Which Way Nigeria

Re: Which Way Nigeria

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:38 pm
YUJAM wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:02 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:42 pm
onovo wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:32 pm I just watched the way Senegal destroyed England 3-1. The Senegalese team is made up of youngster displayed good soccer artistry. One wonders in Nigeria's case where all sorts of dead wood, rubbish division 2 benchwarmers/players are having their field day, with majority of the fans celebrating this mediocrity. Even in our last friendly against Russia, one wonders why our trusted central defence pairs are made of players below quality, who cannot give pass or start build up play from defence. Ekong in particular kept booting the ball aimlessly to the Russians. I think Chelle and the fans are not serious. We should call the world cup a day.
calm down that was England's team R. em folks players are on the beach
So you are one of those folks making excuses for England?

Anyway, based on what we saw at the last AFCON, African teams are ready to step it up to an even higher level. We have a three or four teams who can compete with the best out there. And Senegal proved it today. There're been other notable wins by the likes of Morocco against Brazil. I believe Nigeria will also excel if they make the big dance. They are a well drilled team that have played together for a min
tournament football is different from a friendly at the City ground. As i said this was a scrimmage for England. Not once did i talk down on Senegal. Super Eagles is a tournament team, that is why I think this AFOCN we could do well
Its a match when "they" win, but its a scrimmage when "we" win. I see am o! :lol:

England fans have been celebrating slapping Africans up and down for years, you didnt tell them it was a scrimmage. You kept quiet all these decades.

onovo wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:32 pm I just watched the way Senegal destroyed England 3-1. The Senegalese team is made up of youngster displayed good soccer artistry. One wonders in Nigeria's case where all sorts of dead wood, rubbish division 2 benchwarmers/players are having their field day, with majority of the fans celebrating this mediocrity. Even in our last friendly against Russia, one wonders why our trusted central defence pairs are made of players below quality, who cannot give pass or start build up play from defence. Ekong in particular kept booting the ball aimlessly to the Russians. I think Chelle and the fans are not serious. We should call the world cup a day.

Anyway, based on what we saw at the last AFCON, African teams are ready to step it up to an even higher level. We have a three or four teams who can compete with the best out there. And Senegal proved it today. There're been other notable wins by the likes of Morocco against Brazil. I believe Nigeria will also excel if they make the big dance. They are a well drilled team that have played together for a min
tournament football is different from a friendly at the City ground. As i said this was a scrimmage for England. Not once did i talk down on Senegal. Super Eagles is a tournament team, that is why I think this AFOCN we could do well
Since when did friendlies become scrimmages? Let me remind you that there were ranking points for play here

Let nobody downplay this Senegal victory that was achieved without Mane, Pape Sarr, or Assane Diao.

As for being "on the beach" I guess Bellingham was "on the beach" when he was angered and fighting after the match and they were complaining about the VAR.

This one pained England believe that.

The BBC had a racist tweet "England lost to an African team for the first time EVER"

see the couldn't even identify Senegal, it was AFRICA. Because they see us all as inferior, and were dismayed.

I am glad that Eze was there to be a part of this. May the 3 lions continue to suffer. I wonder why Eze is never singing "God save the king" ?

Is that the last semblance of his dignity ? Chai
Last edited by vancity eagle on Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I will NEVER cheer for England. EVER.

I dont care if the entire starting 11 and 23 man squad is filled with Ndukwes, Uches, Nwaneris, and Chukwus.

May they lose every match. I will root for any team that plays them.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:48 pm
txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:34 pm
danfo driver wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:05 pm

He is! Him and TxJ.

BigPOkes also ran to the defense of his USA yesterday, as well.

Context is everything. Unfortunately, that is lost on an eternal troller...
Wetin I do? You are the one who said the England team was on the beach. :lol: :lol: I guess the Senegalese do not like beaches. :D

The problem with friendlies is often attitudes and motivation. They are often wide apart between teams. That is reality.
Congratulations to Senegal, but lets not take this too far.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:17 pm

He is! Him and TxJ.

Wetin I do? You are the one who said the England team was on the beach. :lol: :lol: I guess the Senegalese do not like beaches. :D

The problem with friendlies is often attitudes and motivation. They are often wide apart between teams. That is reality.
I agree and you could see the attitude and motivation of the English boys, as they fought with anger when their goal was disallowed. You can also see the attitude and motivation of their entire country, with pain and dismay of losing their record.

My brother, it was England that had everything to lose in this game. The Senegalese were just guests who were already at the beach, but took time out to attend the game at Nottingham and participate. :D

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:51 pm

Its a match when "they" win, but its a scrimmage when "we" win. I see am o! :lol:

England fans have been celebrating slapping Africans up and down for years, you didnt tell them it was a scrimmage. You kept quiet all these decades.
You see your life, this is how your likes were beating and boasting una chest over a 4-2 victory vs Argentina. Well let's just say one of the worst Argetine football team still advanced eliminating that same SE (mind you SE used their first team, whereas we can't say the same for Argentina)

A dead rubber friendly. AFRICANS and over celebrations. When the proper tournament starts. Nah park the bus and find out. We all saw England woop the African Champs 3 kondo at the last world cup

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:27 pm
txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:17 pm

He is! Him and TxJ.

I agree and you could see the attitude and motivation of the English boys, as they fought with anger when their goal was disallowed. You can also see the attitude and motivation of their entire country, with pain and dismay of losing their record.

My brother, it was England that had everything to lose in this game. The Senegalese were just guests who were already at the beach, but took time out to attend the game at Nottingham and participate. :D
KPOM X 1000

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:28 pm

You see your life, this is how your likes were beating and boasting una chest over a 4-2 victory vs Argentina. Well let's just say one of the worst Argetine football team still advanced eliminating that same SE (mind you SE used their first team, whereas we can't say the same for Argentina)

A dead rubber friendly. AFRICANS and over celebrations. When the proper tournament starts. Nah park the bus and find out. We all saw England woop the African Champs 3 kondo at the last world cup

Exactly!

These things are social media gold.
At the end of the day, what matters is how you build up to the main dance...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

We've had success against top teams in friendlies as well. Don't think there's that much to see here.

1. When Nigeria beat Argentina they were full minus Messi.

2. Who is "overcelebrating" ? We just acknowledge a good game and are drinking English tears. And there are plenty of them.

3. There are no more "dead rubber" friendlies , especially when it comes to high profile matches like this and when records are broken. Just look at English media. They are melting down and talking about making a mistake with hiring their coach.

4. Did a depleted Morocco team not make it to the semi finals of the last World Cup ? They also beat Brazil in a friendly, but u go say "na friendly" well we already know it's been done on the highest sage.

5. The team you call "the worst Argentina team" won the world cup 4 years later with many of the same players.

6. These friendly victories are great but they are not the end all. You think winning these is not a first step to doing it on the highest stage. Again it's been done so I don't know or care what stupid point you are trying to make.

Complete drivel.

Senegal went to England and beat England.

The English team didn't allow them to win. Senegal beat them.

Now, you can continue with your jagbajantis tok about 'over celebrating'.

It is you that is projecting.

The thing mostly overlooked in this thread is whether the SE plays as a TEAM.
Senegal played as a focused, coordinated, and disciplined team. Our SE lacks
those qualities and until they get these, a Pele, Maradona, or Ronaldinho on
the team will simply be individuals.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:40 pm

1. When Nigeria beat Argentina they were full minus Messi.

2. Who is "overcelebrating" ? We just acknowledge a good game and are drinking English tears. And there are plenty of them.

3. There are no more "dead rubber" friendlies , especially when it comes to high profile matches like this and when records are broken. Just look at English media. They are melting down and talking about making a mistake with hiring their coach.

4. Did a depleted Morocco team not make it to the semi finals of the last World Cup ? They also beat Brazil in a friendly, but u go say "na friendly" well we already know it's been done on the highest sage.

5. The team you call "the worst Argentina team" won the world cup 4 years later with many of the same players.

6. These friendly victories are great but they are not the end all. You think winning these is not a first step to doing it on the highest stage. Again it's been done so I don't know or care what stupid point you are trying to make.
Speaking of melt down The US press is going crazy with pachettino losing 4 straight this far and that’s the savior they brought in to prepare and revive their game. I think we should play US asap and put the record in out wallet regardless of whatever happens next

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

joao wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 4:39 pm The thing mostly overlooked in this thread is whether the SE plays as a TEAM.
You’ll be surprised the number of neutral observers that totally disagree with you. :D
By nature, we understate our victories and overstate our losses.
It is in line with everything Nigerian we assess.
We understate the good things about us and overemphasize the bad.

So when other people say good things about us, we think they are mad (but we like it). :D
Its good sha, because in a weird kind of way, it keeps pushing us to greater heights. It’s probably what makes us Nigerians, albeit dysfunctional in a sense.

But there’s a psychology behind it.
For me, nothing demonstrates this more than the negative and self-judgemental attitude of Nigerians to the international P&ID scam when the story first broke.
(Not football-related).

You are saying a lot of things.

However, the FACT remains, whether the plastic was dead or it was the rubber or the iron, Senegal slapped England in their own house! C'est Fini! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cellular wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 4:12 pm

Complete drivel.

Senegal went to England and beat England.

The English team didn't allow them to win. Senegal beat them.

Now, you can continue with your jagbajantis tok about 'over celebrating'.

It is you that is projecting.
You can tell that this defeat pain them well well... especially when dem Fiddler are crying on behalf of the bereaved. :lol: :lol:

Damunk wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 5:17 pm
joao wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 4:39 pm The thing mostly overlooked in this thread is whether the SE plays as a TEAM.
You’ll be surprised the number of neutral observers that totally disagree with you. :D
By nature, we understate our victories and overstate our losses.
It is in line with everything Nigerian we assess.
We understate the good things about us and overemphasize the bad.

So when other people say good things about us, we think they are mad (but we like it). :D
Its good sha, because in a weird kind of way, it keeps pushing us to greater heights. It’s probably what makes us Nigerians, albeit dysfunctional in a sense.

But there’s a psychology behind it.
For me, nothing demonstrates this more than the negative and self-judgemental attitude of Nigerians to the international P&ID scam when the story first broke.
(Not football-related).
I was about to say this.

Most of them do not watch our games without emotions and with grace.

As Chelle has said, he has never had the same team for more than 2 games. His team is always chopped, different an he has never had them for more than 7 days at one time. He has also only met them 2 times.

Even with all this, we were very coordinated in Kigali, at home to Zim and also in the first halves against Ghana and Russia.

I'm surprised nobody acknowledged or mentioned the new Senegal coach who seems to have settled in really well so far.

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 5:47 pm I'm surprised nobody acknowledged or mentioned the new Senegal coach who seems to have settled in really well so far.
I've seen some crying English fans.

Not only were they beaten by an African team.

BUT, by an African coach.

This man schooled rhe overhyped Tuschel.

All this over a friendly? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Sunset wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 6:46 pm All this over a friendly? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you dey mind them

txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:39 pm
packerland wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:35 pm
txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:31 pm
packerland wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:22 pm @ Enugu II

Let this argument go. The league that you play does really matter. How much confidence will you have if some doctor in a village hospital in Nsuka performs open heart surgery on you compared to one at John Hopkins University. We should be fielding our best players in top leagues. Yes, we might have talented players in the local league but they are different levels to this. Let us put skills aside, you have no clue the fitness level of players at Barcelona, Real Madrid, PSG etc….. Let NPFL all-stars play Barca or even Crystal Palace and see if your so called local champion won’t gass out by the 43rd minutes because they can’t get the ball back or keep possession for more than a minute. I doubt that Rangers international have coaches dedicated to set pieces or a nutritionist.

Why Nsukka :evil: :evil: :evil:
Just what came on my mind. No vex Nsukka are good people o! I spent most of my childhood in Enugu. I be New Heaven and Independence Layout boy :lol:

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
Nawa! I don’t know your issue with me today. Someone can’t use a random town or city to make a point. Would you feel good if I had said Lagos?

Chop rice leave stone. My point is that Nigerian healthcare compared to the US or other developed nations are not on the same level the say way most NPFL are not on the same level as players from top 5 leagues.