Camp update for Russian friendly: Aina and 5 other players out, Olusegun called up
Apparently Naija media outlets confirmed Aina and 5 other players (Iwobi etc) dropped out of the friendly which would explain the call-ups of Sodiq to replace Aina, Savior and other home based lad with Papa John's Daniel Pizza as the 4th. Olusegun of Krasnodar has been called up as well.
I wanted to really see more of Felix Agu but I would never know what transpired in his availability for this game.
Re: Camp update for Russian friendly: Aina and 5 other players out, Olusegun called up
Agu can play both RB and LB.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:04 pm Apparently Naija media outlets confirmed Aina and 5 other players (Iwobi etc) dropped out of the friendly which would explain the call-ups of Sodiq to replace Aina, Savior and other home based lad with Papa John's Daniel Pizza as the 4th. Olusegun of Krasnodar has been called up as well.
I dont know why he was not taken unless he had other plans.
Chukwueze, Tella, Sadiq, Aina, Ndidi, Iheanacho, out according to Owngoal.
This would be our best starting lineup.
GK: OKOYE
RB: SAMUEL
CB: TROOST
CB: FREDRICK
LB: ONYEAMACHI
DM: ONYEKA
CM: ONYEDIKA
AM: UCHE
RW: DELE BASHIRU
ST: BONIFACE
LW: SIMON
So it's looking
Re: Camp update for Russian friendly: Aina and 5 other players out, Olusegun called up
Are they having Visa issues?
- danfo driver
Maybe their parents are not agreeing for them to go to a war zone. Dont forget that some of these guys are in their early to mid 20s.
If my kid played for SE, there is zero chance he is going to a war zone. For what?
I brought this up earlier.danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:23 pm Maybe their parents are not agreeing for them to go to a war zone. Dont forget that some of these guys are in their early to mid 20s.
Ukraine tried to assassinate Putin with a swarm of drones the other day.
Yesterday they apparently destroyed 40% of Russias long range bombers at the airport.
This is where our depraved NFF are sending our boys to play a friendly.
I hope our boys get back safe.
I am also wondering why many of our players pulled out of this match
Besides the issue of the venue, which is a legitimate concern, getting our players to all show up during end of season contests has always been a challenge.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Granted FIFA didn't give its FULL recognition for the game because Russia is under suspension, but I don't think any unsafe thing will happen.
On the other hand, I see your point, EII; considering the players need some rests. In addition, I think players will likely be responsible for themselves if they sustain a major injury during this match. Thus, ...
Things happen, else I doubt Ukraine will be nasty to attack a city in Russia during a football game, but who knows, errors can occur anytime and at anywhere
Odas,
I cant blame any of these players who is not willing to take the risk. This international scheduled by the NFF was really a concern from the get go. Sure, Russsia has played several international friendlies but even just flying into the territory alone has to be a concern.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
EII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 6:11 pmOdas,
I cant blame any of these players who is not willing to take the risk. This international scheduled by the NFF was really a concern from the get go. Sure, Russsia has played several international friendlies but even just flying into the territory alone has to be a concern
Your point is understood, bro.
why are we playing some pathetic match with Russia? Ukraine just destroyed like 15 to 20 bombers using drones. The SE should not go to Russia to play a useless friendly. There are no benefits of playing Russia in football right now
Abeg guys, will this game even be FIFA accredited? I'm not even aware if Russia have been banned from participating in international football tbh
If the game is not an approved international friendly, then there is no reason the game should go ahead. Safety of the team should be put first.
If it's approved, anyone knows of a site that will show this friendly?
You never realize what you have till you lose it.
I think they're pulling out because safety in Russia is so so. Ukraine does launch some attacks on Russia. Also, Russia is currently under a FIFA suspension, so this match is certainly not a FIFA-graded friendly.
They're suspended by FIFA. So, this match will certainly not be accredited.
Accredited or not doesn't really mean much.
FIFA accredited friendlies barely effects rankings anyways.
It's a match to test our players against a quality opponent. The best opponent Chelle has played BY FAR.
Only issue is safety, but the NFF should have been aware of this when they scheduled the friendly, of course all they saw is $$$$$
...errors can occur, and that error could be Putin sabotaging the match by flying drone bombs near the arena then blame Ukraine.
Remember the man was a former KGB colonel.
He will do anything to satisfy the likes of Ohenhen and the orange felon who on his part is working to get fifa to lift the ban on Moscow international football.
...were the NFA not familiar with the global conflict raging in Europe? Russia invading Ukraine, hence the ongoing war. Yes, the saw the money and put players life in danger.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 7:41 pmAccredited or not doesn't really mean much.
It's a match to test our players against a quality opponent. The best opponent Chelle has played BY FAR.
Only issue is safety, but the NFF should have been aware of this when they scheduled the friendly, of course all they saw is $$$$$
What are you ranting about? I was only answering a question regarding the FIFA accreditation status.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 7:41 pmAccredited or not doesn't really mean much.
I think it's a match we should play, as long as we can assemble a viable team. However, I won't judge anyone who pulls out for safety reasons.
https://www.facebook.com/share/1As34VSJ ... tid=wwXIfr
I'm A Russian Champion... But Super Eagles Have Forgotten Me - Segun Cries From Krasnodar
Former Golden Eaglets winger, Olakunle Olusegun draws the attention of the NFF and Super Eagles coach to his side.
The 23-year-old recently win the Russian Premier League with Krasnodar.
Sadly, he was disappointed he couldn't make the Super Eagles list for the Russia friendly coming up next month.
“They (national team selectors) have forgotten me and I really understand,” Olusegun was quoted by OwnGoalNigeria.
“But it’s hard to take because I am based here in Russia and won’t be a part of my senior national team despite winning the championship. I will keep hoping for my chance to come.”
#NPFLUpdates #WeReportYouDebunk
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
The Match should be played.
There are hundreds of flights in and out of Russia daily with thousands of visitors.
We are playing the Russian national team, Offcourse security would be tight. I fail to see what the fear is all about.
There are hundreds of flights in and out of Russia daily with thousands of visitors.
We are playing the Russian national team, Offcourse security would be tight. I fail to see what the fear is all about.