Who's in the Race for APOY 2025?

goke313
Re: Who's in the Race for APOY 2025?

Post by goke313 »

We need to be objective and honest....it's clearly Mo Salah. Then after Salah, Hakimi

goke313 wrote: Tue May 27, 2025 11:00 pm We need to be objective and honest....it's clearly Mo Salah. Then after Salah, Hakimi
Sure! I have always loved objectivity. :D

- Did Salah win the most trophies this season?
- Did Salah score the most goals this season?

Please answer the questions above. Thanks!

theDunamis wrote: Tue May 27, 2025 10:15 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 4:00 pmtheDunamis,

With speculation that Ronaldo may be sought by one of Africa's reps to the World Club Cup, would you think he should be eligible for the AFOY? I use Ronaldo even though the likelihood of actually playing for an African club is dim but it does bring the issue to the fore. Currently three of Africa's reps in the World Clubs' Cup have players from Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Slovenia, etc. Are those players ineligible for the AFOY even though they will actually play for African clubs.

The point is that the focus should not be about a player's heritage but about the colors that the player wears. Currently, if these awards are based on heritage then Mohammed Salah should never win UEFA Best player.

Enugu II,

Yes, those players are ineligible for the AFOY even though they will actually play for African clubs. The AFOY is for the African Footballer of the Year. Period.

It seems you are not taking the time to understand the meaning and basis for each of these awards and you end up conflating them.

AFOY = African Footballer of the Year

UEFA Men's Player of the Year = UEFA Best Player in Europe

Take time to understand what the purpose and criteria for each award is rather than imputing your own meaning to them.

thedunamis,

Bros, I understand what it is BUT I do not agree with It. Thus, I point to questions that are intended to make people think. You just stated that it is intended for those of African heritage. Could you explain what heritage means here?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
goke313

Post by goke313 »

danfo driver wrote: Tue May 27, 2025 11:46 pm
goke313 wrote: Tue May 27, 2025 11:00 pm We need to be objective and honest....it's clearly Mo Salah. Then after Salah, Hakimi

You know damn well…
All leagues are not equal
All trophies are not equal
Performances, moments, and other metrics besides “goals” matter

I’ll play along and answer “no” to both of your questions.
Now, I’ll ask you:
Of the top 3 contenders of the Male APOY
-Since you want to bring up goals, rank their goals/assists
-Rank their leagues
-Rank their trophies

goke313 wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 12:17 am

You know damn well…

Now, I’ll ask you:
-Rank their leagues
-Rank their trophies

Thank you for your response.

In my view, OBJECTIVELY where there are people who have objectively performed better than one person - with numbers (that is the only objective metric), those people who win the award.

If you truly believe in objectivity, as you claimed - you cannot give an award to someone who objectively performed WORSE than others. I am sure you agree.

TO YOUR QUESTION - who are the top 3 contenders for the APOY? Have they been named?

The last time the winner of African Player of the Year came from a Tier 2/3 league was Amunike in 1994. Turkey is a tier 2/3 league.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Enugu II wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 12:04 amthedunamis,

Bros, I understand what it is BUT I do not agree with It. Thus, I point to questions that are intended to make people think. You just stated that it is intended for those of African heritage. Could you explain what heritage means here?

African heritage means the footballer has and claims African lineage including playing for an African nation if selected and definitely NOT playing for a non-African nation.
goke313

Post by goke313 »

danfo driver wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 12:48 am

You know damn well…

Now, I’ll ask you:
-Rank their leagues
-Rank their trophies

In my view, OBJECTIVELY where there are people who have objectively performed better than one person - with numbers (that is the only objective metric), those people who win the award.

If you truly believe in objectivity, as you claimed - you cannot give an award to someone who objectively performed WORSE than others. I am sure you agree.

TO YOUR QUESTION - who are the top 3 contenders for the APOY? Have they been named?

For this exercise, Salah, Hakimi, and Osimhen.

If Hakimi wins the UCL, he should win APOY hands down. Failing that, it’ll probably go to Mo Salah. Osimhen has done well in Turkey, but the fact that it’s in Turkey probably knocks the coefficient back a peg.

If the league standard was of no consequence, then that powerful centre-half at Inverness Caledonian Thistle is well worth a shout. Bruiser. Won 98% of his aerial duels, all of his 50/50s and was no less than “well in” on each occasion. Was first man in when it all kicked off at Greenock Morton. Served the badge with aplomb. Straight red. Afters? Double helping and back for seconds.

goke313 wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 7:30 am
danfo driver wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 12:48 am

You know damn well…

Now, I’ll ask you:
-Rank their leagues
-Rank their trophies

For this exercise, Salah, Hakimi, and Osimhen.
For which exercise? The top 3 contenders have NOT been named. I thought you favored objectivity? Or thats when it suits you? You dont want to be objective anymore? :lol:

By the way, Goke, when is the ceremony?

In my calculation, prior to that date, you have the CL finals, the World Club Cup and the start of next season --all before the nominations are announced. However, Salah will only have a one-ble on the day of the announcement. The others? We all know what they will have by then :D

Hakimi scores in the CL finals and the Salah Slaves roar loudly with pain, crying! :lol: :lol: Una one-ble no go reach o! :lol: :lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hakimi will likely win the APOY.
Congrats to him in winning the Champions League 🏆

Otitokoro wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 9:32 pm Hakimi will likely win the APOY.
Congrats to him in winning the Champions League 🏆
Done and dusted. it is his. 3 trophies this season and the best player on the best African National Team. Well deserved.