Russia v Nigeria - 1:1 FT

Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:0

I don't know how many chances Victor Boniface needs. I know we need to create chances for him. Then we should create the tool needed to help him. But at least we should apply pressure on their defenders. Our creativity is Zero! Onyedika una dey praise na just sideway passes and ball retention. Nevertheless, we need to creators. Moses Simon is average

jette1 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:30 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:26 pm Absolutely love Raph Onyedika :clap:
Does he remind you of someone in the falcons
I do not watch women football. Sorry.

Pretty sure Boniface will be withdrawn early in the second half. This shows the gulf between Osimhen and the rest. With Osimhen, there will be no waiting for passes etc. Mschew, Boniface dey seriously fall my hand.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Boniface can't be blamed. He's not receiving any service. We need to move the ball side to side much quicker. Our slow build up is too easy to defend against.
Last edited by olu on Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gochino wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:22 pm
lacidi wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:20 pm We are giving the coach a lot of slack. Finding excuses for his poor performances. We never gave any Nigerian coach this level of slack.
Is the team playing badly?
No, not really. It just that we can actually do more.

Good first half, apart from the Ajayi OG we played decent football. Imagine if we had Osimhen, Lookman and Chukwueze in this game.

I like how the Russians sit deep and deploy on the counter.

I expect Chelle to bring on Tolu for Boniface and replace Moses. Both have been anonymous all day

...so that was OG

Enugu II wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:32 pm Pretty sure Boniface will be withdrawn early in the second half. This shows the gulf between Osimhen and the rest. With Osimhen, there will be no waiting for passes etc. Mschew, Boniface dey seriously fall my hand.

How about we get him some passes?

And how many do you think Osimhen would score if he simply had to finish passes provided him?

SMDH

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

We need to be honest with ourselves, we are not that good. Players talking two or more touches to bring the ball under control is giving the opposition enough time to close up spaces.

highbury wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:32 pm I don't know how many chances Victor Boniface needs. I know we need to create chances for him. Then we should create the tool needed to help him. But at least we should apply pressure on their defenders. Our creativity is Zero! Onyedika una dey praise na just sideway passes and ball retention. Nevertheless, we need to creators. Moses Simon is average
Yea, large number of the times, that is the job of the deeplying midfielder - to curculate the ball and make sure his team retains possession. You have Fisayo, Onyeka and Uche ahead of him. Ask them to create for you. :lol: :lol:

danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:33 pm
gochino wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:22 pm
lacidi wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:20 pm We are giving the coach a lot of slack. Finding excuses for his poor performances. We never gave any Nigerian coach this level of slack.
Is the team playing badly?
No, not really. It just that we can actually do more.

WE ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING. THAT'S THE POINT REALLY...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

We actually played very well in the first half.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Too many side way passes from SE. Looks like we are content holding on to ball for the heck of it. Uche needs to drop deeper and distribute to open players.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

The game is doing what’s intended to do

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

davidbam14 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:35 pm We need to be honest with ourselves, we are not that good. Players talking two or more touches to bring the ball under control is giving the opposition enough time to close up spaces.
Let me tell you about your defense -

RB - a benchwarmer in Turkey
LCB - a failed Tottenham reject struggling in Saudi
RCB - aa clubless player released by a Div 2 club
LB - in Greece

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Wait?? You thought the players on the pitch were all good? :lol: :lol: That whole defense wouldnt even make the Russian squad! :lol:

Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:34 pm Good first half, apart from the Ajayi OG we played decent football. Imagine if we had Osimhen, Lookman and Chukwueze in this game.

I expect Chelle to bring on Tolu for Boniface and replace Moses. Both have been anonymous all day
Replace Moses with Alimi? :shock:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
sabb

Post by sabb »

The SE might be good individually but as a team, very bad.
Can't press as a unit and can't defend spaces as a unit, everyone is just motioning the other to move into space. It should be automatic, players taking the xtra touch when a one touch pass was available, mehn I just tire for dis team.
Hoping for a better 2nd half cos dis kain individualism is just draining especially in a team sport
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

naijaguy wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:38 pm We actually played very well in the first half.
Very well? Maybe in the first 15 minutes. Afterwards, we played like a Division 2 club.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Will this coach allow Boniface to play another minute? If he does he’s not serious…

No subs?

Lolly wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:40 pm
Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:34 pm Good first half, apart from the Ajayi OG we played decent football. Imagine if we had Osimhen, Lookman and Chukwueze in this game.

Where did I say that?
I would play the Russian based dude before Alimi.

Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:43 pm
Lolly wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:40 pm

Where did I say that?
I would play the Russian based dude before Alimi.
Ok.

Lolly wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:43 pmNo subs?
No need. Our issue was tactical and not personnel.