Russia v Nigeria - 1:1 FT
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:1 FT
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:0
Really drop Simon? Dude is hardest working player outside of Vic O and plays well more often than notCellular wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:24 pmI think there's now quality depth.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:15 pm I am content with our midfield. Add Iwobi, Chukwueze and 1 other creative guy and we are getting closer.
The back 5 wouldnt start for us, or shouldnt anyway. And the forwards wouldnt, with Osimhen and Lookman.
The next thing is to figure out which combination works best together.
I would seriously consider keeping this set and just adding Iwobi and Lookman for Dele and Simon, respectively.
In the back, with Aina and Felix we will be more solid. And you also have the flexibility of moving Bassey to Leftback if you want.
Simon is not a starter, we need more brains than brawns and Simon is a second half type of sub to see out a game we're winning, and not the type of player you start if you want a frightening attacking output.kawawa wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 11:23 pmReally drop Simon? Dude is hardest working player outside of Vic O and plays well more often than notCellular wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:24 pmI think there's now quality depth.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:15 pm I am content with our midfield. Add Iwobi, Chukwueze and 1 other creative guy and we are getting closer.
The back 5 wouldnt start for us, or shouldnt anyway. And the forwards wouldnt, with Osimhen and Lookman.
I would seriously consider keeping this set and just adding Iwobi and Lookman for Dele and Simon, respectively.
In the back, with Aina and Felix we will be more solid. And you also have the flexibility of moving Bassey to Leftback if you want.
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:1
danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 10:05 pmUncle it’s two different situations. We legit took two CBs- one of who is a clubless and the other a failed Tottenham reject who has pretty much retired and struggles in Saudi. It’s a mirablet to only concede 1 goal with their two sh-t!txj wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 8:10 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:36 pm i am comfortable with the result and performance. We could have performed better, but some players showed that they belong and thats the most important thing.
Leaving Moscow (against their first team) with a draw, with our second team, missing 8-9 first 11 players, is very very impressive. I keep saying that if the coach selects his team on merit, we can be very competitive.
Would you say this same thing if Didier Deschamps team performed like this?
Russia used their first team. We used our B team,
For me, the CMs and the forwards are what we take with us. That defense need to be let go.
You're not only avoiding my question but are lying to yourself.
I'm not talking about individual performances but the team performance. And I know that you know the difference, irrespective of whether it's a B, C or D team.
How many successful build ups did that MF execute in the entire game?
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- danfo driver
Considering the formation we play, and for balance, you have to pick one between Simon and Lookman. Simon shouldn’t be playing AM for us, when we have Iwobi, Chukwueze and Uche. You are agree right?kawawa wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 11:23 pmReally drop Simon? Dude is hardest working player outside of Vic O and plays well more often than notCellular wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:24 pmI think there's now quality depth.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:15 pm I am content with our midfield. Add Iwobi, Chukwueze and 1 other creative guy and we are getting closer.
For some weird reason, I think people forget that we have Lookman in our team

- danfo driver
As e head ripe so, e picky sey person never pluck am for pitch

Keep lying to yourself..Cellular wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:51 pmYou dey mind TXJ?Babalawo wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 8:09 pmYou guys and always trying to be condescending to the next guy. It’s a football forum for crying out loud, this is not coaching school where shoulders have to be raised based on who’s more tactically aware.txj wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:59 pmanointed wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:57 pm Nothing much to write about our play. It was a lot of akrija kinda scrimmage. We were more individualiatic than team-esque. Russia was more but marginally organized than us.
If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces. We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.
We have officially moved from _Iyanu a_ Chelle to _Ki lo n_ Chelle.
Nothing more to add. Sometimes I feel like the peeps watching the game here are in an alternate universe...
We are not playing modern football.
Y’all should take a chill pill and allow people express themselves, it’s not that serious.
One of the aims of the friendlies has been achieved.
We have seen Ogbu, Fredrick, Chrisantus and Agu stake a claim.
That is FOUR players added.
We saw Dele Bashiru reintegrate himself back into the team and played well.
We saw a mobile midfield taking place.
Maduka Okoye, had a good game and made a claim for the number one jersey.
All these without us using the same personnel. And was on the road.
The coach and the NFF should be pleased with themselves for getting all these out of 3 friendlies.
A friendly is not simply to try players but to build the system of play.
We can neither play out from the back nor organize how to play with the long ball.
We had only one successful build up play in the entire game. One!
Some of you guys are just sh1t
Yeah. All vibes. No real effortCellular wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:16 pmHe is not interested in pressing.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:11 pm petrol $$$ boniface won't press that ball Tolu just scored
He plays like he doesn't want to be there.
But na una dey hype am.
Allow di guy to be a full time Content Creator, whosai.![]()
danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 12:18 amConsidering the formation we play, and for balance, you have to pick one between Simon and Lookman. Simon shouldn’t be playing AM for us, when we have Iwobi, Chukwueze and Uche. You are agree right?kawawa wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 11:23 pmReally drop Simon? Dude is hardest working player outside of Vic O and plays well more often than notCellular wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:24 pmI think there's now quality depth.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:15 pm I am content with our midfield. Add Iwobi, Chukwueze and 1 other creative guy and we are getting closer.
For some weird reason, I think people forget that we have Lookman in our team
[/quotea1
Are we going to play one constant formation irrespective of opponent? Should we not have redundancies? Iwobi, Simon, Lookman, Uche and may be Chukwueze (from an n=1) can play AM. Simon, Iwobi, Lookman can also play from the left, Chukwueze, Uche can play from the right. What is wrong with versatility. I for one would take take a Simon anytime because even when he has a bad game he tries for the team.
- danfo driver
Most teams have a primary formation. This is because if you mix and change formations every match, your players will get confused - more confused than the opponent. I am hopeful that you understand this?kawawa wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 1:49 amAre we going to play one constant formation irrespective of opponent? Should we not have redundancies? Iwobi, Simon, Lookman, Uche and may be Chukwueze (from an n=1) can play AM. Simon, Iwobi, Lookman can also play from the left, Chukwueze, Uche can play from the right. What is wrong with versatility. I for one would take take a Simon anytime because even when he has a bad game he tries for the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 12:18 amConsidering the formation we play, and for balance, you have to pick one between Simon and Lookman. Simon shouldn’t be playing AM for us, when we have Iwobi, Chukwueze and Uche. You are agree right?kawawa wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 11:23 pmReally drop Simon? Dude is hardest working player outside of Vic O and plays well more often than notCellular wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:24 pmI think there's now quality depth.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:15 pm I am content with our midfield. Add Iwobi, Chukwueze and 1 other creative guy and we are getting closer.
For some weird reason, I think people forget that we have Lookman in our team![]()
OUR GAMES ARE NOW CONCLUDED
●We thank God for the new discoveries and possibilities like the new options of Ogbu, Fredrick, Chrisantus, Dessers and Tolu.
● I really dont know how many times we will be needing to see the same wingers we have been fielding for up to 10 years in Chukwueze & Moses Simon who have failed to deliver consistently for years now.
●Its criminal that wingers and players like Chidera Ejuke, Phillip Otele, Chuba Akpom, Arhur Okonkwo were not given a call up this window.
● Its criminal that Ahmed Musa, Iheanacho made the squad.
● I think it's fair to say we have seen the last of Boniface.
●ITS NOW BUSINESS TIME
●We thank God for the new discoveries and possibilities like the new options of Ogbu, Fredrick, Chrisantus, Dessers and Tolu.
● I really dont know how many times we will be needing to see the same wingers we have been fielding for up to 10 years in Chukwueze & Moses Simon who have failed to deliver consistently for years now.
●Its criminal that wingers and players like Chidera Ejuke, Phillip Otele, Chuba Akpom, Arhur Okonkwo were not given a call up this window.
●ITS NOW BUSINESS TIME
Dessers is not a new discovery. He got his first cap about 5 years ago but has been kept out of the team by players like Onuachu, Awoniyi, Sadiq, Iheanaco, Moffi and Boniface.NAIjAND wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 6:37 am OUR GAMES ARE NOW CONCLUDED
●ITS NOW BUSINESS TIME
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
I just checked all the previous matches Russia has played and realized they had not conceded a goal since 2023 until today against us? and we played them with a aging defence and no Chukwueze, Osimhen, Lookman, Iwobi, Aina and even Dessers
who is looking the part... that's some crazy stats from Russia, really good team that has been frozen out of international football due to the whole shitty war.
Good result. Russia has won every friendly game at home since 2023, most of them by high scores. But, even with a weakened side, they couldn't beat us. At least, we maintained our reputation as a world-class team that can't be pushed around.
On the negative side, the Russians were easily carving up our defence with simple moves, but their finishing was poor. A side with better finishers would have scored at least 3-4 goals.
Positives from the friendlies:
Felix Agu, Tolu Arokodare, Benjamin Fredrick... and Boniface's retirement from the SE (if true)
On the negative side, the Russians were easily carving up our defence with simple moves, but their finishing was poor. A side with better finishers would have scored at least 3-4 goals.
Felix Agu, Tolu Arokodare, Benjamin Fredrick... and Boniface's retirement from the SE (if true)

Very true but we also need to state the quality of opposition they faced Zambia, Grenada, Syria and Vietnam these are not top football nations while nigeria is suppose to be one.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:34 am I just checked all the previous matches Russia has played and realized they had not conceded a goal since 2023 until today against us? and we played them with a aging defence and no Chukwueze, Osimhen, Lookman, Iwobi, Aina and even Dessers
I agree 100%Orion wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:45 am Good result. Russia has won every friendly game at home since 2023, most of them by high scores. But, even with a weakened side, they couldn't beat us. At least, we maintained our reputation as a world-class team that can't be pushed around.
Felix Agu, Tolu Arokodare, Benjamin Fredrick... and Boniface's retirement from the SE (if true)![]()
Very good point!davidbam14 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:52 amVery true but we also need to state the quality of opposition they faced Zambia, Grenada, Syria and Vietnam these are not top football nations while nigeria is suppose to be one.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:34 am I just checked all the previous matches Russia has played and realized they had not conceded a goal since 2023 until today against us? and we played them with a aging defence and no Chukwueze, Osimhen, Lookman, Iwobi, Aina and even Dessers
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Good point shadavidbam14 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:52 amVery true but we also need to state the quality of opposition they faced Zambia, Grenada, Syria and Vietnam these are not top football nations while nigeria is suppose to be one.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:34 am I just checked all the previous matches Russia has played and realized they had not conceded a goal since 2023 until today against us? and we played them with a aging defence and no Chukwueze, Osimhen, Lookman, Iwobi, Aina and even Dessers
They also beat Serbia 4-0 last year and Cameroon 1-0 just over a year ago.davidbam14 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:52 amVery true but we also need to state the quality of opposition they faced Zambia, Grenada, Syria and Vietnam these are not top football nations while nigeria is suppose to be one.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:34 am I just checked all the previous matches Russia has played and realized they had not conceded a goal since 2023 until today against us? and we played them with a aging defence and no Chukwueze, Osimhen, Lookman, Iwobi, Aina and even Dessers
i know every body will blame the RB for the goal conceded, but #7 is the actual problem.
The right back behind him was about to get double teamed . He should have been closer to the guy on the ball.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Partly right. There was another player closer to the RB.