Tolu is Business-Like in his Approach to Striking

Re: Tolu is Business-Like in his Approach to Striking

You guys are rating Tolu way too high.

He hasn't justified it, and frankly looks very clumsy so far.

I think nothing so conclusive can be made yet.

mastermind wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 7:50 am
naijaguy wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 7:10 am
Lolly wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 9:54 pm
naijaguy wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 9:48 pm I'll take Onuachu ahead of this Tolu. I'm not sold on him at all.
Is there a different Onuachu or the one we have been seeing all these years? Bros, let’s be serious. Onuachu, Awoniyi, Sadiq are not worthy of any more call ups. They have exhausted all their chances.

Tolu is raw but there is something in how he gets into good positions that sets him apart from the rest. I won’t say he is a guaranteed starter but he deserves to be given more opportunities like the others. I suspect he is here to stay, and not just because of the goal he scored yesterday, though that was sweet.
What has Tolu done that Onuachu hasn't done better, both in club football and in the national team?
Tolu contributed nothing in all the games he has played except for this free goal the goalkeeper dashed him. If you are relying on him to give you goals, you are wasting your time. He doesn't press, doesn't hold the ball well, and is very slow.
Onuachu is not consistent and injury-prone. Didn't live up to the promise, we gatto move on...lol
And you are moving on with Tolu?. Lol

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 7:04 pm You guys are rating Tolu way too high.

That’s because most only like the last player to score, they don’t know the game. If Nacho scores they’ll put him back in the SE lineup.
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

mastermind wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 9:43 pm Tolu is Business-Like in his Approach to Striking
With all due respect, despite the goal, he does not belong to the SE for now. His ball control is atrocious. He will also need to practice on heading the ball like a pro and as one who is ready to compete at that level. He is too slow on the ball and makes unconvincing passes. He doesn't come close to Dessers, who is more polished and always gets himself in scoring positions.

lol see them sounding like we have a warehouse full of lethal strikers to pick from.

Tolu was Golden Boot winner in Belgium.

Now repeat after me…24 goals! Golden Boot, Belgium.

Ok, let that sink in for a minute.

You cannot be clumsy, Lazy, bad in the air and win Golden boot. There are Clips of all his 24 goals last season to prove he is neither a lazy, clumsy or a bad in the air finisher. You guys are just too lazy to watch his games from last season and want to discard a player after watching him for 3 friendly games with a total playing time of less than 60 minutes.

Right now we have only 4 worthy strikers to wear the SE shirt: Osimhen>Tolu>Dessers>Boniface.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 8:39 pm lol see them sounding like we have a warehouse full of lethal strikers to pick from.

You cannot be clumsy, Lazy, bad in the air and win Golden boot. There are Clips of all his 24 goals last season to prove he is neither a lazy, clumsy or a bad in the air finisher. You guys are just too lazy to watch his games from last season and want to discard a player after watching him for 3 friendly games with a total playing time of less than 60 minutes.

Right now we have only 4 worthy strikers to wear the SE shirt: Osimhen>Tolu>Dessers>Boniface.
End of discussion!

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 8:39 pm lol see them sounding like we have a warehouse full of lethal strikers to pick from.

I've been a SE fan long enough to know for a FACT that Golden Boot in Belgium doesn't mean sheeeeiiit !!!!

We've had plenty of Nigerian golden boot winners in Belgium who were horrific for SE from Akpala to the BASKETBALLER.

Tolu is nowhere near as good as Dessers from what I have seen so far.

The guy honestly seems very clumsy although he hustles unlike the basketball star.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 11:01 pm

I've been a SE fan long enough to know for a FACT that Golden Boot in Belgium doesn't mean sheeeeiiit !!!!

We've had plenty of Nigerian golden boot winners in Belgium who were horrific for SE from Akpala to the BASKETBALLER.

The guy honestly seems very clumsy although he hustles unlike the basketball star.
lol CyberEagles and the Fickle Fan Syndrome.

All these sudden love for Dessers because he scored against Ghana. The same Dessers that was discarded into the dustbin after his abysmal performance against Mali in the friendlies.

My Jury is still out on Dessers, I rate Tolu higher than him. I prefer Tolus physicality and aggressiveness in front of goal unlike Dessers who is easily outmuscled off the ball.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 11:27 pm

All these sudden love for Dessers because he scored against Ghana. The same Dessers that was discarded into the dustbin after his abysmal performance against Mali in the friendlies.

My Jury is still out on Dessers, I rate Tolu higher than him. I prefer Tolus physicality and aggressiveness in front of goal unlike Dessers who is easily outmuscled off the ball.

olumide

Post by olumide »

The current version of Nigeria only works with hustlers and pace upfront, so the fact he will run, press, and fight is very important. We have never been good enough in midfield or put in enough quality crosses to make it work. I favor the likes of Awoniyi (if he was ever healthy) and Tolu over Boniface, Onuachu and Sadiq for that reason. The second group are better technical footballers, but I doubt they will affect the game for SE. Moffi is back to fitness, so he may have something to say as well if he can recover his form.

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 11:27 pm

Has nothing to do with the fact he scored.

Dessers has better movement, technique, and IQ than Tolu.

Tolu is more physical that's about it.

BOTH players press, which is great.

So it's a matter of whether you want physicality or finesse.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

I like Dessers overall game. Tolu gets in good positions and puts them away.
Onuachu is playing the wrong sport. He should have gone the basketball way
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jun 08, 2025 7:04 pm You guys are rating Tolu way too high.

VE

I agree that there is nothing Tolu has done beyond that goal to justify some of the hype here. For me, his goal was very clinical and a poachers goal. However, this does not immediately put him ahead of others. We need to see more of him, not at his club but at SE.

Writing about club, people seem to assume that what a player does at his club is immediately translated at NT level. Nope. Soccer is not tennis. In soccer, a player depends on others in order to perform. The fit must be good with team mates.

Thus all this talk about this club or that league should end with camp invitation. This invitation must not be limited to this or that league given the Nigerian players' migratory trajectory. Prove yourself working with other invitees.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

...until these guys perform in Africa, against African teams especially those so called minnows, make una reserve your comments and applause.
Our greatest worry is not being able to beat, close out matches against the likes of Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Lesotho etc.

mcal wrote: Mon Jun 09, 2025 12:29 pm ...until these guys perform in Africa, against African teams especially those so called minnows, make una reserve your comments and applause.
Our greatest worry is not being able to beat, close out matches against the likes of Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Lesotho etc.
Mcal

I think the team is gradually bringing the attitude necessary to overcome minors i.e. 110 effort. I hope the days that players arrive from Europe passing the ball around lackadiasically is gradually ending. Without consistent 110, SE will be disrespected by the likes of Lesotho and CAR. It may be too late in this WCQs but as long as the lackadisical attitude is extinguished, then there is a high probability of a great future. This means do not simply dwell on a player's club but focus on his effort level.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics