NFF is destroying the NPFL
Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
Why would serious clubs even bother to look at Npfl players when the ones that are invited to SE are shockingly poor? A lot of us have been harsh on the Npfl players but I'm now convinced that we actually don't know who the best players in the Npfl are anymore. I refuse to believe that Sodiq is the best RB in Nigeria or that Azimi is the best U20 LW in Nigeria.
Those that know the local league like Sunset should pls shed light on this issue. The players the Nff are inviting to SE, FE and U17 are no longer the best we have available and it's affecting out talent pool in a very negative way. Agu, Frederick and Uche all get a chance and it took 5 mins of watching them to know they're ballers. It should be the sane for Npfl players.
Why would serious clubs even bother to look at Npfl players when the ones that are invited to SE are shockingly poor? A lot of us have been harsh on the Npfl players but I'm now convinced that we actually don't know who the best players in the Npfl are anymore. I refuse to believe that Sodiq is the best RB in Nigeria or that Azimi is the best U20 LW in Nigeria.
Those that know the local league like Sunset should pls shed light on this issue. The players the Nff are inviting to SE, FE and U17 are no longer the best we have available and it's affecting out talent pool in a very negative way. Agu, Frederick and Uche all get a chance and it took 5 mins of watching them to know they're ballers. It should be the sane for Npfl players.
Re: NFF is destroying the NPFL
...because they can't money from them being drafted into the SE setup.
Their wages are equivalent to what those corrupt thieves spend in one drinking and eating and womanizing meet.
- danfo driver
I am confident that there are probably talented players in the NPFL. However, those guys will NOT smell the SE. The ones that smell the SE are those that give their match bonuses to their godfather.
Like Tanimola, they do not invite them to perform. They invite them so that when they go on trials, they add "Nigerian international" to their CV and that helps them get into Div 3 teams. Do you know how big it is for a Div 3 team to tell their sponsors that "we attract national team level players????" Bro! That alone elevates the name of that Div 3 team. So that is how they get their players to move there and the players "settles" them, regularly with his salary.
Once he gets that move to Div 3, he is done! They start working to get another one out.
Like I said, the saddest thing is not the NFF. It is the horrid people in our fanbase who support them and defend this criminality. Many of them were telling us how Tanimu was great, how he performed better than others... how he didnt put a foot wrong. Since Tanimu has gone to sit on the bench in Div 3, we havent heard pim from these people.
Like Tanimola, they do not invite them to perform. They invite them so that when they go on trials, they add "Nigerian international" to their CV and that helps them get into Div 3 teams. Do you know how big it is for a Div 3 team to tell their sponsors that "we attract national team level players????" Bro! That alone elevates the name of that Div 3 team. So that is how they get their players to move there and the players "settles" them, regularly with his salary.
Once he gets that move to Div 3, he is done! They start working to get another one out.
Like I said, the saddest thing is not the NFF. It is the horrid people in our fanbase who support them and defend this criminality. Many of them were telling us how Tanimu was great, how he performed better than others... how he didnt put a foot wrong. Since Tanimu has gone to sit on the bench in Div 3, we havent heard pim from these people.
I dont want to hear any more about home based RUBBISH.
These players have NOTHING to offer SE.
We all just saw an U21 euro based player who just strolled into camp and outperformed all these junks.
He wouldn't even have been called of not for Musas nonsense.
Imagine how many other players we are refusing to look at because of these clownish criminals.
Papa Daniels keeping out Uche Crisantus is a sick joke.
Please leave these junks for the CHAN.
We all just saw an U21 euro based player who just strolled into camp and outperformed all these junks.
Imagine how many other players we are refusing to look at because of these clownish criminals.
- danfo driver
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:21 pm I dont want to hear any more about home based RUBBISH.

Who was the last Nigerian player to go from the Npfl tona top 10 league in Europe?
We’ve said it a million times, our best players are not in the NPFL. All of them are in the abroad somewhere. The coaches just need to fish them out or wait till they end up in a big club.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Benjamin Frederick, though he hasn’t featured for the senior team but has been on the bench for a couple of cup matches.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 10:50 pm Who was the last Nigerian player to go from the Npfl tona top 10 league in Europe?
Before him we had Elderson Echiejile, Taiye Taiwo, Nsofor, Obodo. All quality players.
He was on the bench for EPL matches as wellLolly wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 11:18 pmBenjamin Frederick, though he hasn’t featured for the senior team but has been on the bench for a couple of cup matches.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 10:50 pm Who was the last Nigerian player to go from the Npfl tona top 10 league in Europe?
Before him we had Elderson Echiejile, Taiye Taiwo, Nsofor, Obodo. All quality players.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
I will caution you not to use this game to judge NPFL. There are a few points that you should be clear on:
1. Sodiq was awful today but that is not to state that all NPFL is awful. It is like someone claiming the Bundesliga is poor because Boniface and Akpoguma did not click for the SE. There are individual players and some may play well and others not. Sodiq's problem today was about pace, mostly, and that will be exposed. We have had Ahmed Musa, at his prime do that even to WC defenders and decades ago we saw Nigeria's TJ do it to an African hero Mark Fish. Thus, for me, Sodiq's problem is not so much his skill level but his lack of pace which was badly exposed. Worse still, it makes it clear that he cannot play for SE against South Africa where Percy Tau even at his age remains a speedster and has exposed our defenders, Europe and all, in previous encounters.
2. In my view, Nigeria remains a place to seek talent for all our national teams, including the SE. Nothing today, tells me otherwise. The skill level is there and in my view was shown in the games played not only these few days but prior to that. That one player was exposed in terms of pace (Not skill, btw) does not obviate such thinking. It is like watching Akpoguma play for Nigeria and then claiming that all players from Bundesliga must be ignored. No sir. You continue to look at individual players that may fit the bill. What is clear before today and has been stated previously is that the NPFL cannot and does not have most of our superior players but that does not mean negating the NPFL and other levels of Nigerian football.
On the other player, Papa, if I was the Manager I will give him some minutes against Russia as a sub. If he was impressive in training to be listed for Russia and the n started against Ghana, then he should be looked at again to be sure that he is what the Manager may think he is. Clearly he is a workaholic type of player and wins balls. What was poor in his last appearances were the fouls, particularly.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sun Jun 01, 2025 12:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Trust you to carry style to obsfucate the real in an attempt to cover for the Nff. Im not just talking about today's game. Ive watched every single SE for the last 5yrs and ive watched every minute of all the Npfl players called to SE. Not once have I ever been impressed.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 12:22 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
I will caution you not to use this game to judge NPFL. There are a few points that you should be clear on:
1. Sodiq was awful today but that is not to state that all NPFL is awful. It is like someone claiming the Bundesliga is poor because Boniface and Akpoguma did not click for the SE. There are individual players and some may play well and others not. Sodiq's problem today was about pace, mostly, and that will be exposed. We have had Ahmed Musa, at his prime do that even to WC defenders and decades ago we saw Nigeria's TJ do it to an African hero Mark Fish. Thus, for me, Sodiq's problem is not so much his skill level but his lack of pace which was badly exposed. Worse still, it makes it clear that he cannot play for SE against South Africa where Percy Tau even at his age remains a speedster and has exposed our defenders, Europe and all, in previous encounters.
2. In my view, Nigeria remains a place to seek talent for all our national teams, including the SE. Nothing today, tells me otherwise. The skill level is there and in my view was shown in the games played not only these few days but prior to that. That one player was exposed in terms of pace (Not skill, btw) does not obviate such thinking. It is like watching Akpoguma play for Nigeria and then claiming that all players from Bundesliga must be ignored. No sir. You continue to look at individual players that may fit the bill. What is clear before today and has been stated previously is that the NPFL cannot and does not have most of our superior players but that does not mean negating the NPFL and other levels of Nigerian football.
Imho, Sodiq was horrible vs Jamaica, he was useless bs Ghana and horrendous in the 2 wcq he played. I mean, his lack of positional awareness is shocking.
For me, it is not about the NFF but about Nigeria's football. Those are two different entities. If you think it is okay to use an individual or a few examples to characterize local Nigerian football then it is time to remind you and everyone of supposedly top players from Europe who also did not cut it in games for Nigeria. The key point is to focus on particular players and individuals but not jump to conclusion about an entire league or Nigerian football. Afterall there are players regularly going from Nigerian football and become first teamers in Europe ahead of competitors long involved in European football. That is a FACT and must be considered.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 12:33 amTrust you to carry style to obsfucate the real in an attempt to cover for the Nff. Im not just talking about today's game. Ive watched every single SE for the last 5yrs and ive watched every minute of all the Npfl players called to SE. Not once have I ever been impressed.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 12:22 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
Imho, Sodiq was horrible vs Jamaica, he was useless bs Ghana and horrendous in the 2 wcq he played. I mean, his lack of positional awareness is shocking.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
But we should use the scrimmage that they organized for Papa Daniel to judge him and give him a national team call up

- danfo driver
Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 12:22 am
On the other player, Papa, if I was the Manager I will give him some minutes against Russia as a sub. If he was impressive in training to be listed for Russia and the n started against Ghana, then he should be looked at again to be sure that he is what the Manager may think he is. Clearly he is a workaholic type of player and wins balls. What was poor in his last appearances were the fouls, particularly.

Dem don dey change mouth. Before, he was skillful and a no 10. Now, he is a workaholic and wins balls. Tomorrow, he will be an alcoholic.

So many excuses for a player who failed trials in Turkey Div 2, just to force him down our throats! Like Chelle said after the March games "Papa Daniel is NOT ready for this level" In other words "he is NOT good enough." We will soon see the back of him. That I am sure of. Whoever his godfather is will have to accept it sooner, rather than later. TUEHHH!!!

We shall see if he gets any minutes in Russia. I would not judge him on one game that I have seen. It seemed that he was overly eager to impress and was fouling a lot. Perhaps, he can show better with another game.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 3:23 amEnugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 12:22 am
On the other player, Papa, if I was the Manager I will give him some minutes against Russia as a sub. If he was impressive in training to be listed for Russia and the n started against Ghana, then he should be looked at again to be sure that he is what the Manager may think he is. Clearly he is a workaholic type of player and wins balls. What was poor in his last appearances were the fouls, particularly.![]()
Dem don dey change mouth. Before, he was skillful and a no 10. Now, he is a workaholic and wins balls. Tomorrow, he will be an alcoholic.![]()
So many excuses for a player who failed trials in Turkey Div 2, just to force him down our throats! Like Chelle said after the March games "Papa Daniel is NOT ready for this level" In other words "he is NOT good enough." We will soon see the back of him. That I am sure of. Whoever his godfather is will have to accept it sooner, rather than later. TUEHHH!!!![]()
Papa Daniels will not smell the pitch against Russia unless there are serious injury problems.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 12:22 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
You can bet on that.
Onyedika and Bashiru will be joining and Chrisantus hasn't played much.
You make the mistake of thinking he is in the squad on merit.
He is not.
...why una dey seek lofty goals when you can't even clean your own backyard?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 10:50 pm Who was the last Nigerian player to go from the Npfl tona top 10 league in Europe?
You/We don't even have top 10 managers
top 10 football administrators
top 10 government
to 10 anything (maybe corruption)
and now una wan go find players for top 10 league
no wonder many outside Nigeria don't take us serious

I personally don't think it makes sense to judge the quality of any NT player with less than 10 appearances for the SE/HB Eagles as we've seen a lot have amazing debuts and fall off a cliff from there performance wise and also the opposite. Nwabali is literally our starting Goalkeeper yet conceded 4 goals in his debut match against Mexico of which he was one of the better performers given the circumstances and yet our NT coach who was at the game clearly wasn't impressed. He'd only get recalled 3 years later when it was clear we have a problem in the GK department.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
The NFF are definitely destroying the "image" of the NPFL with the lack of preparation they give the players at the international level with their "one-off" callups to the SE and the homebased International friendly every 2-3 years, its not enough to prepare even the most talented footballers in the country for the International level. Even friendlies with the likes of Niger, Liberia, etc would suffice. I doubt the likes of Oboabona & Sunday Mba would've held their own as well as they did without that experience
Question Oga Sunset; In you opinion, are the NPFL players invited the best in their position in the NPFL?Sunset wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:34 pmI personally don't think it makes sense to judge the quality of any NT player with less than 10 appearances for the SE/HB Eagles as we've seen a lot have amazing debuts and fall off a cliff from there performance wise and also the opposite. Nwabali is literally our starting Goalkeeper yet conceded 4 goals in his debut match against Mexico of which he was one of the better performers given the circumstances and yet our NT coach who was at the game clearly wasn't impressed. He'd only get recalled 3 years later when it was clear we have a problem in the GK department.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
The NFF are definitely destroying the "image" of the NPFL with the lack of preparation they give the players at the international level with their "one-off" callups to the SE and the homebased International friendly every 2-3 years, its not enough to prepare even the most talented footballers in the country for the International level. Even friendlies with the likes of Niger, Liberia, etc would suffice. I doubt the likes of Oboabona & Sunday Mba would've held their own as well as they did without that experience
For the most part, yes:EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:38 pmQuestion Oga Sunset; In you opinion, are the NPFL players invited the best in their position in the NPFL?Sunset wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:34 pmI personally don't think it makes sense to judge the quality of any NT player with less than 10 appearances for the SE/HB Eagles as we've seen a lot have amazing debuts and fall off a cliff from there performance wise and also the opposite. Nwabali is literally our starting Goalkeeper yet conceded 4 goals in his debut match against Mexico of which he was one of the better performers given the circumstances and yet our NT coach who was at the game clearly wasn't impressed. He'd only get recalled 3 years later when it was clear we have a problem in the GK department.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
RB's: Sodiq & Ojetoye this season have been #1 and #2 this season
CB: Onyebuchi & Junior Nduka
AM: Isaac Saviour
RW: Sadiq Abubakar Adamu
Those amongst the best but arguable:
Papa Daniel: Was on course IMO to being the best CM in his debut NPFL season until his MOTM performances at the CHAN qualifiers, he would go on to make only four appearances for Niger Tornadoes this year due to trials and NT engagements.
Chinemerem Ugwueze: He's the captain for Rangers and a regular for them and probably amongst the better CM's in the league I wouldn't have him near my top 3.
No's:
Alimi Sikiru: One of the most experienced CF's in the league for sure, had a subpar season goalscoring wise though i'd say was a key figure in Remo Stars winning the league with his selfless play. I still don't think there's much upside to his inclusion.
Thanks. Something is definitely wrong with their decelopement. Perhaps you’re right about then not been adequately prepared for the big stage.Sunset wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 9:41 pmFor the most part, yes:EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:38 pmQuestion Oga Sunset; In you opinion, are the NPFL players invited the best in their position in the NPFL?Sunset wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:34 pmI personally don't think it makes sense to judge the quality of any NT player with less than 10 appearances for the SE/HB Eagles as we've seen a lot have amazing debuts and fall off a cliff from there performance wise and also the opposite. Nwabali is literally our starting Goalkeeper yet conceded 4 goals in his debut match against Mexico of which he was one of the better performers given the circumstances and yet our NT coach who was at the game clearly wasn't impressed. He'd only get recalled 3 years later when it was clear we have a problem in the GK department.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
Papa Daniel: Was on course IMO to being the best CM in his debut NPFL season until his MOTM performances at the CHAN qualifiers, he would go on to make only four appearances for Niger Tornadoes this year due to trials and NT engagements.
Chinemerem Ugwueze: He's the captain for Rangers and a regular for them and probably amongst the better CM's in the league I wouldn't have him near my top 3.
No's:
Alimi Sikiru: One of the most experienced CF's in the league for sure, had a subpar season goalscoring wise though i'd say was a key figure in Remo Stars winning the league with his selfless play. I still don't think there's much upside to his inclusion.
SunsetSunset wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 9:41 pmFor the most part, yes:EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:38 pmQuestion Oga Sunset; In you opinion, are the NPFL players invited the best in their position in the NPFL?Sunset wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:34 pmI personally don't think it makes sense to judge the quality of any NT player with less than 10 appearances for the SE/HB Eagles as we've seen a lot have amazing debuts and fall off a cliff from there performance wise and also the opposite. Nwabali is literally our starting Goalkeeper yet conceded 4 goals in his debut match against Mexico of which he was one of the better performers given the circumstances and yet our NT coach who was at the game clearly wasn't impressed. He'd only get recalled 3 years later when it was clear we have a problem in the GK department.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:02 pm Over the past 3yrs +, not a single player they've drafted into SE has shown any quality whatsoever as a professional. Not only are they not SE quality, none has had any significant development since invited. Igokwe, Tianimu, Collins, Sodiq and many more have all flattered to deceive. The track record of local players in not good for the league at all.
No's:
Kpom on Alimi. He actually has about 7 appearances for Nigeria, especially B Team over several years. I do not think anyone can categorize him as a young talent for the SE. He is more like a vet.