Okoye could be facing a lengthy football suspension and criminal proceedings

Paveman
Okoye could be facing a lengthy football suspension and criminal proceedings

Post by Paveman »

This is very bad news. The rumours had been circulating for a while but now legal proceedings have been confirmed.

Okoye is suspected of having picked up a yellow card on purpose in the 63rd minute of Lazio - Udinese played on the 11th March last year. Apparently there were high betting patterns (odds were 8 to 1) on this event resulting in wins of 120,000 euros.

Prosecutors (district of Udine and Trieste) will be bringing charges against Okoye and 3 other people who bet on the outcome as the preliminary investigation has now been concluded. It seems prosecutors have a digital connection (not sure if phone or whatsapp etc) between Okoye and one of the arrested persons who made the bet.

Will keep you updated, although I suspect it will soon hit the international news.
Re: Okoye could be facing a lengthy football suspension and criminal proceedings

i thought this case was thrown out the door or are you posting the old report?

Re: Okoye could be facing a lengthy football suspension and criminal proceedings

Caveman is back. :laugh:
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jun 09, 2025 10:47 pm i thought this case was thrown out the door or are you posting the old report?
The case is an old one, dates back to March 2024, but it seems that criminal charges are going to be issued now.

Moderators please lock this thread.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Again??? :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry:

Paveman wrote: Mon Jun 09, 2025 10:52 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jun 09, 2025 10:47 pm i thought this case was thrown out the door or are you posting the old report?
The case is an old one, dates back to March 2024, but it seems that criminal charges are going to be issued now.
Well the NFF must support and protect Okoye. Also control the pathetic media full of hungry Nigerian clueless journos looking for a quick buck

Paveman wrote: Mon Jun 09, 2025 10:46 pm This is very bad news. The rumours had been circulating for a while but now legal proceedings have been confirmed.

Okoye is suspected of having picked up a yellow card on purpose in the 63rd minute of Lazio - Udinese played on the 11th March last year. Apparently there were high betting patterns (odds were 8 to 1) on this event resulting in wins of 120,000 euros.

Prosecutors (district of Udine and Trieste) will be bringing charges against Okoye and 3 other people who bet on the outcome as the preliminary investigation has now been concluded. It seems prosecutors have a digital connection (not sure if phone or whatsapp etc) between Okoye and one of the arrested persons who made the bet.

Will keep you updated, although I suspect it will soon hit the international news.
Thank you, Pavement.

But e be like say somebori don sing like nwa ñnuñnu. :cry:

Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 1:40 am
Paveman wrote: Mon Jun 09, 2025 10:46 pm This is very bad news. The rumours had been circulating for a while but now legal proceedings have been confirmed.

Thank you, Pavement.

Still the most common mistake on Cybereagles. :lol: :lol:

Everytime I see Paveman opens a thread, like a child on Christmas morning, I scroll down the thread looking for this error. :rotf:

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 1:57 am

Thank you, Pavement.

Everytime I see Paveman opens a thread, like a child on Christmas morning, I scroll down the thread looking for this error. :rotf:
I remember the first time someone dropped this landmark.
I laugh tire.

Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 2:05 am

Thank you, Pavement.

I laugh tire.

:-x

Wow! This could ruin the boy’s career if proven. I thought the case had been dropped
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 2:49 am
    Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 2:05 am

Thank you, Pavement.

I laugh tire.
    Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Dammy wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 11:38 am :-x

Wow! This could ruin the boy’s career if proven. I thought the case had been dropped

Me too, but yesterday I got wind that charges would be pressed, it seems they have some pretty hard evidence. Let’s hope it’s not true.
    Paveman

Post by Paveman »

This is the La Presse article, with some more details

https://uk.lapresse.it/sport-en/2025/06 ... ces-trial/

I guess that's why it seem he lost some weight and doesn't seem happy. Even in the match vs Russia, he didn't look happy at all.

naijaguy wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 4:07 pm I guess that's why it seem he lost some weight and doesn't seem happy. Even in the match vs Russia, he didn't look happy at all.
    another projector internet psychologist

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 4:51 pm
    naijaguy wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 4:07 pm I guess that's why it seem he lost some weight and doesn't seem happy. Even in the match vs Russia, he didn't look happy at all.

I hope this is not true.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
    Silver-Shadow

Post by Silver-Shadow »

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 5:05 pm
    jette1 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 4:51 pm
    No Escape

We need to start projecting your post here. hmmmm so many thoughts in my head oo

Paveman

Post by Paveman »

I’m trying to navigate the complicated Italian legal system re criminal cases.

So, what happened is this: the public prosecutor (who has a maximum of 18 months to do so - hence the delay) has found enough evidence of the crime and has therefore accused 4 people (Okoye and 3 other non-footballers) of a crime. This part is called the preliminary investigation, which was concluded earlier this week.

The file is now passed onto a Judge who has a period of 30 days (at times extended to 60 days) to decide to either archive the case (i.e. decide that the evidence is not sufficient to warrant court proceedings - which can be appealed by the prosecutor) or else initiate criminal proceedings, at which point a normal court case would commence.

I’m not sure if/when Serie A can actually take action against Okoye, separately from these proceedings.

Paveman wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:28 pm I’m trying to navigate the complicated Italian legal system re criminal cases.

So, what happened is this: the public prosecutor (who has a maximum of 18 months to do so - hence the delay) has found enough evidence of the crime and has therefore accused 4 people (Okoye and 3 other non-footballers) of a crime. This part is called the preliminary investigation, which was concluded earlier this week.

The file is now passed onto a Judge who has a period of 30 days (at times extended to 60 days) to decide to either archive the case (i.e. decide that the evidence is not sufficient to warrant court proceedings - which can be appealed by the prosecutor) or else initiate criminal proceedings, at which point a normal court case would commence.

I’m not sure if/when Serie A can actually take action against Okoye, separately from these proceedings.
    Lucas Paqueta of West Ham has a similar case against him in England but he’s being investigated by the English FA rather than the authorities