“In the next months” – Journalist reveals when Tosin Adarabioyo is set to make major career decision

Tosin Adarabioyo will make a decision on whether to represent England or Nigeria in the “next months” according to journalist Nizaar Kinsella.

Tosin joined Chelsea on a free transfer last summer after his contract with Fulham expired and is currently part of the Club World Cup squad.

The 27-year-old made 22 Premier League appearances as Chelsea secured qualification for the Champions League, and ten in the Conference League as the Blues lifted the trophy in May.

Tosin to pick between England and Nigeria

Tosin has established himself as an important member of the squad and is one of the leaders in the Chelsea dressing room.

The former Manchester City man could start on Saturday night against Benfica in the last 16 of the Club World Cup, and he put in some impressive performances last season.

Competition for places at centre back is fierce, but Tosin has generally delivered when called upon, and is known as “uncle” by Chelsea’s young squad.

Tosin hasn’t played for England yet, and faces a major decision on whether to represent the Three Lions or Nigeria with the 2026 World Cup on the horizon, and Kinsella has provided an update.

He took to X.com and said:
“Tosin Adarabioyo is going to make his England-Nigeria international future decision in the next months.

“The 27-year-old was cautious committing in the last year but wants to play in the World Cup in 2026 and feels established at Chelsea now.”
Chelsea in the market for a centre back

There’s set to be plenty of movement at centre back this summer, with the likes of Rentao Veiga and Axel Disasi set to leave.

There are also question marks over the future of Benoit Badiashile and Trevoh Chalobah, but it’s believed Chelsea are still looking to bring another centre back in.

A move for Marc Guehi is said to be unlikely at this point, whilst another target Jarrad Branthwaite is set to sign a new contract at Everton.

The most likely signing could be Ajax star Jorrel Hato, although the Blues face competition from other Premier League clubs for the 19-year-old.

https://chelsea.news/2025/06/tosin-engl ... -decision/
Re: “In the next months” – Journalist reveals when Tosin Adarabioyo is set to make major career decision

I wish there was a Middle finger emoji. Adarabioyo deserves it. :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x

Re: “In the next months” – Journalist reveals when Tosin Adarabioyo is set to make major career decision

bret- hart wrote: Sat Jun 28, 2025 7:12 pm I wish there was a Middle finger emoji. Adarabioyo deserves it. :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x
I feel the same way bro :D. He’s doing way too much trying to force England’s hand…..feels like he’s just following Eze’s playbook. Not a fan of the antics at all.

Competition for places at centre back is fierce, but Tosin has generally delivered when called upon, and is known as “uncle” by Chelsea’s young squad.
That alone should tell him his time is running out.

Two things here. One, he cant pick England, because England has already rejected him. This is someone who has not even played U21 for them and when they wanted to pick players at Chelsea, they picked Colwill and Chalobah.

While he is better than Semi Div 2 Ajayi and Opioror Mango Head, truth is that if our team is picked on merit, he will be like 4th choice or even 5th choice.

See small nyash Dey shake o!
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

It might be better for Tosin to get picked than for him to pick a national team. I don’t see him making either team unless major injuries happen.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jun 28, 2025 9:05 pm It might be better for Tosin to get picked than for him to pick a national team. I don’t see him making either team unless major injuries happen.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Person wey know wetin e dey do. He is 5th choice at Chelsea - and they are still trying to buy a CB.

Fofana
Colwill
Chalobah
Badashitty
Tosin

He needs to make himself look important and countries are fighting for him. :lol:

England is not calling him, so there is no decision to make. It’s Nigeria that is waiting for him.

Unfortunately for us and for him, there is only about a 10% chance that we would be at the World Cup. So there is little or no attraction for declaring for Nigeria now. The guy doesn’t look like the kind of player who would be interested in playing only African qualifiers.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Tosin playing his usual game! Nothing new to see here. It’s just the same template.
He wins a MoTM for Chelsea and suddenly his international career is up in the air! He’s just trying to force the hand of England as always

Lolly wrote: Sat Jun 28, 2025 9:36 pm England is not calling him, so there is no decision to make. It’s Nigeria that is waiting for him.

Unfortunately for us and for him, there is only about a 10% chance that we would be at the World Cup. So there is little or no attraction for declaring for Nigeria now. The guy doesn’t look like the kind of player who would be interested in playing only African qualifiers.
He will not be called for the next rd of WC qualifiers.
If Frederick, Osuji and Nwaiwu start to perform well with regular action, he’s unlikely to make Afcon.
If Ekong performs well at Afcon and still a starter then he’s not making the WC.
The only chance he has with SE is if Ekong flops and the young guys don’t get much action.
Even then he has to play regularly for Chelsea.
Best bet for him is to move to Leeds, Burnley or somewhere he will play regularly and perform.
However, if Frederick and Osuji come through, he might need to try Scotland.
He could also enlarge the envelope he left for Eguavoen and insert something for Gasau.
Babadee

Post by Babadee »

He has a slim chance of getting called up since England now use black players more often with the likes of Saka and Eze he has a chance playing for Chelsea with Maresca who bought him from Fulham,

If he gets called up to SE na automatic shirt he’s a could player Man City academy product.

Man City academy produce quality players

If and when this guy declares for Nigeria, we should be celebrating. There is no center back that Nigeria has at the moment who will be selected ahead of this guy.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 11:43 am If and when this guy declares for Nigeria, we should be celebrating. There is no center back that Nigeria has at the moment who will be selected ahead of this guy.
I think the reception will be lukewarm at first until he gives us reason to celebrate him.
Nigerians quickly forgive.
Lookman is a good example.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 11:43 am If and when this guy declares for Nigeria, we should be celebrating. There is no center back that Nigeria has at the moment who will be selected ahead of this guy.
Bros, I don’t agree with you.

We have Bassey who has developed in leaps and bounds, and the new kid on the block Frederick. Tosin might be a younger and better version of Ajayi, but he is not the best we have.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 12:37 pm

We have Bassey who has developed in leaps and bounds, and the new kid on the block Frederick. Tosin might be a younger and better version of Ajayi, but he is not the best we have.
I agree with E11 to the extent that Tosin will start for Nigeria if he decides to play for us but he’s not our best central defender.
According to CIES data driven stats of the best central defenders in the major leagues of the world, the only Africans on the list were Bassey and N’D**cka from CIV. Tosin was not even rated

Let us call a spade a spade. Tosin is currently ahead of Saudi ekong and ajayi at hull. Imagine Bassey , Benjamin, Ogbu, Tosin as our 4 CBs going to Afcon and the worldcup next year...oh boy

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 2:17 pm Let us call a spade a spade. Tosin is currently ahead of Saudi ekong and ajayi at hull. Imagine Bassey , Benjamin, Ogbu, Tosin as our 4 CBs going to Afcon and the worldcup next year...oh boy
You like dropping names and you don’t know a spade when you see one. What remarkable thing has Igoh Ogbu accomplished in his entire career that leads you to believe he is better than Ekong and Ajayi❓🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 2:39 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 2:17 pm Let us call a spade a spade. Tosin is currently ahead of Saudi ekong and ajayi at hull. Imagine Bassey , Benjamin, Ogbu, Tosin as our 4 CBs going to Afcon and the worldcup next year...oh boy
You like dropping names and you don’t know a spade when you see one. What remarkable thing has Igoh Ogbu accomplished in his entire career that leads you to believe he is better than Ekong and Ajayi❓🤔❗️

Age and better competition. We saw the goal Zimbabwe let in. Now that's a spade

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 2:39 pm

I was going to ask the same question. The same Ekong and Ajayi have been written off many times in the past by the same fickle fans.

Babadee wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 6:16 am He has a slim chance of getting called up since England now use black players more often with the likes of Saka and Eze he has a chance playing for Chelsea with Maresca who bought him from Fulham,

If he gets called up to SE na automatic shirt he’s a could player Man City academy product.

Man City academy produce quality players
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: A few things you got wrong.

1. Maresca did NOT buy him from Fulham. His contract ended at Fulham and Chelsea's directors negotiated to bring him on a free long before they even went for Maresca. For context, Maresca was announced on June 3, Tosin was announced on June 7.

2. He does NOT have a chance of playing much for Chelsea. Last season Chalobah was brought back from loan to start ahead of him

3. He has zero chance of playing for England. England is not going to ignore:

- Stones
- Colwill
- Brantwaite
- Maguire
- Burn
- Chalobah
- Quansah
- White
- Mings
- KIllaman
- Dunk
- Guehi
- Konsa
- Takowski

just to invite a guy who is behind Colwil, Chalobah, Fofana, Badiashile at Chelsea. A 5th choice. England is not your Nigeria that invites Div 2 and 3 players and your fans twerk with excitement.

4. If he gets called up to SE, he probably will get an automatic shirt because of the politics and shamelessness of your country. He will be elevated above players who are better than him. But dont worry, the beauty of God is that if that happens, the on-field humiliation from Zimbabwe and the likes will right the wrong. :lol:

5. Tell Tosin to keep the money he is paying you. Your campaign of falsehoods will not work. :lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: yet, at Fulham when he partnered Bassey, Bassey was the first choice. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Please Sir, sit this one out. Your reputation of football matters has suffered severely in the last 1 year when you chose trolling over serious discuss. :oops:

Dammy wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 1:54 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Jun 29, 2025 12:37 pm

I agree with E11 to the extent that Tosin will start for Nigeria if he decides to play for us but he’s not our best central defender.
According to CIES data driven stats of the best central defenders in the major leagues of the world, the only Africans on the list were Bassey and N’D**cka from CIV. Tosin was not even rated
because he is not that good. I have watched him and he is simply not close to the level of being good enough. In African football, he will be bullied like a red haired step child. :lol:

I would welcome him, but the truth is that he is not even close to being in our top 4 defenders, if our team is picked on merit. The sad part is that due to the fact that we continue to pick very sh1t players like Opioror and Ajayi, some of our fans are confused and think Tosin is better than "what we have." It was like when we were inviting Akpeyi and our fans thought inviting Uzoho was "a top choice." Invite players on merit and Tosin will struggle to make our squad.

I hope he chooses Nigeria and you guys will learn the hard way as usual and in 2 years, start opening threads agreeing with me, as usual. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: