What's the nationality switch status of Tosin and Kayode?
These two will bring some A level quality to that backline if they switch, especially Kayode of Brentford
Re: What's the nationality switch status of Tosin and Kayode?
Tosin is English, he’s waiting for England to ring his bell.
Kayode is Italian. He’s waiting for a one chance opportunity with Italy.
None of these guys are making those respective teams anytime soon, funny thing is Italy is a far worse position than us in making it to the world cup after losing to Norway so Kayode might consider us if we manage to qualify for the WC...as for Tosin, I don't know what voice is telling this guy he will ever get a chance with England.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 7:33 am Tosin is English, he’s waiting for England to ring his bell.
Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
He can't spend his prime waiting for England and then be sneaked into the SE at old age.
I watched a recent interview of Yaya Toure. He said that in their time, players like Drogba and co had the opportunity of representing France, but they chose Ivory coast at a very young age.
We shouldn't be waiting our time chasing after players whose hearts are somewhere else. If any player wants to rep us, you won't need a soothsayer to know it, it will be obvious like the blue sky.
He can't spend his prime waiting for England and then be sneaked into the SE at old age.
I watched a recent interview of Yaya Toure. He said that in their time, players like Drogba and co had the opportunity of representing France, but they chose Ivory coast at a very young age.
We shouldn't be waiting our time chasing after players whose hearts are somewhere else. If any player wants to rep us, you won't need a soothsayer to know it, it will be obvious like the blue sky.
Last edited by naijaguy on Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Uhmm he's better than Ekong and definitely Ajayi...make we leave sentiments aside and talk true!naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
I beg to differ. He may not be worse than Ajayi, but he's not any better.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:41 amUhmm he's better than Ekong and definitely Ajayi...make we leave sentiments aside and talk true!naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
One plays for a top club in the Prem while the other one went from championship football to clubless.naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:45 amI beg to differ. He may not be worse than Ajayi, but he's not any better.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:41 amUhmm he's better than Ekong and definitely Ajayi...make we leave sentiments aside and talk true!naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
Make Danfo no catch you with this take o!

Agu is a prime example of a player whose heart is set on playing for us. He has even got his teammate, Njinmah, to commit to Nigeria.naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
Those are the sort of players that we need.
I’m hoping the coach can trust Frederick going forward
Even Niajaguy doesn’t believe what he just wrote!Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:41 amUhmm he's better than Ekong and definitely Ajayi...make we leave sentiments aside and talk true!naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.

Chai. I just said you were joking.naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:45 amI beg to differ. He may not be worse than Ajayi, but he's not any better.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:41 amUhmm he's better than Ekong and definitely Ajayi...make we leave sentiments aside and talk true!naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
So you are actually serious?

Chelle already believes in Fredericks, but has also said we need to “protect him”.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 11:05 amAgu is a prime example of a player whose heart is set on playing for us. He has even got his teammate, Njinmah, to commit to Nigeria.naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
This is something we fans often fail to appreciate.
Left to most of us, we should parachute the lad into central defence, one time.
Probably get rid of Ekong.
But Fredericks is only just entering the adult game and for that matter, in a crucial position.
No matter how talented, experience counts for a lot in a central defender.
Probably positioning, organization and anticipation more than anything else like ‘flair’.
- airwolex
It’s obvious Tosin has no passion for Nigeria so leave him Abeg. We have young defenders who can do the job.
Tosin is a better CB than what we have at least to be on the bench. he is a Man City academy product. Go and check Man City academy products very sound technically. eg Cole Palmer, Morgan Rogers, Sanchonaijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
- danfo driver
The funny thing is that if he chose us and we picked our team based on merit, he would absolutely NOT be a starter. Might make the 23 and be 3rd or 4th choice, but not in the top 2
- bret- hart
Kpom
Protect him from what? Kidnappers?Damunk wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 11:24 amChelle already believes in Fredericks, but has also said we need to “protect him”.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 11:05 amAgu is a prime example of a player whose heart is set on playing for us. He has even got his teammate, Njinmah, to commit to Nigeria.naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
But Fredericks is only just entering the adult game and for that matter, in a crucial position.
Probably positioning, organization and anticipation more than anything else like ‘flair’.

I believe that Chelle should have started Frederick in Moscow alongside one of Ajayi and Ekong, to see how he handles a hostile environment. That was a lost opportunity.
Oboabona and Omeruo were both young and inexperienced when Keshi decided to trust them as his starting central defensive partnership at the expense of the more experienced captain, Joseph Yobo at the 2013 AFCON.
The rest is history
at 27+ abeg let leave Tosin to continue waiting for England - we don't want another Sola Ameobi situation -
- danfo driver
Uhm, you mean “if you are good enough, you are old enough”.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:14 pmProtect him from what? Kidnappers?Damunk wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 11:24 amChelle already believes in Fredericks, but has also said we need to “protect him”.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 11:05 amAgu is a prime example of a player whose heart is set on playing for us. He has even got his teammate, Njinmah, to commit to Nigeria.naijaguy wrote: ↑Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:37 am Tosin is not better than what we have now. He wasted his productive years waiting for England. Let him continue waiting. If we manage to qualify for the world cup, I don't want to see anyone campaigning for him to be included.
Probably positioning, organization and anticipation more than anything else like ‘flair’.if you are old enough, you are good enough!

Just saying.
I agree. That’s what friendlies are for. But in a high stakes competitive match, I’m not sure Chelle would have put that responsibility on the young man’s head.I believe that Chelle should have started Frederick in Moscow alongside one of Ajayi and Ekong, to see how he handles a hostile environment. That was a lost opportunity.
One costly mistake, and the young man’s career could be damaged. It’s a lot to foist on a player that has only played at the youth level. That’s what Chelle means by ‘protection’.
Most top coaches recognize that it’s a calculated introduction. Not ‘deep end’ stuff.
What you or I think doesn’t matter. We only have responsibility for our own emotions. Finish.
The coach has so much more.
In 2013 Oboabona was 23 and had been playing senior football for 3 years.Oboabona and Omeruo were both young and inexperienced when Keshi decided to trust them as his starting central defensive partnership at the expense of the more experienced captain, Joseph Yobo at the 2013 AFCON.
The rest is history
Granted, Omeruo was only 20 but had been playing senior football for about a year.
I just think that Frederick’s is a long term asset but shouldn’t be given a heavy responsibility that might backfire, possibly no fault of his own. See how Maduka, Uzoho and even Boniface have reacted to public pressure.
Our fans are lethal.
Owngoal says Chelle sees Frederick as the #4 centreback.
It's telling that he brought on Ogbu to shore up the defence, so that would suggest what Owngoal says to be true.
- airwolex
We have to admit that not everyone with a Nigerian name feels the country. Remember that dude, Jordan Ibe? Tosin strikes me as one of those guys so please let’s move on from him. It’s becoming cringy the way we are fawning over hin. He is not Baresi or Nesta.
- danfo driver
He is NOT even Levi Colwillairwolex wrote: ↑Sun Jun 08, 2025 6:34 pm We have to admit that not everyone with a Nigerian name feels the country. Remember that dude, Jordan Ibe? Tosin strikes me as one of those guys so please let’s move on from him. It’s becoming cringy the way we are fawning over hin. He is not Baresi or Nesta.