigeria that does federal character callups and hires coaches based on federal character and wonders why we are so trash in football lately.
Please. 70% of the players from the south. How many goals did they score. The Oliseh running around dribbling himself, how many goals did he score. I can bet your current SE full of southern boys plsying in Europe cannot beat this south African U20 team. What Nigeria needs in all its soccer teams are players that apply intelligence on the pitch not just athleticism. As the competition reaches the latter stages, only good teams are left and what separates them are the one that can win the mental game. The most difficult footballers to play against are the intellligent players thst are athletes . The game can tire one fast when playing with such people.
Last edited by oscar52 on Thu May 15, 2025 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Showboy wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 5:24 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:56 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:53 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:50 pm
Cellular wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:44 pm
Lolly wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 3:43 pm0-0 so far
'Sauce'?!
Link?
https://www.youtube.com/live/EzkdTcEKoz ... ABwUmo1DEB
What happened to our GK, Harcourt?
Injury?
Injury - collision with Senior Bameyi.
Thank you.

I was wondering if it was the revelation of the tournament was the one culpable in the goal.
I think even with our Senior Team, we need to work on being a bit more composed in the final 3rd. Sometimes, an extra pass could unlock a defense. I hope they give them ample time to camp for the World Cup.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 6:02 pm CE, are you people vexing over a loss in the u20s? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: oh boy the goal is to qualify,scout and find prospects . we cannot be losing sleep over winning the u20 AFCON it matters not ..haba una don start to abuse 18 years olds ..come on folks yall are better than this
Who is abusing 18 year olds here?