FIFA Club World Cup( watch free on DAZN or TNT )

Re: FIFA Club World Cup( watch free on DAZN or TNT )

The expanded CWC was FIFA’s Promethean reaction to the threat of a breakaway super league. Saudi involvement was pivotal. It would come as no surprise were a Riyadh season tournament in the pre- or close season to follow.

Whilst many may criticise the contest, its timing and competitors, none can poopoo the cold cash up for grabs. On par with the Champions League, with fewer games to play. The Club World Cup is a behemoth that will only grow more bloodthirsty and brazen.

‘Just imagine a well run Naija club…just imagine the league…’.

The most believable part of these statements is the “just imagine”. Only in the realms of make believe and imagination can “well run” be used in the same sentence as Nigeria. Idealistic, utopian, perhaps both at once and sprinkled with a healthy helping of fairy dust.

The ideas on the division of proceeds zips through all the worlds of fantasy to arrive at absolute madness.

‘The club keeps - $3M
The league takes - $1M
The other clubs in the league shares equally $2M’.

The money won’t make it to the boarding gate talk less of the league and clubs. Corruption is as much a product of the codon as peptides and transcription factors. Such fantasy cannot be actualised in Nigeria for the simple fact that it’s Nigeria and full of Nigerians. That being said, arguably one of DD’s best posts. It’s a shame such thinking will never find its way to any meaningful office or boardroom in Africa’s great Gomorrah.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 2:14 am Also, TxJ, after one of your best friends on CE watched the first round of games, this was his assessment:
Coach wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 6:59 pm This de facto Super League will inevitably be a European slugfest come the business rounds.

As you can see, he also believes that the European teams have fought with vigour and will triumph during "the business rounds." :D

There's only one Mundial.
Everything else is but a poor imitation...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

sundowns v Dortmound

Ribero of Brazil scores for Sundowns. now that was a sweet solo goal

chei williams don kill Sundowns 1-1

This is how to press SA, pressure Moekona to force Erros... I hope Eric is watching

Sundowns too sloppy. They need to raise their game a notch

3-1 . Sundows have been rubbish. All they do is pass in their 18. I just do not get how we let them get a point in Uyo.. well we had a bunch of players out injured. We need VAR in the last 4 games. NFF needs to start shouting about this. Bashiru was fouled badly by the SA right back.. see how easy it is to punish a pretty poor goalie aka williams, when you mark out the king pf back passes Mokoena

YUJAM wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 5:20 pm Sundowns too sloppy. They need to raise their game a notch
They've been poor, even the game against the Asian team. All they do is pass the ball between Willams and his defenders , hoping you fall for the press

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 5:22 pm
YUJAM wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 5:20 pm Sundowns too sloppy. They need to raise their game a notch
They've been poor, even the game against the Asian team. All they do is pass the ball between Willams and his defenders , hoping you fall for the press
I don't agree that they've been poor. In this game, they've simply been a bit too casual when it comes to holding on to the ball in positions close to their box

Casual is the right word.

YUJAM wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 5:37 pm
I don't agree that they've been poor. In this game, they've simply been a bit too casual when it comes to holding on to the ball in positions close to their box
this is how they play. go and watch the two legs they played vs PYramids FC

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 5:46 pm
YUJAM wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 5:37 pm
this is how they play. go and watch the two legs they played vs PYramids FC
They have 61% possession with less touches in the opposition box, 74 back passes so far

4-1

over to you Yujam

‘They have 61% possession with less touches in the opposition box, 74 back passes so far’.

4-2

4-3

Undone by sloppiness. They will learn.

Coach wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 12:48 pm The expanded CWC was FIFA’s Promethean reaction to the threat of a breakaway super league. Saudi involvement was pivotal. It would come as no surprise were a Riyadh season tournament in the pre- or close season to follow.

Whilst many may criticise the contest, its timing and competitors, none can poopoo the cold cash up for grabs. On par with the Champions League, with fewer games to play. The Club World Cup is a behemoth that will only grow more bloodthirsty and brazen.

‘Just imagine a well run Naija club…just imagine the league…’.

The most believable part of these statements is the “just imagine”. Only in the realms of make believe and imagination can “well run” be used in the same sentence as Nigeria. Idealistic, utopian, perhaps both at once and sprinkled with a healthy helping of fairy dust.

The ideas on the division of proceeds zips through all the worlds of fantasy to arrive at absolute madness.

‘The club keeps - $3M
The league takes - $1M
The other clubs in the league shares equally $2M’.

The money won’t make it to the boarding gate talk less of the league and clubs. Corruption is as much a product of the codon as peptides and transcription factors. Such fantasy cannot be actualised in Nigeria for the simple fact that it’s Nigeria and full of Nigerians. That being said, arguably one of DD’s best posts. It’s a shame such thinking will never find its way to any meaningful office or boardroom in Africa’s great Gomorrah.

Complete nonsense. The super league is a UEFA problem not FIFAs.

Its a tournament with no real place in the football ecosystem.

And it's FIFAs, re Infantino's money play to counter UEFAs champions league riches...

There's only one Mundial and it comes around every four years.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

@Txj, FIFA were far from advocates of the ESL. They wanted in on the cash, plain and simple. What they’ve done, in creating this behemoth, is obliterate the viability of an ESL. Whether “fans” consider it a dead rubber or not is irrelevant, in the age of PSR, hard cash for 7 games at most, is appetising to all.

Liverpool will be delighted to participate in the next edition and will roll out a near full strength side for as long as possible. Simply put, the game has gone to the coffers. This will only grow bigger.