Eric Chelle releases list for Unity cup and Russia game (9 NPFL players + Felix Agu)

Re: Eric Chelle releases list for Unity cup and Russia game (9 NPFL players + Felix Agu)

With or without Nigeria I must enjoy my world cup next year, I've already made plans with my guys for the Airbnbs we are going to book close to the world cup venues. If these bunch of SE players like, they shouldn't fight with every grit, blood and sweat they've got left in them inspite of the NFF...they will be doing a disservice to their
international football legacies not me, I'll just jejely support the USMNT as a naturalized American and then find one small African team making its world cup debut to support.

And then pray for an early exit for Ghana as usual
Re: Eric Chelle releases list for Unity cup and Russia game (9 NPFL players + Felix Agu)

Enugu II wrote: Wed May 21, 2025 1:54 pm The biggest story is Felix Agu and, perhaps, understanding the agreement reached with him. It is an important threshold for the future.

As for Musa and Kele? Having thought about it, I actually have less concern about Musa given that he is outstanding currently in the NPFL and two of this games are partly to prepare the NPFL team for the coming African tournament. For Kele, I do not believe he belongs here at all.
Would have loved them to have invited Chuba Akpom over Iheanacho, especially for the Unity Cup.

Chelle still hasn't learned how to navigate the treachrous waters of Naija footie... where agency representation trumps most things, especially team building.

Cellular wrote: Thu May 22, 2025 6:01 pm
Enugu II wrote: Wed May 21, 2025 1:54 pm The biggest story is Felix Agu and, perhaps, understanding the agreement reached with him. It is an important threshold for the future.

As for Musa and Kele? Having thought about it, I actually have less concern about Musa given that he is outstanding currently in the NPFL and two of this games are partly to prepare the NPFL team for the coming African tournament. For Kele, I do not believe he belongs here at all.
Would have loved them to have invited Chuba Akpom over Iheanacho, especially for the Unity Cup.

Chelle still hasn't learned how to navigate the treachrous waters of Naija footie... where agency representation trumps most things, especially team building.
Cell,

I am waiting to know why Iheanacho was called up for the Russia game and the other friendlies. I hope the Nigerian press get Chelle to address that because I have no clue why Iheanacho was called up. I have tried so many ways to rationalize Iheanacho's call up and I have found a way yet. I found one for Musa but certainly not for Iheanacho. That is just a mystery to me.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Thu May 22, 2025 6:33 pm

Cell,

I am waiting to know why Iheanacho was called up for the Russia game and the other friendlies. I hope the Nigerian press get Chelle to address that because I have no clue why Iheanacho was called up. I have tried so many ways to rationalize Iheanacho's call up and I have found a way yet. I found one for Musa but certainly not for Iheanacho. That is just a mystery to me.

You're concerned about Nacho but what about Waliu Ojetoye and Junior Nduka. What have they done to deserve a SE call?

Another wasted chance to rebuild the team. What is Ahmed Musa doing in the team? Why continue to invite players that wont be in the team in 4 years time. ?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 1:29 am
Enugu II wrote: Thu May 22, 2025 6:33 pm

Cell,

You're concerned about Nacho but what about Waliu Ojetoye and Junior Nduka. What have they done to deserve a SE call?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

"What have they achieved?"

And this one is posting somebody holding up primary 2 inter-house sports cup and 9 assists in one of the worst leagues in the world.

Some people do not understand the prestige of playing for the Super Eagles. :oops: :roll:

danfo driver wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 3:20 am :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

And this one is posting somebody holding up primary 2 inter-house sports cup and 9 assists in one of the worst leagues in the world.

Some people do not understand the prestige of playing for the Super Eagles. :oops: :roll:

No they don’t. Not too long ago, decades, it used to be that a player would have to be the best Nigerian player live to put on the GWG. Nowadays, it’s easier to get invited to Ade than to buy the jersey online. Imagine, useless players getting called up based on connections and perceived talent. Thats what we’ve been reduced to.

The SE brand has been damaged! Imagine SE players failing trials?
There was a time when being in the SE would automatically get a player a contract instead of trials.
While it is unacceptable that the media have kept quiet, I don’t understand why other stakeholders especially former players are keeping quiet in the face of this charade

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 3:36 am
danfo driver wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 3:20 am :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

No they don’t. Not too long ago, decades, it used to be that a player would have to be the best Nigerian player live to put on the GWG. Nowadays, it’s easier to get invited to Ade than to buy the jersey online. Imagine, useless players getting called up based on connections and perceived talent. Thats what we’ve been reduced to.
Very ironic coming from the clowns not too long ago that were okay with our 1st choice GK being a 4th division player :thumb: Its okay, I see what you guys are

Dammy wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 8:28 am The SE brand has been damaged! Imagine SE players failing trials?
There was a time when being in the SE would automatically get a player a contract instead of trials.
While it is unacceptable that the media have kept quiet, I don’t understand why other stakeholders especially former players are keeping quiet in the face of this charade
This is because we have a crap system of voting in the FA president. Also APC is to blame. This is what lolly voted for . Lolly is part of the problem

Sunset wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 12:24 pm

And this one is posting somebody holding up in primary 2 inter-house sports cup and 9 assists in one of the worst leagues in the world.

Very ironic coming from the clowns not too long ago that were okay with our 1st choice GK being a 4th division player :thumb: Its okay, I see what you guys are
When was a 4th division player our number one goalkeeper?

You dont have to be a pathological liar because you are frustrated that your client is holding inter-house sport trophy. :oops:

Dammy wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 8:28 am The SE brand has been damaged! Imagine SE players failing trials?
It did not start today. Our media, fans and some ex-players are corrupt to the core and eating crumbs from the table of those who are destroying our football. It is very easy to know that these people have been compromised.

I will always say it -- I dont have any issue with the NFF. We know who they are. It is the media and fanbase that I abhor with a passion. They have sold us for "30 pieces of silver!" If every media house and fan bounded together and confronted the NFF, things will be different. But we have enemies amongst us who receive their daily bread from the NFF and sold us.

We will NOT be attending the next World Cup and these people dont care.

Dammy wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 12:31 pm

And this one is posting somebody holding up in primary 2 inter-house sports cup and 9 assists in one of the worst leagues in the world.

Dammy,

The SE brand has long been damaged. After the WC 94 and shortly after when we even used clubless players, we have not been the same even when we have sought to build the brand with those trained in Euro academies.

My view is that the answer is not as simple as the club in which a player plies his trade nor is it the league. You have to look at the individual player and his commitment to play at a high level, no matter the club or league whence he comes. For me, I am convinced that Nigerian player talent/ability cannot be simply judged by his club or the league he plays given the peculiarity of the economic circumstances coming from Nigeria.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

According to reports, Felix Agu, has been cleared to play for Nigeria by FIFA after getting confirmation from the German FA that he has not been capped competitively at any level by Germany

Dammy wrote: Sat May 24, 2025 3:54 pm According to reports, Felix Agu, has been cleared to play for Nigeria by FIFA after getting confirmation from the German FA that he has not been capped competitively at any level by Germany
...nonsense, if he was capped will there be no record/video/news reel of it somewhere? Just run around formality.

...corruption is in every fabric and fiber of Nigeria and Nigerians, at home and abroad.
My recent visit did open my eyes more wider, not that I wasn't expecting "sickness" but it's so rotten today.

Enugu II wrote: Fri May 23, 2025 7:11 pm

Dammy,

The SE brand has long been damaged. After the WC 94 and shortly after when we even used clubless players, we have not been the same even when we have sought to build the brand with those trained in Euro academies.

My view is that the answer is not as simple as the club in which a player plies his trade nor is it the league. You have to look at the individual player and his commitment to play at a high level, no matter the club or league whence he comes. For me, I am convinced that Nigerian player talent/ability cannot be simply judged by his club or the league he plays given the peculiarity of the economic circumstances coming from Nigeria.
Why try to reinvent the wheel? What other metric of performance do we have besides club form, quality and league quality? If it’s about commitment, I’m sure you’d find committed Nigerian players in Sri Lanka who are ready to die on the pitch for Nigeria. Also, do you know any National team that’s doing well above expectations with players from junk leagues like the NPFL ? Pls don’t say Lesotho because they have a better league than Nigeria and they’re still rubbish.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat May 24, 2025 8:11 pm

Dammy,

Why try to reinvent the wheel? What other metric of performance do we have besides club form, quality and league quality? If it’s about commitment, I’m sure you’d find committed Nigerian players in Sri Lanka who are ready to die on the pitch for Nigeria. Also, do you know any National team that’s doing well above expectations with players from junk leagues like the NPFL ? Pls don’t say Lesotho because they have a better league than Nigeria and they’re still rubbish.
You left out recommendation from agents and coaches. That was how our Papa Daniel got in.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sat May 24, 2025 8:26 pm

Dammy,

You left out recommendation from agents and coaches. That was how our Papa Daniel got in.
EII and others have to understand that football is about quality and performance of the players, that’s why we’re all here, it’s why it’s big business. EII has to think deeper bout the real reason why Papa Daniel got invitations before Uche, Agu, and why he got invited ahead of Onyeka who was arguably our best MF at the last Afcon.

Dammy,

The migration of Nigerian talent is not similar to those from European countries. Thus, the method of inviting players must reflect such a difference. While, some European countries can afford to invite players in the Big Five leagues because their best players converge in those, one cannot do the same with Nigeria's talents. WHY? Given that Nigerian talents are mostly focused on getting paid, not really on the destination league .... the result is dispersal of Nigerian talents all over the globe. This then requires a different approach to player invitation.